Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. US publication no.: US 2022/0224138 in view of Vanko et al. US publication no.: US 2018/0248507 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Ko et al. teach, a method for operating an electrically driven working device with at least one battery pack that is to supply the working device with electric drive power (see figures 1-4), the method comprising the steps of: a) detecting a temperature of the battery pack, by way of a temperature sensor (11) of the battery pack (see temperature sensor, paragraphs 61-63), b) determining a resistance variable (RG) of the battery pack on the basis of the detected temperature by way of the battery pack (see paragraphs 83-85, where it is explained that the resistance of the battery is measured based on the temperature), and c) operating the working device on the basis of the determined resistance variable (RG) (see step s70, figure 4 which depicts that the power is transmitted to the load based on the determined resistance value), wherein the working device is a ground-guided and/or hand-guided and/or a gardening, forestry, construction and/or ground working device (see paragraph 125, where the device is an electric tool or power tool),
Ko et al. teach the that the driving mechanism is a power tool such as an electric drill as seen in paragraph125 but is silent on teaching further configurations of the power tool.
Vanko et al. teach: wherein the working device and the battery pack are detachably electrically connected to one another to supply power to operate the working device (see figure 1, where the battery pack 108 is inherently detachable); wherein one or both of: (i) the working device is selected from a set of different working devices able to be electrically connected to the battery pack in detachable fashion, or (ii) the battery pack is selected from a set of different battery packs able to be electrically connected to the working device in detachable fashion (see figure 1, where the battery pack 108 is inherently detachable), and wherein the method further comprises: detecting a voltage (OCV), by way of the battery pack and/or the working device, and wherein step c) comprises: operating the working device on the basis of the detected voltage (OCV), such that a voltage (V) remains above a cut-off voltage limit (Vcutoff) for a protective cut-off of the battery pack prior to an undervoltage (see paragraph 98, where the undervoltage is detected and power is cut-off to protect the battery pack if it’s below a certain threshold).
In view of Vanko et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, with the apparatus as taught by Ko et al. to include; wherein the working device and the battery pack are detachably electrically connected to one another to supply power to operate the working device; wherein one or both of: (i) the working device is selected from a set of different working devices able to be electrically connected to the battery pack in detachable fashion, or (ii) the battery pack is selected from a set of different battery packs able to be electrically connected to the working device in detachable fashion, and wherein the method further comprises: detecting a voltage (OCV), by way of the battery pack and/or the working device, and wherein step c) comprises: operating the working device on the basis of the detected voltage (OCV), such that a voltage (V) remains above a cut-off voltage limit (Vcutoff) for a protective cut-off of the battery pack prior to an undervoltage, for the purpose of protecting the circuit.
Regarding claim 2, Ko et al. teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein step b) further comprises: determining the resistance variable (RG) on the basis of a state of charge variable (SOCG) and/or a state of health variable (SOHG) of the battery pack (see paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 3, Ko et al. teach, the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: at a time before step b): detecting a voltage (OCV) of the battery pack for the state of charge variable (SOCG) (see paragraph 16), and/or at a time before step b): detecting a charging current (AI) of the battery pack for a charging variable (AG) for the state of health variable (SOHG), by way of the battery pack and/or a charger.
Regarding claim 5, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: determining a maximum drive power variable and/or maximum drive current variable (MALIG) on the basis of the resistance variable (RG), of the detected voltage (OCV) and of a cut-off voltage limit variable (Vcutoff) by way of the working device, and wherein step c) comprises: Operating the working device on the basis of the determined maximum drive power variable and/or maximum drive current variable (MALIG), until the maximum drive power variable and/or maximum drive current variable (MALIG) is reached (see paragraph 95-97 and 152 and claim 1, which explains that the maximum power is determined and can be transferred to the motor to drive it at a maximum power).
Regarding claim 6, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein the working device has an electric drive motor, and where the operating step c) further comprises: operating the electric drive motor so as to increase an electric drive power (AL4) of the electric drive motor, starting from zero and/or so as to reach a setpoint speed (nsoll) and/or a setpoint torque (Msoll) of the electric drive motor (see paragraphs 46-48 where the operations of the motor is shown in which a current is applied to the motor for it to reach a certain torque based on the current applied), wherein the resistance variable (RG) is determined and/or the voltage (OCV) is detected at least when the drive power (AL4) is zero (paragraph 44 discloses plurality of stage of the motor including a “start” wherein the voltage/current would be at a starting level).
Regarding claim 7, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises the steps of: at a time after step b) and/or at a time before step c), communicating the determined resistance variable (RG) from the battery pack to the working device, and wherein step c) further comprises: operating the working device on the basis of the communicated resistance variable (RG) (see communication unit 30, figure 1 and paragraphs 67-69).
Regarding claim 8, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 5, wherein the voltage (OCV) is detected and/or the maximum drive power variable (see step s60, figure 4) and/or maximum drive current variable (MALIG) are/is determined again, at least at a time before each operating.
Regarding claim 9, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 6, wherein step a) and/or step b) are/is carried out, and in particular the voltage (OCV) is detected and/or the maximum drive power variable and/or maximum drive current variable (MALIG) are/is determined and/or the resistance variable (RG) is communicated, in particular again, at least at a time before each Operating, in particular each increase in the drive power (AL4) starting from zero (see figure 4 and paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 10, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 5, wherein the method further comprises: when the detected temperature (T) is below a lower temperature limit (Tlimit) and/or the determined resistance variable (RG) is above a resistance variable limit (RGlimit) and/or the determined maximum drive power variable and/or maximum drive current variable (MALIG) is below a maximum drive power variable limit and/or maximum drive current variable limit (MALIGlimit), outputting user-perceptible information (Info) in relation thereto by way of the working device (see figure 4 – steps s60-s80, in which it is explained that the control system doesn’t allow the discharging of the power to not exceed the maximum power value).
Regarding claim 11, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 6, wherein the working device has a user-actuatable operating element, for the setpoint speed (nsoll), and wherein step c) takes place in a manner triggered by an actuation, in particular adjustment, of the operating element (see paragraph 125, “electric drill” or “electric bicycle”).
Regarding claim 12, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein step b) comprises: determining the resistance variable (RG) by way of a model (MO) of the battery pack (see figure 2 and paragraphs 85-90).
Regarding claim 14, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein wherein the working device is ground-guided and/or hand-guided/or a gardening, forestry, construction and/or ground working device (see paragraph 125, “electric drill” or “electric bicycle”).
Regarding claim 15, Ko et al. teach, The method according to claim 14, wherein the working device is a saw, or a pruner, or a hedge trimmer, or a hedge cutter, or a woodcutter, or pruning shears, or an angle grinder, or a blower, or a leaf blower, or a vacuum cleaner, or a leaf vacuum, or a cleaning device, or a high-pressure cleaner, or a sweeper, or a sweeper roller, or a sweeping brush, or a lawnmower, or a grass trimmer, or a brush cutter, or a scarifier (see paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 17, Ko et al. teach, the system according to claim 16, wherein the system further comprises: the working device comprising the operating unit, and/or the battery pack (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Ko et al. teach, An electrically driven working device and/or battery pack for use in a system according to claim 16 (see figures 1-4 and paragraphs 45-46).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846