This is a Final office action for serial number 18/613,458.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I in the reply filed on February 12, 2026 is acknowledged (Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn). Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Guo CN203564045.
Guo discloses claim:
1. A hanging device for hanging a piece of clothing or a towel on a coat hook, the hanging device comprising a receiving portion configured to receive and hold the piece of clothing or towel, wherein the hanging device is formed as an open ring having an overlapping portion comprising two overlapping structures that are curved and a-) spaced apart from each other; wherein the open ring (12) comprises a section configured to be hung on the coat hook, wherein the open ring is provided with a first end portion and/or a second end portion formed as a portion of a structure having an essentially oval or round cross-section, wherein the first end portion (a) at its widest cross section is in contact with the open ring and/or the second end portion (other a) at it widest cross section is in contact with the open ring; wherein a thickness (D3) of the first end portion and/or the second end portion is greater than a thickness (D2) of either of the two overlapping structures such that a qap (see figure below) is formed between the two overlapping structures by the contact of the first end portion (a) and/or the second end portion (other a) with the open ring (12); and wherein the open ring essentially maintains its shape during use.
3. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the open ring is formed as a one-piece body.
4. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the overlapping portion comprises parallel structures.
6. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the first end portion is arranged a distance from a distal end of the open ring that is attached to the second end portion.
7. The hanging device according to claim 6, wherein the second end portion is arranged the distance from a distal end of the open ring that is attached to the first end portion.
8. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the first end portion and/or the second end portion is/are moveably attached to the open ring.
13. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the open ring has a uniform thickness.
14. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the open ring is form-stable.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End portion larger distally than proximally)][AltContent: textbox (Overlapping parallel structures also curved since rod is a curved member)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (curved)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (curved)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Overlapping portion )][AltContent: textbox (Overlapping portion )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Open section triangle ring (12))][AltContent: textbox (Section configured to be hung on a coat hook)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Gap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First end portion widest cross section thickest D2 greater than thickness of overlapping structures.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second end portion at its widest cross-section)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 anis/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo CN203564045.
Guo discloses the claimed invention except for wherein at least one of the overlapping structures comprises or is formed as an elastic portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to (Claim 2) wherein at least one of the overlapping structures comprises or is formed as an elastic portion, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo CN203564045 in view of Taurins 8,998,006.
Guo discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the open section is a triangle ring having an overlapping portion comprising two overlapping structures instead of an open ring having an overlapping portion comprising two overlapping structures.
Taurins teaches it is known to have the open section being an open ring is circular or oval including a curved structure being essentially oval or round cross-section.
[AltContent: textbox (Shows that it is known to have a triangle open ring and a round open ring are interchangeable as mechanical equivalents for holding/hanging a piece of clothing. )] [AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Guo to have changed the shape of the open section to an open ring open section is circular or oval as taught by Taurin since Taurin shows that having an open round ring is an equivalent structure known in the art to an open triangular ring or an open round/circular or oval shape therefore it is obvious to substitute the triangular open ring for the round open ring or vice verse as a mechanical well known design choice since the applicant has not disclose how the shape is critical and teaches within the applicant’s own specification that the shape of the ring is interchangeable such as Triangular, oval, circular, etc..
Guo in view of Taurin as modified teach claims
5. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the open section is circular or oval.
12. The hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the overlapping portion extends at least 20 degrees.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 anis/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo CN203564045.
Guo discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for an outside portion of the first end portion and/or the second end portion is made of a resilient material; wherein a proximal portion of the first end portion and/or the second end portion is made of a resilient material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to (Claim 9) outside portion of the first end portion and/or the second end portion is made of a resilient material; (Claim 10) wherein a proximal portion of the first end portion and/or the second end portion is made of a resilient material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice and Guo teaches the end portions are anti-slip member which would include being made of a resilient material. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo CN203564045.
Guo discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein a cross section of the first end portion and/or the second end portion transverse to the overlapping portion varies asymmetrically along a longitudinal axis. It would have been an obvious matter of design engineering choice to have made Guo to have (Claim 15) wherein a cross section of the first end portion and/or the second end portion transverse to the overlapping portion varies asymmetrically along a longitudinal axis, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component since Guo teaches of the end portion is wider at the distal end and tapered toward the side of the end portion is a mechanical equivalent to the applicant’s limitation. Therefore a change in shape wherein a cross section of the first end portion and/or the second end portion transverse to the overlapping portion varies asymmetrically along a longitudinal axis is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill.
Modified Guo teaches claims:
16. The hanging device according to claim 15, wherein the cross section is larger distally than proximally.
17. The hanging device according to claim 16, wherein the cross section is skewed toward an opposing one of the overlapping portions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and12-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631