DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poduska, Procedia Structural Integrity 23 (2019) 293–298 in view of Breese (US 2022/0396689).
Poduska teaches HPDE multilayer pipes (pg. 294) where a layer of recycled PE is between two layers of virgin PE (pg.297, Fig. 3). Poduska teaches layers of recycled HDPE with virgin HDPE (pg. 294). Poduska does not teach any other components are present in the virgin layers which meets claim 5. Poduska teaches the thickness of the layers were in a ratio of 0.25:0.5:0.25 where the thicknesses were 2.05 mm and 4.1 mm (pg. 295) which correspond to about 80 mil and 160 mil respectively. Poduska does not teach any perforations are present, therefore, the layers are continuous and unperforated.
Poduska does not explicitly recite the second layer comprises virgin and recycled resin.
However, Breese teaches compounded virgin and post consumer recyclate HDPE compositions (abstract). Breese teaches the blend has at least 60 wt% recycled HDPE (¶31) which meets claims 2-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the blend of Breese because it provides improved processability and properties (abstract) while being usable in food and beverages (¶ 8) and to balance moisture barrier, material cost, film gauge, and be able to process at a higher extruder output (¶ 32).
Poduska does not explicitly recite a thickness of from 10-100 mils for the second layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a thinner layer in order to form a smaller pipe.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poduska, Procedia Structural Integrity 23 (2019) 293–298 in view of Breese (US 2022/0396689) and Alathon data sheet, 2020.
The discussion with respect to Poduska and Breese above is hereby incorporated by reference.
Poduska does not explicitly recite the Mw, toughness, or impact resistance of the HDPE.
However, Alathon teaches a bimodal HDPE Alathon L4930TC. Alathon L4930TC possesses the claimed properties as shown by the instant specification, Fig. 1-3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Alathon L4930TC because it offers an excellent balance of stiffness, toughness and ease of processing (see pg. 1 of Alathon).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poduska, Procedia Structural Integrity 23 (2019) 293–298 in view of Breese (US 2022/0396689) and Ring (US 2006/0280557).
The discussion with respect to Poduska and Breese above is hereby incorporated by reference.
Poduska does not explicitly recite pipe is perforated.
However, Ring teaches drain field systems which include perforated drainage pipes (abstract) which includes HDPE pipes (¶ 2) which contain perforations (¶ 2). It would have been obvious to have a perforation to allow the pipe to function as a drainage pipe (¶16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-21 are allowed.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 15 recite properties of the recycled HDPE including the Mw, toughness, and impact resistance. The prior art fails to teach these limitations. Additionally, these properties are not necessarily present, therefore a position of inherence is improper. Claims 16-21 depend from claim 15 and thus contain the same allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764