DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 07/28/2026.
The previous Title objection is maintained as the claims are directed to plural method independent claims, but the Title refers to a single method.
The previous specification objections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The previous U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the independent claims with limitations from previous dependent claim 9.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “where both devices transmit together,” “where one device transmits while the other provides redundancy,” “the network determines in response to a terminal-side request” [page 13, Remarks]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant concludes Gan does not teach the amended limitations and refers to fig. 5 of Gan (pages 11-13, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to now canceled claim 9, Examiner cited to para. 0222-0226 of Gan, which refers to fig. 13. Examiner also cited to fig. 6, fig. 15, and para. 0007 which was not addressed by Applicant. Applicant essentially refers to alternate citations of Gan and fails to properly address the citations and interpretations given by Examiner. Examiner also notes that the claim recites various numerical terms associated with claim limitations. In general, numbering does not necessarily mean elements occur in a particular sequential order or are different from one another. The claims remain rejected as indicated in the Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant argues new claims 21 and 22 are allowable (page 13, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees as indicated in the Claim Rejections section below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR EXCHANGING INFORMATION BETWEEN TERMINAL AND ACCESS NETWORK
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/089022 A1 to HUAWEI (provided by Applicant) [for purposes of examination, Examiner cites to English language equivalent EP 4044692 A1, provided by Applicant].
As to claim 1, see similar rejection to claim 14. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 2, see similar rejection to claim 15. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 3, see similar rejection to claim 16. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 4, see similar rejection to claim 17. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 5, see similar rejection to claims 18-19. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 7, see similar rejection to claim 20. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 8, HUAWEI further discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein determining, by the access network device, the second association relationship between the first terminal device and the third terminal device based on the first information and the fifth information comprises: in association with the first information and the fifth information satisfying a second condition (paras. 0215-0220, association request frame…may carry…capability information….identifier information, i.e. both are in the request frame being the condition satisfied), determining, by the access network device, the second association relationship between the first terminal device and the third terminal device (para. 0222-0227, first AP receives the association request frame, para. 0221, link on which the first STA sends…may be a primary link, para. 0227, second STA operating on the primary link; para. 0219 second STAs (i.e. plural means one is a third)), wherein the second condition includes at least one of: a distance between the location of the first terminal device and a location of the third terminal device being less than a second threshold, the identifier of the first terminal device being the same as the third identifier of the third terminal device, the group identifier of the first terminal device being the same as the group identifier of the third terminal device, the service identifier of the first terminal device being the same as the service identifier of the third terminal device, the address of the first device connected to the first terminal device being the same as the address of the third device connected to the third terminal device, the identifier of the first device being the same as the identifier of third device (para. 0221, link on which the first STA sends…may be a primary link, para. 0227, second STA operating on the primary link; para. 0219 second STAs (i.e. plural means one is a third)), and the first application layer identifier being the same as the third application layer identifier; and updating, by the access network device, the first association relationship to the second association relationship (para. 0226, first AP may allocate one AID to the second STA operating on the primary link (i.e. first association relationship)…in addition (i.e. updating), the first AP allocates one or two AIDs to a second STA (i.e. this different second STA being the “third”) operating on a secondary link ).
As to claim 10, HUAWEI further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sixth information includes the first information or an identifier of the first association relationship (paragraph [0216] "S1301: A first STA sends an association request frame to a first AP.", paragraph [0219] "the association request frame may a/so carry capability (capability) information of the first STA" and paragraph [0222] "S1302: The first AP receives the association request frame from the first STA.").
As to claim 11, HUAWEI discloses a communication method (paras. 0217-0220), comprising: determining, by a terminal device (para. 0216, first STA sends an association request frame), first information (para. 0217-0220, frame…carry…capability…information) including at least one of: location information of the terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), an identifier of the terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), a group identifier of the terminal device, a service identifier of the terminal device, an address of a first device connected to the terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), an identifier of the first device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), and a first application layer identifier (fig. 3, illustrating PHY to MAC to upper layer (denoted by “…”) of the OSI; It is implicit that the top layer is the application layer as is understood to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and any identifier (para. 0217-0220) will therefore also identify the application layer of the OSI); and sending, by the terminal device, the first information to an access network device (para. 0216, first STA sends an association request frame to a first AP), and
sending, by the terminal device, sixth information to the access network device, wherein the sixth information indicates to enable terminal device coordinated transmission (para. 0222-0226, first AP receives the association request frame from the first STA…may allocate …primary link…secondary link), and the terminal device coordinated transmission includes at least two terminal devices having an association relationship perform aggregation transmission or backup transmission with the access network device (fig. 6, Multi-link STA 2 and 3 each receiving transmissions from Multi-link AP over two links; fig. 15, links may not operate simultaneously; para. 0007, primary link, secondary link, i.e. backup transmissions).
As to claim 12, HUAWEI further discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information sent by the access network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device is a primary terminal device (para. 0229-0236, first AP sends an association response frame to the first STA…carries…a quantity of all the second STAs in the first STA (i.e. therefore first STA is primary and the rest are second)).
As to claim 14, HUAWEI discloses an apparatus (fig. 4, para. 0216, first AP), comprising: one or more processors (para. 0046, processor); and one or more memories configured to store programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to (para. 0046, The processor 401 may execute various functions of the communications device by running or executing a software program stored in the memory 402 and invoking data stored in the memory 402): receive first information from a first terminal device, wherein the first information includes information about the first terminal device (paragraph [0216] "S1301: A first STA sends an association request frame to a first AP.", paragraph [0219] "the association request frame may a/so carry capability (capability) information of the first STA" and paragraph [0222] "S1302: The first AP receives the association request frame from the first STA."); and determine, based on the first information, a first association relationship between the first terminal device and a second terminal device (paragraph [0217] "The association request frame carries at least one of a quantity of second STAs to which A/Os are to be allocated or identifier information of a link on which the second STA operates", paragraph [0218] "the second STAs to which A/Os are to be allocated may be some or all second STAs in the first STA. The first STA may add, to the association request frame, the quantity of second ST As to which A/Os are to be allocated, and/or identifier information of a link on which each second STA to which an AID is to be allocated operates", paragraph [0223] "the first AP receives the association request frame from the first STA and determines based on the association request frame the quantity of second STAs to which A/Os are to be allocated, and/or the identifier information of the link on which the second STA to which the AID is to be allocated operates" and paragraph [0224] "S1303: The first AP allocates an AID to the second STA to which the AID is to be allocated', wherein the access network device is aware of the association relationship between the first and the second station based on the received association request);
receive sixth information sent by the first terminal device, wherein the sixth information indicates to enable terminal device coordinated transmission (para. 0222-0226, first AP receives the association request frame from the first STA…may allocate …primary link…secondary link), and the terminal device coordinated transmission includes at least two terminal devices having an association relationship perform aggregation transmission or backup transmission with the access network device (fig. 6, Multi-link STA 2 and 3 each receiving transmissions from Multi-link AP over two links; fig. 15, links may not operate simultaneously; para. 0007, primary link, secondary link, i.e. backup transmissions); and determine, based on the first association relationship, the second terminal device having the association relationship with the first terminal device (para. 0222-0226, first AP receives the association request frame from the first STA…may allocate …primary link…secondary link…second STA).
As to claim 15, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the first information includes at least one of: location information of the first terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), an identifier of the first terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), a group identifier of the first terminal device, a service identifier of the first terminal device, an address of a first device connected to the first terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), an identifier of the first device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link), and/or a first application layer identifier.
As to claim 16, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the one or more processors further cause the apparatus to: receive second information (para. 0215-0229, identifier information) including at least one of : location information of the second terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates), an identifier of the second terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates), a group identifier of the second terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, link identifier information includes…BSSID), a service identifier of the second terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, link identifier information includes…BSSID), an address of a second device connected to the second terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, link identifier information includes…MAC address), an identifier of the second device (paras. 0217-0220, link identifier information includes…MAC address), and/or a second application layer identifier, wherein the first association relationship between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is determined based on the first information and the second information (paras. 0215-0220, association request frame…may carry…capability information….identifier information).
As to claim 17, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein determining the first association relationship between the first terminal device and the second terminal device based on the first information and the second information comprises: in association with the first information and the second information satisfying a first condition, determining the first association relationship between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (paras. 0215-0220, association request frame…may carry…capability information….identifier information, i.e. both are in the request frame being the condition satisfied), wherein the first condition includes at least one of: a distance between a location of the first terminal device and a location of the second terminal device being less than a first threshold, the identifier of the first terminal device being the same as the identifier of the second terminal device, the group identifier of the first terminal device being the same as the group identifier of the second terminal device, the service identifier of the first terminal device being the same as the service identifier of the second terminal device, the address of the first device connected to the first terminal device being the same as the address of the second device connected to the second terminal device, the identifier of the first device being the same as the identifier of second device (para. 0221, link on which the first STA sends…may be a primary link, para. 0227, second STA operating on the primary link), and the first application layer identifier being the same as the second application layer identifier.
As to claim 18, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the one or more processors further cause the apparatus to: send third information to the first terminal device, wherein the third information is used to acknowledge the first information (para. 0229, first AP sends an association response frame to the first STA); or send fourth information to the second terminal device, wherein the fourth information is used to acknowledge the second information (fig. 5, S503, first AP sends downlink service indication information to a second STA).
As to claim 19, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the third information or the fourth information includes at least one of: an identifier of the first association relationship (para. 0229-0235, association response frame…carries an element…includes identifier information of the link on which the second STA…operates; quantity of second STAs to which AIDs are to be allocated), primary terminal device indication information, secondary terminal device indication information, and/or an identifier of a first group (para. 0229-0235, association response frame…carries an element…includes identifier information of the link on which the second STA…operates; quantity of second STAs to which AIDs are to be allocated; quantity of all the second STAs in the first STA), the primary terminal device indication information indicates the first terminal device is a primary terminal device in the first terminal device and the second terminal device, the secondary terminal device indication information indicates the second terminal device is a secondary terminal device in the first terminal device and the second terminal device, and the first group includes the first terminal device and the second terminal device (para. 0229-0235, association response frame…carries an element…includes identifier information of the link on which the second STA…operates; quantity of second STAs to which AIDs are to be allocated; quantity of all the second STAs in the first STA).
As to claim 20, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the one or more processors further cause the apparatus to: receive fifth information (para. 0215-0229, identifier information) including at least one of: location information of a third terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link; Examiner notes: there are plural second STAs, hence one may be a third terminal device), a third identifier of the third terminal device (paras. 0217-0220, capability…information of the first STA, where the capability information includes all second STAs included in the first STA, and the identifier information of the link on which each second STA operates; a link on which the first STA sends the association request frame…may be a primary link…frame may further carry identifier information of the primary link; Examiner notes: there are plural second STAs, hence one may be a third terminal device), a group identifier of the third terminal device, a service identifier of the third terminal device, an address of a third device connected to the third terminal device, an identifier of the third device, and/or a third application layer identifier; and determine a second association relationship between the first terminal device and the third terminal device based on the first information and the fifth information (paras. 0215-0220, association request frame…may carry…capability information….identifier information).
As to claim 21, HUAWEI further discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the sixth information includes the first information or an identifier of the first association relationship (paras. 0215-0220, association request frame, i.e. first information,…may carry…capability information….identifier information, i.e. identifier).
As to claim 22, HUAWEI further discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the sixth information includes the first information or an identifier of the first association relationship (paras. 0215-0220, association request frame, i.e. first information,…may carry…capability information….identifier information, i.e. identifier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/089022 A1 to HUAWEI (provided by Applicant) [for purposes of examination, Examiner cites to English language equivalent EP 4044692 A1, provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0127397 A1 to He et al. (“He”).
As to claim 13, HUAWEI does not expressly disclose the method according to claim 12, further comprising: determining, by the terminal device and based on quality of service (QoS) of a service, the terminal device coordinated transmission requires enabling, wherein second indication information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) connection setup request sent by the terminal device to the access network device, and the second indication information indicates to enable the terminal device coordinated transmission.
He discloses UE 210 may transmit (and base station 205 may receive) a UE message during a connection establishment procedure. For example, the UE message may be transmitted during an RRC connection establishment procedure between UE 210 the base station 205. The UE message may carry or otherwise convey an indication for a plurality (e.g., one or more) of connected modes (e.g., RRC modes) supported by UE 210. This may include support for a first connected mode, which may be referred to as an RRC connected lite mode that is used for, or otherwise associated with, grantless resource scheduling for UE 210 (i.e. coordinated transmission). This may also include the first connected mode (e.g., the RRC connected lite mode) being free from (e.g., without being configured with) acknowledgment feedback messaging (e.g., HARQ reporting), control channels (e.g., PDCCH or PUCCH, or both), mobility management functions (e.g., in some scenarios where the UE has low mobility), channel performance measurement and reporting (e.g., CSI/sounding reference signal (SRS)) (i.e. QoS), and the like. UE 210 may indicate the support for the first connected mode to the network during the connection establishment procedure in a random access channel (RACH) message A (msgA) transmission, a RACH message 1 (msg1) transmission, a RACH message 3 (msg3) transmission, in a UE assistance information transmission, and the like, during the connection establishment procedure. In some examples, UE 210 may indicate the support for the first connected mode to the network during the connection establishment procedure in an RRC resume message of a RACH msg3. In some aspects, the UE 210 may configure the UE message to identify or otherwise indicate that the first connected mode is a preferred connected mode for UE 210. Additionally or alternatively, the UE 210 may transmit information for scheduling subsequent data transmissions including one or more of a buffer status report, a preferred beam index, a beam measurement report, a power headroom report, a mobility state. In some examples, the information for scheduling subsequent data transmissions may be transmitted in a RACH msg3 or a RACH message 5 (msg5). Accordingly, wireless communications system 200 may support the RRC connected lite mode for UE 210, e.g., based on the UE message.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UE message of He into the
invention of HUAWEI. The suggestion/motivation would have been to have power efficient transfer of small data (He, para. 0002). Including the UE message of He into the invention of HUAWEI was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of He.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. From a prior Office action:
U.S. Publication No. 2022/0217560 A1 discloses at para. 0048: Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, the UE 104 may include a UE capabilities indication component 198a configured to transmit, to a base station, an indication of one or more UE capabilities for at least one of multiple instances or simultaneous instances of one or more QoE measurements associated with one or more types of services; and receive, from the base station, a QoE measurement information configuration for reporting QoE measurement information associated with the one or more types of services based on the indication of the one or more UE capabilities for the at least one of the multiple instances or the simultaneous instances of the one or more QoE measurements. In certain aspects, the UE 104 may include a QoE measurements component 198b configured to obtain, in association with a UE capabilities indication that the UE supports QoE measurements while in a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, a set of QoE measurements associated with a service type; and transmit the obtained set of QoE measurements while in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, after entering an RRC connected mode, the set of QoE measurements. In certain aspects, the UE 104 may include an RRC initiation component 198c configured to obtain, in association with a UE capabilities indication that UE supports QoE measurements while in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, one or more QoE measurements associated with a service type; and initiate an RRC connection setup or an RRC connection resume based at least in part on obtaining the one or more QoE measurements.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463