DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the article provided in “a top surface of the first heat sink” in the limitation “a first column coupled to a top surface of the first heat sink and extending in a vertical direction” should be “the” or equivalent, since the top surface of the first heat sink is claimed in the prior limitation of said claim, “a battery cell unit mounted on a top surface of the first heat sink.” Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogami et al (JP 2005/116437).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ogami teaches a battery pack (e.g. item 100), which may may be housed within a case, said case-housed battery pack may be suitable for use as a power source for electric vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and other devices that vibrate, said battery pack comprising:
(i) two outer heat sinks (e.g. items 250, “lower heat sink” and “upper heat sink”), each outer heat sink constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having a recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 256) that improve cooling efficiency;
(ii) two inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251, “lower inner heat sink” and “upper inner heat sink”), each outer heat sink constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having a recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 25) that improve cooling efficiency;
(iii) stacked single cells (e.g. items 200) held in place from above and below by said two outer layer heat sinks (e.g. items 250), for example a set of five single cells in a row, with a total of 10 vertically stacked rows of said single cells, including
a 1st row immediately adjacent to a lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250);
a 3rd row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said upper inner heat sink (e.g. item 251);
a 4th row immediately adjacent to a lower surface of said upper inner heat sink (e.g. item 251);
a 7th row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said lower inner heat sink (e.g. item 251);
an 8th row immediately adjacent to an lower surface of said lower inner heat sink (e.g. item 251); and,
a 10th row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250);
(iv) e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to a top surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250) and coupled vertically to a lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250),
four of said e.g. six pressure units at corners of said heat sinks and
two of said e.g. six pressure units at along long edges of said heat sinks
(e.g. ¶¶ 0009-15, 17-18, 23-26, and 55-56 plus e.g. Figures 1-5), reading on “battery array,” said battery pack comprising:
(1) said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250) constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having said recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 256) that improve cooling efficiency (e.g. supra),
said taught lower heat sink corresponding with the claimed “a first heat sink having a plate shape,”
reading on “a first heat sink having a plate shape;”
(2) said stacked single cells (e.g. items 200) held in place from above and below by said two outer layer heat sinks (e.g. items 250) for example said set of five single cells in said row, with said total of 10 vertically stacked rows of said single cells, including said 10th row immediately adjacent to said upper surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. supra),
said taught 10th row of five single cells corresponding with the claimed “battery cell unit” (see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶0094 plus e.g. Figures 2, 11, and 13),
reading on “a battery cell unit mounted on a top surface of the first heat sink;”
(3) said e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to said top surface of said lower heart sink (e.g. item 250) and coupled vertically to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250),
said six pressure units at corners of said heat sinks numbered as 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th pressure units
said e.g. six pressure units at along long edges of said heat sinks numbered as 5th and 6th pressure units
(e.g. supra plus e.g. Annotated Figure 1, see further e.g. for numbering order of said six pressure units),
a set of said taught 1st, 2nd, and 5th pressure units (e.g. items 240, see Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “first column” (see also instant specification, at ¶¶ 0105-108 e.g. plus e.g. instant Figure 1,
reading on “a first column coupled to the top surface of the first heat sink and extending in the vertical direction;”
(4) said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having said recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 256) that improve cooling efficiency,
said e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) (e.g. supra),
said taught upper heat sink corresponding with the claimed “second heat sink having a plate shape,”
reading on “a second heat sink having a plate shape, located above the first column, and including a bottom surface coupled to the first column,”
wherein said stacked single cells (e.g. items 200) may be e.g. said set of five single cells in said row, with said total of 10 stacked rows of said single cells (e.g. supra),
said total of 10 vertically stacked rows of said single cells corresponding with the claimed “structure in which a plurality of battery array units is stacked in a vertical direction,” as claimed; and,
each said taught row of said single cells corresponding with the claimed “battery array unit,” as claimed,
reading on “the battery array has a structure in which a plurality of battery array units is stacked in a vertical direction.”
(5) said two inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251, “lower inner heat sink” and “upper inner heat sink”), each outer heat sink constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having a recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 25) that improve cooling efficiency,
wherein said stacked single cells (e.g. items 200) held in place from above and below by said two outer layer heat sinks (e.g. items 250), with said total of 10 vertically stacked rows of said single cells, including said 1st row immediately adjacent to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) and said 10th row immediately adjacent to said upper surface of said lower heat sink
said 1st row immediately adjacent to a lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250);
said 3rd row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said upper inner heat sink (e.g. item 251);
said 4th row immediately adjacent to a lower surface of said upper inner heat sink (e.g. item 251);
said 7th row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said lower inner heat sink (e.g. item 251);
said 8th row immediately adjacent to an lower surface of said lower inner heat sink (e.g. item 251); and,
said 10th row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250)
(e.g. supra),
either of said taught inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251) corresponding with the claimed “reinforcing member,” as claimed; and,
said taught 10th row of single cells corresponding with the claimed “battery cell unit,”
reading on “a reinforcing member located between the second heat sink and the battery cell unit, but does not expressly teach the limitation “a reinforcing member … configured to support the bottom surface of the second heat sink.”
However, Ogami teaches a substantially identical plate structure of said inner heat sink arranged between said upper heat sink and said 10th row of single cells (e.g. supra), providing an indirect support to said upper heat sink, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed limitation, see also e.g. MPEP § 2112.01.
Regarding claim 2, Ogami as modified teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein Ogami teaches
(3) said e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to said top surface of said lower heart sink (e.g. item 250) and coupled vertically to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250),
said six pressure units at corners of said heat sinks numbered as said 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th pressure units (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1 for numbering order)
said e.g. six pressure units at along long edges of said heat sinks numbered as said 5th and 6th pressure units (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1 for numbering order)
(e.g. supra),
further, a nut (e.g. item 241) of each of said pressure units contacts an upper surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. ¶¶ 0027-37 plus e.g. Figures 6A-B),
a set of said taught 3rd, 4th, and 6th pressure units (e.g. items 240, see Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “second column” (see also instant specification, at ¶0118 e.g. plus e.g. instant Figure 10,
reading on “further comprising: a second column coupled to a top surface of the second heat sink and extending in the vertical direction,”
wherein said upper and/or lower inner het sink (e.g. item 251) and said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) are located in a depth/Y-direction between said 1st pressure unit and said second pressure unit (e.g. Annotated Figure 1), reading on “the reinforcing member and the second heat sink are configured to be located between the first column and the second column,” as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Ogami as modified teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein Ogami teaches each of said upper and lower inner heat sinks (e.g. item 251) constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each elongated in an X-direction between said 1st pressure unit and 2nd pressure unit, similar to said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250), which is elongated in said X-direction (e.g. supra plus e.g. Annotated Figure 1), reading on “the reinforcing member is configured to be elongated along an edge of the second heat sink,” as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Ogami as modified teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein Ogami teaches
(2) said stacked single cells (e.g. items 200) held in place from above and below by said two outer layer heat sinks (e.g. items 250) for example said set of five single cells in said row, with said total of 10 vertically stacked rows of said single cells, including said 1st row immediately adjacent to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) and said 10th row immediately adjacent to said upper surface of said lower heat sink,
said 10th row immediately adjacent to an upper surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250), within each row;
(3) said e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to said top surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250) and coupled vertically to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250),
said six pressure units at corners of said heat sinks numbered as said 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th pressure units (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1 for numbering order)
said e.g. six pressure units at along long edges of said heat sinks numbered as said 5th and 6th pressure units (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1 for numbering order)
(e.g. supra),
said taught 10th row of five single cells corresponding with the claimed “battery cell unit;”
a front battery of said taught 10th row (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “front battery cell unit;”
a rear battery of said taught 10th row (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “rear battery cell unit;”
a set of said taught 1st, 2nd, and 5th pressure units (e.g. items 240, see Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “first column” (see also instant specification, at ¶¶ 0105-108 e.g. plus e.g. instant Figure 1,
said taught 2nd pressure unit (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “front column;”
said taught 1st pressure unit (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “rear column;” and,
said taught 5th pressure unit (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “middle column,”
reading on “the battery cell unit includes a front battery cell unit and a rear battery cell unit arranged in a front-rear direction,” wherein the first column includes: a front column located in front of the front battery cell unit; a rear column located behind the rear battery cell unit; and a middle column located between the front column and the rear column.”
Regarding claims 6-8, Ogami as modified teaches the battery pack of claim 5, wherein Ogami teaches
(2) said stacked single cells (e.g. items 200) held in place from above and below by said two outer layer heat sinks (e.g. items 250), with said total of 10 vertically stacked rows of said single cells, including said 1st row immediately adjacent to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) and said 10th row immediately adjacent to said upper surface of said lower heat sink;
(3) said e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to said top surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250) and coupled vertically to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250),
said six pressure units at corners of said heat sinks numbered as said 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th pressure units (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1 for numbering order)
said e.g. six pressure units at along long edges of said heat sinks numbered as said 5th and 6th pressure units (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1 for numbering order); and,
(5) said two inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251, “lower inner heat sink” and “upper inner heat sink”), each outer heat sink constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having a recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 25) that improve cooling efficiency (e.g. supra),
wherein each of said inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251) extends in both of the X-direction and the Y-direction, wherein each of said inner heat sinks has four ends that are indirectly coupled to each of said six pressure units via said stacked rows of single cells and said upper and lower heat sinks (e.g. items 250) (e.g. supra and e.g. Annotated Figure 1),
either of said taught inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251) corresponding with the claimed “reinforcing member,” as claimed;
either of said taught vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members corresponding with the claimed “front reinforcing member” (claim 6), as claimed;
either of said taught vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members corresponding with the claimed “middle reinforcing member” (claim 7), as claimed;
either of said taught vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members corresponding with the claimed “rear reinforcing member” (claim 8), as claimed;
a set of said taught 1st, 2nd, and 5th pressure units (e.g. items 240, see Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “first column” (see also instant specification, at ¶¶ 0105-108 e.g. plus e.g. instant Figure 1,
said taught 2nd pressure unit (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “front column;”
said taught 1st pressure unit (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “rear column;” and,
said taught 5th pressure unit (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1) corresponding with the claimed “middle column,”
said vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members of said inner heat sinks extends in both of the X-direction and the Y-direction, wherein said vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members indirectly coupled to each of said 2nd, 1st, and 5th pressure units via said upper and lower heat sinks, reading on “the reinforcing member includes a front reinforcing member extending in a left-right direction and including one end coupled to the front column” (claim 6), as claimed; “the reinforcing member includes a middle reinforcing member extending in a left-right direction and including one end coupled to the middle column” (claim 7) , as claimed; and, “the reinforcing member includes a side reinforcing member extending in a front-rear direction and including one end coupled to the front column and a remaining end coupled to at least one of the middle column and the rear column” (claim 8), as claimed.
Regarding claims 13-17, Ogami is applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding independent claims 13-14, Ogami teaches said case-housed battery pack (e.g. item 100) including said case plus said battery pack, said case-housed battery pack may be suitable for use as a power source for electric vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and other devices that vibrate (e.g. supra), reading on “battery container comprising the battery array of claim 1” (claim 13) and “energy storage system comprising the battery array of claim 1” (claim 14).
Still regarding independent claim 15, Ogami teaches said battery pack comprising said e.g. six pressure units (e.g. items 240), each pressure unit coupled vertically to said top surface of said lower heat sink (e.g. item 250) and coupled vertically to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) (e.g. supra), wherein said pressure units may be coupled to said lower surface of said upper heat sink (e.g. item 250) with a main body portion (e.g. item 244) of a spring holding part (e.g. item 243) (e.g. supra plus e.g. ¶¶ 0030-31 plus e.g. Figures 4-6), reading on “the first column includes an upper portion configured to be fastened to another component.
Still regarding claim 17, Ogami teaches the battery pack of claim 16, wherein Ogami teaches said two inner heat sinks (e.g. items 251, “lower inner heat sink” and “upper inner heat sink”), each outer heat sink constructed of vertically overlapping two plate-shaped members, each having a recess (e.g. items 6), so that said recesses face each other to form air passages (e.g. items 25) that improve cooling efficiency (e.g. supra), but does not expressly teach the limitation “the reinforcing member is an H-bracket.”
However, differences in shape do not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art in the absence of persuasive evidence of its importance, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶0024.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogami et al (JP 2005/116437), as provided supra, in view of Jang et al (WO 2021/206514, with citations to US 2023/0011595).
Regarding claim 18, Ogami is applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding claim 18, Ogami teaches said battery pack of claim 16, noting Ogami is applied as provided supra, but does not expressly teach the limitation “a heat transfer material is coated on the top surface of the heat sink having the plate shape.”
However, Jang teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 100), a heat sink (e.g. item 500), and a thermal conductive resin layer (e.g. item 400) between said heat sink and each said battery modules, said thermal conductive resin layer coated between said heat sink and each said battery modules in order to fix said heat sink and each said module together, further improve cooling performance of said battery module, and furthermore reduces complexity of the cooling structure.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to coat the thermal conductive resin layer of Jang between each heat sink of Ogami, including said lower heat sink, and an immediately adjacent row of five single cells of Ogami, including said 10th row, since Jang teaches said thermal conductive resin layer coated between said heat sink and each said battery modules is used to to fix said heat sink and each said module together; further improve cooling performance of said battery module; and/or, furthermore reduces complexity of the cooling structure.
Art of Record
Claims 3 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the claimed battery of array including the specifically claimed arrangement of the second column, second heat sink, and reinforcing member of intervening claim 2; plus, the specifically claimed coupling pin as specifically arranged with the claimed second heat sink, reinforcing member, first member, and second column of claim 3.
See instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0036-37, 59-60, 94, 109, 119-120, 129-133, and 149-152. For illustrative purposes, see e.g. Figures 20-23 and further e.g. Figures 2, 8-9, and 14.
Regarding claim 9, from which claims 10-12 depend, none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the battery of array including the second heat sink as arranged in claim 1; plus, the specifically claimed second heat sink including the claimed upper plate and lower plate as arranged plus the specifically claimed accommodation portion that is “configured to receive at least a portion of the reinforcing member.”
See instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0087-88, 90, and 134-145 For illustrative purposes, see e.g. Figures 5-8 and 15-16.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 2026/0180062);
Hur et al (US 2025/0192298);
Yun et al (US 2024/0258607);
Kim et al (US 2024/0222769);
Jang et al (US 2023/0187728);
Kim et al (US 2023/0073470);
Roh (US 2022/0223965);
Choi et al (US 2022/0393269);
Lee et al (US 2022/0376327);
Cha et al (US 2020/0006820);
Lee et al (US 2018/0301674);
Kim et al (US 2018/0241102);
Kim et al (US 2018/0151930); and,
Higashino et al (US 2005/0079407).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723