2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/613,527 filed on 3/22/24. Claims 1 – 20 has been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7 – 12, 16 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clancy et al. (US 2024/0196384, Clancy hereafter) in further view of Smith et al. (EP 2784738, Smith hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Clancy teaches A method comprising:
identifying a set of devices associated with a WiFi network at a location, the set of devices comprising an access point (AP) device (access point 2 and extender access point 3 of Fig. 2; operate in wi-fi band; paragraph 29, 31);
accessing an account associated with the WiFi network, the account comprising information related to capabilities (operability indicator) for the AP device to facilitate the WiFi network at the location (for example, any one or more client devices 4 connected directly and/or indirectly to the access point device 2. In one or more embodiments, a user can utilize a resource (such as any of an application, a link, a hyperlink, an application programming interface (API), a website (or uniform resource locator), a network resource 6, or any combination thereof) to provide an operability indicator as to whether a 6 GHz Wi-Fi device (such as the access point device 2, the extender access point device 3, or both) is permitted or allowed to operate at one or more 6 GHz frequency channels of a 6 GHz frequency band and/or operate at a transmit power that exceeds a certain transmit power, for example, above a low power, within one or more 6 GHz frequency channels of a 6 GHz frequency band for a location, such as a premises, paragraph 31);
determining, based on the analysis (Please refer to Fig. 4 A-D), a geolocation of the AP device (it determines the geolocation; In one or more embodiments, the location input 418 can be automatically filled with a default location. A default location can be based on any of information received from a scan of a QR code 440, a geolocation service (such as GPS), one or more location parameters previously stored in a memory, any other default or previously stored information, or any combination thereof. For example, “Default Address 1” can be automatically filled with a default location, paragraph 63); and
facilitating network activity via the AP device for connected devices within the set of devices based on a configuration of the AP device corresponding to the determined geolocation of the AP device (For example, selection of the command button 430 can alter an indication of the operability indicator 420 as to operability at a location. FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a visual indicator that the 6 GHz Wi-Fi device is operable (such as permitted or allowed to operate and/or permitted or allowed to operate above a low power) at the location indicated by the location input 418. As an example, selection of a command button 430 can initiate a request from the network device 300 to a network resource 6, such as an AFC system, paragraph 66).
Even though Clancy teaches and/or discloses having a default address which can be obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to obtain from the information within the account; it is not specifically disclosed.
Smith teaches determining, based on the information within the account, a physical address for the location; analyzing the physical address (Customer locations may be determined from their account details (e.g. home address), transaction data (i.e. where they shop), or physical or instantaneous distance or position (e.g. determined from a GPS signal on their smartphone 250, and/or determined using a Bluetooth enabled location system, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), and/or determined using a Wi-Fi access point location and/or determined using a near field communications (NFC) system, when operating the mobile application 260), Fig. 11; paragraph 84).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Smith’s accessing address via customer database of the Wi-fi services of the ISP with the system of Clancy. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can obtain the address or the location of the service accurately and easily.
Regarding claim 2, Clancy with Smith teaches The method of claim 1, Clancy further comprising: performing a validation operation of the determined geolocation of the AP device, the validation comprising determining whether the network at the location is performing according to expected standards (6 GHz) as associated with radios of the AP device in relation to the determined geolocation (For example, selection of the command button 430 can alter an indication of the operability indicator 420 as to operability at a location. FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a visual indicator that the 6 GHz Wi-Fi device is operable (such as permitted or allowed to operate and/or permitted or allowed to operate above a low power) at the location indicated by the location input 418. As an example, selection of a command button 430 can initiate a request from the network device 300 to a network resource 6, such as an AFC system. The request can comprise one or more location parameters associated with the location input 418 identified or provided by the user via a user interface, such as a user interface 450 or user interface 460, paragraph 66).
Regarding claim 3, Clancy with Smith teaches claim 2, Smith further teaches wherein the analysis of the physical address is performed again upon a determination that the validation indicates the expected standards are not met (please refer to Fig. 4C-D; 5A-B; where user can manually enter the address and height parameters manually in a case if not 6 GHz wi-fi device is not permitted to operate and it determines as shown in Fig. 5A-B; which channels are allowed in that specific area and/or geolocation).
Regarding claim 7, Clancy with Smith teaches The method of claim 1, Clancy further comprising:
monitoring and collecting network attributes for the set of devices (parameter from the resource, paragraph 64); and
performing the determination of the geolocation based further on the collected network attributes (While FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B utilize a selectable location input 418 with specific options, the present disclosure contemplates any type of user interface or graphical user interface for selection of an option including any of a button, a pull-down menu, a text box, a selection box, any other tool, or any combination thereof. Any one or options of the location input 418 can utilize a geolocation API and/or geolocation resource for obtaining one or more location parameters from a resource; paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 8, Clancy with Smith teaches The method of claim 1, Clancy further teaches wherein the account corresponds to a communication service provider (CSP) (ISP, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 9, Clancy with Smith teaches claim 1, Clancy further teaches wherein the geolocation comprises longitude and latitude coordinates for the AP device (For example, the one or more location parameters 350 can be based on any of an address, a height parameter (for example, indicative of a height above ground, above sea level, below ground, or below sea level of the access point device 2), a floor number or level of a building, a latitude, a longitude, or any combination thereof, paragraph 59).
Regarding claim 10, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 11, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 12, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 7, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions that when executed by a processor, perform a method comprising (computer readable medium, paragraph 72; Fig. 6):
identifying a set of devices associated with a WiFi network at a location, the set of devices comprising an access point (AP) device (access point 2 and extender access point 3 of Fig. 2; operate in wi-fi band; paragraph 29, 31);
accessing an account associated with the WiFi network, the account comprising information related to capabilities (operability indicator) for the AP device to facilitate the WiFi network at the location (for example, any one or more client devices 4 connected directly and/or indirectly to the access point device 2. In one or more embodiments, a user can utilize a resource (such as any of an application, a link, a hyperlink, an application programming interface (API), a website (or uniform resource locator), a network resource 6, or any combination thereof) to provide an operability indicator as to whether a 6 GHz Wi-Fi device (such as the access point device 2, the extender access point device 3, or both) is permitted or allowed to operate at one or more 6 GHz frequency channels of a 6 GHz frequency band and/or operate at a transmit power that exceeds a certain transmit power, for example, above a low power, within one or more 6 GHz frequency channels of a 6 GHz frequency band for a location, such as a premises, paragraph 31);
determining, based on the analysis (Please refer to Fig. 4 A-D), a geolocation of the AP device (it determines the geolocation; In one or more embodiments, the location input 418 can be automatically filled with a default location. A default location can be based on any of information received from a scan of a QR code 440, a geolocation service (such as GPS), one or more location parameters previously stored in a memory, any other default or previously stored information, or any combination thereof. For example, “Default Address 1” can be automatically filled with a default location, paragraph 63); and
facilitating network activity via the AP device for connected devices within the set of devices based on a configuration of the AP device corresponding to the determined geolocation of the AP device (For example, selection of the command button 430 can alter an indication of the operability indicator 420 as to operability at a location. FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a visual indicator that the 6 GHz Wi-Fi device is operable (such as permitted or allowed to operate and/or permitted or allowed to operate above a low power) at the location indicated by the location input 418. As an example, selection of a command button 430 can initiate a request from the network device 300 to a network resource 6, such as an AFC system, paragraph 66).
Even though Clancy teaches and/or discloses having a default address which can be obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to obtain from the information within the account; it is not specifically disclosed.
Smith teaches determining, based on the information within the account, a physical address for the location; analyzing the physical address (Customer locations may be determined from their account details (e.g. home address), transaction data (i.e. where they shop), or physical or instantaneous distance or position (e.g. determined from a GPS signal on their smartphone 250, and/or determined using a Bluetooth enabled location system, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), and/or determined using a Wi-Fi access point location and/or determined using a near field communications (NFC) system, when operating the mobile application 260), Fig. 11; paragraph 84).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Smith’s accessing address via customer database of the Wi-fi services of the ISP with the system of Clancy. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can obtain the address or the location of the service accurately and easily.
Regarding claim 19, the non-transitory computer readable medium substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
7. Claim(s) 4 – 5, 13 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clancy et al. (US 2024/0196384, Clancy hereafter) in further view of Smith et al. (EP 2784738, Smith hereafter) in further view of Yates et al. (US 2022/0069925, Yates hereafter).
Regarding claim 4, Clancy with Smith teaches the method of claim 2, however, does not specifically teach performing an adjustment to at least one of a transmitter and receiver of at least one of the radios to compensate for factors causing degradation of the network at the location, the adjustment enabling the validation of the geolocation.
Yates teaches performing an adjustment to at least one of a transmitter and receiver of at least one of the radios to compensate for factors causing degradation of the network at the location, the adjustment enabling the validation of the geolocation (due to the affected signal quality, a user experience may be greatly reduced. To improve the signal quality and user experience, the example aspects of the present disclosure may automatically adjust signal strength between various components of a network to compensate for the signal fluctuations caused by changes in the temperature and/or humidity, paragraph 11).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to compensate for network degradation with the combined system of Clancy and Smith. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can compensate for network degradation so it can provide desired quality of the signal to the user without interruptions.
Regarding claim 5, Clancy with Smith and Yates teaches The method of claim 4, Yates teaches wherein the factors include at least one of temperature changes, component aging and external interference (temperature, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 13, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 13, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 14, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 14, thus the same rejection is applicable.
8. Claim(s) 6, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clancy et al. (US 2024/0196384, Clancy hereafter) in further view of Smith et al. (EP 2784738, Smith hereafter) in further view of Mittal et al. (US 2025/0159650).
Regarding claim 6, Clancy with Smith teaches claim 2, even though Clancy teaches wherein the validation of the determined geolocation is performed via execution of an automated frequency coordination (AFC) system (the network resource 6 can be an automated frequency coordination (AFC) system that determines and/or provides one or more frequencies within the 6 GHz frequency band available to a 6 GHz Wi-Fi device at a location (such as a premises). In one or more embodiments, network resource 6 may be accessible via a cellular communications service provider so as to connect to a client device 4, paragraph 29) ; does not specifically teach wherein the AFC system is a mechanism of a cloud system.
Mittal teaches wherein the AFC system is a cloud based (fixed access point device or a fixed client device may obtain authorization from a cloud Automated Frequency Coordination (AFC) system to operate via Wi-Fi 6 for a particular use case, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of cloud based AFC with the combined system of Clancy and Smith. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because in doing so it will provide calculations remotely making; making the system more effective and faster.
Regarding claim 15, the system substantially has same limitations as claim 6, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 20, the non-transitory computer readable medium substantially has same limitations as claim 6, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
TANMAY K. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/TANMAY K SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632