DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 03/22/2024, said application claims a priority date of 09/19/2022.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1 and 12 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kostello (US 2019/0034172 A1, published 01/31/2019, hereinafter “Kostello”).
Independent Claims 1 and 12:
Kostello teaches a computing device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (Kostello: ¶ [0062], [0066]); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the computing device to perform a method comprising (Kostello: ¶ [0062], [0066]):
obtaining a static page of a target application, wherein the static page comprises a plurality of page components (The user can provide natural language inputs to create a static page for an application (target application) wherein the page comprises components that are not yet assigned to interactive functionality (e.g. “add a picture of a cat” and “add a home button,”), after the components are added the user can then provide input to add functionality to the components, Kostello: ¶ [0022]-[0023]. Examiner considers the process of receiving the page components from the user to be “obtaining a static page of a target application.”);
receiving, from a user, interaction description information, wherein the interaction description information describes a first interaction function corresponding to at least one page component of the page components (The user can provide natural language input to describe the interactive functionality of a particular component (e.g. “when the home button is pressed, load a home screen.”), Kostello: ¶ [0022].); and
generating an application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction description information (The application design (including the page components and the added functionality) is used to generate the application, Kostello: ¶ [0022]-[0025], [0038]),
wherein the application page comprises a second interaction function corresponding to the interaction description information (The functional instance of the application will have the functionality added to the component of the page, Kostello: abstract, ¶ [0022]-[0025], [0038].).
Claims 2 and 13:
The rejection of claims 1 and 12 are incorporated. Kostello further discloses a device and method wherein the interaction description information is voice information or text information (Kostello: ¶ [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostello in view of Hodaei et al. (US 2018/0101506 A1, published 04/12/2018, hereinafter “Hodaei”).
Claims 3 and 14:
The rejection of claims 1 and 13 is incorporated. Kostello does not appear to expressly teach a device and method wherein the generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction description information comprises:
generating, based on the static page and the interaction description information by using an interaction code generation model, interaction code corresponding to the interaction description information; and
generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction code.
However, Hodaei teaches a device and method wherein the generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction description information comprises (Hodaei: abstract, ¶ [0050], [0075]-[0077], [0080]):
generating, based on the static page and the interaction description information by using an interaction code generation model, interaction code corresponding to the interaction description information (The user can provide natural language input to generate visual components to a page with no functional attributes, Hodaei: Fig. 7, ¶ [0075]-[0077]. The user can then add functional attributes to the components on the page, Hodaei: ¶ [0080]. A data structure is updated with code based on the natural language inputs, Hodaei: ¶ [0083]-[0085]. The natural language used to generate the code is processed by a model (interaction code generation model, Hodaei: ¶ [0049]-[0050], [0056], [0065], [0092]-[0094]); and
generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction code (Hodaei: ¶ [0064], [0080]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device and method of Kostello wherein the generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction description information comprises:
generating, based on the static page and the interaction description information by using an interaction code generation model, interaction code corresponding to the interaction description information; and
generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction code, as taught by Hodaei.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing an effective means for real-time visual interface generation via natural language input (Hodaei: ¶ [0051], [0056], [0088]).
Claims 4 and 15:
The rejection of claims 3 and 14 are incorporated. Kostello in view of Hodaei further teaches a device and method wherein the generating the application page of the target application based on the static page and the interaction code comprises:
fusing code of the static page and the interaction code, to obtain code of a candidate application page (Code for the components without functional data are stored in the data structure and then code for the functional data corresponding to components is added to the data structure (fusing code), Hodaei: ¶ [0075]-[0077], [0080], [0083]-[0084]. The code is used to generate a preview of the user interface being generated (candidate application page), Hodaei: ¶ [0088]-[0089]);
displaying the candidate application page based on the code of the candidate application page by using an interaction optimization interface (Examiner considers the interface that provides the preview to be the optimization interface, because the user can provide further edits via the interface, Hodaei: Fig. 7, ¶ [0051], [0056]-[0057], [0085], [0088]-[0089]); and
adjusting the candidate application page based on an interaction function editing operation performed by the user, to obtain the application page of the target application (Hodaei: Fig. 7, ¶ [0051], [0056]-[0057], [0075]-[0079], [0085], [0088]-[0087]).
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing an effective means for real-time visual interface generation via natural language input (Hodaei: ¶ [0051], [0056], [0088]).
Claim(s) 9-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostello in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0011592 A1, published 01/14/2021, hereinafter “Liu”).
Claims 9 and 20:
The rejection of claims 1 and 12 are incorporated. Kostello does not appear to expressly teach a device and method wherein the obtaining a static page of a target application comprises:
receiving a design diagram of the application page of the target application;
identifying the design diagram by using a static page generation model, to obtain a plurality of groups of intermediate codes, wherein the intermediate code comprises component information of a page component obtained from the design diagram through identification;
generating a static candidate page corresponding to each group of intermediate codes; and
determining a first static candidate page from a plurality of static candidate pages, and
generating the static page of the target application based on the first static candidate page.
However, Liu teaches a device and method wherein the obtaining a static page of a target application comprises:
receiving a design diagram of the application page of the target application (Liu: abstract, ¶ [0040]-[0044]);
identifying the design diagram by using a static page generation model, to obtain a plurality of groups of intermediate codes, wherein the intermediate code comprises component information of a page component obtained from the design diagram through identification (Liu: Fig. 4, ¶ [0047]-[0051], [0056]-[0057]);
generating a static candidate page corresponding to each group of intermediate codes (Liu: Fig. 4, ¶ [0047]-[0051], [0056]-[0057]); and
determining a first static candidate page from a plurality of static candidate pages (Liu: Fig. 7, ¶ [0061], [0065]-[0066]), and
generating the static page of the target application based on the first static candidate page (Liu: ¶ [0067].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device and method of Kostello wherein the obtaining a static page of a target application comprises:
receiving a design diagram of the application page of the target application;
identifying the design diagram by using a static page generation model, to obtain a plurality of groups of intermediate codes, wherein the intermediate code comprises component information of a page component obtained from the design diagram through identification;
generating a static candidate page corresponding to each group of intermediate codes; and
determining a first static candidate page from a plurality of static candidate pages, and
generating the static page of the target application based on the first static candidate page, as taught by Liu.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing better assistance to the user for creating the design of the page (Liu: ¶ [0002]-[0006]).
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Kostello in view of Liu further teaches a method wherein generating the static page of the target application based on the first static candidate page comprises:
displaying the first static candidate page using an interaction optimization interface (Liu: Fig. 8-10, ¶ [0068]-[0075], [0079]-[0082]);
receiving, from the user, an adjustment operation (Liu: Figs. 9 and 10, ¶ [0079]-[0082]); and
adjusting the first static candidate page based on the adjustment operation in order to obtain the static page of the target application (Liu: Figs. 9 and 10, ¶ [0079]-[0082]).
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing better assistance to the user for creating the design of the page (Liu: ¶ [0002]-[0006]).
Claim 11:
The rejection of claim 10 is incorporated. Kostello in view of Liu further teaches a method wherein the adjustment operation comprises at least one of: an operation of adding a component, an operation of deleting a component, or an operation of modifying a component on the first static candidate page, wherein the operation of modifying the component comprises modifying a location, a style, and a size of the component, and wherein the adjustment operation comprises at least one of: an operation of dragging a component and an operation of configuring an attribute value of a component (Components can be added by the user’s adjustment operation, Liu: Figs. 9 and 10, ¶ [0079]-[0082]. The selectable renderings includes styling rules for color, contrast, shape, padding and proportion of the elements in the user interface (attribute values of components), Liu: ¶ [0055]-[0058]).
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing better assistance to the user for creating the design of the page (Liu: ¶ [0002]-[0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 16-19are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Huang, US 11,221,833 B1 (The user can define functionality for UI components via descriptions inputted by the user corresponding to the functionality, column 2 lines 51-67 and column 3 lines 1-4.).
Fialkow et al., US 11,640,492 B2 (The AI can suggest edits to be made to the UI components, column 7 lines 3-9.)
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178