DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/3/2024, 1/2/2025, 4/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akkarakaran et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0251037)
Referring to Claim 1, Akkarakaran et al. disclose a resource selection method (par 126, selecting resources), applied to a transmitting device, comprising: performing first processing before transmission corresponding to a selected sidelink grant is performed (par 126, selecting, sidelink), so that the transmission is in a time in which a receiving device is capable of performing sidelink reception (par 126, within active time, DRX).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein the performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time of the receiving device (par 126, configuration, within active time).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein the performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if at least M transmission resources of the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant are not in a DRX active time of the receiving device, wherein N ≥ M ≥ 1, and N is a total quantity of transmissions of the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant (par 126, configuration, DRX; par 112, retransmission).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein the performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in a DRX active time of the receiving device, and a priority of the transmission is higher than or equal to a preset priority (par 126, select, within; par 62, priority; par 112, retransmission/timer).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 1 above Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein before the performing first processing, the method further comprises: configuring, by the transmitting device, a DRX configuration parameter of the receiving device based on a time division duplex (TDD) slot configuration (par 126, configuration, time; par 55, TDD).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 15 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein the configuring, by the transmitting device, a DRX configuration parameter of the receiving device based on a TDD slot configuration comprises: when a quantity of slots that is capable of used for uplink transmission in a slot configuration period in the TDD slot configuration is equal to the slot configuration period or is not less than a first threshold, configuring a value of a timer related to a DRX active time; or when a quantity of slots that is capable of used for uplink transmission in the slot configuration period is not equal to the slot configuration period or is less than the first threshold, configuring one of following: configuring a DRX cycle to be greater than or equal to the slot configuration period; configuring a DRX cycle to be greater than or equal to a second threshold; configuring a value of a timer related to a DRX active time to be greater than or equal to the slot configuration period; and configuring a value of a timer related to a DRX active time to be greater than or equal to a third threshold (par 126, configuration, time; par 55, TDD; pars 112 and 120, timer).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 16 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein the configuring a value of a timer related to a DRX active time comprises: configuring the value of the timer related to the DRX active time to be at least greater than or equal to a first value, a second value, or a sum of a first value and a second value, wherein the first value is a quantity of slots used for transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal (S-SS) or a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) in each synchronization signal transmission period, and the second value is a quantity of slots occupied for completing transmission of a service packet (par 120, timer, sidelink; par 59, PSS).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 6 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method, wherein the triggering transmission resource reselection comprises one of following: randomly selecting a resource pool from a candidate resource pool; and selecting a resource pool with most logical slots from the candidate resource pool (pars 55 and 56, configured, slots).
Referring to Claim 19, Akkarakaran et al. disclose a terminal, comprising a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of being run on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer program, steps of the resource selection method according to claim 1 are implemented (par 126, resources, UE).
Referring to Claim 20, Akkarakaran et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, steps of the resource selection method according to claim 1 are implemented (par 126, UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0251037) in view of Kung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0136810)
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in an available transmission resource pool of the transmitting device.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in an available transmission resource pool of the transmitting device (pars 132-136, available resource selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in an available transmission resource pool of the transmitting device, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in an available transmission resource pool of the transmitting device, and a priority of the transmission is higher than or equal to a preset priority.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in an available transmission resource pool of the transmitting device, and a priority of the transmission is higher than or equal to a preset priority (pars 132-136, available resource selection; par 141, priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing first processing comprises: triggering transmission resource reselection if the transmission corresponding to the selected sidelink grant is not in an available transmission resource pool of the transmitting device, and a priority of the transmission is higher than or equal to a preset priority, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 2 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU), triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU), triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU), triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 3 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 4 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the transmission of the first MAC PDU, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 3 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method triggering reselection of a resource not in the DRX active (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering reselection of a resource in a transmission resource corresponding to the first MAC PDU.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering reselection of a resource in a transmission resource corresponding to the first MAC PDU (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a current to-be-transmitted first MAC PDU, triggering reselection of a resource in a transmission resource corresponding to the first MAC PDU, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 3 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, setting a value of a sidelink resource reselection counter to 1, and triggering transmission resource reselection for the second MAC PDU when the second MAC PDU is available.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, setting a value of a sidelink resource reselection counter to 1, and triggering transmission resource reselection for the second MAC PDU when the second MAC PDU is available (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection; par 232, counter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, setting a value of a sidelink resource reselection counter to 1, and triggering transmission resource reselection for the second MAC PDU when the second MAC PDU is available, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 3 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, setting a value of a sidelink resource reselection counter to 1, and triggering reselection of a resource not in the DRX active time in a transmission resource of the second MAC PDU.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, setting a value of a sidelink resource reselection counter to 1, and triggering reselection of a resource not in the DRX active time in a transmission resource of the second MAC PDU (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection; par 232, counter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, setting a value of a sidelink resource reselection counter to 1, and triggering reselection of a resource not in the DRX active time in a transmission resource of the second MAC PDU, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 13 as applied to Claim 3 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the second MAC PDU when the second MAC PDU is available.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the second MAC PDU when the second MAC PDU is available (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, triggering transmission resource reselection for the second MAC PDU when the second MAC PDU is available, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 14 as applied to Claim 3 above, Akkarakaran et al. disclose the resource selection method (par 126).
However, Akkarakaran et al. do not disclose triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, performing reselection of a resource not in the DRX active time in a transmission resource corresponding to the second MAC PDU.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. discloses triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, performing reselection of a resource not in the DRX active time in a transmission resource corresponding to the second MAC PDU (pars 132-136, MAC PDU, reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering transmission resource reselection comprises: if the transmission is corresponding to a next to-be-transmitted second MAC PDU, performing reselection of a resource not in the DRX active time in a transmission resource corresponding to the second MAC PDU, as taught by Kung et al., in the method of Akkarakaran et al., for the purpose of performing sidelink transmission based on grants (Kung et al., Abstract).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642