Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III (claims 21-22) in the reply filed on
03/37/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a detection system” recited in claim 25; and
“a reaction system” set forth in claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Gass (2010/0180739 A1). Regarding claim 21, Gass teaches a power tool comprising: an arbor (42, 268; the arbor including shaft 42 and insulating tube 268 disposed along a common axis), the arbor being configured to rotate about the axis, as Gass expressly teaches that shaft 42 is rotatably driven by motor 16 to rotate about the axis (Fig. 1), and tube 268 is arranged on and supported by shaft 42 as part of the arbor structure such that it is capable of rotation with the shaft; where the arbor has a first end and a second end; a blade (40) mounted on the first end of the arbor; a motor (16) configured to rotate the arbor about the axis to spin the blade (40); circuitry (26, 44, 46) configured to generate and monitor an electrical signal; and a connection between the circuitry and the arbor, where the connection includes a chamber (see Fig. 7, the region receiving plates 44, 46) adjacent the second end of the arbor, and where the connection further includes a component (44, 46) disposed within the chamber. See Figs. 1-9 in Gass.
It is noted that claim 21 recites that the arbor is “configured to rotate,” which does not require that all portions of the arbor rotate in unison or at all times, but rather that the arbor is capable of rotation about the axis. Gass clearly teaches such capability via shaft 42, and further teaches tube 268 as part of the arbor assembly arranged on the shaft, thereby satisfying the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 22, Gass teaches the subject matter of claim 21, wherein the connection is an electrical connection (1000, including a sensing arrangement such as a Hall Effect sensor), the component (44, 46) is conductive (e.g., conductive plates), and the circuitry is configured to impart the electrical signal to the blade through the connection.
Regarding claim 23, Gass teaches the subject matter of claim 21, wherein the chamber (Fig. 7) is cylindrical, as evidenced by the geometry of the region receiving plates 44, 46.
Regarding claim 24, Gass teaches the subject matter of claim 21, wherein the chamber is positioned axially within the arbor, as the chamber is aligned with and extends along the axis defined by shaft (42) and tube (268).
Regarding claim 25, Gass teaches the subject matter of claim 21, further including a detection system (22) configured to detect a dangerous condition between a person and the blade (40), wherein the circuitry is part of the detection system and is configured to monitor the electrical signal for changes indicative of the dangerous condition.
Regarding claim 26, Gass teaches the subject matter of claim 25, further including a reaction system (24) configured to be triggered to perform an action to mitigate injury upon detection of the dangerous condition.
Regarding claim 27, Gass teaches everything noted above including the connection is an electrical connection, where the component is conductive, and where the circuitry imparts the electrical signal to the blade through the connection. See rejection of claim 22 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 21 can be alternatively interpreted and rejected as set forth below.
7. Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gass (2010/0180739 A1) in view of Albrecht et al. (5,523,638), hereinafter Albrecht. Regarding claim 21, Gass teaches a power tool comprising: an arbor (42) configured to rotate around an axis, where the arbor has a first end and a second end; a blade (40) mounted on the first end of the arbor; a motor to rotate (16) the arbor around the axis to spin the blade; circuitry to generate and monitor an electrical signal (via the arbor 42); and a connection between the circuitry and the arbor (paragraphs [0054] and [0054]). See Figs. 1-9 in Gass. It should be noted that Gass teaches circuitry configured to generate and monitor an electrical signal, including an excitation system and detection subsystem (22), wherein the electrical signal is imparted to the blade (40) via the arbor (42) (see paragraphs [0054] and [0061]). Gass also discloses a connection between the circuitry and the arbor, including capacitive coupling structures such as charge plates (44, 46) positioned adjacent the arbor (42) to transfer the electrical signal thereto (see paragraphs [0054] and [0061]).
Gass does not explicitly teach that the connection includes a chamber adjacent the second end of the arbor, and where the connection further includes a component in the chamber.
However, Albrecht teaches a rotary electrical connector (57) for transmitting electrical current between stationary circuitry and a rotating member (15; Fig. 1). Albrecht also teaches that the connector includes an annular chamber (145; Fig. 3) defined within the connector (57) and positioned adjacent the rotating member (Fig. 3). Albrecht further teaches that the chamber (145) contains a conductive component, namely conductive fluid (149), which directly contacts conductive elements such as rotary contact ring (117) and stationary contact ring (131) to pass electrical current therebetween (see description of chamber 145 and conductive fluid 149). Thus, Boggs discloses a connection including a chamber containing a conductive component for transmitting electrical current to a rotating member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gass to include the rotary electrical connector of Albrecht in order to provide a reliable electrical connection between stationary circuitry and the rotating arbor (42). Gass already teaches transmitting an electrical signal to a rotating arbor and blade assembly, and Albrecht teaches a known solution for transmitting electrical current to a rotating member using a connector having a chamber (145) containing a conductive component (149). Incorporating the connector of Albrecht into Gass would have predictably resulted in an improved electrical connection capable of reliably transmitting electrical signals to the rotating arbor while accommodating rotation, which is a well-known and established use of rotary electrical connectors.
Regarding claim 22, Gass, in view of Albrecht, teaches everything noted above including that the connection is an electrical connection, where the component is conductive, and where the circuitry imparts the electrical signal to the blade through the connection.
Regarding claim 23, Gass, in view of Albrecht, teaches everything noted above including that the chamber (145; Fig. 3 in Albrecht) is cylindrical.
Regarding claim 23, Gass, in view of Albrecht, teaches everything noted above including that the chamber is positioned axially in the arbor.
It should be noted that Albrecht discloses a rotary electrical connector (57) including an annular chamber (145) defined within the connector and extending circumferentially about a central axis (17) (see Fig. 3). The chamber (145) is concentrically aligned with the axis of the rotating member (15) and positioned within the connector at the interface with the rotating member. Thus, Albrecht teaches a chamber that is axially aligned (i.e., coaxial) with the rotating member, and therefore positioned axial with respect to the shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gass to include the rotary electrical connector (57) of Albrecht in order to provide a reliable electrical connection between stationary circuitry and the rotating arbor (42). Because Boggs teaches positioning the chamber (145) concentrically about the axis of the rotating member, incorporation of the connector into Gass would have resulted in the chamber being positioned axial (i.e., along and aligned with the longitudinal axis) of the arbor, particularly at the second end of the arbor where electrical connection to rotating components is conventionally made (e.g., near pulley (261)). Such modification represents a predictable use of a known rotary electrical connector to transmit electrical signals to a rotating shaft.
Regarding claim 25, Gass teaches everything noted above including a detection system (22) to detect a dangerous condition between a person and the blade (40), where the circuitry is part of the detection system, and where the circuitry is configured to monitor the electrical signal for changes indicative of the dangerous condition.
Regarding claim 25, Gass teaches everything noted above including a reaction system (24) triggerable to perform an action to mitigate injury upon detection of the dangerous condition.
Regarding claim 27, Gass, in view of Albrecht, teaches everything noted above including that the connection is an electrical connection, where the component is conductive, and where the circuitry imparts the electrical signal to the blade through the connection.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Orlowski et al. (2010/0187946 A1) and Holmes et al. (4,529,370) teach a recessed on an arbor to receive an electric component.