DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 6th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 & 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0138142 to Leach et al.
In regard to independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Leach et al. (Leach) discloses:
1. A system (Fig. 1; Abstract; “hydraulic power storage system”) for electronic pressure control of pumps (54) in a dual pump system (two pump systems 54 shown in Fig. 1; “one or more hydraulic pumps 58”; para. 38), the system comprising: a controller (134); a primary pump (i.e. one of the pump systems 54) operated by the controller to maintain a system pressure in a flow path (seen in Fig. 1) at a first pressure setpoint (“at or between 4,000 psig and 5,000 psig”; “the target or threshold pressure”; para. 57); a pressure transducer (130) reading the system pressure and providing the system pressure to the controller (paras. 56-57); and a secondary pump (the other of the pump systems 54) operated by the controller (para. 57) to maintain the system pressure at a second pressure setpoint (i.e. a pressure value less than the first pressure setpoint; “if a pressure within the hydraulic power storage system(s), as indicated in data captured by one or more sensors 130, falls below the target or threshold pressure, one or more hydraulic power production systems 54 may be controlled to increase the pressure within the hydraulic power storage system(s), for example, via one or more electric motor speed controllers 114 activating or increasing a rotational speed of one or more electric motors 70 coupled to one or more hydraulic pumps 58”; para. 57), the second pressure setpoint being less that the first pressure setpoint (“pressure within the hydraulic power storage system(s), as indicated in data captured by one or more sensors 130, falls below the target or threshold pressure”; para. 57).
In regards to Claim 2, the controller operates the secondary pump in a standby mode (a standby (i.e. un-activated) mode for the second pump 54 is clearly indicated in para. 57; “if a pressure within the hydraulic power storage system(s), as indicated in data captured by one or more sensors 130, falls below the target or threshold pressure, one or more hydraulic power production systems 54 may be controlled to increase the pressure within the hydraulic power storage system(s), for example, via one or more electric motor speed controllers 114 activating or increasing a rotational speed of one or more electric motors 70 coupled to one or more hydraulic pumps 58”).
In regards to Claim 3, Leach discloses a primary motor (70) driving the primary pump (para. 45; Figs. 2A-2B).
In regards to Claim 4, the controller operates the primary pump to maintain the system pressure at the first pressure setpoint by varying a first speed of the primary motor (paras. 54 & 57).
In regards to Claim 5, Leach discloses a secondary motor (70) driving the secondary pump (para. 45; Figs. 2A-2B).
In regards to Claim 6, Leach discloses that the controller operates the secondary pump to maintain the system pressure at a second pressure setpoint by varying a second speed of the secondary motor (para. 57).
In regards to Claim 8, at least one of the primary pump and the secondary pump is an electronically pressure compensated pump (para. 57).
In regards to Claim 9, each of the primary pump and the secondary pump is an electronically pressure compensated pump (para. 57).
In regards to Claim 10, the controller (134) is a first controller (i.e. processor) associated with the primary pump (para. 57), and the system further comprises a second controller (i.e. speed controller 114) associated with the secondary pump (para. 57 & Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1-5 & 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0014987 to Garcia et al.
In regard to independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 1-2, Garcia et al. (Garcia) discloses:
1. A system (Figs. 1-2) for electronic pressure control of pumps (2, 9) in a dual pump system (“a main pump and at least one auxiliary pump”; Abstract), the system comprising: a controller (8); a primary pump (2; “a conventional main electric pump”; para. 14) operated by the controller to maintain a system pressure in a flow path (paras. 15 & 19-20; Figs. 1-2) at a first pressure setpoint (“a pre-determined pressure value, considered as the working pressure value”; para. 20); a pressure transducer (5) reading the system pressure and providing the system pressure to the controller (para. 15); and a secondary pump (9; “two auxiliary electric pumps”; para. 14) operated by the controller (paras. 15 & 19-20) to maintain the system pressure at a second pressure setpoint (“pressure has dropped below a pre-determined pressure value”; para. 20), the second pressure setpoint being less that the first pressure setpoint (“pressure has dropped below a pre-determined pressure value”; para. 20).
In regards to Claim 2, the controller operates the secondary pump in a standby mode (a standby mode for pump 9 is clearly indicated in para. 20; “When the control equipment detects that the pressure has dropped below a pre-determined pressure value, considered as the working pressure value, in such a way that the main pump does not give the values required, the first auxiliary pump is brought into use”).
In regards to Claim 3, Garcia discloses a primary motor driving the primary pump (Fig. 2 & para. 14 clearly depict and disclose respective electric drive sources (i.e. motors) for each pump).
In regards to Claim 4, the controller operates the primary pump to maintain the system pressure at the first pressure setpoint by varying a first speed of the primary motor (paras. 5, 20; “a frequency changer to regulate the flow speed that flows through a hydraulic pipe associated to the main pump, an electronic control circuit electrically connected to the pressure transducer, to the flow detector so that based on the signals received from them, it sends a signal to the frequency changer to change the working parameters of the main pump and at least one auxiliary pump, remaining the pressure value unchanged”; “frequency changer (7) will increase or reduce the performance of the main pump in line with the needs, at all times maintaining an unchanged pressure inside the hydraulic circuit”).
In regards to Claim 5, Garcia discloses a secondary motor driving the secondary pump (Fig. 2 & para. 14 clearly depict and disclose respective electric drive sources (i.e. motors) for each pump).
In regards to Claim 8, at least one of the primary pump and the secondary pump is an electronically pressure compensated pump (paras. 15 & 20; “an electronic control circuit (8), all of them are represented diagrammatically, electrically connected to the pressure transducer (5), to the flow detector (6), so that on the basis of the signals received from them it sends a signal to the frequency changer (7) to regulate the working parameters of the main electrical pump (2) and the two auxiliary electric pumps (9)”).
In regards to Claim 9, each of the primary pump and the secondary pump is an electronically pressure compensated pump (paras. 15 & 20; “an electronic control circuit (8), all of them are represented diagrammatically, electrically connected to the pressure transducer (5), to the flow detector (6), so that on the basis of the signals received from them it sends a signal to the frequency changer (7) to regulate the working parameters of the main electrical pump (2) and the two auxiliary electric pumps (9)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach (applied above) in view of US 2022/0326666 to Ubert et al.
In regards to Claim 7, Leach discloses the system of claim 1, including that the controller (134) performs both an outer loop monitoring the system pressure (via sensor 130 and an associated pressure feedback loop clearly described in para. 57) and an inner loop controlling at least one of a first speed of the primary pump and a second speed of the secondary pump (via speed controllers 114 and associated inner loop monitoring speed data; see para. 67). However, while Leach’s controller 134 does monitor and control both system pressure and pump speeds, he does not specify his controller 134 is a PID controller specifically.
However, Ubert et al. (Ubert) discloses yet another system for electronic pressure control of multiple pumps (Figs. 1-6; see Fig. 2, which depicts three pumps 204a-c, each of which includes a variable speed drive motor 103; paras. 69-70), wherein a PID controller (105, 115; Fig. 6) is utilized to adjust pump speed output (116) based on a desired pressure setpoint 110 (paras. 71 & 75). Ubert makes clear that through use of a PID-based controller, pumps, or other such devices, are turned on or off based on a determined optimized efficient way to operate the system. The result is a motor driven system that not only achieves the desired result by varying speed based on a Proportional Integral Derivative (PID) controller speed determination, but which does so by optimizing efficiency. This novel functionality reduces energy consumption, reduces mechanical strain, and saves significant amounts of money in energy and Operations and Maintenance (O&M) costs (para. 9). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill desiring a more efficient pump control system, it would have been obvious to utilize the techniques disclosed in Ubert in combination with those seen in Leaach in order to obtain such a result. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leach’s controller 134 with the PID-based control disclosed in Ubert in order to obtain predictable results; those results being a pump speed control system that provide optimized efficiency, reduced energy consumption, and reduced mechanical strain (as taught in Ubert).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC