DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 9601086 B1) in view of Moriwaki (JP 2003152684 A).
With respect to claims 1 and 9, Chang discloses a projection system and a projection method of a projector comprising: a projector (see 175 in fig.1) configured to project a projection image onto a projection target; a detector configured to detect input of a user (125 in fig.1); and a controller (100 in fig.1) configured to control the projector based on a command (see textured image: col.4, lines 5-10: “In another embodiment, a textured image may be used to provide context for the reference canvas 140.” and manipulation using GUI which changes points of the textured image, col.6, 55-61 : “the GUI 125 automatically updates the shape of the reference canvas 140 (and warps accordingly the textured image)”), wherein the controller executes a input mode for adjusting a shape of the projection image based on the command (see the operation of 170 in 100 of fig.1), wherein the controller causes the projector to project, as the projection image, an adjustment image for adjusting the shape of the projection image (see the image projected by projector 175), the adjustment image including a plurality of adjustment points (see textured image: col.4, lines 5-10: “In another embodiment, a textured image may be used to provide context for the reference canvas 140.” and manipulation using GUI which changes points of the textured image, col.6, 55-61 : “the GUI 125 automatically updates the shape of the reference canvas 140 (and warps accordingly the textured image)”), and executes the voice input mode (see wherein the cursor is replaced by a voice commands, col.9, lines 45-51: System 500 is also well suited to having a cursor directed by other means such as, for example, voice commands.) in a period in which the adjustment image is projected onto the projection target (see the operation of fig.2), and wherein the command includes a movement command for moving at least one of the plurality of adjustment points (see the real time execution of changes to the adjustment image, col.7, lines 1-7: “the movement by a mouse of the control point with the pair of coordinates represented by 215a has the effect of stretching the reference canvas 140 to accommodate the movement. For example, a user may use a click-and-drag operation via a mouse, or other similar device, to move a movable control point with a pair of coordinates represented by 215a from first location 205a on image 110 to second location 205b of image 110”) but does not explicitly disclose a detector configured to detect voice of a user; and a controller configured to control the projector based on a command included in the voice detected by the detector.
Moriwaki discloses a projection system (see 2, 4, 5 in fig.6) comprising: a projector (see 2 in fig.6) configured to project a projection image onto a projection target; a detector (see para.[0062]: “microphone”)configured to detect voice of a user; and a controller (see 4 in fig. 6 and Geometry correction unit: “the input signal geometry correction unit generates the correction information based on voice information of a voice received from the voice input unit”) configured to control the projector (2 in fig.6) based on a command (see para.[0017]: “voice information”) included in the voice detected by the detector (see para.[0017]: “voice input means for receiving a voice input by a user, wherein the input signal geometric correction means comprises: The correction information is generated based on voice information of a voice received from the voice input unit.”), wherein the controller (see Geometry correction unit: “the input signal geometry correction unit generates the correction information based on voice information of a voice received from the voice input unit”) executes a voice input mode for adjusting a shape of the projection image based on the command (see para.[0062]: “a microphone is treated as data for geometric correction. A configuration that enables the geometric correction described in the invention may be adopted.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chang with the teaching of Moriwaki so that a detector configured to detect voice of a user; and a controller configured to control the projector based on a command included in the voice detected by the detector to improve user friendliness by enhancing voice command.
With respect to claim 7, Chang in view of Moriwaki discloses the projection system according to claim 1, Chang further discloses the controller causes the projector to project the projection image including the adjusted adjustment image (see textured image: col.4, lines 5-10: “In another embodiment, a textured image may be used to provide context for the reference canvas 140.” and manipulation using GUI which changes points of the textured image, col.6, 55-61 : “the GUI 125 automatically updates the shape of the reference canvas 140 (and warps accordingly the textured image)”) but does not disclose when a correction instruction for correcting the projection image is included in the voice detected by the detector.
Moriwaki discloses wherein when a correction instruction for correcting the projection image is included in the voice detected by the detector (see para.[0017]: “voice input means for receiving a voice input by a user, wherein the input signal geometric correction means comprises: The correction information is generated based on voice information of a voice received from the voice input unit.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chang with the teaching of Moriwaki so that when a correction instruction for correcting the projection image is included in the voice detected by the detector, the controller causes the projector to project the projection image including the adjusted adjustment image.to improve user friendliness by enhancing voice command.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 9601086 B1) in view of Moriwaki (JP 2003152684 A) and Kikazawa (JP 2015020007 A).
With respect to claim 3, Chang in view of Moriwaki discloses the projection system according to claim 2, Chang in combination with Moriwaki discloses wherein when executing the voice input mode (see para.[0017] of Moriwaki: “voice input means for receiving a voice input by a user, wherein the input signal geometric correction means comprises: The correction information is generated based on voice information of a voice received from the voice input unit.”).
But Chang in view of Moriwaki does not disclose the controller causes the projector to display a plurality of position information images indicating positions of the plurality of adjustment points on the adjustment image, and the command includes a selection command for selecting at least one of the plurality of adjustment points based on at least one of the plurality of position information images.
Kikazawa discloses the controller (see controller 131) causes the projector to display a plurality of position information images indicating positions of the plurality of adjustment points on the adjustment image (see 220 in fig.3 ), and the command includes a selection command for selecting at least one of the plurality of adjustment points (see the selection command in fig.8(a) and 8(b), and numbers in 220 and fig.5(b) which are used to coordinate the user commands and the projector and which are available to guide the user selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chang in view of Moriwaki with Kikazawa so that wherein when executing the voice input mode, the controller causes the projector to display a plurality of position information images indicating positions of the plurality of adjustment points on the adjustment image, and the command includes a selection command for selecting at least one of the plurality of adjustment points based on at least one of the plurality of position information images to improve the image quality by implementing a versatile process of image correction.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Chang (US 9601086 B1) in view of Moriwaki (JP 2003152684 A) in view of Kikazawa (JP 2015020007 A) and Saigo (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0038670 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Chang in view of Moriwaki with Kikazawa discloses the projection system according to claim 3, Chang in view of Moriwaki with Kikazawa does not disclose wherein, when at least one of the plurality of adjustment points is selected as a selection target according to the selection command, the controller causes the projector to project a selection display image indicating the selection target.
Saigo discloses when at least one of the plurality of adjustment points is selected as a selection target according to the selection command (see CUS in fig.10), the controller causes the projector to project a selection display image indicating the selection target (see fig.10, CUS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projection system of Chang in view of Moriwaki with Kikazawa with the teaching of Saigo so that when at least one of the plurality of adjustment points is selected as a selection target according to the selection command, the controller causes the projector to project a selection display image indicating the selection targets to enhance user friendliness and image correction quality of the projection system.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 9601086 B1) in view of Moriwaki (JP 2003152684 A), Kikazawa (JP 2015020007 A), Suzuki (United States Patent Application Publication 20200258515 A1) and Taki (WO 2018116556 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Chang in view of Moriwaki discloses the projection system according to claim 1, Chang wherein the movement command includes a movement instruction direction and a movement amount of the adjustment point as instruction values (see the movement in fig.2, see operation of moving from first location and second location which includes direction and amount instruction values in fig.2) but does not disclose when determining that the movement command does not include the movement instruction direction or the movement amount, the controller causes the projector to project information indicating that the instruction values are insufficient.
Suzuki teaches when the movement command is ambiguous, notify the user ([0111]: On the other hand, in a case where an ambiguous item is present, but all models are already utilized (Step S129/Yes, Step S132/Yes), the information processing device 100 makes a request for additional information to a user (Step S135). For example, the information processing device 100 may output a question such as “where is “there”?” to the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projection system of Chang in view of Moriwaki with the teaching of Suzuki so that when determining that the movement command does not include the movement instruction direction or the movement amount the user is notified to improve user friendliness.
Chang in view of Moriwaki and Kikazawa does not disclose the controller causes the projector to project information indicating that the instruction values are insufficient.
Taki teaches when issuing a notification when an insufficient voice command is received (see Control of visual effects displayed with voice recognition: the control of the visual effect displayed together with the voice recognition result according to the present embodiment will be described in detail. The output control unit 130 according to the present embodiment can output a visual effect related to feedback on the utterance together with the voice recognition result. In particular, the output control unit 130 according to the present embodiment may display a visual effect indicating that the length of the utterance is insufficient together with the voice recognition result..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projection system of Chang in view of Moriwaki, Kikazawa and Suzuki with the teaching of Taki so that when determining that the movement command does not include the movement instruction direction or the movement amount, the controller causes the projector to project information indicating that the instruction values are insufficient to improve user friendliness.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 9601086 B1) in view of Moriwaki (JP 2003152684 A) and Saigo (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0038670 A1).
.
With respect to claim 8, Chang in view of Moriwaki discloses the projection system according to claim 2, but does not disclose further comprising a supply device configured to supply content data corresponding to a content image to the projector, wherein the controller does not cause the projector to project the adjustment image onto the projection target in a period in which the projection image including the content image is projected by the projector.
Saigo discloses a supply device (4) configured to supply content data corresponding to a content image to the projector, wherein the controller does not cause the projector to project the adjustment image (see fig.20) onto the projection target in a period in which the projection image including the content image is projected by the projector (see operation in fig.20, demonstrates a device capable of performing this operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to Chang in view of Moriwaki with the teaching of Saigo so that a supply device configured to supply content data corresponding to a content image to the projector, wherein the controller does not cause the projector to project the adjustment image onto the projection target in a period in which the projection image including the content image is projected by the projector to enhance the user experience by not projecting a test image during a period of image projection.
With respect to claim 10, Chang discloses controller of a projector to adjust a shape of a projection image based on the extracted command (see textured image: col.4, lines 5-10: “In another embodiment, a textured image may be used to provide context for the reference canvas 140.” and manipulation using GUI which changes points of the textured image, col.6, 55-61 : “the GUI 125 automatically updates the shape of the reference canvas 140 (and warps accordingly the textured image”; see wherein the controller executes a input mode for adjusting a shape of the projection image based on the command (see the operation of 170 in 100 of fig.1), and cause the projector to project, as the projection image, an adjustment image for adjusting the shape of the projection image (see the image projected by projector 175), the adjustment image including a plurality of adjustment points (see textured image: col.4, lines 5-10: “In another embodiment, a textured image may be used to provide context for the reference canvas 140.” and manipulation using GUI which changes points of the textured image, col.6, 55-61 : “the GUI 125 automatically updates the shape of the reference canvas 140 (and warps accordingly the textured image)”), and executes the voice input mode (see wherein the cursor is replaced by a voice commands, col.9, lines 45-51: System 500 is also well suited to having a cursor directed by other means such as, for example, voice commands.) in a period in which the adjustment image is projected onto the projection target (see the operation of fig.2), and wherein the command includes a movement command for moving at least one of the plurality of adjustment points (see the real time execution of changes to the adjustment image, col.7, lines 1-7: “the movement by a mouse of the control point with the pair of coordinates represented by 215a has the effect of stretching the reference canvas 140 to accommodate the movement. For example, a user may use a click-and-drag operation via a mouse, or other similar device, to move a movable control point with a pair of coordinates represented by 215a from first location 205a on image 110 to second location 205b of image 110”) but does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a projection program, the projection program causing a controller of a projector to: execute a voice input mode for acquiring voice of a user; extract a command included in the voice.
Moriwaki discloses execute a voice input mode for acquiring voice of a user (see para.[0062]: “a microphone is treated as data for geometric correction. A configuration that enables the geometric correction described in the invention may be adopted.”); extract a command (see para.[0017]: “voice information”) included in the voice; and adjust a shape of a projection image based on the extracted command (see para.[0017]: “voice input means for receiving a voice input by a user, wherein the input signal geometric correction means comprises: The correction information is generated based on voice information of a voice received from the voice input unit.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chang with the teaching of Moriwaki so that a controller of a projector to: execute a voice input mode for acquiring voice of a user; extract a command included in the voice; and adjust a shape of a projection image based on the extracted command; and cause the projector to project, as the projection image, an adjustment image for adjusting the shape of the projection image, the adjustment image including a plurality of adjustment points, and execute the voice input mode in a period in which the adjustment image is projected onto the projection target, wherein the command includes a movement command for moving at least one of the plurality of adjustment points to improve user friendliness by enhancing voice command feature.
But Chang in view of Moriwaki does not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a projection program, the projection program causing a controller to perform operations.
Saigo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a projection program, the projection program causing a controller to perform operations (see para.[0045]: “The storage apparatus 14 is formed, for example, of a magnetic storage apparatus or a flash ROM (read only memory). The storage apparatus 14 is a recording medium readable by the processing apparatus 12 and stores, for example, a plurality of programs including a control program executed by the processing apparatus 12”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify system of Chang in view of Moriwaki with the teaching of Saigo so that a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a projection program, the projection program causing a controller to perform operations to enhance the versatility and independence of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 07/02/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882