DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for provisional priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e). The provisional application being filed March 24, 2023, as Application No. 63/454,426.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 9, 2025 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 2 lacks the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the conductive and insulative materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in lines 1 & 5, the abstract recites the terms “….are provided” and “….also included in this disclosure.”, respectively, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should replace the terms, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foss-Pendersen et al (Pub Num 2018/0358152, herein referred to as Foss). Foss discloses a ultraviolet resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1, i.e. carbon black is utilized to provide UV properties). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Foss discloses a UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (100) comprising an inner conductor (110), a cross-linked insulation (i.e. XLPE, 120, Paragraph 48) having carbon black dispersed therein (Paragraph 48) and surrounding the inner conductor (110) and an UV stable colored skin coat (140, embedded carbon black forms a black jacket, Paragraph 48). With respect to claim 6, Foss discloses a UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (100) comprising an inner conductor (110), a cross-linked XLPE insulation (120, Paragraph 48) having carbon black dispersed therein (Paragraph 48) and surrounding the inner conductor (110) and an UV stable colored skin coat (140, embedded carbon black forms a black jacket, Paragraph 48). With respect to claim 8, Foss discloses that the inner conductor (110) may be an aluminum or copper conductor (Paragraph 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss (Pub Num 2018/0358152) in view of Hawig (Pub Num 2021/0108094). Foss discloses a ultraviolet resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1, i.e. carbon black is utilized to provide UV properties), as disclosed above with respect to claim 1. Specifically, with respect to claim 4, Foss discloses that the inner conductor (110) may be an aluminum or copper conductor (Paragraph 47). With respect to claim 5, Foss discloses that the cross-linked insulation (120) may comprises XLPE having carbon black (Paragraph 48) and the skin coat (140) may comprise XLPE (Paragraph 48).
However, Foss doesn’t necessarily disclose the skin coat comprising titanium dioxide (claims 2 & 7), nor the carbon black being about 2.5% by weight and the titanium dioxide being between 0.5-1.2% by weight (claims 3 & 10), nor the insulation comprising the carbon black being about 2.5% by weight (claim 9).
Hawig teaches an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Figs 1-2B) having improved abrasion resistance and UV protecting properties (abstract), while also being heat and chemical resistant (Paragraph 39) and providing high thermal stability that withstands elevated temperatures (Paragraph 37). Specifically, with respect to claims 2-3, 7, and 9-10, Hawig teaches a UV resistant jacketed conductor (20, Fig 2A-2B) comprising an inner conductor (20), a cross-linked insulation (22, Paragraph 48) surrounding the inner conductor (20) and an coat layer (23), wherein insulation layer (22) may be XLPE (Paragraph 35) and comprise carbon black (Paragraph 36) and the coat layer (23) may comprise titanium dioxide or carbon black (Paragraph 48), wherein the carbon black may be about 2.5% by weight (i.e. 0.1-15% incorporates 2.5%) and the titanium dioxide being between 0.5-1.2% by weight (i.e. 0.1-15% incorporates 0.5-1.2%, Paragraph 48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor of Foss to comprise the carbon black and titanium within XLPE configuration as taught by Hawig because Hawig teaches that such a configuration provides an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Figs 1-2B) having improved abrasion resistance and UV protecting properties (abstract), while also being heat and chemical resistant (Paragraph 39) and providing high thermal stability that withstands elevated temperatures (Paragraph 37) and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss (Pub Num 2018/0358152) in view of Hawig (Pub Num 2021/0108094), as applied to claim 10 above (herein referred to as modified Foss), further in view of Yu (Pub Num 2020/0234851). Modified Foss discloses an ultraviolet resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1, i.e. carbon black is utilized to provide UV properties), as disclosed above with respect to claim 10.
While discloses the XLPE insulation (120) and UV coat layer (140, see Foss above), modified Foss doesn’t necessarily disclose the insulation having a thickness of at least 0.040” (claim 11), nor the XLPE insulation layer having an average thickness of 0.045” (claim 12), nor the UV stable skin coat layer having a thickness of 0.005” (claim 13).
Yu teaches a known jacketed insulated conductor (Figs 1A-1B) comprising enhanced thermal stability when experiencing a variance in temperature (Paragraph 11). Specifically, with respect to claims 11-13, Yu teaches a conductor (100, Fig 1A-1B) comprising an inner conductor (102), a cross-linked insulation (106) made of XLPE (Paragraph 13) and surrounding the inner conductor (102) and an outer coated layer (108), made of XLPE (Paragraph 13), wherein the inner insulation layer (106) may have a thickness of at least 0.040” (i.e. 75-225 mils = 0.075-0.225”, which incorporates the claimed range of at least 0.040 and an average thickness of 0.045”) and wherein the outer coated layer (108) may have a thickness of at least 0.005” (i.e. 75-200 mils =0.075-0.2”, which incorporates the claimed range of at least 0.005”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor of modified Foss to comprise the insulation and coat thicknesses configuration as taught by Yu because Yu teaches that such a configuration provides a known jacketed insulated conductor (Figs 1A-1B) comprising enhanced thermal stability when experiencing a variance in temperature (Paragraph 11) and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss (Pub Num 2018/0358152) in view of Hawig (Pub Num 2021/0108094) and Yu (Pub Num 2020/0234851), as applied to claim 13 above (herein referred to as modified Foss2), further in view of Montes Valdez et al (Pub Num 2011/0147042, herein referred to as Montes). Modified Foss2 discloses an ultraviolet resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1, i.e. carbon black is utilized to provide UV properties), as disclosed above with respect to claim 13.
However, modified Foss2 doesn’t necessarily disclose UV stable skin colored coat being colored with UV stable Polyone color chips or Avient® SMARTBATCH® UV stable Munsell color pellets (claim 14), nor the UV stable colored skin coat comprising about 2-3% UV stable Polyone color chips or Avient® SMARTBATCH® UV stable Munsell color pellets (claim 15).
Montes teaches an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1) that exhibits optimum mechanical properties (Paragraph 11), such as resistance to abrasion (Paragraph 11), UV, and tracking (Paragraph 33). Specifically, with respect to claims 14-15, Montes teaches an jacketed insulated conductor (10) comprising an inner conductor (30) and a UV stable skin colored layer (20), which may be made of XLPE (Paragraph 33), wherein the layer (20) may comprise UV stable Polyone color chips (i.e. white concentrate, Table 1, Paragraph 33), wherein the UV stable Polyone color chips are present at about 3.1% (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor of modified Foss2 to comprise the UV stable Polyone color chips configuration as taught by Montes because Montes teaches that such a configuration provides an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1) that exhibits optimum mechanical properties (Paragraph 11), such as resistance to abrasion (Paragraph 11), UV, and tracking (Paragraph 33).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawig (Pub Num 2021/0108094) in view of Montes Valdez (Pub Num 2011/0147042). Hawig teaches a method of making an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Figs 1-2B) having improved abrasion resistance and UV protecting properties (abstract), while also being heat and chemical resistant (Paragraph 39) and providing high thermal stability that withstands elevated temperatures (Paragraph 37). Specifically, with respect to claim 16, Hawig discloses a method comprising advancing at least one conductor wire (20, Fig 2A-2B) through an extrusion head (Paragraph 32), supplying a pre-mixed insulation composition (22, Paragraph 34) comprising polymer based resins (Paragraph 36), cross-linked catalyst (Paragraph 36), and carbon black (Paragraph 36), supplying a pre-mixed skin composition (23) to a piggyback extruder (i.e. tandem extruded, Paragraph 35), wherein the pre-mixed skin composition (23) comprises polymer base resins (Paragraph 36), cross-linked catalyst (Paragraph 36), and UV protection agent (Paragraph 48), and extruding the insulation composition (22) from the extrusion head and around the conductor wire (20) to as to form the insulation surrounding the conductor wire (20) and extruding the skin composition (23) from the piggyback extruder (i.e. tandem extruder, Paragraph 35).
While Hawig discloses the composition (23) having cross linking catalyst (Paragraph 36), Hawig doesn’t necessarily disclose that the cross linking catalyst is a colorant catalyst (claim 16).
Montes teaches an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1) that exhibits optimum mechanical properties (Paragraph 11), such as resistance to abrasion (Paragraph 11), UV, and tracking (Paragraph 33). Specifically, with respect to claim 16, Montes teaches an jacketed insulated conductor (10) comprising an inner conductor (30) and a UV stable skin colored layer (20), which may be made of XLPE (Paragraph 33), wherein the layer (20) may comprise UV stable cross-linking catalyst, such as Polyone color chips (i.e. white concentrate, Table 1, Paragraph 33), wherein the UV stable Polyone color chips are present at about 3.1% (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor of Hawig to comprise the UV stable crosslinking Polyone color chips configuration as taught by Montes because Montes teaches that such a configuration provides an UV resistant jacketed insulated conductor (Fig 1) that exhibits optimum mechanical properties (Paragraph 11), such as resistance to abrasion (Paragraph 11), UV, and tracking (Paragraph 33).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various insulated conductors.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
November 13, 2025