DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merit for claims 1 and 3 – 12. Claim 2 is cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the fluid line and the spray line can be connected to each other in a non-destructive and detachable fluidic connection via the line coupler” in lines 8 – 9. “Can be” renders the claim indefinite in that it is unclear if the limitation is required or optional. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as optional.
Claims 3 – 12 are further rejected as dependents of rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaeuble (EP 2803540 A1) in view of Grasso (EP 3124336 A1) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Schaeuble teaches a windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) for a vehicle (Paragraph [0001]), comprising a wiper blade (wiper blade, 2; Fig. 1) having a spraying device (spraying device of the mechanical connector, 7; Fig. 1), a fluid line (fluid line connecting with connecting interface, 5; Abstract – in order to supply fluid to wiper, the connector interface, 5 is connected to a fluid line in the arm; Paragraph [0018]), a wiper arm (arm, 3) on which the fluid line is arranged or retained (Fig. 1), and a retaining device (adapter, 8), wherein the spraying device (Fig. 1) comprises a spraying device connector (the mechanical connector, 7; Fig. 1), wherein the fluid line comprises a line coupler (connecting interface, 5), wherein the fluid line and the spraying device (Fig. 1) can be connected to each other in a non-destructive and detachable fluidic connection via the line coupler (5) and the spraying device connector (7; Fig. 1), wherein the retaining device (8) is arranged on the wiper blade (2), wherein the retaining device (8) in a first state is configured to enable non- destructive detachment of a fluidic connection between the line coupler (5) and the spraying device connector (7; Fig. 3; Paragraphs [0023] – [0025]), and wherein the retaining device (8) in a second state is configured to prevent non-destructive detachment of the fluidic connection coupling (Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0023] – [0025]).
Schaeuble does not explicitly teach wherein retaining device is rotatably arranged on the wiper blade, the first state corresponds to a first position of the retaining device, and the second state corresponds to a second position of the retaining device.
Grasso, however, teaches wherein retaining device (8) is rotatably arranged on the wiper blade (Paragraph [0027]), the first state corresponds to a first position of the retaining device (Fig. 2b), and the second state corresponds to a second position of the retaining device (Fig. 2c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Schaeuble to further include wherein retaining device is rotatably arranged on the wiper blade, the first state corresponds to a first position of the retaining device, and the second state corresponds to a second position of the retaining device, as taught by Grasso, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 3, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the retaining device (8) comprises at least one latch (sliding element, 6; notch, 10; or excrescence 11), wherein the latch (6) is, in a first position of the retaining device (8), configured to enable a pull-off movement of the line coupler (5) from the spraying device connector (7) in order to detach the fluidic connection coupling along a pull-off direction (Fig. 3), and wherein the latch (10) is, in a second position (Fig. 2) of the retaining device (8), configured to prevent the pull-off movement of the line coupler from the spraying device connector (7) .
Regarding Claim 4, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the latch (6) is configured to engage into at least one recess of the retaining device in the second position of the retaining device (Fig. 2; flaps, 13 of slide engage first slot, 12).
Regarding Claim 5, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein in the second position (Fig. 3) of the retaining device (8), the latch (6) is arranged at an end of the line coupler (5) opposite the fluidic connection coupling in order to prevent the pull-off movement of the line coupler (5) along the pull-off direction from detaching the fluidic connector coupling (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the wiper arm (3) is mechanically connected to the wiper blade (2) by the retaining device (8; Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding Claim 7, Schaeuble teaches the windshield wiper system according to claim 2 as discussed above.
Schaeuble teaches an angular range as shown in Fig. 4, but fails to explicitly teach the second position of the retaining device comprises at least an angular range of 0° to 5° with respect to a pull-off direction.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Schaeuble to further include the second position of the retaining device comprises at least an angular range of 0° to 5° with respect to a pull-off direction, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/angle of a component. A change in size/angle is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 8, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the second position (Fig. 3) of the retaining device (8) corresponds to an operating position in which the wiper blade (2) can be placed against a surface being cleaned (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the retaining device (8) is configured to be mechanically connected to the wiper arm (3) in the first state in a non-destructive and detachable manner (Paragraphs [0023] – [0025]).
Regarding Claim 10, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the retaining device (8) in the second state (Fig. 3) is configured to prevent non-destructive detachment of a mechanical connection to the wiper arm (3; Paragraphs [0023] – [0025]).
Regarding Claim 11, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein the line coupler (5) and the spraying device connector (7) can be mechanically connected to one another via a snap connection (via notch, 16; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Schaeuble, as modified, teaches the windshield wiper system (wiping system, 1; Fig. 1) wherein, in the second position (Fig. 3) of the retaining device (8), the latch (6) is arranged at an end of the line coupler (5) opposite the fluidic connection coupling in order to prevent the pull-off movement of the line coupler along the pull-off direction from detaching the fluidic connector coupling Paragraphs [0023] – [0025]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated June 25, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Grasso.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723