DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendments to the drawings, filed June 15, 2026, with respect to drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of drawing figure 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see amendments to the specification, filed June 15, 2026, with respect to specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of specification paragraph 29 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, applicant argues that Qian in view of Larose does not render the amended claim limitations of a flexible printed circuit within the first band body wherein an end of the flexible printed circuit is inserted into the accommodating space, as obvious. This argument is not persuasive because Qian in view of Larose teaches a flexible printed circuit (figure 12 of Larose) and the electronic device that is within the accommodating space (annotated figure 5 of Qian) is an RFID chip (42 of Larose), a battery (44 of Larose), and a circuit (46 of Larose). Since the rejection of claim 1 stands, the rejection of claims 2-7 stands based on dependency.
With respect to claim 12, applicant similarly argues that Qian in view of Larose does not render the amended claim limitations of a first band body having a first end connected to the first watch clasp and a flexible printed circuit within the first band body wherein an end of the flexible printed circuit is inserted into the accommodating space, as obvious. This argument is not persuasive because the first band body of Larose has a first end that is connected to one of its watch clasps. Also, Qian in view of Larose teaches a flexible printed circuit within the first band body (figure 12 of Larose) and the electronic device that is within the accommodating space (annotated figure 5 of Qian) is an RFID chip (42 of Larose), a battery (44 of Larose), and a circuit (46 of Larose). As taught in figure 5 of Qian, the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) is connected to the end of the band (22, strap). While Larose may not explicitly disclose the watch clasp being connected to the band in this way, the teaching of Larose that was utilized for this rejection was the use of an electronic device and circuitry in a wrist band apparatus. See MPEP 2142. Since the rejection of claim 12 stands, the rejection of claims 13-17 stands based on dependency.
With respect to claim 7, the reference Hashimoto taught the elastic component or spring in the first housing used within the lock clasp of Qian in view of Larose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (US 20160037879 A1) in view of the embodiment of figures 6A, 6B, and 12 of Larose et al. (US 11308748 B2).
Annotated Figure 5 of Qian
Regarding claim 1, Qian discloses an apparatus (20, clasp), comprising: a first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) comprising an accommodating space (annotated figure 5 and [0033] lines 4-6); a second watch clasp (29, top portion) detachably connected ([0027], lines 5-8) to the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion); a first band body (22, first strap) comprising a first end connected to the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion); and a second band body (24, second strap) comprising a second end connected to the second watch clasp (29, top portion).
Qian does not explicitly disclose the accommodating space accommodating an electronic device or the first strap being connected to an electronic device.
Larose teaches an apparatus (clasp), comprising: a first watch clasp (40, interlocking member) comprising an accommodating space (48, pocket), wherein the accommodating space (48, pocket) is configured to accommodate an electronic device (42, RFID chip); a second watch clasp (10, interlocking member) connected to the first watch clasp (40, interlocking member); a first band body (422, band) comprising a first end connected to the first watch clasp (40, interlocking member) and a flexible printed circuit (600, conductive trace) disposed in the first band body (422, band), wherein the flexible printed circuit (600, conductive trace) comprises a flexible printed circuit end (42, RFID chip) inserted into the accommodating space and
and configured to be electrically connected to the electronic device (42, RFID chip).
Examiner notes the embodiment of Larose figure 12 was configured to be used with any clasp from its disclosure (column 20, lines 54-57 of Larose).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the accommodating space and first strap of Qian to include an RFID chip within said accommodating space and an electrical connection within the strap as taught by Larose. One would be motivated to make this modification because having a transmission member such as a RFID chip within the buckle allows one to communicate with a remote system or network (column 21, lines 22-25 of Larose). Furthermore, the RFID chip can help detect and alert if the band or connection between the two clasp portions was broken or severed (abstract, lines 5-8 of Larose) and having the RFID chip or other electronic device within the clasp protects it from outside damage (abstract, line 10 of Larose).
Regarding claim 2, Qian discloses that the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) comprises: a first housing (30, frame member); a first cover (34, plate); a boss disposed on an inner bottom surface (annotated figure 5 of Qian) of the first housing (30, frame member); and a groove comprising a groove opening (annotated figure 5 of Qian) and disposed on a first part of the boss that is away from the inner bottom surface (annotated figure 5 of Qian), wherein the first cover (34, plate) is connected to the boss and is configured to cover the groove opening to form the accommodating space between the first cover and the groove (annotated figure 5 of Qian).
Regarding claim 3, Qian discloses a sealing groove (annotated figure 5 of Qian) around the groove, wherein the sealing groove comprises a first notch (edge of sealing grove from annotated figure 5 of Qian); and a sealing component located in the sealing groove (annotated figure 5 of Qian) and clamped between the first cover (34, plate of Qian) and the boss (annotated figure 5 of Qian), wherein the sealing groove comprises a second notch (edge of sealing component from annotated figure 5 of Qian) that faces the first notch, and wherein the flexible printed circuit end (42, RFID chip of Larose) passes into the accommodating space through the first notch and the second notch (annotated figure 5 of Qian).
Examiner notes that the RFID chip of Larose will take the place of the magnets (68A, 68B) of Qian.
Regarding claim 4, Qian discloses that the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) further comprises: a lock clasp (42, button) located on a first side of the boss (figure 5 of Qian), connected to the first housing (30, frame member), and configured to move relative to the first housing (30, frame member); a lock slot (136, hole) on an outer wall (38, plate) of the second watch clasp (29, top portion); and a second part (114, protrusion) that is of the lock clasp (42, button), that is away from the first housing (30, frame member), and that is configured to be inserted into the lock slot (136, hole) to lock or unlock the lock clasp (42, button) and the lock slot (136, hole).
Annotated Figure 3 of Qian
Regarding claim 5, Qian discloses that the lock clasp (42, button) comprises: a first sliding block (100, elongated portion) comprising: a third part (annotated figure 3 of Qian) located in the first housing (30, frame member); and a fourth part (annotated figure 3 of Qian) located outside the first housing (30, frame member), wherein the first sliding block (100, elongate portion) is configured to move relative to the first housing (30, frame member); a first lock arm (116, shaft) comprising: a fifth part connected to the third part (annotated figure 3 of Qian), located on a second side of the first sliding block (100, elongated portion), and located away from the inner bottom surface; a sixth part (118, head) located outside the first housing (30, frame member); and a first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface) on a side wall of the sixth part (118, head); and a first protrusion (annotated figure 3 of Qian) on an inner side wall of the lock slot (136, hole), located at a slot opening (figure 3D of Qian) of the lock slot (136, hole), and facing the first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface), wherein the lock clasp (42, button) and the lock slot (136, hole) are configured to mutually lock (paragraph 0066 of Qian) when the first sliding block (100, elongated portion) drives the sixth part (118, head) to move away from a center of the second watch clasp (29, top portion) and the first protrusion (annotated figure 3 of Qian) is located in the first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface), and wherein the lock clasp (42, button) and the lock slot (136, hole) are configured to mutually unlock (paragraph 0066) when the first sliding block (100, elongated portion) drives the sixth part (118, head) to move toward the center and the first protrusion is located outside the first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface).
Regarding claim 6, Qian discloses a first inclined surface (annotated figure 3 of Qian) on a third side of the first protrusion, wherein in a direction toward the center, the first inclined surface is configured to tilt from the slot opening to a slot bottom (annotated figure 3 of Qian); and a second inclined surface (132, curved inner surface) on the inner side wall (figure 3D of Qian) and facing the first inclined surface (annotated figure 3 of Qian), wherein in the direction toward the center, the second inclined surface (132, curved inner surface) is configured to tilt from the slot bottom to the slot opening (figure 3D of Qian).
Regarding claim 12, Qian discloses an apparatus (20, clasp), comprising: a watch face (26, wearable device, [0029] lines 4-6); a watchband (strap) comprising: a first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) comprising an accommodating space (annotated figure 5 and [0033] lines 4-6); a second watch clasp (29, top portion) detachably connected ([0027], lines 5-8) to the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion); a first band body (22, first strap) having a first end connected to the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) and a second end connected to the watch face (26, wearable device) (figure 1); and a second band body (24, second strap) having a third end connected to the second watch clasp (29, top portion) and a fourth end connected to the watch face (26, wearable device) (figure 1).
Qian does not explicitly disclose an electronic device located in the accommodating space or the first strap being electrically connected to an electronic device.
Larose teaches an apparatus (clasp), comprising: a first watch clasp (40, interlocking member) comprising an accommodating space (48, pocket); a second watch clasp (10, interlocking member) connected to the first watch clasp (40, interlocking member); a first band body (422, band) comprising: a first end connected to the first watch clasp (40, interlocking member); a flexible printed circuit (600, conductive trace) disposed in the first band body (422, band), wherein the flexible printed circuit (600, conductive trace) comprises a flexible printed circuit end (42, RFID chip) inserted into the accommodating space; and an electronic device (42, RFID chip) located in the accommodating space (48, pocket) and electrically connected by the flexible printed circuit (600, conductive trace), wherein the electronic device (42, RFID chip) is configured to be electrically connected to the flexible printed circuit end (42, RFID chip).
Examiner notes the embodiment of Larose figure 12 was configured to be used with any clasp from its disclosure (column 20, lines 54-57 of Larose).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the accommodating space and first strap of Qian to include an RFID chip within said accommodating space and an electrical connection within the strap as taught by Larose. One would be motivated to make this modification because having a transmission member such as a RFID chip within the buckle allows one to communicate with a remote system or network (column 21, lines 22-25 of Larose). Furthermore, the RFID chip can help detect and alert if the band or connection between the two clasp portions was broken or severed (abstract, lines 5-8 of Larose) and having the RFID chip or other electronic device within the clasp protects it from outside damage (abstract, line 10 of Larose).
Regarding claim 13, Qian discloses that the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) comprises: a first housing (30, frame member) comprising: a boss on an inner bottom surface (annotated figure 5 of Qian); and a groove comprising a groove opening (annotated figure 5 of Qian) and on a first part of the boss that is away from the inner bottom surface (annotated figure 5 of Qian); and a first cover (34, plate) coupled to the boss and configured to cover the groove opening to form the accommodating space between the first cover and the groove (annotated figure 5 of Qian).
Regarding claim 14, Qian discloses a sealing groove (annotated figure 5 of Qian) around the groove, wherein the sealing groove comprises a first notch (edge of sealing grove from annotated figure 5 of Qian); and a sealing component located in the sealing groove and clamped between the first cover (34, plate) and the boss (annotated figure 5 of Qian) wherein the sealing groove comprises a second notch (edge of sealing component from annotated figure 5 of Qian) that faces the first notch, and wherein the flexible printed circuit end (42, RFID chip of Larose) passes into the accommodating space through the first notch and the second notch (annotated figure 5 of Qian).
Examiner notes that the RFID chip of Larose will take the place of the magnets (68A, 68B) of Qian.
Regarding claim 15, Qian discloses that the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion) further comprises: a lock clasp (42, button) connected to the first housing (30, frame member), located on one side of the boss (figure 5 of Qian), and configured to move relative to the first housing (30, frame member); and a lock slot (136, hole) on an outer wall (38, plate) of the second watch clasp (29, top portion), wherein a second part (114, protrusion) of the lock clasp (42, button) is away from the first housing (30, frame member) and is configured to be inserted into the lock slot (136, hole) to lock or unlock the lock clasp (42, button) and the lock slot (136, hole).
Regarding claim 16, Qian discloses that the lock clasp (42, button) further comprises: a first sliding block (100, elongated portion) comprising: a third part (annotated figure 3 of Qian) located in the first housing (30, frame member); and a fourth part (annotated figure 3 of Qian) located outside the first housing (30, frame member), wherein the first sliding block (100, elongate portion) is configured to move relative to the first housing (30, frame member); a first lock arm (116, shaft) comprising: a fifth part connected to the first part (annotated figure 3 of Qian) and located on a first side of the first sliding block (100, elongated portion) away from the inner bottom surface; a sixth part (118, head) located outside the first housing (30, frame member); and a first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface) on a side wall of the sixth part (118, head); and a first protrusion (annotated figure 3 of Qian) on an inner side wall of the lock slot (136, hole), located at a slot opening (figure 3D of Qian) of the lock slot (136, hole), and facing the first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface), wherein the lock clasp (42, button) and the lock slot (136, hole) are mutually locked (paragraph 0066 of Qian) when the first sliding block (100, elongated portion) drives the sixth part (118, head) to move away from a center of the second watch clasp (29, top portion), and the first protrusion (annotated figure 3 of Qian) is located in the first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface), and wherein the lock clasp (42, button) and the lock slot (136, hole) are mutually unlocked (paragraph 0066) when the first sliding block (100, elongated portion) drives the sixth part (118, head) to move toward the center, and the first protrusion is located outside the first notch (122, flat inner bearing surface).
Regarding claim 17, Qian discloses a first inclined surface (annotated figure 3 of Qian) on a second side of the first protrusion, wherein in a direction toward the center, the first inclined surface is configured to tilt from the slot opening to a slot bottom (annotated figure 3 of Qian); and a second inclined surface (132, curved inner surface) on the inner side wall (figure 3D of Qian) and facing the first inclined surface (annotated figure 3 of Qian), wherein in the direction toward the center, the second inclined surface (132, curved inner surface) is configured to tilt from the slot bottom to the slot opening (figure 3D of Qian).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian/Larose as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (US 5313691 A).
Regarding claim 7, the previously made combination of Qian/Larose discloses the apparatus (20, buckle of Qian) of claim 5, wherein the first watch clasp (28, bottom portion of Qian) has a seventh part of the lock clasp (annotated figure 3 of Qian), a boss, and a moving direction (figure 3B of Qian) of the lock clasp (42, button of Qian).
Qian/Larose does not explicitly disclose an elastic component located in the first housing (30, frame member of Qian).
Hashimoto teaches a first watch clasp (1, housing) further comprising a first elastic component (13, spring) located in the first housing (3) and compressed between a seventh part (figure 2 of Hashimoto) of the lock clasp (9, push plate) and the boss (11, housing space), and wherein an elastic direction (longitudinal direction, column 3, lines 41-44) of the first elastic component (13, spring) is the same as a moving direction (longitudinal direction, column 3, lines 41-44) of the lock clasp (9, push plate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the elongated portion of the button of Qian to include a spring as taught by Hashimoto. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to make the releasing operation of the clasp easier on the user (column 2, lines 17-19 of Hashimoto). The springs also aid the clasp in engaging with the other clasp portion and remaining closed. (Column 4, lines 18-22 of Hashimoto).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677