DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings were received on 8/13/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (2013/0028547) in view of Stöhrmann (DE 102017202560).
As per claim 1, Jang discloses a stabilizer bush apparatus (100; Abstract) comprising:
a bracket (130) coupled to a sub-frame (16; [0013]);
a bearing (120) installed on the bracket; and
a bush (140) coupled to the bearing, surrounding a stabilizer bar (102), and including a bush main body (140) formed of an elastic material ([0067]) and a sealing portion (140) extending outward in a bent manner from an end portion of the bush main body,
wherein the bracket includes a sealing groove (142, Fig. 4) formed in an end portion of the bracket,
wherein the bracket further includes one or more foreign-material introduction blocking protrusions (Fig. 4) protruding inward from the bracket and in contact with the bush main body, and
wherein the sealing portion is configured to be elastically deformed to come into close contact with the sealing groove of the bracket to block foreign material from being introduced from the outside into the bracket (Outer bushing 140 is made of resilient rubber that is inherently capable of deforming into contact with the bracket 130, as they are always in contact, [0067], [0069]). Jang does not disclose the sealing groove having an inclined shape in such a manner that a diameter of the sealing groove increases toward the outside of the bracket.
Stöhrmann discloses a bearing holding device of a stabilizer bearing having a sealing groove (Fig. 2), the sealing groove having an inclined shape (Fig. 2) in such a manner that a diameter of the sealing groove increases toward the outside of the bracket (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retainer grooves of Jang by forming them with inclined portions as taught by Stöhrmann in order to help retain the bush.
As per claim 3, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 1. Jang further discloses wherein the bush further comprises: an elastic deformation guiding portion (143, 144) guiding the elastic deformation of the sealing portion.
As per claim 5, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 1. Jang further discloses wherein the bracket comprises:
a lower bracket (132) being in contact with the bush; and
an upper bracket (131) connected to the lower bracket to be coupled to the sub-frame and to be contact with the bush (The limitation “coupled” includes indirect connections).
As per claim 6, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 5. Stöhrmann further discloses wherein a hooking groove (4) is disposed in one of the lower and upper brackets, and a hooking protrusion (3) that is hooked into the hooking groove is disposed on the other one of the lower and upper brackets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bracket halves of Jang by providing them with complementary clips and holes as taught by Stöhrmann in order to ensure the proper orientation when assembled (Stöhrmann: [0027]).
As per claim 7, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 6. Jang further discloses wherein the lower bracket comprises:
a lower bracket main body (132),
wherein first sealing grooves (Fig. 4), which the sealing portion is in contact with, are disposed in both end portions, respectively, of the lower bracket main body (142); and
wherein one or more first foreign-material introduction blocking protrusions (Fig. 4) protrude inward from the lower bracket main body.
Stöhrmann further discloses a lower bracket main body (1.1), wherein one of the hooking groove and the hooking protrusion is disposed in or on the lower bracket main body (4)
As per claim 8, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 7. Jang further discloses wherein a plurality of the first foreign-material introduction blocking protrusions (Fig. 4) protrude inward from the lower bracket main body, and are in contact with the bush main body.
As per claim 11, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 7. Jang further discloses wherein the upper bracket comprises: an upper bracket main body (132) sliding-coupled to the lower bracket main body.
Stöhrmann discloses wherein the upper bracket comprises:
an upper bracket main body (1.2) sliding-coupled to the lower bracket main body,
the other one of the following: wherein the other one of the hooking groove and the hooking protrusion is disposed in or on the upper bracket main body (3), and
wherein second sealing grooves (Fig. 1), which the sealing portion is in contact with, are disposed in both end portions, respectively, of the upper bracket main body ([0013], [0015]); and
wherein one or more second foreign-material blocking protrusions (Fig. 2) protrude inward from the upper bracket main body and are in contact with the bush main body (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper bracket of Jang by forming it with a bulbous middle as taught by Stöhrmann in order to help retain the bush.
As per claim 12, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 11. Stöhrmann further discloses wherein a plurality of the second foreign-material introduction blocking protrusions (Fig. 2) protrude inward from the upper bracket main body, and are in contact with the bush main body.
As per claim 13, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 11. Stöhrmann further discloses wherein the second sealing grooves each have an inclined shape (Fig. 2) in such a manner that a diameter of each increases toward the outside of the upper bracket main body (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retainer grooves of Jang by forming them with inclined portions as taught by Stöhrmann in order to help retain the bush.
5. Claim(s) 4, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (2013/0028547) in view of Stöhrmann (DE 102017202560) and further in view of Lee (US 2022/0080800).
As per claim 4, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 2, but do not disclose wherein the bush further comprises: a rigidity reinforcement member coupled to the inside of the bush main body and reinforcing rigidity of the bush main body.
Lee discloses a bush for vehicles, wherein the bush further comprises: a rigidity reinforcement member (25; [0118]) coupled to the inside of the bush main body and reinforcing rigidity of the bush main body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer bushing of Jang by providing it with at least one iron pipe as taught by Lee in order to strengthen the bushing (Lee: [0118]).
As per claim 10, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 7. Jang further discloses wherein the lower bracket main body includes a first mounting groove (Fig. 4) in which the bearing is mounted, but does not disclose a first lubrication groove through which a lubricant flows.
Lee discloses a bush for vehicles wherein the lower bracket main body includes a first mounting groove (Bush cavity formed in bracket half, Fig .15) in which the bearing is mounted, and a first lubrication groove (46) through which a lubricant flows ([0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lower bracket of Jang by providing lubricant and lubrication grooves as taught by Lee in order to ensure smooth sliding contact between the bracket and the outer bushing (Lee: [0117]).
As per claim 14, Jang and Stöhrmann disclose the stabilizer bush apparatus of claim 11. Jang further discloses wherein the upper bracket main body includes a second mounting groove (Fig. 4) in which the bearing is mounted, but does not disclose a second lubrication groove which faces the bearing and through which a lubricant flows.
Lee discloses a bush for vehicles wherein the upper bracket main body includes a second mounting groove (Bush cavity formed in bracket half, Fig .15) in which the bearing is mounted, and a second lubrication groove (46) which faces the bearing and through which a lubricant flows ([0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper bracket of Jang by providing lubricant and lubrication grooves as taught by Lee in order to ensure smooth sliding contact between the bracket and the outer bushing (Lee: [0117]).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, the applicant argues that:
“Jang does not teach or suggest the sealing portion configured to be elastically deformed to come into close contact with sealing groove of the bracket. Jang merely discloses the sealing lips on the outer bushing 140. In Jang, sealing means are formed at the large diameter portions 145 and 146 of the outer bushing 140 so as to prevent foreign materials from flowing into the mount bushing 100. Thus, Jang's sealing lips' ends closely contact with the pipe 112 of the inner bushing, not a groove in the bracket” (Page 8).
Figures 4 and 5 of Jang show the sealing grooves as valleys formed in axial ends of the bracket (131, 132) that the outer bushing (140 / 141, 142) rests in. The outer bushing 140 is made of resilient rubber that is inherently capable of deforming into contact with the bracket 130, as they are always in contact, [0067], [0069]. The sealing means described in [0069] are part of the outer bushing’s sealing portion.
The applicant further argues that:
“The office action relies on Stohrmann for teaching the sealing grooves having an inclined shape. See Pages 8-9 of the office action. However, Stohrmann discusses only a clip/hook connection, with no sealing groove and no foreign-material blocking protrusion” (Page 8).
Stöhrmann discloses a two-piece bracket (1) for a bearing that is analogous to the inventive bracket (100). Although Stöhrmann does not show a rubber bearing mounted inside the bracket, he does disclose this feature (Abstract). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN M. BOWES IV
Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/STEPHEN M BOWES/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616