DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/218,959 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘959 application anticipate all the limitations of the claims of this application. Claim 1 of the ‘959 patent is narrower in scope than claim 1 of this application, as it recites the ends of the strand section are secured to the medical device. This limitation is in claim 2 of this application It is considered to be an obvious modification to broaden the scope of the claims and/or to put limitations from an independent claim into a dependent claim. The chart below details how the remainder of the claims correspond.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/613,673
18/218,673
1
1
2
1
3
2
4
7
5
4
6
5
7
5
8
7
9
8
10
9
11
12
12
13
Claims 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/218,959 (reference application) in view of USPAP 2005/0119722 (Styrc et al.).
Claim 1 of the ‘959 application anticipates all the structural limitations of claims 13-15. Although the claims of ‘959 do not recite the step of “pulling” a first portion of the first length of the strand to for a first loop and double-stranded tail, Styrc discloses that a filament wrapped about the exterior surface of an expandable medical device frame is a “tightening loop” [0043] that is pulled proximally to decrease the length of the loop around the device for securing it to the delivery device [0072]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to recite a step of pulling the strand to constrict the circumference of the medical device for delivery.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 appears to be a duplicate of claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Due to the term “optionally”, it is unclear whether a stent is required or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2005/0119722 (Styrc et al.) in view of USPAP 2005/0107862 (Ohlenschlaeger).
Styrc discloses a medical device system, comprising:
a tubular medical device (11) comprising a tubular body having a proximal end and a distal end;
a diameter reducing arrangement configured for constricting a diameter of the medical device, the diameter reducing arrangement including a strand section (33), a first length of the strand section extending from a first point of the strand section to a second point of the strand section (the Examiner notes that the points can be arbitrarily designated at any location along the length of the strand; see annotated figure below), the second point of the strand section being a first circumferential distance from the first point of the strand section by way of a path along the first length of the strand section; wherein, in a constricted configuration of the medical device, a first portion of the first length of the strand section extends back on itself to form a first double-stranded tail leading to a first loop (the first loop being formed at the knot (93) [0077]), the first double-stranded tail extending circumferentially against the graft body to constrict the medical device by the strand section restricting the first circumferential distance between the first and second points of the strand section.
Styrc fails to disclose a graft body on the medical device. Ohlenschlaeger discloses another delivery device comprising a retaining mechanism comprising a strand (retention loop 25) retained by a release wire (17) [0046], and teaches that the delivery device is used to constrain and deliver a stent-graft having a tubular graft body (13) (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute the stent of Styrc with a stent-graft taught by Ohlenschlaeger, as the modification merely involves a substitution of one known implant for another that obtains a predictable result of constraining a stent-graft for delivery with a restraining loop mechanism.
Regarding claim 6, Styrc discloses the first circumferential distance traverses and defines a first circumferential region of the medical device, wherein in an expanded configuration of the medical device at least a majority of the first portion is disposed in the first circumferential region of the medical device (wherein “the region” generally corresponds in length with the first circumferential distance).
Regarding claim 9, the loop is retained by a release mechanism in the form of a retaining rod (31C/ 31D) [0096].
Regarding claim 10, the medical device of modified Styrc comprises a stent graft with a stent body attached at a proximal end.
Regarding claim 11, Styrc discloses the double-stranded tail passes through the wall of the medical device and is retained by a release mechanism internal to the graft body (see above).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Styrc assembly meets all the structural limitations of the claim. The step of “pulling” is met by Styrc’s disclosure of tightening the loop (circumferentially extending filament) [0052; 0093].
Conclusion
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774