Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 9-11 are pending. Claims 5-8, 12-20 are withdrawn. Applicants’ amendment to the claims have overcome 112 rejections and objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action notified on 04/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Hong (US 20210052148).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses an endoscope (FIG. 1), comprising:
a handle including a central control section (Fluid control section 10 is included in the handle; FIGS. 1, 7, annotated);
one or more valves (Control 140 includes valves to control fluid by the foot switch 130. FIG. 2; Para [0052], [0055]) coupled to the central control section;
an elongate shaft (An insertion part 5) extending distally from the handle to a distal tip, the elongate shaft configured to be inserted into a body cavity; and
a remote user interface (Foot switch 130 for controlling fluid flow by controlling valves; Para [0055]-[0056]; FIGS. 1, 7) operatively coupled to the central control section, the remote user interface including one or more user-actuatable control elements (Foot switch 130 has buttons) positioned remote from the one or more valves (valves 211; Foot switch 130 has buttons connected to the tether which actuate the valves 211 of the controller 140 for controlling liquid flow; FIG. 7; Also see valve 211 positioned inside the controller 140 of the liquid supply unit 200, FIGS. 2, 6) and configured to operate the one or more valves to control a flow of fluid through the elongate shaft.
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses wherein the remote user interface includes one or more buttons configured to be actuated to operate the one or more valves (Foot switch 130 has buttons connected to the tether which actuate the valves 211 of the controller 140 for controlling the liquid flow; FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses wherein the one or more buttons are attached to one or more flexible tethers, the one or more flexible tethers (FIG. 7) configured to engage with the one or more valves (Tethers are engaged by communicating actuating signal to the valves 211; FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses wherein the remote user interface includes one or more flexible tethers (FIG. 7) coupled to a foot pedal (Foot switch 130 has buttons connected to the tether which actuate the valves 211 of controller 140 for controlling liquid flow; FIG. 7; Valve 211 positioned inside the controller 140 of the liquid supply unit 200, FIGS. 2, 6), the one or more flexible tethers configured to engage with the one or more valves (Tethers are engaged by communicating actuating signal to the valve 211; FIG. 7).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Hong (US 20210052148).
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses an endoscope (FIG. 1), comprising:
a handle including a central control section (FIGS. 1, 7, annotated);
one or more valves (Control 140 includes valves to control fluid by the foot switch 130. Para [0052], [0055]) coupled to the central control section, the one or more valves including one or more actuator buttons (Valves in the control 140 are connected to the buttons of the foot switch 130, FIG. 7);
an elongate shaft (An insertion part 5) extending distally from the handle to a distal tip, the elongate shaft configured to be inserted into a body cavity; and
a remote user interface (Foot switch 130 for controlling fluid flow by controlling valves. Para [0055]- [0056]; FIGS. 1, 7) operatively coupled to the central control section, the remote user interface configured to operate the one or more valves to control a flow of fluid through the elongate shaft;
wherein the remote user interface includes one or more buttons (Buttons of the foot switch 130) configured to be actuated to operate the one or more actuator buttons of the one or more valves (Foot switch 130 has buttons connected to the tether which actuate the valves 211 of controller 140 for controlling liquid flow; FIG. 7; Also see valve 211 positioned inside the controller 140 in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses wherein the remote user interface (Foot switch 130 for controlling fluid flow by controlling valves. Para [0055]-[0056]; FIGS. 1, 7) includes one or more tethers (FIG. 7) each of the one or more tethers (FIG. 7) including a proximal end coupled to the one or more buttons of the remote user interface ( Foot switch 130 has buttons connected to the tether to control the valve 211; FIGS. 6, 7; FIG. 7) and a distal end configured to engage the one or more valves (Closing valves 211, 221, and 231 for opening and closing flow path; Para [0052], [0055]) to control a flow of fluid through the elongate shaft.
.
wherein the one or more tethers are coupled to the remote user interface (switch 130; FIG. 7 annotated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavalis (US 20210007586) in view of Ouyang (US 20170188793).
Regarding claim 1, Gavalis discloses an endoscope (FIG. 6A), comprising:
a handle (FIG. 6A) including a central control section;
one or more valves (water valve 140; port 615; Para [0021], [0065]) coupled to the central control section;
an elongate shaft (FIG. 6A) extending distally from the handle to a distal tip, the elongate shaft configured to be inserted into a body cavity.
Gavalis does not expressly disclose a remote user interface operatively coupled to the central control section the remote user interface including one or more user-actuatable control elements positioned remote from the one or more valves and configured to operate the one or more valves to control a flow of fluid through the elongate shaft.
Ouyang is directed to a handheld surgical endoscope (abstract) and teaches a remote user interface (line 172; syringe 180; FIG. 9; Para [0062]) operatively coupled to the central control section (FIG. 9), the remote user interface including one or more user-actuatable control elements (Proximal portion of the syringe 180; FIG. 9) positioned remote from the one or more valves and configured to operate the one or more valves to control a flow of fluid through the elongate shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gavalis to include the remote syringe (of Ouyang) to the port of Gavalis so that the valve could be operated remotely such as when a user needs to remotely supply water in the surgical area.
Regarding claim 9, Gavalis, as modified, teaches wherein the remote user interface includes one or more flexible tethers (Ouyang: tether 172 of the syringe 180; FIG. 9) coupled to one or more syringes, the one or more flexible tethers configured to engage with the one or more valves (Ouyang: water valve 140 of Gavalis could be operated by the syringe 180 through the tether 172) and the one or more syringes configured to advance a fluid distally to control the flow of fluid through the elongate shaft (Ouyang: The syringe 180 advances the fluid distally; FIG. 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments submitted on 08/21/2026 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection dated 4/21/2026 has been withdrawn. However, in view of amendment, a new rejection has been made. See rejection set for the above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
10/9/26