DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is responsive to the applicant’s amendment on 06/08/2026.
The application has claims 1-18 present. Claims 14-18 are newly added claims. All present claims have been examined.
Previous rejection has been withdrawn as necessitated by the claim amendments.
This action is made Final.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US 20180313579), Deivasigamani et al. (US 20220074622).
In regards to claims 1 and 13, Yin teaches an energy management system for a building (see para 47-48: used on a building “implemented in a multi-family residential building”), comprising at least one heat pump (see para 21: heat pump), at least one first thermal energy storage device to provide domestic hot water, and to provide space heating (see at least para 21, 27, 45-46 teaches thermal for providing hot water and air e.g. furnace, air conditioning unit, etc), at least one renewable energy generation device to provide electrical energy (see at least para 19-20: solar, windmill, or others), at least one electrical energy storage device (see at least para 18-19, 31-32, energy storage apparatus), at least one first state of charge analyser to determine a state of charge of the at least one first thermal energy storage device (see para 26, 28, 38-39: thermal controller), at least one third state of charge analyser to determine a state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device (see para 37-40: obtaining information including charge), and a controller configured to control an operation of the at least one heat pump, the at least one first thermal energy storage device, the at least one second thermal energy storage device, the at least one electrical energy storage device and the at least one renewable energy generation device, wherein the controller is configured to determine the state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device based on information of the at least one third state of charge analyser, wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of charging and discharging of the at least one electrical energy storage device based on a determined a state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device (see FIG. 5, 6 and 8 and at least para 35-40, 43-48: teaches obtaining data from the multiple apparatus from the thermal storage, charge capacity, current, etc and using the information to control the system: “the method 600 includes analyzing one or more characteristics (block 605). The method 600 further includes controlling the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 and/or the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 based on the analysis of the one or more characteristics” and “an operation 600 of energy system 100 according to some embodiments. Operation 600 may be performed by controller 305, controller 400, and/or controller 500. It should be understood that the order of the steps disclosed in method 600 could vary. Additional steps may also be added to the control sequence and not all of the steps may be required. As illustrated in FIG. 6, the method 600 includes analyzing one or more characteristics (block 605). The method 600 further includes controlling the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 and/or the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 based on the analysis of the one or more characteristics (block 610)”. Also on para 42: “illustrates shifted power usage, which may result from the control of the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 and/or the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 based on the analysis of the one or more characteristics (block 610 of FIG. 6). As illustrated in FIG. 7B, during shifted power usage the amount of power required from the utility 130 is spread over the course of a day”. On para 48 teaches: “As illustrated in FIG. 9A, during normal, power is supplied from the utility 130 to the thermal energy storage apparatuses 105a, 105b, as well as to the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 (as needed to charge the energy storage device 415, as well as provide power as needed to user 135)”).
Although Yin teaches providing air heating as taught above, it doesn’t specifically mention at least one second thermal energy storage device to provide a space heating; at least one second state of charge analyser to determine a state of charge of the at least one second thermal energy storage device.
However, Yin does teach and provide examples of using, managing and controlling two thermal energy storages on paragraph 49, and provides examples to be used for the thermal energy storages including air heating on paragraph 27 (see para 27: ‘In yet other embodiments, the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 may be any device configured to store thermal energy, such as but not limited to, a furnace, an air-conditioning unit” and also teaches para 49 “the first thermal energy storage apparatus 105a may be unable to receive and store thermal energy (for example, the first thermal energy storage apparatus 105a may contain a fluid that is already at a maximum temperature). The main computer 115 may determine that the first thermal energy storage apparatus 105a is unable to receive and store thermal energy, and thus control the second thermal energy storage apparatus 105b to receive and store thermal energy, after determining that the second thermal energy storage apparatus 105b is capable (based on the determined real-time occupancy and/or usage of the second user)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught Yin in order to have and manage two or more thermal energy storages for the different needs on the building like furnace and air conditioning, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it provides means to improve management of the generation and use of the energy and services within a building or multi-family structure that requires multiple energy apparatus (see para 47).
Yin doesn’t specifically mention that the controller is configured to control the at least one heat pump to charge the at least one first thermal energy storage device and to charge the at least one second thermal energy storage device.
Deivasigamani teaches the controller is configured to control the at least one heat pump to charge the at least one first thermal energy storage device and to charge the at least one second thermal energy storage device (see para 147 teaches “ The thermal battery group includes a thermal storage device, e.g., PCM, a pump and a heat exchanger that facilitates charging or discharging of the thermal battery. The heat pump group includes a compressor, a space cooler and a heat exchanger which facilitates heat transfer into and out of the heat pump. ”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings taught by Deivasigamani for a heat pump to charge thermal storage devices and combine it with Yin, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it provides an efficient way to manage the produced heat and manage the produced energy to be used by the system.
In regards to claim 2, Yin teaches wherein the system comprises a grid connection for providing and accepting electrical energy (see para 20, 36: connected and communication with grid to receive and manage energy).
In regards to claim 4, Yin teaches wherein the at least one renewable energy generation device to provide electrical energy is selected from the group consisting photovoltaic devices, wind turbines, water turbines and combinations thereof (see para 20: “including solar panels, windmills, or other energy sources.”).
In regards to claim 6, Yin teaches wherein the system further comprises at least one renewable energy generation device to provide thermal energy, wherein at least one of
the at least one renewable energy generation device for providing thermal energy is selected from the group consisting of solar collector, waste water heat recovery device, district heating network and combinations thereof;
and the controller is configured to provide thermal energy, which is available from the at least one renewable energy generation device for providing thermal energy, to the at least one first thermal energy storage device for providing domestic hot water or to the at least one second thermal energy storage device for providing space heating.
(See at least para 20-21 and 29: teaches converting the energy received from renewable generation and the energy is converted to thermal energy and used in water heaters. Para 20: “the utility 130 is a grid, or a power grid, for example but not limited to, an energy company power grid or a home power grid including solar panels, windmills, or other energy sources.” And on Para 29: “As discussed above, the power provided to the heating elements 240, 245, via the relay 310, may come from the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 and/or the utility 130”).
Claim(s) 3, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin and Deivasigamani, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Komatsu et al. (US 20180252417).
In regards to claim 3, Yin doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is configured to at least one of determine and receive: a weather forecast, a forecast about an amount of electrical energy provided by the at least one renewable energy generation device, and a forecast about a price of electrical energy provided by a grid connection of the system, wherein the controller is configured to at least one of update said forecast, in a time interval in the range of 1 minute to 48 hours; and set a lower limit state of charge threshold for the at least one electrical energy storage device depending on the determined or received forecast.
Komatsu teaches wherein the controller is configured to at least one of determine and receive: a weather forecast, a forecast about an amount of electrical energy provided by the at least one renewable energy generation device, and a forecast about a price of electrical energy provided by a grid connection of the system (see at least para 54: “The HEMS controller 4 can communicate via the internet with the cloud server 12 and sends to the cloud server 12 the generated-power amount data of the photovoltaic power generator 1 and the operation state data of the electrical load circuit 2 including the storage-type electric water heater, the sold-power amount data, and the purchased-power amount data. The cloud server 12 stores and accumulates the photovoltaic power amount data and the like sent from the HEMS controller 4 in association with meteorological information. Then the cloud server 12 utilizes the accumulated stored data and weather forecast data, forecasts changing of the generated-power amount of the photovoltaic power generator 1 and a used power amount of an electrical load circuit 8 except for the storage-type electric water heater, and forecasts changing of the excess power amount as the difference between used power amount and the generated-power amount. The HEMS controller 4 can acquire change data of the excess power amount and change data of the power generation amount occurring at the photovoltaic power generator 1 forecast by the cloud server 12.”), wherein the controller is configured to at least one of update said forecast, in a time interval in the range of 1 minute to 48 hours; and set a lower limit state of charge threshold for the at least one electrical energy storage device depending on the determined or received forecast (see FIG. 3 and at least para 6, 54-59: teaches a process for obtaining forecast data and energy generating data forecast and the system can update forecast data (next day - 24hrs), to adjust the management for energy power consumption in correlation to the power generated and stored).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Komatsu and combine them with the teachings of Yin, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it provides means to improve management of the generation and use of the energy and improve spending/cost associated with it (see para 6, 56).
In regards to claim 14 Yin doesn’t specifically teach wherein the time interval is in a range of 18 to 30 hours.
Komatsu teaches wherein the time interval is in a range of 18 to 30 hours (see FIG. 3 and at least para 6, 54-59: teaches a process for obtaining forecast data and energy generating data forecast and the system can update forecast data (next day - 24hrs), to adjust the management for energy power consumption in correlation to the power generated and stored).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Komatsu and combine them with the teachings of Yin to provide an interval that provides enough time to acquire data and provide enough information, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it provides means to improve management of the generation and use of the energy and improve spending/cost associated with it (see para 6, 56).
In regard to claim 15 Yin doesn’t specifically teach wherein the time interval is 24 hours. Komatsu teaches wherein the time interval is 24 hours (see FIG. 3 and at least para 6, 54-59: teaches a process for obtaining forecast data and energy generating data forecast and the system can update forecast data (next day - 24hrs), to adjust the management for energy power consumption in correlation to the power generated and stored).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Komatsu and combine them with the teachings of Yin to provide an interval that provides enough time to acquire data and provide enough information, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it provides means to improve management of the generation and use of the energy and improve spending/cost associated with it (see para 6, 56).
Claim(s) 5, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin and Deivasigamani, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Alsadah et al. (US 20200182558).
In regard to claim 5, Yin teaches wherein at least one of the at least one first thermal energy storage device to provide domestic hot water is selected from the group consisting of hot water tanks;
the at least one second thermal energy storage device for providing space heating is selected from the group consisting of phase-change material storage devices, buffer tanks, and combinations thereof (See FIG. 2 and at least para 22: teaches water tanks “FIG. 2, the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 may include an enclosed tank 200, a shell 205 surrounding the water tank 200, and foam insulation 210 filling an annular space between the water tank 200 and the shell 205.”);
the at least one electrical energy storage device is selected from the group consisting of batteries, capacitors, and combinations thereof, wherein the at least one electrical energy storage device is preferably selected from the group consisting of lead batteries, Li-ion batteries and flow batteries (See para 19: batteries li-on, super capacitors “The electrical energy storage apparatus 110 may output power to the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 and/or a user 135. Additionally, the user 135 may receive power from the utility 130. In some embodiments, the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 includes one or more batteries (for example, rechargeable batteries having a lithium-ion or similar chemistry). For example, the one or more batteries may be a first battery and a second battery. In other embodiments, the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 include one or more capacitors (for example, super capacitors). For example, the one or more capacitors may be a first capacitor and a second capacitor.”)
Although Yin teaches first thermal energy storage device as shown above, it does specifically teach phase-change material storage devices, and combinations thereof.
Alsadah teaches phase-change material storage devices, and combinations thereof (see para 7-8, 17: teaches energy managing for building “thermal energy storage devices can receive and store “coolness” or “heat” from heat pumps, for catering of thermal needs in a later timing or for an improvement of the efficiency or cost of the heat pumps. Thermal energy storage devices often incorporate a phase changing material (PCM) as a thermal storage medium, utilizing latent heat accompanied with phase change of the PCM.” On para 17 and 39 mentions having a phase changing temperature of 40*C).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Alsadah and combine them with the teachings of Yin, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it enhances the thermal energy storage system by having various types of thermal storage devise using known thermal storage devices used in building environments (see para 7-8).
In regard to claim 16: Yin doesn’t teach wherein the at least one first thermal energy storage device includes a phase-change material storage device with a melting point of 40 °C to 70 °C.
Alsadah teaches wherein the at least one first thermal energy storage device includes a phase-change material storage device with a melting point of 40 °C to 70 °C. (see para 7-8, 17: teaches energy managing for building “thermal energy storage devices can receive and store “coolness” or “heat” from heat pumps, for catering of thermal needs in a later timing or for an improvement of the efficiency or cost of the heat pumps. Thermal energy storage devices often incorporate a phase changing material (PCM) as a thermal storage medium, utilizing latent heat accompanied with phase change of the PCM.” On para 17 and 39 mentions having a phase changing temperature of 40*C).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Alsadah and combine them with the teachings of Yin, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it enhances the thermal energy storage system by having various types of thermal storage devise using known thermal storage devices used in building environments (see para 7-8).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin and Deivasigamani, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Alsadah et al. (US 20200182558), in view of QIN et al (CN115031564) English translation.
In regards to claim 17, Yin doesn’t teach wherein the at least one second thermal energy storage device includes a phase-change material storage device with a melting point of 30 °C to 55 °C.
QIN teaches wherein the at least one second thermal energy storage device includes a phase-change material storage device with a melting point of 30 °C to 55 °C. (see claim 4: wherein the phase change heat storage core (202) is filled with phase change heat storage material with melting point of 30 degrees centigrade to 80 degrees centigrade).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by QIN and combine them with the teachings of Yin, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given, it enhances the thermal energy storage system by having various types of thermal storage devise using known thermal storage ranges which are used in building environments proved to work and improve storage.
In regards to claim 18. Yin teaches wherein the at least one electrical energy storage device includes lead batteries, Li-ion batteries, or flow batteries (See para 19: batteries li-on, super capacitors “The electrical energy storage apparatus 110 may output power to the thermal energy storage apparatus 105 and/or a user 135. Additionally, the user 135 may receive power from the utility 130. In some embodiments, the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 includes one or more batteries (for example, rechargeable batteries having a lithium-ion or similar chemistry). For example, the one or more batteries may be a first battery and a second battery. In other embodiments, the electrical energy storage apparatus 110 include one or more capacitors (for example, super capacitors). For example, the one or more capacitors may be a first capacitor and a second capacitor.”).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin and Deivasigamani, as applied to claims above, and further in view of ORTEGA (EP 3663652).
In regards to claim 7, Yin doesn’t specifically teach, wherein the controller is configured such that, when
i) a state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device is at or below a lower limit of a charge threshold for the at least one electrical energy storage device, a discharge of the at least one electrical storage device is prohibited; and
ii) a state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device is above a lower limit of a charge threshold for the at least one electrical energy storage device, a discharge of the at least one electrical storage device is allowed.
Ortega teaches wherein the controller is configured such that, when
i) a state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device is at or below a lower limit of a charge threshold for the at least one electrical energy storage device, a discharge of the at least one electrical storage device is prohibited; and
ii) a state of charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device is above a lower limit of a charge threshold for the at least one electrical energy storage device, a discharge of the at least one electrical storage device is allowed (see para 25: teaches energy storage management where detected low levels triggers a step for using other means to supply energy for load needs and while the energy storage is recharged).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Ortega and combine them with the teachings of Yin, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it enhances the management of the energy storage system to properly supply the energy needed without damaging the energy storage when certain levels have been reached.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin and Deivasigamani, as applied to claims above, and further in view of DE102012014710A1 - HAUG GUENTER as provided on the IDS (hereinafter Haug).
In regards to claim 9, Yin doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is configured such that, when surplus electrical energy is available from the at least one renewable energy generation device, a charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device by the at least one renewable energy generation device is prioritized compared to a supply of electrical energy to the at least one electrical energy storage device by a grid to which the system is connected.
Haug teaches wherein the controller is configured such that, when surplus electrical energy is available from the at least one renewable energy generation device, a charge of the at least one electrical energy storage device by the at least one renewable energy generation device is prioritized compared to a supply of electrical energy to the at least one electrical energy storage device by a grid to which the system is connected (see at least para 56: teaches that the surplus of energy from the photovoltaic generator, not used by the building is stored on the energy storages before feeding it to the grid).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Haug and combine them with the teachings of Yin in order to prioritized charging the energy storage device before sending the surplus to the grid, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it enhances the management of the energy for the system by making sure the energy storage devices have the required energy stored to be used at any moment of need or high demand.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin and Deivasigamani, as applied to claims above, and further in view of DE102012014710A1 - HAUG GUENTER as provided on the IDS (hereinafter Haug) and in view of Yu et al. (US 20130218408).
In regards to claim 12, Yin doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is configured such that, when a state of charge of the at least one first thermal energy storage device is below a value, the at least one first thermal energy storage device is charged, preferably by energy provided by the at least one heat pump.
Haug teaches wherein the controller is configured such that, when a state of charge of the at least one first thermal energy storage device is below a value, the at least one first thermal energy storage device is charged, preferably by energy provided by the at least one heat pump (see at least para 42: determining storage state of charge for energy storage and based on determination of the state of charge, the system charges the storage by converting the electrical energy into thermal energy and stores it “the electrical energy is fed to the electrical heat generation unit 4. In this process, electrical energy is converted into heat energy and stored in the heat storage unit”).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Haug and combine them with the teachings of Yin in order to charge the thermal energy storage depending on state of charge, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given, it enhances the management of the energy for the system by making sure the energy storage and demand is covered (see para 43).
Although Yin as modified by Haug teach determining state of charge as taught above, it doesn’t specifically teach below a predefined first minimum lower limit state of charge threshold (LLmin, DHW).
Yu teaches below a predefined first minimum lower limit state of charge threshold (LLmin, DHW) (see at least para 8: “energy storage efficiency model provides that voltage output will be set sufficiently high so as to accumulate charge in the energy storage unit if: a) a state of charge of the energy storage unit is below a minimum threshold”).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Yu and combine them with the teachings of Yin and Haug in order to charge the energy storage based on minimum threshold, since a person skilled in the art who would have been motivated given it enhances the efficiency for management of the energy for the system (see para 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ALMOGY et al. (US 20160156309): teaches energy management system with energy collected to provide electricity, heat, and/or cold.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIO M VELEZ-LOPEZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118