DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dejneka et al. (US 2014/0356576, “Dejneka”) in view of Gomez et al. (US 2015/0336843, “Gomez”).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Dejneka teaches a glass article comprising a composition that comprises 55 to 82 mol% SiO2, 3 to 30 mol% Al2O3, 0 to 10 or more mol% Na2O (e.g., Tables 1 and 2, [0009], [0010], 0 to 5 mol% P2O5, an amount of MgO, CaO, and ZnO of 0 to 5 mol%, and 0 to 4 mol% K2O ([0010] – [0014]). Dejneka teaches the article may have a thickness of less than 2 mm ([0013]). Dejneka additionally teaches that the ratio of Li2O to R2O may be on the range of less than 1 ([0011]). Dejneka teaches that the ratio of R2O, which may be considered to be Li2O and Na2O, to Al2O3 may be on the range of from 0 to 5 (e.g., if Na2O may be on the range of from 8 to 16 mol% and Al2O3 may be on the range of from 9 to 16 mol% then the ratio may be, for example, Table 1, see [0073]). The amount of RxO may be on the same order as the amount of Al2O3 (and thus RxO – Al2O3 may be on the range of from about 0 to about 5, see generally [0009] – [0012] wherein Na2O+MgO+CaO+ZnO may be on the order of 10 mol% plus 0 to 5 mol% and Al2O3 may be on the range of from 3 to 30 mol%). Further, the total amount of Na2O and Al2O3 may be greater than 15 and up to 35 mol % (see [0009] –[0012], [0022]). Dejneka teaches that B2O3 need not be included ([0009], [0026]). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05. Dejneka fails to specifically teach the claimed Knoop lateral cracking scratch strength. However, in the same field of endeavor of strengthened glass compositions ([0005]), Gomez teaches that it is known to adjust the strengthening process and composition of components so as to improve the Knoop scratch hardness of a glass article to greater than 12 N ([0019], [0024] – [0026], [0006], and also see Table 1, [0041], showing compositions having Knoop hardness of 4-6 N). It therefore would have been obvious to have adjusted the chemical strengthening of the glass in order to improve the Knoop lateral cracking scratch strength to greater than about 12N (or on the range of as low as 4 to 6 N) in order to provide a strengthened glass article of use in various applications, such as, for example, electronic devices (e.g., [0024] – [0026], [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Dejneka additionally teaches that the amount of Li2O may be in an amount reading on from 0 to 18 mol% ([0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Dejneka additionally teaches that the amount of RxO may be on the same order as the amount of Al2O3 (and thus RxO – Al2O3 may be on the range of from about 0 to about 5, see generally [0009] – [0012] wherein Na2O+MgO+CaO+ZnO may be on the order of 10 mol% plus 0 to 5 mol% and Al2O3 may be on the range of from 3 to 30 mol%).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Dejneka additionally teaches that the article may have first and second surfaces and a thickness ([0013]) and a stress profile throughout the thickness (i.e., compression and tension forces, [0013]), surface compressive stress of at least about 400 MPa ([0023], [0047]) and a central tension of including the range of greater than 50 MPa ([0032], [0015], [0054], for example for a DOL of 150 micrometers for a 1 mm sample the CT = 300 MPa/((1-0.15)/0.15)=52 MPa, which is less than 80 MPa, consistent with claim 7), and a depth of compression (i.e., the depth of layer) may be greater than 45 micrometers, which would include, for example, 150 micrometers, and thus 0.15*t for a sample having a thickness of 1 mm ([0034], [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Dejneka additionally teaches that the central tension (i.e., maximum central tension) may be less than 80 MPa (see Table 2, [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Dejneka additionally teaches that the thickness of the glass article may be less than or equal to 1 mm ([0034], [0054]) and the depth of compression (i.e., the depth of layer) may be greater than 45 micrometers, which would include, for example, 150 micrometers, and thus 0.15*t for a sample having a thickness of 1 mm ([0034], [0054]). Dejneka additionally teaches that the compressive stress may be greater than 400 MPa ([0072]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Dejneka additionally teaches that the Knoop scratch test may be on the range of from 10N to 16N (Gomez, e.g., [0006], [0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Dejneka additionally teaches that the glass (i.e., the unstrengthened central plane) may include greater than 5 mol% Li2O ([0010]).
Regarding claim 11, Dejneka additionally teaches that the glass (i.e., the unstrengthened central plane) may include greater than 10 mol% Na2O ([0009], [0073], Table 1).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Dejneka fails to specifically teach the inclusion of P2O5, however Gomez teaches that it is a common component in strengthened glasses and its inclusion therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art in order to modify the strength of the glass (Gomez, [0030], [0033]). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element or compound for another that would have provided predictable results (in this case a strengthened glass composition, Gomez, [0030], [0033]) would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Please see MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 13, Dejneka additionally teaches that the compressive stress may be greater than 450 MPa and thus greater than 690 MPa ([0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/26/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that because Dejneka fails to disclose a relationship between Al2O3 and RxO amounts in a glass composition Dejneka cannot disclose the limitation that RxO-Al2O3 be from about 0 to 5. The Examiner must respectfully disagree. Dejneka teaches the inclusion of RxO components and Al2O3 components and teaches that they may each be included in a range of mole percentages. In doing this Dejneka teaches ranges for each of the RxO components and Al2O3 that would satisfy the relationship RxO-Al2O3 being from about 0 to 5. As described in the rejection, the sum of the amounts of RxO components (i.e., Na2O, Li2O, K2O which may be on the range of greater than or equal to 10, and MgO, CaO, ZnO, which may be from 0.5 to 8, [0009] –[0012]) may be equal to the range of inclusion of Al2O3 (to be included in an amount of from 3 to 30 mol%, e.g., [0009]). Therefore, the Examiner must maintain that Dejneka teaches embodiments wherein RxO-Al2O3 would be from about 0 to 5. Applicant rightly notes that the working examples of Dejneka do not provide for compositions that satisfy the limitation that RxO-Al2O3 be from about 0 to 5. But Dejneka also provides a broad range of RxO and Al2O3 amounts that are suitable for its glass composition and thus clearly must envision that its teachings are not limited only to the working examples. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Please see MPEP §2123.
The Examiner notes, with regard to the amounts of P2O5 to be included in the glass composition, these limitations were treated in the rejection of claim 12, as described above and in the office action of 11/3/25. While Dejneka fails to specifically teach the inclusion of P2O5, Gomez teaches that it is a common component in strengthened glasses. Its inclusion therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art in order to modify the strength of the glass (Gomez, [0030], [0033]). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element or compound for another that would have provided predictable results (in this case a strengthened glass composition, Gomez, [0030], [0033]) would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Please see MPEP 2143.
Therefore, claims 1, 2, and 4-14 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782