Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kasashima fails to discloses “a cancellation coil cancelling a component on the magnetosensitive element of an AC excitation magnetic field”, asserting that cancel coil C3 cancels excitation at detection coil C0 and not at magnetic sensor 16.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Kasashima teaches an excitation coil C1 applying an AC excitation magnetic field to the measurement region [0015], a cancel coil C3 cancelling the AC excitation magnetic field applied to the detection coil C0 [0019], a magnetic sensor 16 comprising magneto sensitive elements [0022].
The AC excitation magnetic field generated by C1 is applied to the measurement region and therefore is present at the magnetic sensor 16. Cancel coil C3 generates a counteracting magnetic field to cancel the excitation magnetic field component in the sensing region [0019], reduction of the excitation magnetic field in the sensing region necessarily reduces the excitation component present at magnetic sensor 16.
Further claim 1 does not require that the cancellation coil cancel the excitation magnetic field exclusively at the magnetosensitive element or be structurally positioned around it. It only requires cancellation of a component of the AC excitation magnetic field on the magneto sensitive element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Kasashima (JP2022185470A).
Regarding claim 1, Kasashima discloses a magnetic sensor (fig. 1 (1) [0014]) comprising: a magneto sensitive element (fig. 1 (16) [0022]);
a cancellation coil (fig. 1 (C3)) cancelling a component on the magneto sensitive element of an AC excitation magnetic field applied to a measurement target including a magnetic material (“A canceling current i3 flows through the canceling coil C3 by the compensating circuit 14, thereby canceling out the AC excitation magnetic field applied to the detecting coil C0” [0019]);
a receiving coil (fig. 1 (C0) “the detection coil C0 is used as the magnetic sensor for detecting the primary AC detection magnetic field” [0018]) receiving a primary magnetic field generated from the magnetic material (“magnetization change of the magnetic material P generates a primary AC detection magnetic field. The primary AC detection magnetic field is detected by a detection coil C0” [0018]); and
a transmitting coil connected to the receiving coil (“The primary detection signal S 1 is input to the amplifier circuit 15 . The amplifier circuit 15 is an analog circuit including a differential amplifier, a filter circuit, and the like, and supplies an AC detection current i2 to the magnetic field generating coil C2 based on the primary detection signal S1” [0020]) and applying a secondary magnetic field to the magneto sensitive element based on a detection current supplied from the receiving coil (“a secondary AC detection magnetic field is generated from the magnetic field generating coil C2,.., The secondary AC detection magnetic field is detected by the second magnetic sensor 16 to generate a secondary detection signal S2” [0020]).
Regarding claim 6, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 1, as disclosed Kasashima (JP2022185470A) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation, as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Kasashima further discloses an excitation coil applying the AC excitation magnetic field to the magnetic material (fig. 1 (C1) “The excitation circuit 13 is a circuit that passes an AC excitation current i1 through the excitation coil C1, and thereby an AC excitation magnetic field is applied to the measurement region A” [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Kasashima further teaches wherein a plurality of the magnetic sensors are provided in an array (“the magnetic sensor 16 is composed of magneto-sensitive elements 21 to 24 connected in a full-bridge connection,.., The magnetic sensor 16 is not limited to one in which four magneto-sensitive elements are connected in a full bridge, but may be one in which two magneto-sensitive elements are half-bridge connected or one using a single magneto-sensitive element” [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Kasashima as modified further teaches the magnetosensitive element and the measurement target are arranged in a first direction, and wherein a coil axis of each of the cancellation coil and the transmitting coil is the first direction (magnetic material P located in measurement region A and magnetic sensor 16 arranged to detect magnetic fields generated along the sensing axis [0014-15]. The excitation coil C1, magnetic field generating coil C2, and cancel coil C3 are arranged along the same magnetic axis within the measurement system [0015, 1-20]. Thus, the magnetosensitive element and measurement target are arranged along a common direction, and the coil axes are aligned with that direction).
Regarding claim 9, Kasashima as modified further teaches wherein a distance between the transmitting coil and the magnetosensitive element in the first direction is smaller than a distance between the cancellation coil and the magnetosensitive element in the first direction (C2 is associated with sensor 16 for the secondary field generation fig. 1, while C3 is positioned relative to C0 for excitation cancellation. Thus, C2 is necessarily positioned closer to magnetic sensor 16 than C3 in the sensing direction [0019, 0020]).
Regarding claim 14, Kasashima as modified further teaches wherein a distance between the measurement target and the receiving coil is smaller than a distance between the measurement target and the magnetosensitive element (detection coil C0 detects the primary AC detection magnetic field generated by the magnetization change of magnetic material P [0018], magnetic sensor 16 detects the secondary magnetic field generated by coil C2 [0020]). Therefore, C0 is positioned proximate the measurement region A containing magnetic material P, while magnetic sensor 16 is positioned to detect the secondary field. This satisfies the claimed relative distance relationship).
Regarding claim 15, Kasashima as modified further teaches wherein the receiving coil is arranged so as to surround the measurement target (excitation and detection coils are arranged about measurement region A containing magnetic material P [0014-18], coil combination surrounding the measurement region inherently satisfies this limitation).
Regarding claim 16, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 6, as disclosed by Kasashima (JP2022185470A) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim 6. Kasashima further discloses an amplifier configured to amplify an output signal from the magnetosensitive element (fig. 1 (amplifier 15)), wherein the output signal is generated based on both the primary magnetic field and the secondary magnetic field (“output signal of the magnetic measurement device” [0020-23]).
Regarding claim 17, Kasashima as modified further teaches a sensitivity direction of the magnetosensitive element is a first direction, wherein the magnetosensitive element and the measurement target are arranged in the first direction, and wherein a coil axis of the transmitting coil is the first direction (aligned magnetic field geometry and coil axes along the sensing direction [0015-15], the transmitting coil C2 generates a magnetic field detected by magnetic sensor 16 along that direction [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, Kasashima as modified further teaches wherein a distance between the measurement target and the receiving coil is smaller than a distance between the measurement target and the magnetosensitive element (detection coil C0 positioned to detect the primary magnetic field from magnetic material P [0018], with magnetic field sensor 16 detects the secondary field [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasashima (JP2022185470A) in view of Foletto (U.S. Publication 20100188078).
Regarding claim 2, Kasashima does not explicitly teach a magnetic field concentrator that focus a magnetic field on the magneto sensitive element.
However, Foletto teaching magnetic field sensors used in conjunction with magnetic flux concentrators teaching a magnetic field concentrator that focus a magnetic field on the magneto sensitive element (fig. 1A 18, 36) disposed proximate (concentrator can be affixed or attached around the sensor) to the magnetic field sensor to concentrate flux and increase sensing range.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Foletto in Kasashima to gain the advantage of improved sensitivity and signal to noise ratio [Foletto [0031]].
Regarding claim 3, Kasashima as modified further teaches a compensation coil cancelling a magnetic field to be applied to the magneto sensitive element (“canceling current i3 flows through the canceling coil C3 by the compensating circuit 14…” [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, Kasashima does not explicitly teach wherein the coil is wound around the magnetic field concentrator.
However, Foletto teaching magnetic field sensors used in conjunction with magnetic flux concentrators teaching wherein the coil is wound around the magnetic field concentrator (fig. 1A 18, 36) disposed proximate (concentrator can be affixed or attached around the sensor) to the magnetic field sensor to concentrate flux and increase sensing range.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Foletto in Kasashima to gain the advantage of improved sensitivity and signal to noise ratio [Foletto [0031]].
Regarding claim 5, Kasashima as modified further teaches wherein the cancellation coil and transmitting coil are wound outside the compensation coil (fig. 1 (C3 around C0, C2 [0019-20]).
Regarding claim 10-13, recite a magnetic field concentrator extending in the first direction and structural relationships between the concentrator and coils.
Kasashima does not explicitly teach a magnetic field concentrator.
Foletto teaches a magnetic field concentrator disposed proximate to a magnetic field sensor to concentrate magnetic flux and increase sensing range [abstract fig. 1A-3B], further teaches use of concentrator increase magnetic field flux concentrator and sensing range.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Foletto in Kasashima to gain the advantage of improved sensitivity and signal to noise ratio [Foletto [0031]].
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that arranging coils along or around magnetic concentrator extending in the sensing direction constitutes routine design choice one a concentrator is introduces. The claimed spatial relationships between coils and concentrate represents predictable variations to optimize coupling based on the design choice (Please see MPEP 2144 .04 VI.C.).
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAQI R NASIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858