DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment correspondence filed on 03/22/2024.
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, & 19-23 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “weight determination module” and/or “channel estimation module” in claim 9.
Under 112(f), the limitation “a channel estimation module” is claim 9 in interpreted as a means-plus-function limitation because the term “module” is a generic placeholder coupled with functional language and does not itself recite sufficient structure. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification that performs the claimed functions includes processor 330 and memory 320 of the user terminal ([0040]-[0045]), where the processor implements the channel estimation module 420 as a software module stored in memory ([0047]). The specification provides detailed algorithm structure for performing the claimed channel estimation functions, including: performing initial channel estimation of NPBCH0 in a first frame [0070], Eq. 5 at [0066]; performing initial channel estimation of SIB1-NB (system information) in the first frame [0071], Eq. 8 at [0068]; performing channel estimation of NPBCH1 in a second, subsequent frame [0072]; and calculating an improved channel estimate by summing weighted estimates according to Eq (10) [0075]. The specification further discloses the underlying estimation framework using Equations (1)-(3) [0049]-[0052]. Accordingly, the “channel estimation module” corresponds to processor 330 executing channel estimation module 420 according to the algorithms disclosed in [0049]-[0054] and [0070]-[0075] and equivalents thereof
Similarly, the limitation, “a weight determination module” in claim 9 is interpreted under 11(f) because “module” is a nonce term reciting function without sufficient structure detail. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification includes processor 330 executing weight determination module 410 stored in memory 320 [0047]. The specification provides explicit algorithmic support for determining the claimed first, second, and third weights, including determining weights based on subframe interval (TTI) relationships using Equation (9) [0073]-[0074], and further disclosing that the weights may be variably set based on SNR, Doppler spread, or residual frequency offset [0076]. Additional embodiments describe determining weights based on antenna port identification and the number of reference signals [0078]-[0081]. Thus, the “weight determination module” is limited to processor 330 executing the weight-determination algorithms disclosed in [0073]-[0076] and [0078]-[0081], and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, & 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US20210306864A1) in view of Chatterjee et al (US20200287752A1) in further view of Lee et al (US20030072355A1).
Regarding claim 9 (and method claim 1, and operation method of a UE claim 17), Park teaches a user equipment device based on non-terrestrial network communication, the user equipment device comprising one or more processors configured to implement ([0011], UE containing processor in non-terrestrial networks);
However, Park fails to teach—
a channel estimation module configured to perform channel estimation of a first broadcast channel included in a first frame,
perform initial channel estimation of system information included in the first frame,
and channel estimation of a second broadcast channel included in a second frame, which is subsequent to the first frame,
a weight determination module configured to determine a first weight corresponding to the system information, a second weight corresponding to the first broadcast channel, and a third weight corresponding to the second broadcast channel,
wherein the channel estimation module is further configured to calculate a channel estimate of the system information based on results of the channel estimation of the first broadcast channel, the initial channel estimation of the system information and the channel estimation of the second broadcast channel, and the first weight through the third weight.
and channel estimation of a second broadcast channel included in a second frame, which is subsequent to the first frame; and
However, Chatterjee teaches a channel estimation module configured to perform channel estimation of a first broadcast channel included in a first frame ([0023], [0025], [0042], discloses identifying channel estimates from synchronization signals in a first subframe and using those estimate to demodulate NB-PBCH (broadcast channel) in an adjacent subframe within an LTE frame (10 ms frame structure) which supports channel estimation of a broadcast channel in a frame),
perform initial channel estimation of system information included in the first frame ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH),
and channel estimation of a second broadcast channel included in a second frame, which is subsequent to the first frame ([0042], [0044], describes channel estimation tied to specific subframes within LTE frames and NB-PBCH subframes adjacent to synchronization signals, because LTE operates in repeating frames (10 ms), performing the same NB-PBCH estimation in a subsequent frame meets the “second broadcast channel in second frame subsequent” structure); and
But Chatterjee fails to teach—
a weight determination module configured to determine a first weight corresponding to the system information, a second weight corresponding to the first broadcast channel, and a third weight corresponding to the second broadcast channel,
wherein the channel estimation module is further configured to calculate a channel estimate of the system information based on results of the channel estimation of the first broadcast channel, the initial channel estimation of the system information and the channel estimation of the second broadcast channel, and the first weight through the third weight.
However, Lee teaches a weight determination module configured to determine a first weight corresponding to the system information, a second weight corresponding to the first broadcast channel, and a third weight corresponding to the second broadcast channel ([0013], [0018], [0032], explicitly teaches multiplying current and previous received pilot signals by weights and summing them to estimate the channel; the gains K1 and K2 represent determined weighting coefficients),
wherein the channel estimation module is further configured to calculate a channel estimate of the system information based on results of the channel estimation of the first broadcast channel, the initial channel estimation of the system information and the channel estimation of the second broadcast channel, and the first weight through the third weight ([0013], [0018], [0032], discloses a channel estimator that computes an estimate by weighted-summing multiple channel-related inputs (current pilot symbol, previous pilot symbols, and predictor output).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 10 (and method claim 2), Chatterjee fails to teach but Lee teaches the user equipment device wherein each of the first weight through the third weight is a variable based on at least one of a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a Doppler spread, and a residual frequency offset ([0009], [0013], [0034]-[0035], teaches variable weighting coefficients (K1, K2) applied to time-separated observations—weighted summing of current and previous pilot symbols, predictor using gains K1 and K2 (variable coefficients)—use of WMSA filter (weighted multi-slot averaging) depends on channel variation conditions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 12 (and method claim 4), Chatterjee teaches the user equipment device wherein each of the second weight and the third weight is determined based on a subframe interval between the system information and the first broadcast channel of the first frame and a subframe interval between the system information and the second broadcast channel of the second frame ([0025], [0042], [0044], disclose that NB-PBCH subframes are located adjacent to specific synchronization subframes within LTE frames).
However, Lee remedies the gap left over by Chatterjee in regards to the second weight and third weight is determined based on subframe interval between system information and first/second broadcast channel ([0032], weighted multiple-symbol average across time-separated symbols).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 13 (and method claim 5), Chatterjee fails to teach but Lee teaches the user equipment device wherein the channel estimation module is further configured to calculate an channel estimate of the system information by summing up a product of the first weight and an initial channel estimate of the system information ([0013], [0018], [0032], expressly discloses multiplying each observation by a weight and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate; multiplying current and previous signals by weights and summing, weighted-summing predictor output, current pilot, and previous pilots), a product of the second weight and a channel estimate of the first broadcast channel of the first frame, and a product of the third weight and a channel estimate of the second broadcast channel of the second frame ([0013], [0018], [0032], expressly discloses multiplying each observation by a weight and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate; multiplying current and previous signals by weights and summing, weighted-summing predictor output, current pilot, and previous pilots).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 14 (and method claim 6), Chatterjee teaches the user equipment device,
wherein the channel estimation module is further configured to identify an antenna port ([0026], NB-RS used to obtain channel estimates; discloses channel estimation using NB-RS (reference signals) for NB-PBCH demodulation; In LTE systems, reference signals are mapped per antenna port),
perform channel estimation of a reference signal, and determine a fourth weight based on a number of reference signals included in the first broadcast channel based on the identified antenna port ([0026], NB-RS used to obtain channel estimates; discloses channel estimation using NB-RS (reference signals) for NB-PBCH demodulation; In LTE systems, reference signals are mapped per antenna port).
However, Lee remedies the gaps left by Chatterjee in regards to determining fourth weight based on number of reference signals ([0032], predictor and weighted summing structure, discloses weighting of multiple observations, determining a weight based on the amount or configuration of reference signals).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 15 (and method claim 7), Chatterjee teaches the user equipment device wherein the fourth weight corresponds to a ratio of the number of reference signals included in the first broadcast channel and a number of resource elements remaining in the first broadcast channel except the reference signals ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH), and
wherein the channel estimation module is configured to calculate the channel estimate of the system information by summing up a product of the first weight and an initial channel estimate of the system information, a product of the second weight and a channel estimate of the first broadcast channel of the first frame ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH).
Lee remedies the gap left by Chatterjee in regards to weighted summation includes fourth weight ([0013], [0032], weighted summing of multiple channel observations; further disclosure of applying weights to multiple signal components).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 16 (and method claim 8), Chatterjee teaches the user equipment device wherein the system information comprises system information block type 1 (SIB1), the first channel comprises a first narrowband physical broadcast channel (NPBCH), and the second channel comprises a second NPBCH ([0023], [0025], [0044], explicitly discloses NB-PBCH in NB-LTE systems and its use for system information (MIB) and NB-PBCH is transmitted across frames, first and second NPBCH transmissions are disclosed).
Regarding claim 19, Chatterjee teaches the operation method wherein each of the second weight and the third weight is determined based on a subframe interval between the unicast channel and the first broadcast channel of the first frame and a subframe interval between the unicast channel and the second broadcast channel of the second frame ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH).
However, Lee remedies the gap left by Chatterjee in regards to time-based weighted averaging ([0013], [0032], weighted summing of multiple channel observations; further disclosure of applying weights to multiple signal components).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 20, Chatterjee fails to teach but Lee teaches the operation method wherein the calculating the channel estimate of the unicast channel comprises summing up a product of the first weight and an initial channel estimate of the unicast channel ([0013], [0032], weighted summing of multiple channel observations; further disclosure of applying weights to multiple signal components)), a product of the second weight and a channel estimate of the first broadcast channel of the first frame, and a product of the third weight and a channel estimate of the second broadcast channel of the second frame ([0013], [0032], weighted summing of multiple channel observations; further disclosure of applying weights to multiple signal components)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 21, Chatterjee teaches the operation method further comprising:
identifying an antenna port ([0026], NB-RS used to obtain channel estimates; discloses channel estimation using NB-RS (reference signals) for NB-PBCH demodulation; In LTE systems, reference signals are mapped per antenna port);
performing channel estimation of a reference signal ([0026], NB-RS used to obtain channel estimates; discloses channel estimation using NB-RS (reference signals) for NB-PBCH demodulation; In LTE systems, reference signals are mapped per antenna port); and
But Chatterjee fails to teach determining a fourth weight based on a number of reference signals included in the first broadcast channel based on the identified antenna port
However, Lee teaches determining a fourth weight based on a number of reference signals included in the first broadcast channel based on the identified antenna port (([0013], [0032], weighted summing of multiple channel observations; further disclosure of applying weights to multiple signal components).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 22, Chatterjee teaches the operation method wherein the fourth weight corresponds to a ratio between a number of reference signals included in the first broadcast channel and a number of resource elements remaining in the first broadcast channel except the reference signals ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH), and
wherein the calculating the channel estimate of the unicast channel comprises summing up a product of the first weight and the initial channel estimate of the unicast channel, a product of the second weight and the channel estimate of the first broadcast channel of the first frame ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH), a product of the third weight and the channel estimate of the second broadcast channel of the second frame, and a product of the fourth weight and a channel estimate of the reference signal ([0023], [0025], [0042], NB-PBCH carries system information (MIB); further teaches estimating the channel using NB-PSS/NB-SSS or NB-RS and then recovering NB-PBCH).
However, Lee remedies the gaps left by Chatterjee in regards to summing up a product of the first weight, a product of the second weight, a product of the third weight (([0013], [0032], weighted summing of multiple channel observations; further disclosure of applying weights to multiple signal components).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the weighted multi-observation channel estimation technique disclosed in Chatterjee to the NB-PBCH channel estimation framework disclosed in Chatterjee when implemented in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) satellite communication environment disclosed in Park. Chatterjee teaches identifying channel estimated from synchronization/reference signals and using those estimates to recover a broadcast channel (NB-PBCH) within LTE frames, while Lee teaches improving channel estimation accuracy by multiplying current and prior channel observations by weighting coefficients and summing them to generate a refined channel estimate. Park expressly discloses UE operating in a non-terrestrial network, thereby establishing the claimed NTN communication context. By weighting and combining multiple time-separated channel observations, the UE can mitigate noise and time-varying channel effects, resulting in more stable demodulation performance, reduced decoding errors, and improved link robustness in the high-Doppler satellite scenario.
Regarding claim 23, Chatterjee teaches the operation method wherein the first broadcast channel comprises a first narrowband physical broadcast channel (NPBCH), the unicast channel comprises a narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH) and the second broadcast channel comprises a second NPBCH ([0021]-[0023], [0025], [0044], discloses a NB-PBCH in a NB-LTE system, and describes NB-PBCH transmissions occurring in defined subframes within LTE frames that repeat periodically, thereby disclosing a first and second NB-PBCH—further describes NB-LTE architecture built upon LTE physical channel structures, including NPDSCH for UE-specific fata transmission; the first broadcast channel comprising a first NPBCH, the unicast channel comprising NPDSCH, and the second broadcast channel comprising a second NPBCH are disclosed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hewavithana et al (US20220052880A1) discloses an algorithm and architecture for channel estimation in 5G new radio
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419