DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification (title)
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. For instance, copending patent applications US 20260029726 or US patent 11947267 has a title that is more appropriate. Thus, a suggested tittle is:
“Information processing Apparatus and Control method to control the operation of the Information processing Apparatus modes based on temperature”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (US 20070219644) in view of Kamat (Thermal management in embedded systems: A software approach).
As per claim 1, teaches an information processing apparatus (see Fig. 1 and 3 and see [0003] “ the invention relates to an information processing apparatus such as a personal computer, and a system state control method for controlling the system state of the information processing apparatus” ) comprising:
a computer system (see Fig. 1 and 2-3 and see [0003] “the invention relates to an information processing apparatus such as a personal computer, and a system state control method for controlling the system state of the information processing apparatus”);
a temperature sensor that detects a temperature (see [0050] and see [0051] “the temperature at a specified position, where the temperature in the computer main body 11 tends to rise relatively easily, may be monitored by a single temperature sensor”); and
a controller that controls an operation mode of the apparatus based on the temperature (see Fig. 2 and see [0039] “The computer 10, as shown in FIG. 2, comprises a CPU 111, …an embedded controller/keyboard controller IC (EC/KBC) 140…”; also, see Fig. 4 and see [0056-0057] “the EC/KBC 140 includes a temperature monitoring unit 401, an interrupt signal generating unit 402 and a fan control unit 403. [0057] The temperature monitoring unit 401 monitors the system temperature, that is, the temperature in the computer main body 11, by using all or arbitrary one of the temperature sensors 301 to 304… may monitor the temperature at a specified position in the computer main body 11 by using only specific one of the temperature sensors 301 to 304.”; also, see [0058-0059] “As has been described above, the temperature monitoring operation by the temperature monitoring unit 401 is executed not only when the system state of the computer 10 is the working state, but also when the system state is the standby state. [0059] If the temperature monitoring unit 401 detects that the system temperature exceeds a specific threshold value, the interrupt signal generating unit 402 supplies an interrupt signal, such as a system management interrupt (SMI), to the CPU 111, thereby informing the CPU 111 of the occurrence of the temperature event that the system temperature exceeds the specific threshold value”),
wherein the controller
changes an operation mode of the computer system to a thermal protection mode in a case where the operation mode is a standard mode a(see Fig. 5 S0 is the standard mode, see 0063 “…S0 is a working state…”; also, see [0062]-[0065] “The system state of the computer 10 is set at any one of S0, S3_fast, S3, S4 and S5… [0064] S3_fast, S3 and S4 are used as standby states which are intermediate states between the working state S0 and off-state S5. The power consumption of the system in the standby state is less than the power consumption of the system in the working state S0. [0065] S3 is one of sleep states which are defined by the ACPI specification. In the present embodiment, S3 is used as a standby state which is called "memory suspend state ”; also, see Fig. 5 the computer changes from standard mode S0 to a thermal protection mode/sleep state S3 or S3_fast ),
changes the operation mode of the computer system to a dormant mode (dormant mode has been interpreted as hibernation mode as stated in the disclosure; see [0067] “.., S4 is used as a standby state which is called "hibernation state"….”) in a case where the operation mode is the thermal protection mode and the temperature exceeds a second reference temperature (e.g. changes from thermal protection mode to dormant/hibernation mode based on a second temperature being exceeded; Fig. 5 shows changing from thermal mode S3 to dormant/hibernation S4 based on temperature T5, See Fig. 13-14 and see steps S506 and S507; also, see [0078] “in the second standby state S3, if the system temperature exceeds a third threshold value/second reference temperature, which is higher than the first threshold value, a process is executed to transition the system state from the second standby state S3 to the third standby state S4 in which supply of power to the CPU 111, system memory 115 and GPU 116 is stopped”; Fig. 8 shows that this third threshold value is T5), and
stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the (this has been interpreted as changing from Dormant/hibernation mode to S5 or off state/non-operation; Sonobe teaches the system enters the stop mode S5/non-operation mode based on exceeding a third reference temperature T3; see [0006] “…S5 is an off-state (i.e. a state in which the system is powered off and no software is executed…”; also, see 0110] “…If the temperature that is detected by the temperature sensor exceeds a threshold value T3, the BIOS transitions the system state from S0 to S5 and stops the operations of all devices in order to secure the safety of the system…”; Snobe teaches that the system enters S5/shutdown when temperature T3 in Fig. 7 is reached;),
the thermal protection mode being an operation mode that consumes less power than the standard mode (see [0006] “The relationship in magnitude of power consumption between these system states is S0 > S1 > S2 > S3 > S4 > S5”; also, see [0064] “The power consumption of the system in the standby state is less than the power consumption of the system in the working state S0”; also, see [0084-0085]),
the dormant mode being an operation mode that consumes less power than the thermal protection mode (see [0006] “The relationship in magnitude of power consumption between these system states is S0 > S1 > S2 > S3 > S4 > S5”; also, see [0084-0085]), and
a higher temperature being set in order of t(this has been interpreted as T1 <T2 < T3; Sonobe does not teach using a first reference temperature T1 changing standard mode to thermal mode; Sonobe teaches a second reference temperature T5; Sonobe teaches a third reference temperature T3; Sonobe teaches T3 > T 2 ).
Sonobe does not explicitly teach:
While Sonobe teaches the system changing form standard mode to a thermal mode, this does not happen when the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature, thus, Sonobe does teach changes from an standard mode to a thermal protection mode when in a case the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature (e.g. the change from standard);
While Sonobe teaches the system entering a stop mode when a third reference temperature is exceeded, Snobe does not teach a transition from dormant to stop mode when the third reference temperature is exceeded, Thus, Sonobe does not explicitly teach stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the dormant mode and the temperature exceeds a third reference temperature; and
While Sonobe teaches several reference the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature, Sonobe does not explicitly teach a higher temperature being set in order of the first reference temperature, the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature.
Kamat teaches a temperature control system (see page 24 Fig. 3 Col 1 and Col 2 “Thermal policy defines the actions that need to be taken to cool the chip when the temperature of the chip exceeds the pre-defined thresholds. One or more cooling mechanisms may be incorporated to bring down the temperature of the device. Figure 2 shows the thermal policy manager and its interface with the temperature measurement unit and the cooling mechanisms) comprising changes from an standard mode to a thermal protection mode when in a case the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature (see Fig. 6 the system changes from normal/standard mode to thermal protection mode when first reference temperature TH1 is exceeded or when TH2 is exceeded; wherein the thermal protection mode is a mode that consumes less power than normal operation, see Fig. 6 thermal mode the frequency is decreased after TH1 or video shutdown after TH2), stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the dormant mode and the temperature exceeds a third reference temperature (see Fig. 6 the operation of the apparatus is powered off when in dormant mode (GPU shutdown) and third reference temperature TH4 is exceeded), and a higher temperature being set in order of the first reference temperature, the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature (see Fig. 6 TH4 > TH3 > TH1; also, see page 26 Col 1 “rapidly. When the temperature crosses TH1, the frequency of the CPU and the graphics processing unit (GPU) is decreased. The temperature further increases beyond TH2, at which point video is completely shutdown, and when it crosses TH3, the graphics processor is also shutdown and the system is allowed to cool to CT gradually. If the temperature goes beyond TH4, the tripping threshold, the system is completely shutdown to prevent damage to the device. Similarly, the temperatures of memory devices are also monitored and their refresh rates are adjusted accordingly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe’s invention to include the steps of or controller that changes from an standard mode to a thermal protection mode when in a case the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature, stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the dormant mode and the temperature exceeds a third reference temperature and a higher temperature being set in order of the first reference temperature, the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature as taught by Kamat in order to control the temperature of an apparatus and avoid damage to the system (see page 23 Col 2 “The software architecture consists of a thermal framework that has a thermal policy manager that monitors the output of the temperature measurement unit and, based on the temperature, triggers
appropriate cooling mechanisms as governed by the thermal policy. The temperature thresholds are defined as throttling threshold, tripping threshold,
and cooling threshold. Throttling threshold is the temperature at which the policy manager triggers the appropriate cooling mechanisms to reduce the operating temperature of the device. Tripping threshold is the maximum temperature beyond which the chip may get permanently damaged.”).
As per claim 5, Sonobe-Kamat teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Sonobe further teaches
wherein the controller changes the operation mode to the standard mode
in the case where the operation mode is a dormant mode (see Fig. 5 changing from dormant mode S4 to S0; also, see [0160] “If the current system state is the third standby state S4, the BIOS executes a third resume process for transitioning the system state from the third standby state S4 to the working state S0 (block S605)” and Fig. 15), an activation instruction is detected (see [0121] “ The resume control unit 503 executes, in response to occurrence of a wakeup request, a resume process for transitioning the system state from S1, S3 or S4 to S0 and resuming the system operation”), Sonobe does not explicitly teach the temperature is a fourth reference temperature or lower, the fourth reference temperature being equal to or lower than the first reference temperature.
Kamat further teaches changing the operation mode to the standard mode
in the case where the operation mode is a dormant mode and the temperature is a fourth reference temperature or lower, the fourth reference temperature being equal to or lower than the first reference temperature (see Fig. 6 TH3 the system is in dormant mode and when the temperature is a CT a fourth temperature less than TH1 a first reference temperature, the system changes or restarts the normal mode after the computer has cool down).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe-Kamat’s combination as taught above to include changing the operation mode to the standard mode in the case where the operation mode is a dormant mode and the temperature is a fourth reference temperature or lower, the fourth reference temperature being equal to or lower than the first reference temperature as taught by Kamat in order to control the computer system in normal mode since the computer system has cooled down sufficiently and there is not overheating (see Fig. 6 restart normal operation and see page 26 Col 1 “the graphics processor is also shutdown and the system is allowed to cool to CT gradually”).
As per claim 6, Sonobe-Kamat teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, Sonobe further teaches wherein the controller changes the operation mode to the thermal protection mode (see Fig. 5 changing to thermal protection mode S3 from dormant mode S4)
in the case where the operation mode is a dormant mode (see Fig. 8 the system changes from dormant mode S4 to thermal mode S3), an activation instruction is detected (see Fig. 15 S4 to S3 and (see [0121] “The resume control unit 503 executes, in response to occurrence of a wakeup request, a resume process for transitioning the system state from S1, S3 or S4 to S0 and resuming the system operation”), and the temperature is equal to or lower than a fifth reference temperature (see Fig. 8 the temperature is equal to T5; 0115 “In the second standby state S3, if the temperature that is detected by the temperature sensor exceeds a threshold value T5, the BIOS executes a state control process for transitioning the system state from the second standby state S3 to the third standby state S4. The threshold value T5 is set to be higher than the threshold value T4+”; the system changes from S4 to S3 when the temperature is less than T5; also, see [0114]), the fifth reference temperature being higher than the first reference temperature, and equal to or lower than the second reference temperature (see Fig. 8 the temperature is equal to T5; 0115 “In the second standby state S3, if the temperature that is detected by the temperature sensor exceeds a threshold value T5, the BIOS executes a state control process for transitioning the system state from the second standby state S3 to the third standby state S4. The threshold value T5 is set to be higher than the threshold value T4+”; the system changes from S4 to S3 when the temperature is less than T5; also, see [0114] ).
As per claim 7, Sonobe-Kamat teaches a control method for an information processing apparatus including (see Fig. 1 and 3 and see [0003] “the invention relates to an information processing apparatus such as a personal computer, and a system state control method for controlling the system state of the information processing apparatus” ):
a computer system (see Fig. 1 and 2-3 and see [0003] );
a temperature sensor that detects a temperature (see [0050] and see [0051]);
and
a controller that controls an operation mode of the apparatus based on the temperature (see Fig. 2 and see [0039] “The computer 10, as shown in FIG. 2, comprises a CPU 111, …an embedded controller/keyboard controller IC (EC/KBC) 140…”; also, see Fig. 4 and see [0056-0059], also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein ),
wherein the information processing apparatus
changes an operation mode of the computer system to a thermal protection mode in a case where the operation mode is a standard mode a(see Fig. 5 S0 is the standard mode, see 0063 “…S0 is a working state…”; also, see [0062]-[0065] “The system state of the computer 10 is set at any one of S0, S3_fast, S3, S4 and S5… [0064] S3_fast, S3 and S4 are used as standby states which are intermediate states between the working state S0 and off-state S5. The power consumption of the system in the standby state is less than the power consumption of the system in the working state S0. [0065] S3 is one of sleep states which are defined by the ACPI specification. In the present embodiment, S3 is used as a standby state which is called "memory suspend state ”; also, see Fig. 5 the computer changes from standard mode S0 to a thermal protection mode/sleep state S3 or S3_fast ),
changes the operation mode of the computer system to a dormant mode (dormant mode has been interpreted as hibernation mode as stated in the disclosure; see [0067] “.., S4 is used as a standby state which is called "hibernation state"….”) in a case where the operation mode is the thermal protection mode and the temperature exceeds a second reference temperature (e.g. changes from thermal protection mode to dormant/hibernation mode based on a second temperature being exceeded; Fig. 5 shows changing from thermal mode S3 to dormant/hibernation S4 based on temperature T5, See Fig. 13-14 and see steps S506 and S507; also, see [0078] “in the second standby state S3, if the system temperature exceeds a third threshold value/second reference temperature, which is higher than the first threshold value, a process is executed to transition the system state from the second standby state S3 to the third standby state S4 in which supply of power to the CPU 111, system memory 115 and GPU 116 is stopped”; Fig. 8 shows that this third threshold value is T5), and
stops an operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the this has been interpreted as changing from Dormant/hibernation mode to S5 or off state/non-operation; Sonobe teaches the system enters the stop mode S5/non-operation mode based on exceeding a third reference temperature T3; see [0006] “…S5 is an off-state (i.e. a state in which the system is powered off and no software is executed…”; also, see 0110] “…If the temperature that is detected by the temperature sensor exceeds a threshold value T3, the BIOS transitions the system state from S0 to S5 and stops the operations of all devices in order to secure the safety of the system…”; Snobe teaches that the system enters S5/shutdown when temperature T3 in Fig. 7 is reached),
the thermal protection mode being an operation mode that consumes less power than the standard mode (see [0006] “The relationship in magnitude of power consumption between these system states is S0 > S1 > S2 > S3 > S4 > S5”; also, see [0064] “The power consumption of the system in the standby state is less than the power consumption of the system in the working state S0”; also, see [0084-0085]),
the dormant mode being an operation mode that consumes less power than the thermal protection mode (see [0006] “The relationship in magnitude of power consumption between these system states is S0 > S1 > S2 > S3 > S4 > S5”; also, see [0084-0085]), and
a higher temperature being set in order of t(this has been interpreted as T1 <T2 < T3; Sonobe does not teach using a first reference temperature T1 changing standard mode to thermal mode; Sonobe teaches a second reference temperature T5; Sonobe teaches a third reference temperature T3; Sonobe teaches T3 > T 2 ).
Sonobe does not explicitly teach:
While Sonobe teaches the system changing form standard mode to a thermal mode, this does not happen when the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature, thus, Sonobe does teach changes from an standard mode to a thermal protection mode when in a case the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature (e.g. the change from standard);
While Sonobe teaches the system entering a stop mode when a third reference temperature is exceeded, Snobe does not teach a transition from dormant to stop mode when the third reference temperature is exceeded, Thus, Sonobe does not explicitly teach stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the dormant mode and the temperature exceeds a third reference temperature; and
While Sonobe teaches several reference the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature, Sonobe does not explicitly teach a higher temperature being set in order of the first reference temperature, the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature.
Kamat teaches a temperature control system (see page 24 Fig. 3 Col 1 and Col 2 “Thermal policy defines the actions that need to be taken to cool the chip when the temperature of the chip exceeds the pre-defined thresholds. One or more cooling mechanisms may be incorporated to bring down the temperature of the device. Figure 2 shows the thermal policy manager and its interface with the temperature measurement unit and the cooling mechanisms) comprising changes from an standard mode to a thermal protection mode when in a case the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature (see Fig. 6 the system changes from normal/standard mode to thermal protection mode when first reference temperature TH1 is exceeded; wherein the thermal protection mode is a mode that consumes less power than normal operation, see Fig. 6 thermal mode the frequency is decreased), stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the dormant mode and the temperature exceeds a third reference temperature (see Fig. 6 the operation of the apparatus is powered off when in dormant mode (GPU shutdown) and third reference temperature TH4 is exceeded), and a higher temperature being set in order of the first reference temperature, the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature (see Fig. 6 TH4 > TH3 > TH1; also, see page 26 Col 1 “rapidly. When the temperature crosses TH1, the frequency of the CPU and the graphics processing unit (GPU) is decreased. The temperature further increases beyond TH2, at which point video is completely shutdown, and when it crosses TH3, the graphics processor is also shutdown and the system is allowed to cool to CT gradually. If the temperature goes beyond TH4, the tripping threshold, the system is completely shutdown to prevent damage to the device. Similarly, the temperatures of memory devices are also monitored and their refresh rates are adjusted accordingly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe’s invention to include the steps of or controller that changes from an standard mode to a thermal protection mode when in a case the temperature exceeds a first reference temperature, stops the operation of the apparatus in a case where the operation mode is the dormant mode and the temperature exceeds a third reference temperature and a higher temperature being set in order of the first reference temperature, the second reference temperature, and the third reference temperature as taught by Kamat in order to control the temperature of an apparatus and avoid damage to the system (see page 23 Col 2 “The software architecture consists of a thermal framework that has a thermal policy manager that monitors the output of the temperature measurement unit and, based on the temperature, triggers
appropriate cooling mechanisms as governed by the thermal policy. The temperature thresholds are defined as throttling threshold, tripping threshold,
and cooling threshold. Throttling threshold is the temperature at which the policy manager triggers the appropriate cooling mechanisms to reduce the operating temperature of the device. Tripping threshold is the maximum temperature beyond which the chip may get permanently damaged.”).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (US 20070219644) in view of Kamat (Thermal management in embedded systems: A software approach) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kosugi et al (US 20190073023).
As per claim 2, Sonobe-Kamat teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Sonobe further teaches wherein the controller
switches the operation mode between the standard mode and a low power consumption mode (low power consumption mode is a sleep mode or modern stand-by according to the BRI in the disclosure; Sonobe teaches switching from standard mode S0 to a S3_fast mode, see Fig. 5, wherein S3_fast mode consumes less power than the standard; S3_fast also called S1 see [0103] “In the case where the system state is the first standby state (S3_fast), i.e. S1, for example, the CPU 111 is in the standby state (C1, C2, C3 or C4)”) on the basis of an operating state of the computer system (see [0037] “… a power button switch 14 for powering on/off the computer 10…” and see [0046] and [0074] “In the computer 10, the first standby state S3_fast is basically used as a default standby state. If a suspend request occurs in the working state S0, for example, due to the user's operation of the power button 14, a suspend process is executed to transition the system state from the working state S0 to the first standby state S3_fast. In the first standby state S3_fast, as described above, the computer main body 11 is powered off in the state in which power is supplied to the system memory 115 and GPU 116”) in the case where the temperature is the first reference temperature or lower (see Fig. 5 the system changes from S0 and S3_fast when the temperatures is less than the first state threshold that caused the system to change from S0 to S3), and
changes the operation mode of the computer system to the dormant mode in the case where the operation mode is the low power consumption mode (see Fig. 5 changes low power consumption mode/S3_fast to dormant mode S4 after a rise in temperature, see [0075]-[0076] “[0078] On the other hand, in the second standby state S3, if the system temperature exceeds a third threshold value, which is higher than the first threshold value, a process is executed to transition the system state from the second standby state S3 to the third standby state S4 in which supply of power to the CPU 111, system memory 115 and GPU 116 is stopped”),
output of display information being limited in the dormant mode and the low power consumption mode (see [0037], [0046], and [0074] a suspend request to enter the low power consumption is the activation of button 14 that causes the system to shut off, including the display; also, see [0068] [0134-0135] “In the first suspend process, the BIOS executes a process of setting the suspend flag indicative of the first standby state S1 in, e.g., a register in the EC/KBC 140, and a process of transitioning the system state from the working state S0 to the first standby state S1 (=S3_fast). In this transitioning process, the BIOS executes, in cooperation with the EC/KBC 140, a process of powering off the computer main body 11 in the state in which power is being supplied to at least the system memory 115 and GPU 116. Specifically, the BIOS powers off the computer main body 11 while keeping power supply to the CPU 111, system memory 115, north bridge 114 and GPU 116. The BIOS also executes a process of setting the CPU 111 in the processor state C1, C2, C3 or C4, a process of setting the system memory 115 in the standby state, a process of setting the north bridge 114 in the device state D1 or D2, and a process of setting the GPU 116 in the device state D1 or D2. In the case where D0 is used as the state of the GPU 116 in the first standby state S1 (=S3_fast), the process of setting the GPU 116 in the device state D1 or D2 is omitted”, power off the main body causes the display to be off and thus limits the data output; also, see page 8 claim 8 “a hibernation control unit which saves a context, which is stored in the system memory, into a disk storage device provided in the main body in a case where the temperature detected by the temperature sensor in the second state exceeds a threshold value which is higher than the predetermined threshold value, and transitions the system state from the second state to a third state in which supply of power to the processor, the system memory and the display controller is stopped”, thus, in the dormant mode the display controller is stopped limiting the output of display information ), and
the low power consumption mode being an operation mode that consumes less power than the standard mode and consumes more power than the dormant mode (see [0006] “The relationship in magnitude of power consumption between these system states is S0 > S1 > S2/S3_fast > S3 > S4 > S5”, wherein S0 is the standard mode, S3_fast is the low power consumption mode, and S4 is the dormant mode; also, see [0084-0085]).
Kamat also teaches that the output of display information being limited (see Fig. 6 decrease frequency, video shutdown, and GPU shutdown causes the limit of data display) in the dormant mode and the low power consumption mode (see dormant mode can be TH3 and thermal mode can be after TH1 or after TH2).
Sonobe-Kamat does not explicitly teach changes the operation mode to the dormant mode in the case where the operation mode is the low power consumption mode and the temperature exceeds the first reference temperature.
However, Kosugi teaches an information processing apparatus and method comprising a controller changes the operation mode to the dormant mode in the case where the operation mode is the low power consumption mode and the temperature exceeds the first reference temperature (see [0011] and see [0064] “the mode control portion 40 changes the state to the hibernation state (S4 state, Second low power consumption state) in which the power consumption is lower than that in the operating state (S0 state of PW_L) when the temperature of the chassis surface exceeds the temperature TH1 in the modern standby mode”; also, see [0065]), wherein output of display information being limited in the low power consumption mode (see Abstract “… mode control portion changing the mode to the standby mode of bringing the state into a first low power consumption state and configured to be switched to a first operating state in which background processing is executed in response to a stop of a display of a display portion…”; 0002 “carries modern standby utilizing such a low power consumption state (for example, “S0ix” state) and enables executing of predetermined processing in the background while realizing low power consumption in which the display or the like is stopped by the modern standby”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe-Kamat’s combination as taught above to include a controller changes the operation mode to the dormant mode in the case where the operation mode is the low power consumption mode and the temperature exceeds the first reference temperature as taught by Kosugi in order to further reduce the power consumption of the system and to change the mode from a lower power consumption mode such as a modern standby by mode to hibernation when a temperature is exceeded when in the lower power consumption mode to avoid damage to the system (if the system is in a lower power consumption mode and the temperature increases, the system further reduces power consumption by switching to hibernation and thus further reduces the changes of overheating, see [0122] “when the temperature of the chassis surface exceeds the temperature TH1 in the modern standby mode (Standby mode), the mode control portion 40 changes the state to the second low power consumption state (for example, hibernation state (S4 state)) in which the power consumption is lower than that in the first operating state” and [0128]).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (US 20070219644) in view of Kamat (Thermal management in embedded systems: A software approach) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Salas et al (GB 2607834).
As per claim 3, Sonobe-Kamat teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Sonobe further teaches including a heat dissipation unit that dissipates heat generated in the apparatus (see Fig. 4 fans and see [0107] “…0. Assume now that the number of temperature sensors is one, the number of fans is one, and the fan rotation speed is controlled stepwise in two stages.”),
wherein the controller operates the heat dissipation unit more actively in the thermal protection mode than in the standard mode (see Fig. 7-8 fan is stopped in the standard mode, and is operated in the thermal protection mode S1 =S3_fast and S3; also, see [0108]), and
While Sonobe teaches that all devices are stopped when in a dormant mode (see [0154]), Sonobe-Kamat does not explicitly teach stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the dormant mode.
However, Salas teaches a system for controlling power consumption in a computer comprising a controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the dormant mode (see page 4 “in a state of sleep/hibernation or any other similar power saving mode functions. Computer fans stay off during sleep and hibernation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe-Kamat’s combination as taught above to include a controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the dormant mode as taught by Salas in order to reduce power consumption (see page 4 “in a state of
sleep/hibernation or any other similar power saving mode functions. Computer fans stay off during sleep and hibernation”).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonobe (US 20070219644) in view of Kamat (Thermal management in embedded systems: A software approach) and Kosugi et al (US 20190073023) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Salas et al (GB 2607834).
As per claim 4, Sonobe-Kamat-Kosugi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, Sonobe teaches including a heat dissipation unit that dissipates heat generated in the apparatus (see Fig. 4 fans and see [0107] “…0. Assume now that the number of temperature sensors is one, the number of fans is one, and the fan rotation speed is controlled stepwise in two stages.”).
Kosugi further teaches system and method comprising a controller, wherein the controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the low power consumption mode (interpreted as modern stand-by mode; see [0049] “The heat dissipation fan 35 operates a fan to blow air to thereby suppress the heat generation of the Laptop PC 1. The heat dissipation fan 35 is stopped by the embedded controller 31 in the modern standby mode”; also, see [0076])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe-Kamat-Kosugi’s combination as taught above to include a controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in t the low power consumption mode as taught by Kosugi in order to reduce power consumption ([0049] and [0076]).
While Sonobe teaches that all devices are stopped when in a dormant mode (see [0154]), Sonobe-Kamat-Kosugi wherein the controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the dormant mode.
However, Salas teaches a system for controlling power consumption in a computer comprising a controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the dormant mode (see page 4 “in a state of sleep/hibernation or any other similar power saving mode functions. Computer fans stay off during sleep and hibernation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Sonobe-Kamat-Kosugi’s combination as taught above to include a controller stops an operation of the heat dissipation unit in the dormant mode as taught by Salas in order to reduce power consumption (see page 4 “in a state of
sleep/hibernation or any other similar power saving mode functions. Computer fans stay off during sleep and hibernation”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al teaches a system comprising a computer system and a controller to change between operation modes including thermal mode S1, S3, or S3 deep, dormant mode S4, standard mode S0, standby mode S1, and shutdown mode S5, to reduce power consumption (see conclusion in age 6 and see Fig. 6).
Barnette et al (US 9063733) teaches managing power modes of a computing system changing from power performance mode to shutdown, and placing the computer in anu of S5, S4, S3, S2, S1, and S0 modes (see Col 6 lines 30-54).
Nakamura et al (US 20220066530) teaches a modern-Standby mode or low power consumption mode as recited in the claims, wherein the display of data is limited in this mode (See [0123]).
Rallo (US 20150089258) teaches that fans are stopped during hibernation mode (see 0039).
Prosperi et al (US 20060174146) Fig. 4 shows changing a computer modes based on temperature (0026).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117