DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to amendment received Nov. 24, 2025.
Double Patenting
2. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 8-10, 12-13, 15, 17 and 21-22 of copending Application No. 17/223,884 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 8-10, 12-13, 15, 17 and 21-22 of copending application teach all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been published.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brand et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0270475 (referred to hereafter as Brand).
As to claims 1, 10 and 18, Brand teaches a method and system comprising:
receiving vehicle makeup information from multiple vehicles in a multi-vehicle system, the vehicle makeup information representing one or more characteristics of the vehicles, the vehicle makeup information received at a controlling vehicle of the vehicles in the multi-vehicle system that controls movement of the multi-vehicle system (see para. 12 and 42-43);
receiving, at the controlling vehicle, locations from location-determining devices respectively onboard the vehicles in the multi-vehicle system (see para. 12 and 42-43); and
controlling, with the controlling vehicle, operation of the multi-vehicle system using a combination of the vehicle makeup information received from the vehicles and the locations of the vehicles (see para. 44-45).
As to claims 4 and 13, Brand teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 10, wherein the vehicles include individually addressable brake control devices configured to be controlled by the controlling vehicle, wherein controlling the operation of the multi-vehicle system includes controlling one or more of the brake control devices based on the locations of the vehicles that are received (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
As to claims 5 and 14, Brand teaches the method and system of claims 4 and 13, further comprising: determining a state of a first brake in the multi-vehicle system, wherein at least a second brake in the multi-vehicle system is controlled based on the state of the first brake and based on the location of at least the second brake (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
As to claim 6, brand teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first brake and the second brake are disposed onboard different vehicles of the vehicles in the multi-vehicle system (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
As to claims 7 and 16, Brand teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 10, wherein the first brake is disposed onboard a first vehicle of the vehicles in the multi-vehicle system and the state that is determined indicates that the first brake has failed, and further comprising:
determining that the second brake is disposed onboard a second vehicle of the vehicles in the multi-vehicle system that is within a threshold distance from the first vehicle (see para. 123 and 130); and
changing engagement of the second brake based on the state of the first brake and the second vehicle being within the threshold distance from the first vehicle (see para. 123 and 130).
As to claims 8 and 17, Brand teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 10, further comprising: receiving a signal at the controlling vehicle from a first vehicle in the multi-vehicle system or a second vehicle that is not in the multi-vehicle system; and determining whether the location of the first vehicle or the second vehicle that sent the signal is located on a first route segment that the controlling vehicle also is located, wherein the operation of the multi-vehicle system is controlled based on the signal that is received responsive to determining that the signal is received from the first vehicle that is in the multi-vehicle system and that the signal is not received from the second vehicle that is not in the multi-vehicle system (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
As to claim 9, Brand teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a signal at the controlling vehicle from a first vehicle in the multi-vehicle system or a second vehicle that is not in the multi-vehicle system; and determining whether the location of the first vehicle or the second vehicle that sent the signal is located on a first route segment that the controlling vehicle also is located, wherein the operation of the multi-vehicle system is not controlled based on the signal that is received responsive to determining that the signal is received from the second vehicle that is not in the multi-vehicle system and that the signal is not received from the first vehicle that is in the multi-vehicle system (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
As to claim 15, Brand teaches the control system of claim 14, wherein the first brake is disposed onboard a first vehicle of the other vehicles in the multi-vehicle system and the state that is determined indicates that the first brake has failed (see para. 123 and 130).
As to claim 19, Brand teaches the method of claim 18, wherein controlling the brakes includes individually engaging a first brake of the brakes responsive to at least a second brake of the brakes failing, wherein the first brake is engaged based on the location of the non-propulsion vehicle that includes the first brake (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
As to claim 20, Brand teaches the method of claim 18, wherein controlling the brakes includes disregarding a signal received by a controller onboard the propulsion vehicle from a second non-propulsion vehicle that is not included in the multi-vehicle system based on a second location signal received from the second non-propulsion vehicle (see para. 114, 121 and 124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand in view of Kumar, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0277939.
As to claims 3 and 12, Brand teaches a method and system comprising:
receiving vehicle makeup information from multiple vehicles in a multi-vehicle system, the vehicle makeup information representing one or more characteristics of the vehicles, the vehicle makeup information received at a controlling vehicle of the vehicles in the multi-vehicle system that controls movement of the multi-vehicle system (see para. 12 and 42-43).
Brand does not explicitly teach determining a shape of a path over which the multi-vehicle system extends using the locations of the vehicles that are received; comparing the shape of the path over which the multi-vehicle system extends with a shape of a route that is stored in a route database; and one or more of verifying or modifying the shape of the route that is stored in the route database based on comparing the shape of the path with the shape of the route.
However, Kumar teaches a method comprising: determining a shape of a path over which the multi-vehicle system extends using the locations of the vehicles that are received; comparing the shape of the path over which the multi-vehicle system extends with a shape of a route that is stored in a route database; and one or more of verifying or modifying the shape of the route that is stored in the route database based on comparing the shape of the path with the shape of the route (see para. 28-29 and 38).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application determine a shape of a path over which the multi-vehicle system extends using the locations of the vehicles that are received; comparing the shape of the path over which the multi-vehicle system extends with a shape of a route that is stored in a route database in Brand as taught by Kumar. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Kumar that doing so would prevent accidents or derailments of trains.
5. The prior art of record does not teach the limitations of claims 2 and 11 as claimed.
6. Applicant argues in substance that Brand does not teach receiving vehicle makeup information from multiple vehicles in a multi-vehicle system, the vehicle makeup information representing one or more characteristics of the vehicles, the vehicle makeup information received at a controlling vehicle; and controlling, with the controlling vehicle, operation of the multi-vehicle system using a combination of the vehicle makeup information received from the vehicles and the locations of the vehicle.
In response, Brand states in para. 42: The operations data is data relating to how a particular vehicle is operating/running, including data relating to one or more of vehicle speed, vehicle braking status, tractive effort including slippage, motor condition/performance, vehicle engine and power system output and status, emissions, and the like…the operations data may represent information about one or more other operations or functions performed by a particular vehicle and/or data that is obtained, measured, or sensed by a sensor. ; para. 43: the operations data and associated location data are communicated to the first vehicle 208a over the cable bus 218 or other communication channel (e.g., wireless) linking the first vehicle 208a and the second vehicle 208b.; para. 44: command data is formed at the first vehicle 208a based on the received operations data and the associated location data. Command data includes data that is used to control one or more components or systems in the consist 206; para. 0045 At step 906, the command data is transmitted to one or more vehicles of the consist 206…The command data is received by the vehicles and directs the vehicles to change one or more operations of one or more of the vehicles.
Brand teaches operations data which defines how a particular vehicle is operating/running, including data relating to one or more of vehicle speed, vehicle braking status, tractive effort including slippage, motor condition/performance, vehicle engine and power system output and status, emissions, and the like…the operations data may represent information about one or more other operations or functions performed by a particular vehicle. The operation data is sent from consists to the first consist. The claim language does not define “makeup information” besides stating “the vehicle makeup information representing one or more characteristics of the vehicles”. Therefore, the operations data being transmitted from the multiple vehicles taught by Brand teaches “receiving vehicle makeup information from multiple vehicles in a multi-vehicle system, the vehicle makeup information representing one or more characteristics of the vehicles, the vehicle makeup information received at a controlling vehicle;” as claimed. In addition, Brand explicitly teaches that control commands are generated based on the operation data and the location of the vehicles. Therefore, Brand teaches “controlling, with the controlling vehicle, operation of the multi-vehicle system using a combination of the vehicle makeup information received from the vehicles and the locations of the vehicle” as claimed.
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663