CTFR 18/613,806 CTFR 87370 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “scotch yoke mechanism” (claim 1, line 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5 and 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocsis et al (US Patent 9,561,552), herein referred to as Kocsis, in view of Sakamoto et al (US Patent 5,632,089), herein referred to as Sakamoto. Saegesser et al (US Patent 7,818,887), herein referred to as Saegesser . Regarding claim 1, Kocsis discloses a reciprocating saw assembly comprising: a saw unit including[:] a reciprocating mechanism having a scotch yoke mechanism and a reciprocating spindle to which a saw blade is attachable, a drive unit for providing torque to the reciprocating mechanism, causing the spindle to reciprocate, an outer housing in which the drive unit is received and having a handle portion graspable by a user during a cutting operation, an inner housing in which the scotch yoke mechanism is positioned, wherein the inner housing is partially positioned within the outer housing; and a clamping unit including: a clamp housing, and a jaw movable relative to the clamp housing between a clamping position, in which the clamping unit is affixed to a workpiece to be cut, and a release position, in which the clamping unit is removable from the workpiece. Kocsis fails to disclose wherein the inner housing includes a mount; a pin pivotably coupling the clamp housing to the mount on the inner housing, However, Sakamoto et al (US Patent 5,632,089) teaches it is known in the art of reciprocating saws to provide a mount (mounting groove 114) formed on an exposed portion of gear case (112). Saegesser states in col. 2, lines 42-47, “[a] ribbed body 44, which is embodied as a heat sink and as a bending- and torsion-resistant mount that is for an end plate 45 and which is in one piece with the gearbox 40, is located on the gearbox 40, in particular on the housing shell 41, in the region below the motion converter 14. The end plate 45 is seated on a holder 46, which is secured to the ribbed body 44.” Regarding claim 2. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 1, wherein a portion of the clamp housing defines a first blade slot configured to receive at least a portion of the saw blade during pivoting movement of the clamping unit relative to the saw unit. Regarding claim 3. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 2, wherein at least a portion of the jaw defines a second blade slot, and wherein the second blade slot is configured to receive at least a portion of the saw blade during pivoting movement of the clamping unit relative to the saw unit. Regarding claim 5. (Currently Amended) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 1[[ 4]], wherein the pin defines a pivot axis oriented perpendicular to a reciprocation axis of the reciprocating spindle. Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 1[[ 6]], wherein the mount is outside the outer housing. Regarding claim 8. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 1, wherein the clamping unit further includes a lead screw mechanism configured to enable both coarse adjustments and fine adjustments to a position of the jaw between the clamping position and the release position, and wherein the lead screw mechanism further includes a pawl release operable between an engaged position, in which fine positional adjustments can be made to the jaw, and a disengaged position, in which coarse positional adjustments can be made to the jaw. Regarding claim 9. (Currently Amended) A reciprocating saw assembly comprising: a saw unit including a reciprocating mechanism having a reciprocating spindle, a saw blade removably coupled to the reciprocating spindle, the saw blade defining a first side and an opposite, second side, a drive unit for providing torque to the reciprocating mechanism, causing the spindle to reciprocate along a reciprocating axis, and an outer housing in which the drive unit is received and having a handle portion graspable by a user during a cutting operation; and a clamping unit including a clamp housing pivotably coupled to the outer housing, a first stationary jaw affixed to the clamp housing adjacent the first side of the saw blade, a second stationary jaw affixed to the clamp housing adjacent the second side of the saw blade, and first and second movable jaws in facing relationship with the first and second stationary jaws, respectively, wherein the first and second movable jaws are movable in unison relative to the clamp housing between a clamping position, in which the clamping unit is affixed to a workpiece to be cut, and a release position, in which the clamping unit is removable from the workpiece and wherein the first and second movable jaws are movable along a clamping axis oriented parallel to the reciprocating axis. Regarding claim 10. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 9, further comprising a pin pivotably coupling the clamp housing to the outer housing. Regarding claim 11. (Currently Amended) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 10, wherein the pin defines a pivot axis oriented perpendicular to the reciprocating a reciprocation axis of the reciprocating spindle. Regarding claim 12. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 10, further comprising an inner housing in which the reciprocating mechanism is at least partially positioned, wherein the inner housing includes a mount to which the pin is pivotably coupled. Regarding claim 13. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 12, wherein the mount is outside the outer housing. Regarding claim 14. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 9, wherein the clamping unit further includes a lead screw mechanism configured to enable both coarse adjustments and fine adjustments to a position of the first and second movable jaws between the clamping position and the release position, and wherein the lead screw mechanism further includes a pawl release operable between an engaged position, in which fine positional adjustments can be made to the first and second movable jaws, and a disengaged position, in which coarse positional adjustments can be made to the first and second movable jaws. Regarding claim 15. (Currently Amended) A reciprocating saw assembly comprising: a saw unit including a reciprocating mechanism having a reciprocating spindle to which a saw blade is attachable, and a drive unit for providing torque to the reciprocating mechanism, causing the spindle to reciprocate along a reciprocating axis; and a clamping unit including a clamp housing pivotably coupled to the saw unit to be carried therewith, a first stationary jaw affixed to the clamp housing, a second stationary jaw affixed to the clamp housing, first and second movable jaws in facing relationship with the first and second stationary jaws, respectively, a lead screw mechanism including a lead screw configured to rotate about a rotational axis to adjust a position of the first and second movable jaws relative to the clamp housing, and a blade slot defined between the first and second stationary jaws, and between the first and second movable jaws, wherein the blade slot defines a plane containing the reciprocating axis, wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the reciprocating axis. Regarding claim 16. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 15, wherein the saw unit further includes an inner housing in which the reciprocating mechanism is at least partially positioned, and wherein the clamping unit further includes a pin pivotably coupling the clamp housing to the inner housing. Regarding claim 17. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 16, wherein the pin defines a pivot axis oriented perpendicular to the reciprocating axis of the reciprocating spindle. Regarding claim 18. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 16, wherein the inner housing includes a mount to which the pin is pivotably coupled. Regarding claim 19. (Original) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 18, wherein the saw unit further includes an outer housing in which at least a portion of the inner housing is received, wherein the outer housing includes a handle portion graspable by a user during a cutting operation, and wherein the mount is outside the outer housing. Regarding claim 20. (Currently Amended) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 15, wherein the lead screw mechanism is configured to enable both coarse adjustments and fine adjustments to a position of the first and second movable jaws, and wherein the lead screw mechanism further includes a pawl release operable between an engaged position, in which fine positional adjustments can be made to the first and second movable jaws, and a disengaged position, in which coarse positional adjustments can be made to the first and second movable jaws. Regarding claim 21. (New) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 1, wherein the clamp housing is directly pivotably coupled to the inner housing via the pin. Regarding claim 22. (New) The reciprocating saw assembly of claim 1, wherein the inner housing and the mount are integrally formed as a single piece and define a bore in which the pin is received . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. • Wheeler (US Patent 4,048,720) discloses a guiding apparatus attachable to a chainsaw. • Partington (US Patent 4,213,242) discloses a guiding attachment for a saver saw. • Walton et al (US Patent 4,240,720) discloses a jig saw including an inner housing (gear case 70) that is at least partially position within housing (12) and extends out therefrom. Walton discloses guide shoe (24) is attached to the inner housing (70). • Fishlock et al (US Pa tent 6,550,147) discloses a guiding attachment for a reciprocating saw . Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAMUEL ALLEN DAVIES whose telephone number is (571)270-1511. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday; 9am-5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Boyer Ashley can be reached at (571)272-4502. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAMUEL A DAVIES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724 May 27, 2026 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 2 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 3 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 4 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 5 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 6 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 7 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 8 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 9 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/613,806 Page 10 Art Unit: 3724