DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 10/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rinaldi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0236756).
Regarding claim 1, Rinaldi et al. discloses a cardiovascular function simulation apparatus (Abstract, para. 14, claims 34-35) comprising:
a flexible fluid container (called duct, element 10) having an exterior, a top, a bottom, and a set of ports (para. 38) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 5);
wherein the flexible fluid container is configured to receive fluid through at least one port of the set of ports and to deliver fluid to a heart through at least one port of the set of ports (para. 2, 37-38, 110-112) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 5); and
a reactive squeezing mechanism (comprising shell 12, cavities 14, and pump 4) configured to receive the flexible fluid container (para. 38) (Fig. 2, sheet 2 of 5) and to apply compressive pressure to its exterior in response to an increase in fluid within the flexible fluid container (para. 56-58, 67-70) (Figs. 1-4, sheets 1-2 of 5),
such that the compressive pressure causes fluid to be driven toward the heart through at least one port of the set of ports (Abstract, para. 56-58, 67-70) (Figs. 1-4, sheets 1-2 of 5).
Although Rinaldi et al. does not expressly use the term “Windkessel” when describing the simulation function of the apparatus, the prior art apparatus nonetheless reads on a “Windkessel simulation apparatus”, because Rinaldi et al. discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to simulate the flexible expansion and recoil of the aorta during the cardiac cycle (Abstract, para. 14-15, 110-111, claims 34-35), and this is synonymous with the Windkessel effect.
Regarding claim 9, Rinaldi et al. discloses an ex vivo circulation system (Abstract, para. 2) having a flow path that includes a cardiovascular function simulation apparatus (Abstract, para. 14, claims 34-35) comprising:
a flexible fluid container (called duct, element 10) having an exterior, a top, a bottom, and a set of ports (para. 38) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 5);
wherein the flexible fluid container is configured to receive fluid through at least one port of the set of ports and to deliver fluid to a heart through at least one port of the set of ports (para. 2, 37-38, 110-112) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 5); and
a reactive squeezing mechanism (comprising shell 12, cavities 14, and pump 4) configured to receive the flexible fluid container (para. 38) (Fig. 2, sheet 2 of 5) and to apply compressive pressure to its exterior in response to an increase in fluid within the flexible fluid container (para. 56-58, 67-70) (Figs. 1-4, sheets 1-2 of 5),
such that the compressive pressure causes fluid to be driven toward the heart through at least one port of the set of ports (Abstract, para. 56-58, 67-70) (Figs. 1-4, sheets 1-2 of 5).
Although Rinaldi et al. does not expressly use the term “Windkessel” when describing the simulation function of the apparatus, the prior art apparatus nonetheless reads on a “Windkessel simulation apparatus”, because Rinaldi et al. discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to simulate the flexible expansion and recoil of the aorta during the cardiac cycle (Abstract, para. 14-15, 110-111, claims 34-35), and this is synonymous with the Windkessel effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinaldi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0236756) in view of Kay et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0377849).
Regarding claim 8, Rinaldi et al. discloses the flexible fluid container, as set forth above.
Rinaldi et al. is silent as to wherein the flexible fluid container further comprises an air elimination port oriented upwards such that it enables air to escape the flexible fluid container.
Kay et al. discloses an ex vivo circulation system for perfusing an organ (Abstract) and further discloses that it is undesirable for air traps to form within the circulation system (para. 13). To this end, Kay et al. discloses providing a fluid duct with an air elimination port oriented upwards such that it enables air to escape the fluid duct (para. 12-13, 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible fluid container disclosed by Rinaldi et al. to further comprise an air elimination port oriented upwards such that it enables air to escape the flexible fluid container, based on the teachings of Kay et al., in order to eliminate undesirable air pockets within the apparatus.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-9, and 11 of copending Application No. 19086986 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites:
A Windkessel simulation apparatus comprising:
a flexible fluid container having an exterior, a top, a bottom, and a set of ports;
wherein the flexible fluid container is configured to receive fluid through a first port of the set of ports (reads on at least one port of the set of ports) and to deliver fluid to a set of organs through a second port of the set of ports (reads on at least one port of the set of ports);
a reactive squeezing mechanism configured to removably receive the flexible fluid container and to apply compressive pressure to its exterior in response to an increase in fluid within the flexible fluid container,
such that the compressive pressure causes fluid to be driven toward the set of organs through the second port.
Therefore, the only difference is that the reference application claim recites “a set of organs” rather than a heart. Nonetheless, this difference does not introduce a patentable distinction, because the heart is not a positively recited structural element of instant claim 1. The apparatus of the reference claim would be fully capable of delivering fluid to a heart.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the reference application recites the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of the reference application recites the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of the reference application recites the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 of the reference application recites the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of the reference application recites the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 10, claim 11 recites an ex vivo circulation system further comprising a main collection reservoir, a pump, an oxygenator, and an ex vivo container configured to hold an ex vivo heart (thus it is understood that the container would be fully capable of holding a heart having a right atrium, a right ventricle, a left atrium, and a left ventricle). As to the limitation of the container being a box, this is merely a recitation of the shape of the container and does not introduce a patentable distinction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Badiwala et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0120924) is directed to an ex vivo circulation system for perfusing a heart, the system comprising a Windkessel element for storing and releasing elastic potential energy (para. 71).
Pichotte et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2004/0026448) is directed to a perfusion device comprising a plate configured to compress a flexible bag.
Conclusion
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799