DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dispensing mechanism” in claims 1 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al (CN 215207447-U; with English machine translation) (hereinafter “Jiang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a composting machine comprising: a fermentation reservoir for holding anaerobic waste (FIGS. 2-3: collection box (52); [0029] of the English machine translation); and a microbe dispensing device positioned at least partially above the fermentation reservoir, the microbe dispensing device comprising: a microbe reservoir for receiving a microbe product (FIGS. 2-3: microorganisms storage box (10) arranged above collection box (52); [0029]); and a dispensing mechanism for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of the anaerobic waste (FIGS. 2-3: feeding mechanism (6); see [0026]). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "e.g., for holding anaerobic waste; for receiving a microbe product; for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of the anaerobic waste" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, the intended uses of the apparatus do not further define any structural features to the device but rather only define how the device may be used. The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed composting machine and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang further discloses a disk housing defining an intake opening positioned under the microbe reservoir and a discharge opening positioned over the fermentation reservoir (FIGS. 2-3: guide tube (66) having an inlet adjacent storage box (10) and an outlet positioned above collection box (52); [0026], [0030]); and a dispenser disk rotatably mounted within the disk housing, wherein rotation of the dispenser disk directs the microbe product through the disk housing between the intake opening and the discharge opening (FIGS. 2-3: partition plate (64) arranged within guide tube and configured to dispense microorganisms into the collection box; [0026], [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang further discloses a motor mechanically coupled to the dispenser disk (stepper motor (61) coupled to the partition plate (64)); and a controller in operative communication with the motor for selectively rotating the dispenser disk to dispense the microbe product (dispensing mechanism is coupled to a motor configured to adjust feeding speed; [0025], [0027], [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses wherein the microbe reservoir contains microorganisms ([0030]). Therefore, the microbe reservoir of Jiang inherently includes an inlet port for introducing microorganism into the microbe reservoir.
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that the microbe product is material worked on and not an element of the claimed composting machine. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115.
Regarding claim 17, Jiang discloses a microbe dispensing device for a composting machine, the microbe dispensing device comprising: a microbe reservoir positioned at least partially above a fermentation reservoir and being configured for receiving a microbe product (FIGS. 2-3: microorganisms storage box (10) arranged above collection box (52); [0029]); and a dispensing mechanism for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of anaerobic waste in the fermentation reservoir (FIGS. 2-3: feeding mechanism (6); see [0026]). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "e.g., for receiving a microbe product; for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of anaerobic waste in the fermentation reservoir" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, the intended uses of the apparatus do not further define any structural features to the device but rather only define how the device may be used. The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed composting machine and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 18, Jiang further discloses wherein the dispensing mechanism comprises: a disk housing defining an intake opening positioned under the microbe reservoir and a discharge opening positioned over the fermentation reservoir (FIGS. 2-3: guide tube (66) having an inlet adjacent storage box (10) and an outlet positioned above collection box (52); [0026], [0030]); and a dispenser disk rotatably mounted within the disk housing, wherein rotation of the dispenser disk directs the microbe product through the disk housing between the intake opening and the discharge opening (FIGS. 2-3: partition plate (64) arranged within guide tube and configured to dispense microorganisms into the collection box; [0026], [0030]).
Therefore, Jiang meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 1-2, 6-7, 10 and 17-18.
Claims 1, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohn (US 2008/0209967).
Regarding claim 1, Cohn discloses a composting machine comprising: a fermentation reservoir for holding anaerobic waste (FIG. 2A: chamber (7); [0022]); and a microbe dispensing device positioned at least partially above the fermentation reservoir, the microbe dispensing device comprising: a microbe reservoir for receiving a microbe product (FIG. 2A: chamber (3) arranged above chamber (7)); [0020]); and a dispensing mechanism for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of the anaerobic waste (FIG. 2A: door selectively opened to dispense materials into the chamber (7); [0020]-[0021]). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "e.g., for holding anaerobic waste; for receiving a microbe product; for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of the anaerobic waste" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, the intended uses of the apparatus do not further define any structural features to the device but rather only define how the device may be used. The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed composting machine and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 8, Cohn further discloses a wastewater discharge port defined proximate a bottom of the fermentation reservoir and being fluidly coupled to a liquid storage reservoir (chamber (7) includes a drain hole at a bottom of the chamber adapted to convey fluid from chamber to a liquid storage reservoir (11); [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Cohn further discloses a composting reservoir for holding aerobic waste and the anaerobic waste after completion of the fermentation process (FIG. 2A: compost from chamber (7) is discharged to a reservoir (12); [0028]-[0029]). Regarding the limitation “wherein a composting cycle is performed within the composting reservoir,” said limitation is directed to a manner of operating disclosed apparatus. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
Therefore, Cohn meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 1, 8 and 11.
Claims 1, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2006/0037898).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a composting machine comprising: a fermentation reservoir for holding anaerobic waste (FIG. 1: tank (70)); and a microbe dispensing device positioned at least partially above the fermentation reservoir, the microbe dispensing device comprising: a microbe reservoir for receiving a microbe product (hopper (30)); and a dispensing mechanism for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of the anaerobic waste (push bar (34)). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "e.g., for holding anaerobic waste; for receiving a microbe product; for selectively depositing the microbe product into the fermentation reservoir to facilitate a fermentation process of the anaerobic waste" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, the intended uses of the apparatus do not further define any structural features to the device but rather only define how the device may be used. The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed composting machine and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 11, Choi further discloses a composting reservoir for holding aerobic waste and the anaerobic waste after completion of the fermentation process (FIG. 1: container (42)). Regarding the limitation “wherein a composting cycle is performed within the composting reservoir,” said limitation is directed to a manner of operating disclosed apparatus. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
Regarding claim 13, Choi further discloses a mixer rotatably mounted in the composting reservoir for mixing the anaerobic waste and the aerobic waste (FIG. 1: agitator (38)).
Regarding claim 14, Choi further discloses an output bin for receiving both the anaerobic waste and the aerobic waste after the composting cycle (materials within the container (42) is collected using collection means; [0037]).
Therefore, Choi meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 1, 11 and 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang as applied to claims 2 and 18 above, and further in view of Chen et al (CN 218579929-U; with English machine translation) (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 19-20, Jiang discloses the composting machine of claims 2 and 18. Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein the dispenser disk rotates about an axis of rotation and defines a pellet aperture spaced apart from the axis of rotation along a radial direction, wherein the pellet aperture is sized to define a dosing volume of the microbe product, wherein the dispenser disk is configured to dispense the microbe product one time for every 360 degrees of rotation. Chen discloses a microbial agent dispensing mechanism comprising a disc housing (1) (FIGS. 1-3) defining an intake opening (4) and a discharge opening (5), a dispenser disk rotatably mounted within the disk housing (6), and a pellet aperture (9). The pellet aperture is sized to define a dosing volume of the microbe product, wherein the dispenser disk is configured to dispense the microbe product one time for every 360 degrees of rotation (each aperture (9) allows discharge of microbes one time for every 360 degrees of rotation; see FIGS. 1-3; [0020]-[0025] of the English machine translation document). In view of Chen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the dispenser of Jiang with the dispenser of Chen to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Chen discloses that the dispenser facilitates improved quantitative discharge of microbes (see [0022]).
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seon Seung-il (KR-2010-0011327; with English machine translation) (hereinafter “’327”).
Regarding claim 9, Cohn discloses the composting machine of claim 1. Cohn discloses wherein materials including microorganism are introduced into the fermentation reservoir ([0020]) but does not explicitly disclose one or more weight sensors for detecting a weight of the anaerobic waste; and a controller in operative communication with the one or more weight sensors and being configured to: obtain a weight of the anaerobic waste; determine that the weight of the anaerobic waste exceeds a predetermined threshold; and operate the microbe dispensing device to dispense the microbe product in response to determining that the weight of the anaerobic waste exceeds the predetermined threshold. ‘327 discloses a composting device comprising a vessel (180) and a dispenser (170). ‘327 further discloses one or more weight sensors for detecting a weight of the anaerobic waste; and a controller in operative communication with the one or more weight sensors and being configured to: obtain a weight of the anaerobic waste; determine that the weight of the anaerobic waste exceeds a predetermined threshold; and operate the microbe dispensing device to dispense the microbe product in response to determining that the weight of the anaerobic waste exceeds the predetermined threshold. See [0038], [0041]-[0042]. In view of ‘327, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composting device of Cohn with the composting device of ‘327. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of adjusting amount of microorganisms added to the composting device based on the amount of materials within the vessel, and thereby improve the efficacy of the composting, as disclosed by ‘327 ([0038], [0041]-[0042]).
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 12, Cohn discloses the composting machine of claim 11. Cohn discloses the claimed composting reservoir but does not explicitly disclose an auger for selectively urging the anaerobic waste into the composting reservoir after completion of the fermentation process. However, Cohn does disclose wherein active controls can be used to move materials from the composting reservoir ([0029]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified employed active controls such as auger to move materials from the composting device of Cohn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Cohen discloses that active controls can be used instead with the composting device in order to move materials from the composting reservoir ([0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Cohn discloses the composting machine of claim 11. Cohn discloses means for introducing materials into the composting device (see [0020]-[0021]). Although not specifically disclosed by Cohn, it would have been intrinsic in the compositing device of Cohn to employ materials transfer means such as receptacles. Cohn does not explicitly disclose wherein the transfer means includes a plurality of transfer means (i.e., an anaerobic waste reservoir for feeding the anaerobic waste into the fermentation reservoir; a green waste reservoir for feeding green waste into either the fermentation reservoir or the composting reservoir; and an aerobic waste reservoir for feeding the aerobic waste into the composting reservoir.) However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the material transfer means of Cohn, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Berberet et al (US 2013/0260446; hereinafter “Berberet”).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses the composting machine of claim 14. Choi discloses wherein the materials within the container (42) is collected using collection means ([0037]) but does not explicitly disclose a door in bottom of the composting reservoir that is selectively opened to drop composted waste into the output bin. Berberet discloses a composting device comprising a container comprising an agitator (FIG. 4: 108; [0055]) and a door in a bottom of the container facilitating removal of the materials within the container to a second container (FIG. 4). In view of Berberet, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composting reservoir of Choi to comprise a door at its bottom as disclosed by Berberet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have resulted in a device having the added advantage of discharging materials from the container without the user coming in contact with the materials within the container.
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799