DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing date of 3/22/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7,9,10,15,18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, line 3 recites “a first paging manner”, this has already been recited before and should be changed to “the first paging manner” for consistency of claim language.
Claim 6, in line 1 recites “PEI”, this should be described in plain text [e.g. paging early indication (PEI)].
Claim 7, in line 6 recites “a first group identifier”, this has already been recited and should be changed to “the first group identifier”.
Claim 7, in line 13 recites “a first group identifier”, this has already been recited and should be changed to “the first group identifier”.
Claim 9, in line 3 recites “a terminal device”, this has already been recited and should be changed to “the terminal device”.
Claim 10, in lines 1-2 recites “the first message is associated with determining a paging manner”, this has already been recited and should be changed to “the first message is associated with determining the paging manner”.
Claim 15, in line 3 recites “a first paging manner”, this has already been recited and should be changed to “the first paging manner”.
Claim 18, in line 2 recites “a terminal device”, this has already been recited and should be changed to “the terminal device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 10-11, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the PEI" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the information" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the following:
“16. The communication apparatus of claim 12, wherein the communication apparatus comprises a base-station central unit.”
However, this is unclear how the central unit (CU) would receive first message from itself [as in independent claim 12]? Further, the specification and figures describe the distributed unit (DU) receives the first message and page the UE based on the determined paging manner (see figures 3-5; paragraph 72 onwards). Therefore, this language “the communication apparatus comprises a base-station central unit “ is not consistent with the specification, and should be corrected or explained.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the second grouping manner" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the information" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note: Claims are evaluated for subject matter eligibility under judicial exception [abstract idea]. The step/limitation of ‘determining a first paging manner based on the first message’ in claim 12, when considered under mental process, combined with ‘paging the terminal device in the first paging manner’ amount to significantly more by integrating the practical application. Paging the terminal device in the first paging manner associated with grouping manner, that is based on first message received from base station central unit, amounts to significantly more. Therefore no 35 USC 101 rejection is given in this office communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,8,10,12,13,17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (CN 109392093; see attached English translation) in view of Yu et al. (WO 2019232732; [EP 3806557 is used as English translation]).
Regarding claim 1:
Quan discloses a communication method and system implemented by a communication apparatus (abstract; see figures), the method comprising:
receiving a first message from a base-station central unit (fig 1; see figure 2 [DU receive message S25 from CU of base station]; see English translation paragraphs 102-103, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {S25: the interface message through the F1 interface to the DU CU … step S26: DU when receiving the interface message}; para 108-109 { the first network device in the process may correspond to the CU … second network device may correspond to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 in DU …first network device sends a first message to the second network device } [central unit CU sends, and DU receives from CU]);
paging the terminal device (para 5-8; figs; and see throughout disclosure).
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that the first message is associated with determining whether a to-be-paged terminal device supports at least one of a first grouping manner or determining a paging manner for the to-be-paged terminal device; paging the terminal device in a first paging manner, wherein the first paging manner is determined based on the first message.
However, Yu in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein the first message is associated with determining whether a to-be-paged terminal device supports at least one of a first grouping manner or determining a paging manner for the to-be-paged terminal device ([note: optional language require only one element] see Yu, abstract; para 252 {… paging capability information in the first paging message sent by the MME to the base station is used to carry group paging capability information of the UE}; para 104,253); paging the terminal device in a first paging manner, wherein the first paging manner is determined based on the first message (para 255 {…after receiving the first paging message, the base station determines, … include capability information indicating whether latency-sensitive paging is supported. After the base station determines the paging carrier group, the base station obtains a paging carrier from the determined paging carrier group through calculation by using a specific formula, and sends the second paging message to the UE…}; see figures; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Yu in Quan in order to provide paging message transmission with supporting different paging cycles that satisfy paging requirements reducing downlink data and latency (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 8:
Quan discloses a communication method and system implemented by a communication apparatus (see figures; abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a second message from a core network device (see fig 1; figure 2 [CU receives message S21 from CN]); and
sending a first message to a base-station distributed unit (figure2 [CU sends message S25 to DU of base station]; para 108-109; and throughout).
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the second message comprises information indicating whether a to-be-paged terminal device supports a first grouping manner; and wherein the first message is associated with determining whether the terminal device supports at least one of the first grouping manner or determining a paging manner for the terminal device.
However, Yu in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein the second message comprises information indicating whether a to-be-paged terminal device supports a first grouping manner; and wherein the first message is associated with determining whether the terminal device supports at least one of the first grouping manner or determining a paging manner for the terminal device ([note: optional language] see Yu, abstract; para 252 {… paging capability information in the first paging message sent by the MME to the base station is used to carry group paging capability information of the UE}; para 104,253); paging the terminal device in a first paging manner, wherein the first paging manner is determined based on the first message (para 255 {…after receiving the first paging message, the base station determines, … include capability information indicating whether latency-sensitive paging is supported. After the base station determines the paging carrier group, the base station obtains a paging carrier from the determined paging carrier group through calculation by using a specific formula, and sends the second paging message to the UE…}; see figures; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Yu in Quan in order to provide paging message transmission with supporting different paging cycles that satisfy paging requirements reducing downlink data and latency (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 12:
Quan discloses a communication apparatus (figures), comprising:
one or more processors (para 175 [processor 62]; figs 1,6,7; para 176,208); one or more memories (para 176-177 [memory 63]); and one or more computer programs stored in the one or more memories, the one or more computer programs comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (para 209; figs; and throughout disclosure), cause the communication apparatus to perform the following:
receive a first message from a base-station central unit (fig 1; see figure 2 [DU receive message S25 from CU of base station]; see English translation paragraphs 102-103, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {S25: the interface message through the F1 interface to the DU CU … step S26: DU when receiving the interface message}; para 108-109 { the first network device in the process may correspond to the CU … second network device may correspond to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 in DU …first network device sends a first message to the second network device } [central unit CU sends, and DU receives from CU]; and see throughout disclosure);
paging the terminal device (para 5-8; figs; and see throughout disclosure).
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that the first message is associated with determining whether a to-be-paged terminal device supports at least one of a first grouping manner and/or determining a paging manner for the to-be-paged terminal device; determining a first paging manner based on the first message; paging the terminal device in the first paging manner.
However, Yu in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein the first message is associated with determining whether a to-be-paged terminal device supports at least one of a first grouping manner and/or determining a paging manner for the to-be-paged terminal device ([note: optional language require only one element] see Yu, abstract; para 252 {… paging capability information in the first paging message sent by the MME to the base station is used to carry group paging capability information of the UE}; para 104,253); determining a first paging manner based on the first message; paging the terminal device in the first paging manner (para 255 {…after receiving the first paging message, the base station determines, … include capability information indicating whether latency-sensitive paging is supported. After the base station determines the paging carrier group, the base station obtains a paging carrier from the determined paging carrier group through calculation by using a specific formula, and sends the second paging message to the UE…}; see figures; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Yu in Quan in order to provide paging message transmission with supporting different paging cycles that satisfy paging requirements reducing downlink data and latency (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 17:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 8, and further discloses a communication apparatus (figures), comprising:
one or more processors (para 175 [processor 62]; figs 1,6,7; para 176,208); one or more memories (para 176-177 [memory 63]); and one or more computer programs stored in the one or more memories, the one or more computer programs comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (para 209; figs; and throughout disclosure), cause the communication apparatus to perform the functions as in claim 8 above, thus claim 17 is rejected with similar rationale under the combined teachings of the prior art as above.
Regarding claim 2, 10,13,:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the first paging manner is a paging manner based on the first grouping manner, a paging manner based on a second grouping manner, or a paging manner based on a non-grouping manner ([note: optional language]; para 249 { paging identity carried in the downlink group message is a group identity (Group id) corresponding to the downlink data or another group identity derived from the group ID}; para 251 {message that carries the group ID}; para 258; see figures; and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claim 20:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the communication apparatus comprises a base-station central unit (see figure 1,2 [the CU]; and throughout the disclosure).
Claim(s) 3,5,9,14,15,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (CN 109392093) in view of Yu et al. (WO 2019232732; [EP 3806557]) as above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0214985).
Regarding claim 3,9,14,18:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the first grouping manner is a grouping manner that is based on an identifier of a terminal device, and the second grouping manner is a grouping manner that is based on an identifier allocated by a core network device.
However, Li in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein the first grouping manner is a grouping manner that is based on an identifier of a terminal device, and the second grouping manner is a grouping manner that is based on an identifier allocated by a core network device (para 85 {receiving the first group information sent by the CN device, and receiving the second group information sent by the access network device}; figs; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Li in Quan in order to provide monitor the paging message according to the paging group information, so that the terminal device only needs to monitor the paging message of the paging group where it belongs, instead of monitoring the paging messages of all paging groups on the entire PO, thereby reducing the power consumption (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 5, 15:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein when the first paging manner is a paging manner based on the first grouping manner or a paging manner based on the second grouping manner, paging the terminal device in a first paging manner comprises: generating first information including a group identifier, the first information indicating the terminal device corresponding to the group identifier to receive a paging message; and sending the first information.
However, Li in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein when the first paging manner is a paging manner based on the first grouping manner or a paging manner based on the second grouping manner, paging the terminal device in a first paging manner comprises: generating first information including a group identifier, the first information indicating the terminal device corresponding to the group identifier to receive a paging message; and sending the first information (see figures; para 85 {receiving the first group information sent by the CN device, and receiving the second group information sent by the access network device}; figs; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Li in Quan in order to provide monitor the paging message according to the paging group information, so that the terminal device only needs to monitor the paging message of the paging group where it belongs, instead of monitoring the paging messages of all paging groups on the entire PO, thereby reducing the power consumption (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (CN 109392093) in view of Yu et al. (WO 2019232732; [EP 3806557]) as above, and further in view of Wu (US 2024/0323914).
Regarding claim 4:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that in instances where the terminal device supports at least one of the first grouping manner or the second grouping manner, determining the terminal device supports receiving of a paging early indication (PEI) from the communication apparatus.
However, Wu in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein in instances where the terminal device supports at least one of the first grouping manner or the second grouping manner, determining the terminal device supports receiving of a paging early indication (PEI) from the communication apparatus (para 15 { core network (CN) configures a certain paging subgroup for a UE}; para 8 { UE accordingly can monitor the paging DCI and/or PEI in accordance with the configuration}; para 44 {When the UE or the base station does not support paging subgrouping in the cell, the UE and the base station utilize paging that does not involve paging subgrouping, e.g., legacy}; figs; para 72,93; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Wu in Quan in order to provide to utilize paging subgrouping when the UE and the base station support this functionality in the cell in which the UE currently operates (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (CN 109392093) in view of Yu et al. (WO 2019232732; [EP 3806557]) and Li et al. (US 2024/0214985) as above and further in view of Wu (US 2024/0323914).
Regarding claim 6:
Quan discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the first information is the PEI.
However, Wu in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for paging wherein the first information is the PEI (para 8 { UE accordingly can monitor the paging DCI and/or PEI in accordance with the configuration}; para 15, 44; figs; para 72,93; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Wu in Quan in order to provide to utilize paging subgrouping when the UE and the base station support this functionality in the cell in which the UE currently operates (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (CN 110958672) discloses system and method for transmitting wake-up signal, user equipment, base station.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631