DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al. (US 2025/0063475 A1; also see provisional 63/532,816: fig. 6 “UE procedure for distinguishing on-demand SS/PBCH block) hereinafter “Si ‘475” in view of Si et al. (US 2025/0267601 A1; also see provisional 63/553,854: fig. 5 “illustration of on-demand SSB for RRM measurement”) hereinafter “Si ‘601”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 20,
Si ‘475 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶48 lines 1-6, a user equipment (UE)], comprising:
one or more memories [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶48 lines 1-6, a memory storing an operating system (OS)]; and
one or more processors [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶48 lines 1-6, a processor], coupled to the one or more memories [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶48 lines 1-6, in communication with the memory], configured to cause the UE to [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶48 lines 1-6, execute the operating system (OS) stored in the memory to]:
identify a pattern for an on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE determines whether the received SSB is an on-demand SSB or not]; and
receiving the on-demand SSB in accordance with the pattern [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE receives on-demand SIB1 if the received SSB is an on-demand SSB].
Although Si ‘475 discloses identifying a pattern for an on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB), Si ‘475 does not explicitly teach “identifying the pattern is in association with a secondary cell activation”; and “activating a secondary cell in accordance with the on-demand SSB”.
However Si ‘601 discloses identifying a pattern for an on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶77 lines 1-4, on-demand SS/PBCH block (SSB) is used for measurement], wherein identifying the pattern is in association with a secondary cell activation [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶77 lines 1-4, e.g., radio resource management (RRM) measurement and/or layer 1 (L1) measurement, e.g., on a SCell];
receiving the on-demand SSB in accordance with the pattern [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶79 lines 1-11; ¶80 lines 1-11, when the UE receives the configuration, the UE expects on-demand SSB for measurement is transmitted according to the configuration, and the UE performs measurement based on the on-demand SSB, potentially with a time domain delay]; and
activating a secondary cell in accordance with the on-demand SSB [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶82 lines 1-10; ¶84 lines 1-13, the UE is further provided with an indication on activation and/or deactivation of the on-demand SSB, and the UE expects the transmission of on-demand SSB from the gNB on the SCell, and/or performs measurement based on the on-demand SSB after receiving the indication that indicates the activation of the on-demand SSB, potentially with a time domain delay].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “identifying the pattern is in association with a secondary cell activation”; and “activating a secondary cell in accordance with the on-demand SSB” as taught by Si ‘601 in the system of Si ‘475 to meet high growth in mobile data traffic, support new application deployments, and improve radio interface efficiency and coverage [see Si ‘601, pg. 1, ¶3 lines 9-12].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the pattern for the on-demand SSB indicates:
a starting offset for the on-demand SSB [see pg. 10, ¶192 lines 1-5, a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if it does not precede an on-demand SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot and starts at least Ngap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block reception symbol in the on-demand SS/PBCH block].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information indicating one or more patterns [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, the transmission of the on-demand SS/PBCH block is indicated to the UE by the DL trigger for the on-demand SS/PBCH block], wherein the pattern is one of the one or more patterns [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, and the UE applies example behavior to avoid collision with on-demand SS/PBCH block (e.g., according to example in this disclosure) if the UE receives the DL trigger].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the pattern [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE determines whether the received SSB is an on-demand SSB or not], are configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of the pattern [see fig. 8: Step “801”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE receives an SSB].
Regarding Claim 5,
Si ‘475 discloses the apparatus of claim 4.
Si ‘475 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the indication of the pattern, are configured to “cause the UE to receive a secondary cell activation command indicating the pattern”.
However Si ‘601 discloses to cause the UE to receive the indication of the pattern [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶82 lines 1-10; ¶84 lines 1-13, the UE is further provided with an indication on activation and/or deactivation of the on-demand SSB], are configured to cause the UE to receive a secondary cell activation command indicating the pattern [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶82 lines 1-10; ¶84 lines 1-13, and the UE expects the transmission of on-demand SSB from the gNB on the SCell, and/or performs measurement based on the on-demand SSB after receiving the indication that indicates the activation of the on-demand SSB, potentially with a time domain delay].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “cause the UE to receive a secondary cell activation command indicating the pattern” as taught by Si ‘601 in the system of Si ‘475 for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7,
Si ‘475 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to “cause the UE to transmit a measurement report regarding the on-demand SSB”.
However Si ‘601 discloses cause the UE to transmit a measurement report regarding the on-demand SSB [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶82 lines 1-10; ¶84 lines 1-13, the configuration for measurement based on SSB (e.g., either in system information or dedicated RRC parameter) includes a configuration on the measurement report for the measurement based on the on-demand SSB(s) (e.g., configuration of time, and/or frequency, and/or power, and/or spatial information of the measurement report)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “cause the UE to transmit a measurement report regarding the on-demand SSB” as taught by Si ‘601 in the system of Si ‘475 for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the pattern [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE determines whether the received SSB is an on-demand SSB or not], are configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication of the pattern [see pg. 11, ¶211 lines 1-4, the UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, or PRACH in a slot, if the transmission overlaps with any symbol in an on-demand SS/PBCH block].
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the indication of the pattern [see pg. 11, ¶212 lines 1-3, the UE transmits SRS in a set of symbols in a slot, if the transmission overlaps with any symbol in an on-demand SS/PBCH block], are configured to cause the UE to transmit the indication of the pattern prior to receiving a secondary cell activation command associated with activating the secondary cell [see pg. 11, ¶211 lines 1-4, the UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, or PRACH in a slot, if the transmission overlaps with any symbol in an on-demand SS/PBCH block].
Regarding Claim 13,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the on-demand SSB [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE receives on-demand SIB1 if the received SSB is an on-demand SSB], are configured to cause the UE to receive the on-demand SSB as a trigger to activate the secondary cell [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, the transmission of the on-demand SS/PBCH block is indicated to the UE by the DL trigger for the on-demand SS/PBCH block].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the on-demand SSB [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 10, ¶190 lines 1-5, the UE receives on-demand SIB1 if the received SSB is an on-demand SSB], are configured to cause the UE to perform synchronization using the on-demand SSB [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, and the UE applies example behavior to avoid collision with on-demand SS/PBCH block (e.g., according to example in this disclosure) if the UE receives the DL trigger].
Regarding Claim 15,
Si ‘475 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the on-demand SSB, are configured to “cause the UE to perform a Layer 1 or Layer 3 measurement using the on-demand SSB”.
However Si ‘601 discloses cause the UE to perform a Layer 1 measurement using the on-demand SSB [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, on-demand SSB for measurement (e.g., RRM measurement and/or layer 1 measurement) on SCell].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “cause the UE to perform a Layer 1 or Layer 3 measurement using the on-demand SSB” as taught by Si ‘601 in the system of Si ‘475 for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16,
Si ‘475 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Si ‘475 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the on-demand SSB, are configured to “cause the UE to perform automatic gain control using the on-demand SSB”.
However Si ‘601 discloses cause the UE to perform automatic gain control using the on-demand SSB [see pg. 8, ¶130 lines 1-4, on-demand SS/PBCH block (SSB) is used at least for activation of a SCell (e.g., facilitating fast SCell activation including at least one of synchronization, or automatic gain control (AGC))].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “cause the UE to perform automatic gain control using the on-demand SSB” as taught by Si ‘601 in the system of Si ‘475 for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17,
Si ‘475 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node [see fig. 2, pg. 3, ¶39 lines 1-4, a gNB], comprising:
one or more memories [see fig. 2, pg. 3, ¶39 lines 1-4, a memory storing an operating system (OS)]; and
one or more processors [see fig. 2, pg. 3, ¶39 lines 1-4, a processor], coupled to the one or more memories [see fig. 2, pg. 3, ¶39 lines 1-4, in communication with the memory], configured to cause the network node to [see fig. 2, pg. 3, ¶39 lines 1-4, execute the operating system (OS) stored in the memory to]:
identify a pattern for an on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) [see pg. 12, ¶217 lines 1-2, the UE is aware of the on-demand SS/PBCH block by explicit signalling from the gNB]; and
transmit the on-demand SSB in accordance with the pattern [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, the transmission of the on-demand SS/PBCH block is indicated to the UE by the DL trigger for the on-demand SS/PBCH block].
Although Si ‘475 discloses identifying a pattern for an on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB), Si ‘475 does not explicitly teach “identifying the pattern is in association with a secondary cell activation”; and “activating a secondary cell in accordance with the on-demand SSB”.
However Si ‘601 discloses identify a pattern for an on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶77 lines 1-4, on-demand SS/PBCH block (SSB) is used for measurement], wherein identifying the pattern is in association with a secondary cell activation [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶77 lines 1-4, e.g., radio resource management (RRM) measurement and/or layer 1 (L1) measurement, e.g., on a SCell];
transmit the on-demand SSB in accordance with the pattern [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶79 lines 1-11; ¶80 lines 1-11, when the UE receives the configuration, the UE expects on-demand SSB for measurement is transmitted according to the configuration, and the UE performs measurement based on the on-demand SSB, potentially with a time domain delay]; and
activate a secondary cell in accordance with the on-demand SSB [see fig. 6, pg. 6, ¶82 lines 1-10; ¶84 lines 1-13, the UE is further provided with an indication on activation and/or deactivation of the on-demand SSB, and the UE expects the transmission of on-demand SSB from the gNB on the SCell, and/or performs measurement based on the on-demand SSB after receiving the indication that indicates the activation of the on-demand SSB, potentially with a time domain delay].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “identifying the pattern is in association with a secondary cell activation”; and “activating a secondary cell in accordance with the on-demand SSB” as taught by Si ‘601 in the system of Si ‘475 to meet high growth in mobile data traffic, support new application deployments, and improve radio interface efficiency and coverage [see Si ‘601, pg. 1, ¶3 lines 9-12].
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit configuration information indicating one or more patterns [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, the transmission of the on-demand SS/PBCH block is indicated to the UE by the DL trigger for the on-demand SS/PBCH block], wherein the pattern is one of the one or more patterns [see pg. 12, ¶218 lines 1-9, and the UE applies example behavior to avoid collision with on-demand SS/PBCH block (e.g., according to example in this disclosure) if the UE receives the DL trigger].
Regarding Claim 19,
The combined system of Si ‘475 and Si ‘601 discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Si ‘475 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to identify the pattern [see pg. 12, ¶217 lines 1-2, the UE is aware of the on-demand SS/PBCH block by explicit signalling from the gNB], are configured to cause the network node to receive an indication of the pattern [see pg. 11, ¶211 lines 1-4, the UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, or PRACH in a slot, if the transmission overlaps with any symbol in an on-demand SS/PBCH block].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9 and 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Hu et al. (US 2025/0301407 A1); see fig. 5, pgs. 9-10, ¶85-¶93.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469