DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are pending of which claims 1, 13 and 19 are in independent form.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 including (Abstract idea).
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the 35 USC 101 (Abstract Idea), remarks made by the applicant.
Examiner specifies that, the newly added amendments do not overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection. Examiner further specifies that, the Applicant’s arguments rely (improperly) on unclaimed improvements described in the specification rather than limitations actually recited in the claims. Although the specification describes various asserted benefits relating to ML query processing, the claims themselves merely recite result-oriented functional language involving generating predictions, aggregating scores, selecting passages, routing information, and generating responses using generic ML models. The claims do not recite any specific technological implementation or improvement to computer functionality itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) question resolution using machine learning.
With respect to step 1 of the patent subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Independent claim 1 are directed to a method, which is a process.
Independent claim 13 is directed to a computing system, comprising one or more memory…and processor, which is directed to one of the four statutory subject matters.
Independent claims 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which is directed to one of the four statutory subject matters.
All other claims depend on claims 1, 13 and 20. As such, claims 1-20 are directed to a statutory category.
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20:
With respect to step 2A, prong one (Judicial Exception), the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Specifically, the following limitations recite mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity.
The claims recite:
“generating, …, a plurality of evidence predictions for an evidence passage of the plurality of evidence passages” the limitation as drafted recites a mental process involving evaluating evidence and prediction of relevance or usefulness of information based on an input question.
“generating, …, a weighted aggregate prediction for the evidence passage based on the plurality of evidence predictions” the limitation as drafted recites a mental process involving weighting and combining multiple evaluations to reach a conclusion.
“determining, …, a set of one or more input passages from the plurality of evidence passages” the limitation as drafted recites a mental process involving selecting information based on evaluated criteria.
“routing, …, the set of one or more input passages to a singular sub-classification model” the limitation as drafted recites a mental process involving categorization and selection of a decision framework or model based on an answer type.
“wherein the machine learning aggregation model comprises a different sub- classification model of a different model type for at least two of the multiple-choice answer type, the large-limited-set answer type, or the free-form answer type” the limitation as drafted recites a mental process involving classification and selection among different evaluated models based on a differing categories of answers.
“produce receive a question response for the input question based on the set of one or more input passages” the limitation as drafted recites a mental process involving generating an answer based on selected information and evidence.
These limitations correspond to concept that can be performed in the human mind (Mental Process) and mathematical algorithms therefore fall within the Mental Process category of abstract idea (see MPEP 2016.04(a)(2)).
The claims recite an abstract idea: analyzing, classifying, and processing information using mathematical/ML models.
There are no steps performed that provides a technical improvement to the computing system itself (improved caching algorithm, improved database indexing, improved memory efficiency, improved cache eviction strategy; improved computing architecture). All the steps are generic, and conventional.
With respect to step 2A, Prong Two (Particular Application), the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The following limitations are considered “additional elements” and explanation will be given as to why these “additional elements” do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims are generic computer components preforming their routine functions. The claims include:
“one or more processors” as drafted recites generic computing components, performing their ordinary functions of processing (computer as a tool to perform abstract idea) (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
“receiving, …, a plurality of evidence passages from a document set corresponding to an input question” as drafted recites insignificant extra solution activity and data gathering/information collection, and does not impose any meaningful limitation on the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“using a retrieval ensemble model” as drafted recites a generic ML components performing routine information analysis and prediction operations without reciting any specific technological implementation to ML technology itself.
“generating, …, a plurality of evidence predictions” as drafted recites a generic data evaluation and scoring operations performed using generic ML tools and does not recite a specific technical mechanism for generating predictions.
“generating, …, a weighted aggregate prediction” as drafted recites a generic aggregation and evaluation functions that merely combine information or scores, without reciting and specific improvement to computer functionality, retrieval systems, or ML architecture.
“routing, …, the set of one or more input passages to a singular sub-classification model” as drafted recites generic information routing, categorization, and model-selection operations using generic ML components, and amounts to simple instruction to apply the abstract idea using conventional computer and ML tools.
“wherein the machine learning aggregation model comprises a different sub- classification model of a different model type” as drafted recites generic ML models and model selection functionally at a high level of abstraction without reciting any specific technical implementation, routing architecture, or improvement to computer functionality.
The additional elements mentioned above fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to no more that:
Generic computer and ML components performing generic information processing functions; and
Insignificant extra solution activity, including data gathering, information analysis, prediction generation, and model selection.
The claims do not:
Improve the functioning of a computer or processor;
Improve retrieval system or database technology;
Improve ML training;
Improve networking functionality,
Provide a specific technical implementation for routing or model selection, or
Provide a specific algorithm or technological mechanism for generating weighted aggregated predictions.
There are no improvements to computer functionality or any specific technical solution to a computer centric problem.
There is no recitation of, a new data structure that changes computer operation, improved network functioning, an unconventional indexing technique, a specific hardware solution.
Instead, the computer components are used as tools to perform the abstract idea of collecting, organizing, and associating information about nodes and their relationships.
With respect to Step 2B. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitations are directed to a computer readable storage medium, computer, memory, and processor, at a very high level of generality and without imposing meaningful limitations on the scope of the claim. Nothing in the claims provide: unconventional; technically novel, non-routine, system-level improvements. There are no special architecture, new algorithm or technical constraints. Such generic, high‐level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer‐based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent‐eligible, as noted at pg.74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo. Further, See, e.g., Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359‐60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093‐94 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("Just as Diehr could not save the claims in Alice, which were directed to 'implement[ing] the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer', it cannot save O/P's claims directed to implementing the abstract idea of price optimization on a generic computer.") (citations omitted). See also, Affinity Labs of Texas LLC v. DirecTV LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 1257‐1258 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of a GUI does not make a claimpatent‐eligible); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, 792 F.3d 1363, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("the interactive interface limitation is a generic computer element".).
The additional elements are broadly applied to the abstract idea at a high level of generality ("similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claims in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer,") as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and they operate in a well‐understood, routine, and conventional manner.
MPEP § 2106.0S(d)(II) sets forth the following:
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
• Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec ... ; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC ... ; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc ... ; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc ... ;
• Performing repetitive calculations, Flook ... ; Bancorp Services v. Sun Life ... ;
• Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp ... ; Ultramercial ... ;
• Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc ... ;
• Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank ... ; and
• A web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent
• Corp. v. Active Network, Inc. ...
. . . Courts have held computer-implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The dependent claims have been fully considered as well, however, similar to the findings for claims above, these claims are similarly directed to the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG, without integrating it into a practical application and with, at most, a general purpose computer that serves to tie the idea to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claims. The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding claims 2, and 14,
The claim recites:
retrieval ensemble model comprises a plurality of classification models and a machine learning fusion model.
Using multiple models and a fusion model is a routine ML technique. This merely combines known analytical tools to process information. This does not improve computer architecture, memory, or processing capabilities. This is simply analyzing and aggregating data. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 3, and 15,
The claim recites:
classification models include a term-based retrieval model and one or more large language models.
This merely recites types of known information retrieval and language processing models. Additionally, the claims simply identify tools for performing data analysis. This does not improve how computers retrieve or process data. This is claim is simply centered on evaluating and presenting information. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 4, and 16,
The claim recites:
ML fusion model is trained to generate the weighted aggregate predictions based on correspondence.
Training a model to weight predictions is a mathematical/statistical algorithm. The claims simply represent algorithmic optimization of data analysis. This does not improve system performance at the hardware or architectural level. This is claim is directed to abstract data processing. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 5, and 17,
The claim recites:
classification models and ML fusion model are jointly trained using an annotated training.
Joint training using labeled data is conventional ML practice. The claims simply represent routine model development techniques. This does not improve computer functionality. This is claim is directed to abstract learning processing. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 6, and 18,
The claim recites:
generating temporal features for evidence predictions and using them to generate response.
Extracting and using temporal features in data analysis. The claims simply add another type of information to be processed. This does not improve storage, transmission, or computation mechanisms. This is claim is directed to analyzing and presenting information. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 7, and 19,
The claim recites:
evidence predictions include relevance rank values.
Assigning relevance ranks is a method of ordering information. The claims simply constitute mathematical scoring and comparison. This does not improve computer operations. This is claim is directed to organizing and evaluating information. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claim 8,
The claim recites:
question response includes a question resolution and a selected input passage.
Selecting passages based on resolution is simply information retrieval. The claim merely presents selected content to users. This does not improve data structure or system performance. This is claim is directed to presenting analyzed information. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claim 9,
The claim recites:
generating retrieval and aggregation metrics and initiating training based on those metrics.
Computing metrics and retraining models are mathematical evaluations. The claim merely represents optimization of abstract process. This does not provide technical improvement. This is claim is directed to data analysis and learning. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claim 10,
The claim recites:
identifying failure scenario and generating synthetic training data for targeted training.
Detecting errors and generating synthetic data are analytical techniques. The claim merely represents abstract problem analysis and data generation. This does not improve computer hardware and architecture. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claim 11,
The claim recites:
multi-model architecture including LLMs and a routine module.
This simply recites a high-level software architecture. The claim merely uses known NN and routing techniques. This does not provide technical improvement. This is claim is directed to routing and processing information. There is no improvement to computer functionality, data structures, or processing architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau; Wai Ho et al. (US 20240289364 A1) [Lau] in view of Dingliwal; Saket et al. (US 20250005298 A1) [Dingliwal] in view of Weiser; Samantha D. et al. (US 20250375711 A1) [Weiser].
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Lau discloses, a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of evidence passages from a document set corresponding to an input question (question answering system using machine leaning [abstract], ¶ [0004]-[0007], [0065]-[0068]);
generating, by the one or more processors using a retrieval ensemble model and based at least in part on the input question, a plurality of evidence predictions for an evidence passage of the plurality of evidence passages (An ensemble of machine learning models 404 can ingest the vectorized questions from the vectorization service 402 and predict a domain for each vectorized question. The ensemble of machine learning models 404 can include instantiations of models of one or more types. For example, the machine learning models 404 can include a support vector machine (SVM) model 406, a multinomial logistic regression model 408, a neural network 410, or a random forest 412. The depicted models are not intended to be limiting. According to various embodiments, an ensemble of machine learning models 404 may employ additional or fewer machine learning models 404, or machine learning models 404 of a different type ¶ [0076]);
generating, by the one or more processors and using the retrieval ensemble model, a weighted aggregate prediction for the evidence passage based on the plurality of evidence predictions (ensemble of machine learning models ¶ [0076], examiner specifies that ensemble learning typically refers to bagging (bootstrap aggregation));
determining, by the one or more processors and based at least in part on the weighted aggregate prediction, a set of input passages from the plurality of evidence passages (the voting service 414 can determine a weight based on a confidence level received from the machine learning models 404, and sum the confidence levels to determine an overall domain prediction (e.g., select the domain associated with the highest summed confidence level). In some embodiments, the voting service 414 may adjust one or more weights according to a previous performance of a machine learning model 404. For example, a confidence level for a machine learning model 404 strongly correlated with a correct outcome can be weighted upwardly, relative to a machine learning model 404 less correlated with the correct ¶ [0088]. For example, outliers can be discounted or removed, confidence levels predicted by individual machine learning models 404 can be adjusted according to a non-linear function, or another confidence interval (e.g., aggregate confidence interval) can be defined ¶ [0101]. Also see question/answer confidence score and weighted prediction ¶ [0068], [0070], [0079], [0080]);
and providing, by the one or more processors, the question response (question answering system using machine leaning [abstract], ¶ [0004]-[0007], [0065]-[0068]).
However, Lau does not explicitly facilitate routing, by the one or more processors and based on the answer type, the set of one or more input passages to a singular sub-classification model of a machine learning aggregation model to produce receive a question response for the input question based on the set of one or more input passages, wherein the machine learning aggregation model comprises a different sub- classification model of a different model type.
Dingliwal discloses, routing, by the one or more processors, the set of input passages (an input record which includes the generated question and the summary sentence (or text sequence other than a sentence) from which the question was generated may be provided to the QA model. To obtain answer A2, an input record which includes the generated question and the source sentence (or text sequence) which was presented as the evidence for the summary sentence may be provided to the QA model ¶ [0039], [Abstract], [0031], [0075], LLMs that can for example answer natural language questions about input text records while providing evidence (from within the input text) for their answers ¶ [0038]; these section teach, selecting evidence/source text sequence, supplying them into QA model, and generating response; more specifically supplying text sequences to QA models can reasonably be interpreted as “routing input passage to a model”) to a singular sub-classification model (question generation (QG) machine learning model… question answering (QA) machine learning model ¶ [0031], [0039], textual entailment (TE) model ¶ [0032], [0039], several different fine-tuned LLMs may be prepared ¶ [0039], also see ¶ [0033], [0040], [0074]-[0076], examiner specifies that each selected QA/QG/TE/LLM model could easily correspond to “a singular sub-classification model”) of using a machine learning aggregation model (an aggregated score derived from such similarity metrics ¶ [0039], [0080], [0096], the evaluation models ¶ [0021], [0039], and [0074]) to produce a question response for the input question (an evidence mapping model (EMM) … EMMS may include LLMs that can for example answer natural language questions ¶ [0038], to obtain answer A2… may be provided to the QA model ¶ [0039]) based on the set of one or more input passages (an evidence mapping model (EMM) …providing evidence (from within the input text) for their answers ¶ [0038], source sentence (or text sequence) which was presented as the evidence ¶ [0039], another text sequence of the first group which provides evidence for the particular text sequence… a pair of answers (including an answer generated using an evidence mapping) [Abstract]) wherein the machine learning aggregation model comprises a different sub-classification model of a different model type (question generation (QG) machine learning model… question answering (QA) machine learning model ¶ [0031], [0039], textual entailment (TE) model ¶ [0032], [0039], several different fine-tuned LLMs may be prepared ¶ [0039], also see ¶ [0033], [0040], [0074]-[0076], examiner specifies that each selected QA/QG/TE/LLM model could easily correspond to “different sub-classification model of a different model type”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Dingliwal’s system would have allowed Lau to facilitates routing, by the one or more processors and based on the answer type, the set of one or more input passages to a singular sub-classification model of a machine learning aggregation model to produce receive a question response for the input question based on the set of one or more input passages, wherein the machine learning aggregation model comprises a different sub- classification model of a different model type. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Lau's reference, because there is a desire to improve (LLMs) performing tasks such as answering questions expressed in natural language, summarizing text and the like.
However, neither Lau nor Dingliwal explicitly facilitate wherein the input question is associated with an answer type that is one of a multiple-choice answer type, large-limited-set answer type, or a free-form answer type; for at least two of the multiple-choice answer type, the large-limited-set answer type, or the free-form answer type.
Weiser discloses, wherein the input question is associated with an answer type that is one of a multiple-choice answer type, large-limited-set answer type, or a free-form answer type (The format of the answer 114 includes short-form responses, multiple-choice answers, and/or ordinal ranking formats that indicate the correct answer and/or other incorrect alternatives ¶ [0046], [0071], [0132], [0175]. t operation 1204, an agent such as a question writer agent generates an initial set of questions based on the user-inputted request. In some embodiments, the question writer agent is an LLM. For instance, a request such as “Seinfeld” is combined with a predefined system prompt such as “generate X number of questions for the topic (topic)” and included pre-loaded query context (e.g., the pre-loaded query context in FIG. 9). The question writer agent generates one or more types of questions and corresponding answer(s), such as multiple-choice questions, open-ended questions, and/or true/false questions based on the pre-loaded query context ¶ [0179]-[0180], [0205]);
for at least two of the multiple-choice answer type, the large-limited-set answer type, or the free-form answer type (In operation 402, the game platform provides (a) a game application having a client-side user interface and a backend host configured to control communications between the client-side user interface and a generative AI model and (b) a plurality of tangible game elements (e.g., cards) associated with the game application. Each tangible game element, in some embodiments, is provided with at least one identifier that represents a topic or category (i.e., a value of a game parameter type) of a question-answer set (i.e., game content) ¶ [0056]. At operation 1204, an agent such as a question writer agent generates an initial set of questions based on the user-inputted request. In some embodiments, the question writer agent is an LLM. For instance, a request such as “Seinfeld” is combined with a predefined system prompt such as “generate X number of questions for the topic (topic)” and included pre-loaded query context (e.g., the pre-loaded query context in FIG. 9). The question writer agent generates one or more types of questions and corresponding answer(s), such as multiple-choice questions, open-ended questions, and/or true/false questions based on the pre-loaded query context ¶ [0179]-[0180]. . Each model operates independently but is managed by a consensus module that determines the overall validity of the content by aggregating the results from the various validation models. Using the validation framework, a larger amount of content (e.g., trivia questions) can be generated over a shorter period of time ¶ [0036]. Also see ¶ [0148], [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Weiser’s system would have allowed Lau and Dingliwal to facilitate wherein the input question is associated with an answer type that is one of a multiple-choice answer type, large-limited-set answer type, or a free-form answer type; for at least two of the multiple-choice answer type, the large-limited-set answer type, or the free-form answer type. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Lau and Dingliwal's reference, because there is a desire to improve more accurate and relevant response without additional refinement from the user.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser discloses, wherein the plurality of evidence predictions for the evidence passage comprises a plurality of relevance rank values that each reflect a relevance of the evidence passage to the input question relative to the plurality of evidence passages (Lau: a machine learning model can determine an association score, or ranked order, or another indication of a confidence of a match between a question and an answer ¶ [0065]. Also see ¶ [0070], [0089], [0100]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser discloses, wherein the question response comprises a question resolution and a selected input passage from the set of input passages that corresponds to the question resolution (Lau: question answering system using machine leaning [abstract], ¶ [0004]-[0007], [0065]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser discloses, further comprising: generating, using a retrieval scoring sub-module, a retrieval metric for the question response based on the selected input passage; generating, using an aggregation scoring sub-module, an aggregation metric for the question response based on the question resolution (Lau: ensemble of machine learning models ¶ [0076], examiner specifies that ensemble learning typically refers to bagging (bootstrap aggregation). For example, outliers can be discounted or removed, confidence levels predicted by individual machine learning models 404 can be adjusted according to a non-linear function, or another confidence interval (e.g., aggregate confidence interval) can be defined ¶ [0101]); and
initiating one or more active training operations for the retrieval ensemble model and the machine learning aggregation model based on the retrieval metric and the aggregation metric (Lau: The data processing system can employ various machine learning models trained to predict a question domain for the vectored questions. The data processing system can arbitrate a prediction of the various machine learning models (e.g., via voting) ¶ [0004]-[0007]. The vectorization service 402 can be trained based on known relationships between questions and domains, such as based on the questions and domains of the answer set 124. According to some embodiments, the vectorization service 402 can be trained based on answers of the answer set 124 corresponding to the respective domains, or based on other (e.g., public or private) data ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, (Canceled).
Claim(s) 2-5, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau in view of Dingliwal in view of Weiser in view of McElvain; Gayle et al. (US 20190340172 A1) [McElvain].
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, neither one of Lau, Dingliwal or Weiser explicitly facilitate wherein the retrieval ensemble model comprises a plurality of classification models and a machine learning fusion model.
McElvain discloses, wherein the retrieval ensemble model comprises a plurality of classification models and a machine learning fusion model (Candidate ranker 123 may be configured to apply an ensemble classification model based on the extracted features to rank the candidate question-answer pairs. In aspects, each question submitted may generate a question-answer pair for every candidate answer in the search results. For each feature of the extracted features, each question-answer pair may be scored. Each feature score of each question-answer pair may be fed into the ensemble classification model, and the ensemble classification model may generate a score that may represent the probability that the candidate answer in the candidate question-answer pair is a correct answer for the question ¶ [0078]-[0079], [0093], [0094]. Examiner further specifies that aggregation is interpreted as fusion).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because McElvain’s system would have allowed Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser to facilitates wherein the retrieval ensemble model comprises a plurality of classification models and a machine learning fusion model. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser's reference, because there is a desire to improve data searching, and more particularly to generating and identifying context specific answers to a query.
Regarding claim 3 and 15, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal, Weiser and McElvain discloses, wherein the plurality of classification models comprises a term-based retrieval model and one or more different large language models (large language models ¶ [0102], [0107]-[0112]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal, Weiser, and McElvain discloses wherein the machine learning fusion model is previously trained to generate the weighted aggregate prediction from the plurality of evidence predictions based on a correspondence between the plurality of classification models and the input question (McElvain: Candidate ranker 123 may be configured to apply an ensemble classification model based on the extracted features to rank the candidate question-answer pairs. In aspects, each question submitted may generate a question-answer pair for every candidate answer in the search results. For each feature of the extracted features, each question-answer pair may be scored. Each feature score of each question-answer pair may be fed into the ensemble classification model, and the ensemble classification model may generate a score that may represent the probability that the candidate answer in the candidate question-answer pair is a correct answer for the question ¶ [0078]-[0079], [0093], [0094]. Examiner further specifies that aggregation is interpreted as fusion).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal, Weiser and McElvain discloses, wherein the plurality of classification models (McElvain: ensemble classification model ¶ [0078]-[0079], [0093], [0094]) and the machine learning fusion model are jointly trained using a subset of an annotated training set (Weiser: Machine-learning algorithms may include ensemble methods such as bagging meta-estimator, forest of randomized trees, AdaBoost, gradient tree boosting, and/or voting classifier methods. Machine-learning algorithms may include neural net algorithms, including convolutional neural net processes ¶ [0163]).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau in view of Dingliwal in view of Weiser in view of Molloy; Ian Michael et al. (US 20210287141 A1) [Molloy].
Regarding claims 6 and 18, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal, and Weiser teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 13.
However, neither one of Lau, Dingliwal or Weiser explicitly facilitate further comprising: generating a set of temporal features comprising a temporal data feature for each of the plurality of evidence predictions; and generating the question response based on the set of input passages, the input question, and the set of temporal features.
Molloy discloses, further comprising: generating a set of temporal features comprising a temporal data feature for each of the plurality of evidence predictions; and generating the question response based on the set of input passages, the input question, and the set of temporal features (The QA pipeline receives an input question, parses the question to extract the major features of the question, uses the extracted features to formulate queries, and then applies those queries to the corpus of data. …. Other reasoning algorithms may look at temporal or spatial features in the language, while others may evaluate the source of the portion of the corpus of data and evaluate its veracity ¶ [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Molloy’s system would have allowed neither one of Lau, Dingliwal or Weiser to facilitates further comprising: generating a set of temporal features comprising a temporal data feature for each of the plurality of evidence predictions; and generating the question response based on the set of input passages, the input question, and the set of temporal features. The motivation to combine is apparent in the neither one of Lau, Dingliwal or Weiser's reference, because there is a desire for improved data processing apparatus and method and more specifically to mechanisms for training divers and robust ensembles of artificial intelligence computer models.
Claim(s) 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau in view of Dingliwal in view of Weiser in view Sethi; Pooja et al. (US 20220374605 A1) [Sethi].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser, teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
However, neither one of Lau, Dingliwal or Weiser explicitly facilitate further comprising: identifying a failure question scenario based on the input question, the retrieval metric, and the aggregation metric; responsive to the failure question scenario, generating, using a synthetic data generation model, a plurality of synthetic training passages from the set of input passages; and initiating one or more targeted training operations based on the plurality of synthetic training passages.
Sethi discloses, further comprising: identifying a failure question scenario based on the input question, the retrieval metric, and the aggregation metric; responsive to the failure question scenario, generating, using a synthetic data generation model, a plurality of synthetic training passages from the set of input passages; and initiating one or more targeted training operations based on the plurality of synthetic training passages (In particular embodiments, the assistant system may efficiently identify errors from the natural-language understanding (NLU) models used by the assistant system…. The selected traffic data may be manually annotated and used to evaluate the NLU models to identify the most important failure cases. The failure cases may be further used to automatically generate new (e.g., synthetic) training data, which may be used to retrain the NLU models to optimize them ¶ [0008]. Also see ¶ [0122], [0134]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Sethi’s system would have allowed Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser to facilitates further comprising: identifying a failure question scenario based on the input question, the retrieval metric, and the aggregation metric; responsive to the failure question scenario, generating, using a synthetic data generation model, a plurality of synthetic training passages from the set of input passages; and initiating one or more targeted training operations based on the plurality of synthetic training passages. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser's reference, because there is a desire for improved databases and file management within network environments, and in particular relates to hardware and software for smart assistant systems.
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau in view of Dingliwal in view of Weiser in view of Parham; David William et al. (US 20240248963 A1) [Parham].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser, teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
However, neither one of Lau, Dingliwal or Weiser, explicitly facilitate wherein the sub-classification model is one of one or more sub-classification models defined by the machine learning aggregation model and the machine learning aggregation model comprises a branched, multi-model architecture that defines (i) the one or more sub-classification models comprising one of an encoder-based large language model, a decoder-based large language model, or a generative pre-trained transformer model and (ii) a routing module configured to route an input to one of the one or more sub-classification models.
Parham discloses, wherein the sub-classification model is one of one or more sub-classification models defined by the machine learning aggregation model and the machine learning aggregation model comprises a branched, multi-model architecture that defines (i) the one or more sub-classification models comprising one of an encoder-based large language model, a decoder-based large language model, or a generative pre-trained transformer model and (ii) a routing module configured to route an input to one of the one or more sub-classification models (The system may use one or more models (e.g., ensemble, time-aggregate, multi-modal, natural language processing models, machine learning models, large language models) to associate an organization with one or more ESG issues (e.g., climate) ¶ [0133], [0162]. Document-specific materiality scores are generated by parsing the source document, classifying elements according to the ESG issue being discussed (e.g., greenhouse gas emissions, biodiversity, employee health and safety), and finally generating an aggregate score for the source document based on the relative strength of the overall discussion of each issue in the document ¶ [0036], [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Parham’s system would have allowed Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser, to facilitates wherein the sub-classification model is one of one or more sub-classification models defined by the machine learning aggregation model and the machine learning aggregation model comprises a branched, multi-model architecture that defines (i) the one or more sub-classification models comprising one of an encoder-based large language model, a decoder-based large language model, or a generative pre-trained transformer model and (ii) a routing module configured to route an input to one of the one or more sub-classification models. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Lau, Dingliwal and Weiser's reference, because there is a desire to improve decision makers with effective tools to identify, evaluate, quantify, and monitor various aspects of complex issues derived indirectly from large data sources.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
5/14/2026
/MOHAMMAD S ROSTAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154