DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0281043 (Shahin).
For claim 1, Shahin teaches an edge-emitting type semiconductor laser device (fig. 10, 12, and 17; while fig. 10 and 12 are arrays, they are each a single monolithic device and may each be considered “one light emitter” under broadest reasonable interpretation), wherein an envelope of a spectrum of light emitted from one light emitter when laser oscillation is performed by pulse driving (pulse driving recites a manner of operating rather than a structural limitation) is formed by synthesizing spectra of a plurality of peaks, and a full width at half maximum of the envelope is 3 nm or more (fig. 11B, [0017] and fig. 14, see 10 nm bandwidth, [0091]).
With regard to the pulse driving, a recitation as to how the laser device is intended to be employed (i.e. pulse driven) does not differentiate the laser device from the prior art of Shahin which teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114 II.
For claim 2, Shahin teaches a difference between a peak wavelength of a first spectrum which is one of the plurality of peaks located on a longest wavelength side and a peak wavelength of a second spectrum which is another of the plurality of peaks located on a shortest wavelength side peaks is 1 nm or more and 10 nm or less (fig. 11B, λ0 – λ3; Fig. 14, see curve with 10 nm bandwidth).
For claim 3, Shahin teaches the envelope of the spectrum of the light has a plurality of local maximum values less (fig. 11B; Fig. 14, see curve with 10 nm bandwidth).
For claim 4, Shahin teaches a difference between a first wavelength corresponding to a first local maximum value which is a largest local maximum value and a second wavelength corresponding to a second local maximum value which is a next largest local maximum value is 1 nm or more and 10 nm or less (fig. 11B; Fig. 14, see curve with 10 nm bandwidth).
For claim 5, Shahin teaches a local minimum value sandwiched between the first local maximum value and the second local maximum value is equal to or more than a half value of the first local maximum value (fig. 11B; Fig. 14, see curve with 10 nm bandwidth).
For claim 6, Shahin teaches an oscillation wavelength of the semiconductor laser device is in a visible light region (fig. 11B; Fig. 14, see curve with 10 nm bandwidth).
For claim 7, Shahin teaches the oscillation wavelength of the semiconductor laser device is in a red wavelength region (fig. 14).
For claim 8, Shahin teaches the semiconductor laser device includes a plurality of emitters (fig. 2, 201LR, 201LG and 201LB).
For claim 9, Shahin does not explicitly state an I-L characteristic during continuous wave driving has a kink region. However, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. The limitation of claim 9 does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114 II.
For claim 10, Shahin teaches an emission wavelength difference of 1 nm to 10 nm exists in a gain region in a chip plane of the semiconductor laser device with respect to a waveguide direction (fig. 17, the MQWs 1702 create the wavelength difference and exist along the length of the waveguide direction; fig. 19 and 20 illustrate alternative configurations where the MQW laser wavelength changes along the length of the waveguide).
For claim 11, Shahin teaches a light-emitting layer having a stacked structure of two or more well layers having emission wavelengths different from each other by 1 nm to 10 nm (fig. 17, 1702 and fig. 14; [0092]).
For claim 12, Shahin teaches a light-emitting layer structured such that a plurality of peaks exist in a gain spectrum of emission light (fig. 17, 1702 and fig. 14; [0092]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0281043 (Shahin) in view of US 2022/0209508 (Hagimoto).
For claim 13, Shahin is applied according to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Shahin does not state a drive circuit structured to pulse-drive the semiconductor laser device.
However, Hagimoto teaches a drive circuit structured to pulse-drive the semiconductor laser device in order to increase a bandwidth ([0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive current of Hagimoto with the invention of Shahin in order to increase bandwidth.
For claim 14, Shahin does not teach the drive circuit drives the semiconductor laser device with a pulse current at which a pulse width of an optical waveform of emission light is 4 ns or less.
However, Shahin does teach a single pixel is typically 4ns ([0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to drive the laser device with a pulse current at which a pulse width of an optical waveform of emission light is 4 ns or less in order to coincide with a single pixel duration.
For claim 15, Shahin is applied according to the rejection of claim 9 above.
Shahin does not state a drive circuit structured to pulse-drive the semiconductor laser device.
However, Hagimoto teaches a drive circuit structured to pulse-drive the semiconductor laser device in order to increase a bandwidth ([0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive current of Hagimoto with the invention of Shahin in order to increase bandwidth.
The combination does not teach a peak of a pulsed drive current supplied to the semiconductor laser device is located in the kink region.
However, the examiner takes official notice that drive current was a well-known in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention as a results effective variable which determines the output power.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention made to adjust drive currents in order to adjust output power, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
For claim 16, Shahin and Hagimoto are applied according to the rejection of claim 13 above. Shahin further teaches the device is a wearable display device (fig. 1 and title).
Conclusion
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828