DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 1 July 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claims 3 and 13 (second line), “wherein each of the first channel state information and the second channel state information comprises at least one of” should probably be amended to ---wherein each of the first channel state information and the second channel state information further comprises at least one of---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0059282) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2021/0409086).
For Claims 1 and 19, Wu teaches a method for reporting information, performed by a terminal, and a terminal, comprising: a processor; and a transceiver, connected with the processor (see paragraph 11); the method comprising:
sending first channel state information to a network device (see paragraphs 98, 123); and
sending first indication information to the network device, wherein the first indication information comprises a difference between the first channel state information and second channel state information (see paragraphs 98, 102, 123).
Wu as applied above is not explicit as to, but Yerramalli teaches that each of the first channel state information and the second channel state information comprises at least one of:
a layer indicator (LI) (see paragraph 79);
an average delay; or
a delay spread (see paragraph 171).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include the CSI contents in Yerramalli when implementing the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of providing CSI reports with necessary contents.
For Claims 11 and 20, Wu teaches a method for reporting information, performed by a network device, and a network device, comprising: a processor; and a transceiver, connected with the processor (see paragraph 12); the method comprising:
receiving first channel state information sent by a terminal (see paragraphs 98, 123); and
receiving first indication information sent by the terminal, wherein the first indication information comprises a difference between the first channel state information and second channel state information (see paragraphs 98, 102, 123).
Wu as applied above is not explicit as to, but Yerramalli teaches that each of the first channel state information and the second channel state information comprises at least one of:
a layer indicator (LI) (see paragraph 79);
an average delay; or
a delay spread (see paragraph 171).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include the CSI contents in Yerramalli when implementing the method of Wu. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of providing CSI reports with necessary contents.
For Claims 2 and 12, Wu teaches the method, wherein the first channel state information is reported at a first reporting time and the first indication information is reported at a second reporting time (see paragraph 123, Figure 11), the first channel state information is sent based on a first cycle (see paragraphs 123, 125); the first indication information is sent based on a second cycle (see paragraph 123); or the first channel state information is sent based on a first cycle and the first indication information is sent based on a second cycle (see paragraph 123).
For Claims 3 and 13, Wu teaches the method, wherein each of the first channel state information and the second channel state information comprises at least one of: a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI); a rank indicator (RI) (see paragraph 134); a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) (see paragraph 90); a channel quality indicator (CQI) (see paragraph 90);; a synchronization signal/physical broadcast signal block resource indicator (SSBRI); a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) (see paragraph 132); a layer-1 signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR) (see paragraph 132); a Doppler migration; or a Doppler spread.
For Claims 4 and 14, Wu teaches the method, further comprising:
receiving control information sent by the network device, wherein the control information indicates that the first indication information is sent non-periodically (see Figure 11, paragraphs 118, 123, 125: the control information may be sent in one transmission to save overhead);
wherein the first indication information is sent to the network device based on the control information within a time period after the first channel state information is sent (see paragraph 123, stage 1); or
wherein the first indication information is downlink control information (DCI) (see paragraph 118).
For Claim 5, Wu teaches the method, wherein the first channel state information is sent periodically (119, 125, 127), and the method further comprises:
determining an i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and an (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information based on the control information, where i is a positive integer (see paragraphs 123, 125);
wherein the first indication information is sent to the network device within a time period between a time point of sending the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and a time point of sending the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information (see Figure 11, time between 1104 and 1106).
For Clam 6, Wu teaches the method, wherein determining the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information based on the control information comprises one of:
determining the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information based on second indication information, wherein the control information comprises the second indication information (see paragraphs 123, 125); or
determining two pieces of first channel state information recently after a T time period starting from receiving the control information as the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information.
For Claim 7, Wu teaches the method, wherein the control information comprises a third cycle; and based on the control information, the first indication information is sent to the network device based on the third cycle within the time period after the first channel state information is sent (see Figure 11: different CSI stages).
For Claims 10 and 18, Wu teaches the method, wherein: the first indication information is carried on one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see paragraphs 76, 97: report on PUCCH); or
feedback information of the second channel state information is generated based on any one of: a broadband; a narrow band; multiple ports; each port in the multiple ports; multiple beams (see paragraph 92); or each beam in the multiple beams (see paragraph 92).
For Claim 15, Wu teaches the method, wherein the first channel state information is sent periodically (see paragraphs 119, 125, 127), and the terminal determines an i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and an (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information based on the control information, where i is a positive integer (see paragraphs 123-124); and sends the first indication information to the network device within a time period between a time point of sending the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and a time point of sending the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information (see Figure 11: between 1104 and 1106),
wherein the control information comprises second indication information, the second indication information indicates the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information (see paragraphs 123, 125); or
two pieces of first channel state information after the control information are determined as the i.sup.th piece of first channel state information and the (i+1).sup.th piece of first channel state information (see paragraphs 123, 125).
For Claim 16, Wu teaches the method, wherein the control information comprises a third cycle; the control information instructs the terminal to send the first indication information to the network device based on the third cycle within the time period after the first channel state information is sent (see Figure 11: different CSI stages); or
the control information comprises a third cycle and an index identifier; and the control information instructs the terminal to determine the third cycle corresponding to the index identifier based on the index identifier; and to send the first indication information to the network device based on the third cycle.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 0059282) and Yerramalli et al. (US 2021/0409086) as applied to claims 1, 4, 11-12, 14, and 16 above, and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2021/0091835).
For Claim 8, Wu further teaches the method, wherein the control information comprises a fourth cycle (see paragraphs 127-128: time indication); and the method further comprises:
determining the fourth cycle corresponding to the configuration comprised in the control information (see paragraphs 123, 125, 127-128: multiple periods of sending feedback and differential feedback as configured);
wherein the first indication information is sent to the network device based on the fourth cycle within the time period after the first channel state information is sent (see paragraphs 123, 125, 127-128: multiple periods of sending feedback and differential feedback as configured).
Though Wu does teach a configuration of the UE to send multiple cycles of CSI and thus at least implicitly teaches an index identifier, the references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Manolakos teaches an index identifier (see paragraphs 65-66, Figure 8: time index identifier).
Thus it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to employ an index as in Manolakos when configuring the UE as in Wu. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of ensuring the UE is configured to provide the CSI in a timely manner.
For Claims 9 and 17, Wu as modified by Manolakos above further teaches the method, further comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling sent by the network device, wherein the RRC signaling comprises a corresponding relationship between the index identifier and the fourth cycle (see paragraph 118: RRC; paragraphs 127-128: time indicated for differential and non-differential feedback).
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 1 July 2026 has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments. However, the amendments have resulted in new rejections under 35 USC 112 and some claims remain rejected thereunder.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections over prior art have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection introduced herein. The claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tooher et al. (US 2022/0287094) teaches a CSI report including a layer indicator. Sarajlic et al. (US 2020/0374724) teaches a CSI report including a delay spread.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 7/17/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466