DETAILED ACTION
This is on the merits of Application No. 18/613970, filed on 03/22/2024. Claims 1-17 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 states “the plurality of cross-members is coupled to the frame” and should state --the plurality of cross-members are coupled to the frame--.
Claim 12 states “the plurality of mounts is disposed” and should state --the plurality of mounts are disposed--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 states “wherein the plurality of mounts comprises elastomeric mounts”. It is unclear if this is stating there are mounts within the mounts or trying to state that the mounts comprise elastomeric material. Reviewing the specification and drawings show that the mounts are made of an elastomeric material, thus they will be examined as such. It is suggested applicant change the claim language to reflect that.
This applies to claim 4 as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11548361 to Arana et al.
Arana discloses:
(Claim 1) A vehicle (Fig. 1) comprising: a frame (Fig. 3 element 28) having a natural frequency (inherent to all objects); a battery (Fig. 2 element 18); a battery housing (Fig. 2 element 36) having the battery disposed therein; and a plurality of mounts (Fig. 5 element 46) coupling the battery housing to the frame, said plurality of mounts tuned to attenuate a ride comfort response of the frame (Col. 6 ln 60-Col. 7 ln 4, as the isolators have damping portions 54, they dampen between the frame and battery pack, thus they can be considered “tuned to attenuate a ride comfort response”).
(Claim 2) a vehicle body coupled on the frame (see Fig. 1).
(Claim 3) wherein the plurality of mounts comprises elastomeric mounts (Col. 7 ln 48-59, can comprise elastomeric materials).
(Claim 5) wherein the natural frequency comprises a primary, secondary, or higher order frame mode (these are inherent properties of natural frequency in objects, thus the claim limitation is met).
(Claim 6) a plurality of cross-members (Fig. 3 elements 33, 35, MP1, MP2, and 44) coupled to the frame, and wherein the cross-members couple to the battery housing through the plurality of mounts (the mounts in the frame couple to the battery housing, thus the cross-members are also coupled to the battery housing through the mounts).
(Claim 7) wherein the plurality of cross-members is coupled to the frame with a plurality of supports (58A and 58B).
(Claim 8) wherein said plurality of supports are coupled to the frame with removable fasteners (Figs. 4 and 7 element 56).
(Claim 9) wherein at least one of the plurality of cross-members is positioned above at least one of the plurality of mounts (see Fig. 3 element 44 is positioned above the plurality of mounts).
(Claim 10) arms (see Annotated Fig. 6 element 76 can be considered “arms” as well as element “A”. It is noted no further definition of “arm” is given, thus any protrusion sticking out from the frame is interpreted as an “arm”) coupled to the battery housing coupled to the plurality of mounts (arms 76 are coupled to the battery housing through mounts 46 and arms “A” have the mount within the arm itself).
(Claim 12) wherein the plurality of mounts is disposed between the arms and the frame (see annotated Fig. 6 element “A”, mounts 46 go in space 82).
(Claim 15) A method operating a vehicle (Fig. 1) comprising a frame (28) having a natural frequency (inherent to all objects) comprising: forming a dynamic absorber from a battery housing (36) by tuning a plurality of mounts (46) to attenuate a response; and coupling the battery housing to the frame with the plurality of tunable mounts.
(Claim 16) a vehicle body to the frame (see Fig. 1).
(Claim 17) wherein the natural frequency comprises a primary, secondary, or higher order frame mode (these are inherent properties of natural frequency in objects, thus the claim limitation is met).
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE102020120014 to Lang.
Lang discloses:
(Claim 1) A vehicle (Fig. 1) comprising: a frame (18) having a natural frequency (inherent to all objects); a battery (see par. [0009], [0032], can be traction battery); a battery housing (17) having the battery disposed therein; and a plurality of mounts (Fig. 6 elements 39) coupling the battery housing to the frame, said plurality of mounts tuned to attenuate a ride comfort response of the frame (Fig. 7, each element 39 dampens between the battery and frame, thus they can be considered “tuned to attenuate a ride comfort response”).
(Claim 2) a vehicle body (11) coupled on the frame (See Fig. 1).
(Claim 4) wherein the plurality of mounts comprises hydraulic mounts (see Fig. 7).
(Claim 5) wherein the natural frequency comprises a primary, secondary, or higher order frame mode (these are inherent properties of natural frequency in objects, thus the claim limitation is met).
(Claim 13) A control system comprising: the vehicle of claim 1; and a frequency sensor determining a natural frequency of the frame; wherein the plurality of mounts comprises a plurality of tunable mounts (see par. [0011], [0041], can use a frequency sensor to determine natural frequency); and a controller (Fig. 7 element 30) controlling a frequency of the battery pack based on the natural frequency to attenuate the response (see par. [0011], [0013], [0041], controls based on natural frequency).
(Claim 14) wherein the vehicle comprises a body-on-frame vehicle (see Fig. 1).
(Claim 15) A method operating a vehicle (Fig. 1) comprising a frame (18) having a natural frequency (inherent to all objects) comprising: forming a dynamic absorber from a battery housing (17) by tuning a plurality of mounts (Fig. 6 element 39) to attenuate a response; and coupling the battery housing to the frame with the plurality of tunable mounts (see Fig. 6).
(Claim 16) a vehicle body to the frame (see Fig. 1).
(Claim 17) wherein the natural frequency comprises a primary, secondary, or higher order frame mode (these are inherent properties of natural frequency in objects, thus the claim limitation is met).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10-12, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 9283837 to Rawlinson.
Rawlinson discloses:
(Claim 1) A vehicle (see Abstract) comprising: a frame (111) having a natural frequency (inherent to all objects); a battery (inside 107); a battery housing (107) having the battery disposed therein; and a plurality of mounts (125) coupling the battery housing to the frame, said plurality of mounts tuned to attenuate a ride comfort response of the frame (see Col. 6 ln 48- Col. 7 ln 3, mounts are tuned).
(Claim 3) wherein the plurality of mounts comprises elastomeric mounts (Col. 5 ln 50, can be rubber which is considered elastomeric).
(Claim 5) wherein the natural frequency comprises a primary, secondary, or higher order frame mode (these are inherent properties of natural frequency in objects, thus the claim limitation is met).
(Claim 10) arms (117) coupled to the battery housing coupled to the plurality of mounts.
(Claim 11) wherein the arms are integrally formed with the battery housing (Col. 5 ln 34-35, integral with battery housing).
(Claim 12) wherein the plurality of mounts is disposed between the arms and the frame (see Fig. 2).
(Claim 15) A method operating a vehicle comprising a frame (111) having a natural frequency comprising: forming a dynamic absorber from a battery housing (107) by tuning a plurality of mounts (125) to attenuate a response; and coupling the battery housing to the frame with the plurality of tunable mounts.
(Claim 17) wherein the natural frequency comprises a primary, secondary, or higher order frame mode (these are inherent properties of natural frequency in objects, thus the claim limitation is met).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khan et al (US 10005350) discloses a traction battery securing assembly and method.
Guest et al (US 8644401) discloses a vibration damper of a vehicle and a method of reducing vibration.
Mu et al (US 2025/0202019) discloses an electric vehicle powertrain contactor noise attenuation mounting configuration.
Kumar et al (US 2008/0280195) discloses a battery case and method for securing same.
Konopa et al (US 2008/0059012) discloses a tuned battery pack damper for a hybrid electric vehicle.
/TIMOTHY HANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655