DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 3.22.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Cooling with outer and inner shaft structure in rotating electric machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rustichelli (US20240014710A1 Filing date 8.27.21).
Regarding Claim 1, Rustichelli discloses (Figs 2-3) a rotating electric machine (10) comprising a rotor (12) and a stator (62) surrounding (Fig 2) the rotor, the rotor including a permanent magnet (66) and a rotating shaft (16),
wherein the rotating shaft (16) includes an outer shaft (20) having a hollow tubular shape (Fig 3), an inner shaft (40,18) configured to be inserted in an interior of the outer shaft (Fig 2), and a coolant flow path (44 to 50) through which a coolant flows (Fig 2), and
the coolant flow path includes a first flow path (42,22) formed in the inner shaft (18), a second flow path (26) formed in the outer shaft (20), and a communication flow path (28A,28B) configured to place the first flow path and the second flow path in communication with each other (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the first flow path (22) is disposed upstream (44 inlet is connected to 22) in a flow direction (Fig 2) in which the coolant flows, the second flow path (26) is disposed downstream (26 is connected to 50 outlet) in the flow direction, and the communication flow path (28A,28B) is positioned between (Fig 2) the first flow path and the second flow path.
Regarding Claim 3, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 2. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the inner shaft (40,18) includes a first small diameter portion (D1) and a second small diameter portion (D2) whose outer circumferential surfaces are not in contact (Fig 2) with an inner circumferential surface of the outer shaft (20), and a large diameter portion (D3) positioned between the first small diameter portion (D1) and the second small diameter portion (D2) and having a diameter larger (Fig 2) than a diameter of the first small diameter portion and a diameter of the second small diameter portion, the first small diameter portion being positioned at one end part of the inner shaft in an axial direction of the inner shaft (D1 is towards left end in Fig 2), the first flow path (42) is formed in an interior of the first small diameter portion (D1), the second flow path (26) is formed in an outer circumferential portion (Fig 2) of the outer shaft (20), and the communication flow path (28A,28B) extends from an inner side toward an outer side of the outer shaft in a diametrical direction (Fig 2) of the outer shaft.
Regarding Claim 6, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 3. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the first flow path (42) is a space extending linearly in the axial direction (A) and toward the large diameter portion (D3), in the interior of the first small diameter portion (D1).
Regarding Claim 7, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 3. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the rotating shaft (16) further includes a magnet holder (14,12) configured to cover an outer circumferential surface of the outer shaft (20) and retain the permanent magnet (66), and the second flow path (26) is formed between the outer shaft (20) and the magnet holder (14).
Regarding Claim 8, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 7. Rustichelli further discloses wherein an outer groove (26) is formed in the outer circumferential surface of the outer shaft (20), and the second flow path (26) is formed by covering (Fig 3) the outer groove with the magnet holder (14,12).
Regarding Claim 9, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 7. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the coolant is oil [0035 discloses “oil”], and the coolant that has flowed through the second flow path (26) is supplied to a bearing (54) configured to rotatably support the rotating shaft (16) in a housing (46) [0037 discloses “ The at least one lubrication path can be inclined with respect to the axis of rotation and with respect to a flow direction of the coolant in the outlet passage”].
Regarding Claim 12, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the inner shaft (40,18) includes an extending portion protruding in an axial direction (A) of the outer shaft (20) from one end of the outer shaft (Fig 2, 40 extends to the left from 20 left end) in the axial direction (A).
Regarding Claim 13, Rustichelli discloses (Figs 2-3) a rotating electric machine (10) comprising a rotor (12) and a stator (62) surrounding the rotor (Fig 2), the rotor including a permanent magnet (66) and a rotating shaft (16),
wherein the rotating shaft includes a coolant flow path (44 to 50) through which a coolant flows (Fig 2),
the coolant flow path includes:
a first flow path (42,22) extending from one end part (left end in Fig 2) toward another end part (right end in Fig 2) of the rotating shaft, along an axial direction (A) of the rotating shaft;
a second flow path (26) communicating with a terminal end (right end of 22in Fig 2) of the first flow path (42,22) in a flow direction in which the coolant flows, and extending toward the other end (left end in Fig 2) part of the rotating shaft (16) on an outer circumferential side (26 is radially outer of 22) of the first flow path; and
a communication flow path (28A,28B) extending from an inner side (18) toward an outer side (20) of the rotating shaft in a diametrical direction (Fig 2) of the rotating shaft (16) and placing the terminal end of the first flow path and the second flow path in communication with each other (Fig 2) .
Regarding Claim 14, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 13. Rustichelli further discloses wherein the coolant is oil [0035 discloses “oil”], and the coolant that has flowed through the second flow path (26) is supplied to a bearing (54) configured to rotatably support the rotating shaft (16) in a housing (46) [0037 discloses “ The at least one lubrication path can be inclined with respect to the axis of rotation and with respect to a flow direction of the coolant in the outlet passage”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rustichelli in view of Cross (US20220052578A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Rustichelli discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Rustichelli does not explicitly disclose wherein the second flow path includes an outbound path extending from a first end part, which is one end part of the outer shaft, toward a second end part, which is another end part of the outer shaft, and an inbound path communicating with the outbound path and extending from the second end part toward the first end part of the outer shaft.
Cross discloses (Fig 4) [0073] wherein the second flow path (50) includes an outbound path extending from a first end part (46 left), which is one end part of the outer shaft (46), toward a second end part (46 right), which is another end part of the outer shaft (46), and an inbound path communicating with the outbound path and extending from the second end part toward the first end part of the outer shaft [0073 discloses a double-pass helical path].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotating electric machine of Rustichelli modified by double helical flow path of Cross in order to maximize heat dissipation from the entire length and circumference of the outer shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites “The rotating electric machine according to claim 3, wherein the large diameter portion includes a relay flow path interposed between the first flow path and the communication flow path and extending from an inner side toward an outer side of the inner shaft in a diametrical direction of the inner shaft”. Rustichelli does not disclose this structure. In Rustichelli, the large diameter portion which has the two small diameter portions on either side does not have the communication flow path in a diametral direction, instead it is at the right side end in Fig 2. Therefore claim 4 is allowable. Claim 5 is allowable as it is dependent upon Claim 4.
Claim 11 recites “The rotating electric machine according to claim 3, wherein the rotating shaft includes a tubular body retained by the outer shaft and surrounding the outer circumferential surface of the first small diameter portion, and the second flow path includes an outbound path extending from a first end part, which is one end part of the outer shaft, toward a second end part, which is another end part of the outer shaft, an inbound path communicating with the outbound path and extending from the second end part toward the first end part of the outer shaft, a first discharge path extending from the inbound path toward the first small diameter portion, and a second discharge path formed between the tubular body and the outer shaft”. Rustichelli in view of Cross does not read on all of the limitations, specifically the discharge path structure along with the double helical outer shaft structure. Therefore claim 11 is allowable.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834