DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 22 March 2024 .
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, 15. The claim recites “the first device and the second device having a same mode” the standard phrasing is typically “the same model” rather than “a same model” when referring two specific devices sharing a specific model identify. Claim 8 recites the limitation “the set of temperatures in the offset relationship”. Claim 8 depends on claim 1. However, claim 1 does not introduce “a set of temperatures.” Claim 1 only recites “obtaining an offset relationship as a function of temperature”. The limitation “a set of temperatures”. These is insufficient antecedent basis for “the set of temperatures” in Claim 8. Amend Claim 8 to depend on Claim 2 instead of Claim 1, Or Amened Claim 8 to introduce the term (e.g., “wherein the offset relationship comprises a set of temperatures”). Claim 15 same as Claim 5, Claim 18 same as Claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 8-10, 11-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toh (US 20130288610 A1) With regarding Claim 1, Toh disclosed a method to adjust a transmit power level of a device at different temperatures, the method comprising (See FIG. 1-2 and ¶[0009]-[0010], [0041]. Disclosed adjusting transmit power based on temperature variations.): performing a power calibration to determine a preliminary power index (See FIG. 5-6 and ¶[0038]-[0039], [0056]-[0060]. Disclosed the calibration process involves sweeping the gain index (RGI) to establish baseline power levels (preliminary index/settings) at a reference temperature); measuring a temperature of the device (See FIG. 1 and ¶[0042], [0053], [0075]-[0077]. Disclosed the device includes a sensor to monitor internal operating temperature during the operation ); obtaining an offset relationship as a function of temperature (See FIG. 10 and ¶[0010], [0073]-[0077]. Disclosed during normal operation, the device used the measured temperature to retrieve the specific offset value stored during calibration); determining a target offset value of the device according to the measured temperature and the offset relationship(See FIG. 11B and ¶[0075]-[0077]. Disclosed during normal operation, the device uses the measured temperature to retrieve the specific offset value stored during calibration); determining an updated power index based on the preliminary power index and the target offset value (See FIG. 1 and ¶[0044], [0078], [0038], [0075]-[0078]. Disclosed the device uses the offset value and temperature to generate control signals that adjust the gain (index) of the power amplifier to compensate for the offset.); obtaining a transmit power relationship as a function of power index (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0039]. Disclosed characterizes and stores the relationship between output power and radio frequency gain index); determining a target transmit power level of the device according to the updated power index and the transmit power relationship(See FIG. 12 and ¶[0044], [0039], [0010]. Disclosed the device uses the known relationship (FIG. 2) and updated control settings (index/power) to ensure the transmitted power meets the target level.); and transmitting data at the target transmit power level (See FIG. 11B and ¶[0041], [0074]-[0075]. Disclosed where data is transmitted using the compensated power settings.). With regarding Claim 2, Toh disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein the offset relationship is generated by operations comprising: performing a first power calibration at a reference temperature to determine a reference power index (See FIG. 5-6 and ¶[0054]-[0061], [0057]. Disclosed performs calibration at a reference temperature by sweeping the gain index (power index) to characterize the output power, thereby determining the index values associated with specific power levels (reference power index).); performing a set of second power calibrations at a set of temperatures to determine a set of power indexes (See FIG. 8-9 and ¶[0066]-[0072]. Disclosed the repeats the calibration process (sweeping the gain index to measure power) at multiple target temperatures, determining the power indexes required at those temperatures.); determining a set of offset values based on differences between the reference power index and the set of power indexes (See FIG. 10 and ¶[0072]-[0075], [0038], [0044]. Disclosed comparing power levels, the resulting offset compensation values are used to adjust the gain index via path 44, the calibration data (power vs. Index at ref temp and target temps) inherently allows determining the difference in indexes required to maintain power. The stored table effectively maps temperature to the required index adjustment (off set value)); and generating the offset relationship based on the set of temperatures and the set of offset values (See FIG. 11A and ¶[0010], [0073]-[0074]. Disclosed generates and stores the offset compensation values as a function of temperature (offset relationship), which is then used during normal operation).
With regarding Claim 3, Toh disclosed the method of claim 2, wherein the reference temperature is a room temperature (See FIG. 3, 5 and ¶[0054]-[0055], [0060], [0072]. Disclosed the reference temperature for baseline calibration as 25. Degrees in the field of electronics and calibration, 25 degrees is standard definition of room temperature. Therefore, the prior art discloses using room temperature as the reference.).
With regarding Claim 4, Toh disclosed the method of claim 2, wherein the set of temperatures include operating temperatures of the device (See FIG. 7 and ¶[0008], [0064]-[0066], [0073]. Defines the temperatures used for the second set of calibrations as target operating temperatures.). With regarding Claim 8, Toh disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein the temperature of the device does not match with any temperature of the set of temperatures in the offset relationship and the determining of the target offset value of the device according to the measured temperature comprises (See FIG. 5, 3 and 8 and ¶[0010], [0041]-[0042], [0047] [0073]-[0077]. Disclosed that the recognizes the situation where the measured temperature falls between stored calibration points.): determining a target temperature among the set of temperatures in the offset relationship that is closest to the temperature of the device (See FIG. 11A and ¶[0010], [0041]-[0042], [0047] [0073]-[0077]. Disclosed that values for non-matching temperatures may be interpolated or extrapolated based on the measured data, and calculating a value rather than selecting the closest stored temperature.).and determining the target offset value of the device according to the target temperature and the offset relationship (See FIG. 11A and ¶[0010], [0041]-[0042], [0047] [0073]-[0077]. Disclosed that calculating a new value via interpolation rather than retrieving the stored values of the closet point). With regarding Claim 9, Toh disclosed the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an updated offset relationship (See FIG. 1, and ¶[0010], [0073]-[0075]. Disclosed the base method of temperature based power calibration and adjustment using offset values and power (RGI).); determining an updated target offset value according to the measured temperature and the updated offset relationship (See ¶[0073]-[0077]. Disclosed offset values are stored in DUT 10 prior to normal user operation.); updating the preliminary power index based on the updated target offset value (See ¶[0073]-[0077], [0038], [0078]. Disclosed using the offset compensation value to adjust the gain index (power index) using updated target offset value to adjust the index inherently results in updating the preliminary power index.); determining an updated target transmit power level according to the updated power index and the transmit power relationship (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0039], [0044], [0073]-[0077]. Disclosed that transmit power relationship and using the index to achieve that target power); and transmitting the data at the updated target transmit power level (See ¶[0073]-[0077]. Disclosed transmitting data/signals during normal operation using the compensated power settings). With regarding Claim 10, Toh disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein the offset relationship is a data structure or an equation (See ¶[0010], [0073]-[0077], [0044]. Disclosed maintaining a table of control settings and storing offset compensation values in non-volatile memory. A table stored in memory is inherently a data structure). With regarding Claim 11, Toh disclosed a computing apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the apparatus to (See FIG. 1-2 and ¶[0030]-[0033]. Disclosed Processor and Memory): performing a power calibration to determine a preliminary power index (See FIG. 5-6 and ¶[0038]-[0039], [0056]-[0060]. Disclosed the calibration process involves sweeping the gain index (RGI) to establish baseline power levels (preliminary index/settings) at a reference temperature); measuring a temperature of the device (See FIG. 1 and ¶[0042], [0053], [0075]-[0077]. Disclosed the device includes a sensor to monitor internal operating temperature during the operation ); obtaining an offset relationship as a function of temperature (See FIG. 10 and ¶[0010], [0073]-[0077]. Disclosed during normal operation, the device used the measured temperature to retrieve the specific offset value stored during calibration); determining a target offset value of the device according to the measured temperature and the offset relationship(See FIG. 11B and ¶[0075]-[0077]. Disclosed during normal operation, the device uses the measured temperature to retrieve the specific offset value stored during calibration); determining an updated power index based on the preliminary power index and the target offset value (See FIG. 1 and ¶[0044], [0078], [0038], [0075]-[0078]. Disclosed the device uses the offset value and temperature to generate control signals that adjust the gain (index) of the power amplifier to compensate for the offset.); obtaining a transmit power relationship as a function of power index (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0039]. Disclosed characterizes and stores the relationship between output power and radio frequency gain index); determining a target transmit power level of the device according to the updated power index and the transmit power relationship(See FIG. 12 and ¶[0044], [0039], [0010]. Disclosed the device uses the known relationship (FIG. 2) and updated control settings (index/power) to ensure the transmitted power meets the target level.); and transmitting data at the target transmit power level (See FIG. 11B and ¶[0041], [0074]-[0075]. Disclosed where data is transmitted using the compensated power settings.). With regarding Claim 12, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 12 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 13, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 13 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 14, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 14 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 18, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 18 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 8, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 19, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 9, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh et al. (US 20130288610 A1) in view of Carter et al. (US 20050288052 A1).
With regarding Claim 5, Toh disclosed the method of claim 2, Toh may not explicitly disclose wherein the device is a first device, and the offset relationship is generated by a second device, the first device and the second device having a same model. However, in analogous art, Carter disclose wherein the device is a first device, and the offset relationship is generated by a second device, the first device and the second device having a same model (See FIG. 3, 7 and ¶[0048], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0051]. Disclosed 1st and 2nd temperature based biasing circuits and this devices and its relationship. The controller 108 performs an ambient temperature determination algorithm 120 to determine an ambient temperature of the transmit section.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Carter to modify Toh. Toh teaches calibration using test. The calibration data is used for test. And Carter teaches real time compensation with a signal device, circuit 102 and 104 are having same model. This combination yields 1st and 2nd device having same model.
With regarding Claim 6, Toh disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein the power calibration is performed when the device is powered on and the temperature of the device is measured when the device is in operation (See FIG. 5, 9 and ¶[0038]-[0039], [0048]-[0049], [0056]. Disclosed calibration routine triggered by a power-on event.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Carter to modify Toh. Toh teaches the method of temperature-based power calibration and adjustment using offset values, during the operation the electronic device may adjust the wireless communications circuitry as detected by temperature sensing circuit and monitoring internal temperature of device. Carter teaches real-time compensation during operation and used to compensate transmit power. This combination ensure the calibration is performed when device is in operation. With regarding Claim 15, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 15 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 16, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 16 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
12. Claim 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh et al. (US 20130288610 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20180270765 A1).
With regarding Claim 7, Toh disclosed he method of claim 1, Toh may not explicitly disclosed wherein the transmit power relationship incorporates at least part of a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index table of the device. However, in analogous art, Wang disclose wherein the transmit power relationship incorporates at least part of a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index table of the device (See FIG. 1, 18, Table -2 and ¶[0009], [0150], [0173]. Disclosed Table 2 explicitly lists a table where Modulation and coding scheme type, confirms this is a transmit power relationship table). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang to modify Toh. Toh teaches provides the temperature compensation framework (FIG. 7). Wang teaches the specific structure of incorporating MCS indices into a transmit power relationship table. This combination allows for temperature compensated power control that also adapts to the specific MCS being used, ensuring optimal power amplifier performance across all transmission modes. With regarding Claim 17, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 17 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 7, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468