DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barnes (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0020038).
Regarding claim 1, Barnes discloses a window shade (roller blind, disclosed in at least paragraph 0005) comprising:
a shade assembly including a roller (19) and a shade structure (blind fabric disclosed in paragraph 0018) connected to each other, the shade assembly having a first end (at 6) and a second end (at 4) opposite to each other, the first end being coupled to a first bracket (10), the second end having a coupler (coupler defined by bush 12 and idle end pin 18), the roller being pivotally connected to the first bracket (via rotatable body 22);
a roller lock (24) provided on the first bracket [FIG. 2], wherein the roller lock is movable between a locking position where the roller lock rotationally locks the roller to prevent rotation of the roller relative to the first bracket (locking position shown in Figure 2, in which the lock 24 engages the recess 26 of the rotatable body 22), and an unlocking position where the roller lock rotationally unlocks the roller for rotation of the roller relative to the first bracket (unlocking position shown in Figure 3, in which the lock 24 is retracted such that the distal end at 44 is separated from the recess 26); and
a connector (mount 30 shown in Figure 2) and a second bracket (opposing mounting bracket provided for the idle end pin 18, disclosed in at least paragraph 0061) attachable to a support surface of a building, wherein the first bracket and the coupler are respectively connected to the connector and the second bracket when the shade assembly is mounted to the support surface of the building (the structure of the mounting bracket 30 is inherently capable of being attached to a support surface of a building; paragraphs 0026 and 0061 disclose securing the roller blind assembly between a pair of said mounting brackets).
Regarding claim 2, Barnes discloses that the roller lock is slidably connected to the first bracket (paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 3, Barnes discloses that the roller lock is movable relative to the first bracket to engage with and disengage from the roller, or a part that is rotationally coupled to the roller (the roller lock 24 engages with rotatable body 22, which is connected to the drive bush 50 that is rotationally coupled to the roller 19 as disclosed in paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 4, Barnes discloses that the roller is pivotally connected to the first bracket via a second coupler (22, 50) that is fitted at least partially into one end of the roller [FIG. 1], and the roller lock engages with the second coupler in the locking position and disengages from the second coupler in the unlocking position (paragraph 0051) [FIGS. 2, 3].
Regarding claim 5, Barnes discloses that the second coupler has a circumference provided with a plurality of lock openings (26) angularly spaced-apart from one another (paragraph 0057) [FIG. 2], and the roller lock engages with any of the lock openings in the locking position (paragraphs 0057-0060).
Regarding claim 9, Barnes discloses that the roller lock has an actuating part (48) for facilitating manual operation by a user, the actuating part protruding from a side of the roller lock and being exposed at a front of the shade assembly [FIGS. 2, 3] (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 10, Barnes discloses that the connector and the second bracket are attachable to the support surface of the building separate from the shade assembly, the first bracket is operable to engage with and disengage from the connector, and the coupler is operable to connect to and detach from the second bracket (the mounting bracket structure 30 is shown in Figure 2; paragraphs 0026 and 0061 disclose mounting of the shade assembly between two of said mounting brackets, which are inherently capable of being attached to the support surface and engaging and disengaging from the first bracket 10 and the coupler 12/18).
Regarding claim 26, Barnes discloses a torsion spring assembly (8) disposed inside the roller, the torsion spring assembly being adapted to apply a torque that tends to rotate the roller for winding the shade structure (paragraphs 0059-0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0020038) in view of Watanabe (U.S. Patent No. 9,452,663).
Regarding claims 6-8, Barnes discloses the roller lock, but does not disclose first and second stop mechanisms for holding the roller lock in the unlocking and locking positions.
Nonetheless, Watanabe discloses a roller lock (1c) for a window shade (1) including a first stop mechanism (10j) for holding the roller lock in an unlocking position (P2, shown in Figure 9B), and a second stop mechanism (10i) for holding the roller lock in the locking position (P1, shown in Figure 9A); wherein the first stop mechanism includes at least one detent protrusion fixedly connected to a first bracket (detent protrusion formed by locking groove 10j and the corresponding flange 10g in the first bracket 10, shown in at least Figure 9B), and at least one catching portion (9g) coupled to the roller lock, the catching portion engaging with the detent protrusion for holding the roller lock in the unlocking position (column 11, lines 31-33); and at least one second detent protrusion (detent protrusion formed by the projection 9g and corresponding groove engaging the flange 10g) provided on the roller lock, the second detent protrusion for holding the roller lock in the locking position (column 11, lines 23-45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller lock of Barnes to include first and second stop mechanisms as taught by Watanabe, in order to provide positive retention of the roller lock in both the locking and unlocking positions, so as to ensure that the shade is reliably locked when it is being removed, installed, or shipped, and to ensure that is reliably held in the unlocked position after installation, so as to prevent accidental unwinding of the shade before installation and to prevent jamming or damage to the lock mechanism after installation.
Claims 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0020038) in view of Blair (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0363822).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Barnes discloses the second bracket and the coupler, but does not explicitly disclose that they are configured to allow engagement and disengagement between the first bracket and the coupler while remaining connected.
Nonetheless, Blair discloses a window shade having a second bracket (1330) and a coupler (idler end shaft 1314) configured to allow a movement of the shade assembly for engaging and disengaging a first bracket (1120) with respect to a connector (1110) while the coupler and the second bracket remain connected to each other [FIGS. 1A-1B]; wherein while the coupler at the second end of the assembly remains connected to the second bracket, the first bracket and the shade assembly are horizontally movable in unison to engage the first bracket with the connector or disengage the first bracket from the connector (as shown in Figures 20A-22A, the first bracket 1120 is movable in a horizontal direction R to engage with or disengage from the connector 1110; Figures 1A-1B illustrate this movement while the coupler and second bracket remain connected; this movement is further disclosed in at least paragraphs 0080 and 0214).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the window shade of Barnes to have the first/second bracket, coupler, and connector configuration taught by Blair enabling engagement and disengagement of the first bracket and connector while the coupler and second bracket remain connected, in order to enable easier and more consistent installation of the shade assembly, and to allow for partial disengagement for access to the operating components of the shade for maintenance or adjustment.
Regarding claim 13, Barnes discloses that the connector and the second bracket are respectively attachable to a support surface of a building at two locations spaced apart from each other along a width axis corresponding to a width dimension of the shade assembly, but does not disclose that the shade assembly is movable along the width axis and transversally relative to the width axis.
Nonetheless, Blair discloses a shade assembly being movable along the width axis to connect the coupler at the second end of the shade assembly to the second bracket (the shade assembly is movable axially along width axis L to engage the idler end with the second bracket 130b), and the shade assembly being movable transversally relative to the width axis to engage the first bracket at the first end of the shade assembly with the connector while the coupler remains connected to the second bracket (the transverse movement along axis R is shown in Figures 20A-22A and disclosed in paragraph 0080).
As described with respect to claim 11 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shade assembly of Barnes to have the bracket, coupler, and connector configuration taught by Blair, in order to enable easier and more consistent installation of the assembly and to allow for partial disengagement for maintenance or adjustment.
Regarding claim 14, Barnes discloses the coupler and the second bracket, but does not disclose a truncated conical shape.
Nonetheless, Blair discloses a coupler (1314) having a truncated conical shape [FIGS. 27A, 27C] positionable to contact the second bracket for connecting the coupler to the second bracket (paragraphs 0213-0217).
As described with respect to claim 11 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shade assembly of Barnes to have the bracket, coupler, and connector configuration taught by Blair, in order to enable easier and more consistent installation of the assembly and to allow for partial disengagement for maintenance or adjustment.
Regarding claims 15-17, Barnes discloses the second bracket and the coupler, but does not disclose a coupler mount portion, an attaching portion, or a resilient part.
Nonetheless, Blair discloses a second bracket having a coupler mount portion (1332) and an attaching portion (1331) protruding sideways from the coupler mount portion, the coupler (1314) at the second end of the shade assembly being connectable to the coupler mount portion [FIG. 27C], and the attaching portion being attachable to a support surface of a building via one or more fastener (paragraph 0212); wherein one of the coupler and the coupler mount portion includes a socket (1334), and the other one of the coupler and the coupler mount portion includes a shaft portion (1316) insertable into the socket for connecting the coupler to the second bracket [FIG. 27C]; wherein the shaft portion includes a resilient part (1325) movable to engage with and disengage from the socket (paragraph 0217), an engagement of the resilient part with the socket allowing a movement of the shade assembly for engaging and disengaging the first bracket with respect to the connector (paragraphs 0217 and 0221 disclose resilient deformation of the resilient part 1325 during movement of the shade to the pivoted position shown in Figure 1B).
As described with respect to claim 11 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shade assembly of Barnes to have the bracket, coupler, and connector configuration taught by Blair, in order to enable easier and more consistent installation of the assembly and to allow for partial disengagement for maintenance or adjustment.
Regarding claims 18-24, Barnes discloses the first bracket and the connector, but does not explicitly disclose a shade holding portion and bracket mount portion.
Nonetheless, Blair discloses a first bracket having a shade holding portion (1130) and a bracket mount portion (1122) protruding sideways from the shade holding portion [FIG. 21B], the shade holding portion being coupled to the first end of the shade assembly (paragraph 0176), and the bracket mount portion being operable to engage with and disengaged from the connector [FIGS. 20A-22A]; wherein one of the connector and the bracket mount portion includes a slot (1122 defines a slot), and the other of the connector and the bracket mount portion includes an insert (1140) slidable into and out of the slot; wherein the first bracket at the first end of the shade assembly is movable relative to the connector along a first axis (axis R shown in Figures 20A-22A) to slide the insert into the slot, an engagement of the insert through the slot being adapted to prevent detachment of the first bracket from the connector along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (the interlocking engagement of the channel at 1122 and the insert 1140 prevents detachment at least along orthogonal axis T); further including a latch (1165, 1160) to prevent a movement of the first bracket that slides the insert out of the slot (paragraph 0182); wherein the latch is coupled to one of the first bracket and the connector [FIGS. 21A, 21B], the latch being movable to engage with the other one of the first bracket and the connector to prevent a movement of the first bracket that slides the insert out of the slot (paragraph 0182); wherein the insert is introduced into the slot from a first end of the slot (insertion shown generally in Figures 22A and 21A), and is slidable along the slot until the insert contacts a stop (1166) inside the slot and the latch protrudes outward at a second end of the slot opposite to the first end thereof [FIG. 21B]; wherein the insert has a tapered shape (tapered shape of the insert 1140 shown in at least Figure 22A).
As described with respect to claim 11 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shade assembly of Barnes to have the bracket, coupler, and connector configuration taught by Blair, in order to enable easier and more consistent installation of the assembly and to allow for partial disengagement for maintenance or adjustment.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0020038) in view of Allsopp (U.S. Patent No. 7,677,293).
Regarding claim 25, Barnes discloses the coupler and the second bracket, but does not disclose an anchor element, spring, and rotary element.
Nonetheless, Allsopp discloses a window shade having a coupler (5), wherein the coupler includes an anchor element (35) attachable to a second bracket (column 6, lines 31-40); a spring (65) disposed around the anchor element [FIG. 5a]; and a rotary element (75) rotationally coupled to the roller (column 7, lines 47-63) and disposed around the anchor element and the spring [FIG. 5a].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupler of Barnes to include the anchor element, spring, and rotary element taught by Allsopp, in order to provide a frictional resistance against rotation of the coupler relative to the bracket until installation and assembly is complete, so as to ensure accurate alignment and maintenance of the spring tension.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634