DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3138893 A1.
EP ’893 teaches:
Fatty acid ester compositions formed by esterifying alcohols or polyols with C4–C12 carboxylic acids, including n-nonanoic acid, using standard esterification conditions (EP ’893, ¶¶ 0004–0012; Example 1).
Fatty acid esters exhibiting excellent low-temperature properties, including pour points between −50 °C and −62 °C (EP ’893, ¶¶ 0017–0038; Table 3).
Ester compositions formulated for low crystallization onset, cold-flow performance, fuel and dielectric performance, and safe flash/fire handling properties (EP ’893, ¶¶ 0002–0038; Table 3).
Thus, EP ’893 teaches all structural and processing limitations of claims 1 and 10 except one limitation: A numerical cloud-point range of −35 °C to −70 °C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process EP’893 by producing a ester having a cloud-point range of −35 °C to −70 °C because it was well known in the biodiesel, jet fuel, and bio-kerosene art that:
Low-temperature fuel quality is routinely characterized by cloud point, pour point, cold-filter plugging point, and crystallization onset.
Cloud point is routinely determined using ASTM D2500.
Whenever esters exhibit exceptionally low pour-point behavior (e.g., < −50 °C), practitioners routinely measure cloud point to assess suitability for winter diesel, aviation fuel, or cold-flow service.
A skilled artisan, having EP ’893’s esters with extremely low pour points (−50 °C to −62 °C) and expressly motivated to improve crystallization resistance and low-temperature operability, would have been explicitly motivated to measure cloud point using standard ASTM fuel testing, and any such experimental cloud-point result would predictably fall within the claimed −35 °C to −70 °C range, since cloud point is earlier in the same crystallization envelope as pour point, and therefore must fall above, but near, the extremely low pour point already disclosed by EP ’893. Determining cloud point is merely routine optimization and empirical characterization, not inventive ingenuity, consistent with KSR Int’l v. Teleflex.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, EP ’893 teaches esters with flash/fire points far above 90 °C, including Cleveland open-cup fire points ≥ 280 °C and PMCC flash values above 200 °C (Table 3), rendering the claimed ≥ 90 °C inherently predictable and obvious for fatty acid esters used in fuel-type or dielectric service.
Regarding claims 3–4, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of EP EP’893 by utilizing ozonolysis of oleic acid to nonanoic acid because it has been widely known and routinely used in biodiesel, lubricant, feedstock, and industrial fatty acid chemistry for decades. Using oxidation or ozonolysis to source nonanoic acid is a routine precursor-generation method, not a non-obvious feature.
Regarding Claim 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of EP’893 by utilizing Bio-alcohols from syngas fermentation or Fischer–Tropsch because such sources were well-established renewable fuel pathways at the time. Selecting renewable alcohol origin (syngas vs fermentation vs conventional sourcing) is merely a supply-chain choice, not a structural limitation of the ester molecule.
Regarding claims 6–9 and 11–12, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of EP’893 by utilizing an alcohol as claimed because EP ’893 already teaches esterification using linear, branched, or mixed C4–C12 acids and polyol alcohols, and the fuel art was well aware that branched alcohols and chain-length variation predictably modulate cold-flow behavior. Selecting n-alcohols vs iso-alcohols in the C1–C12 or C1–6 range constitutes routine structural tuning, motivated by predictable cold-flow optimization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Biofuel limitation. Applicant argues EP ’893 does not disclose a “biofuel.” However, the claims recite only esterification of nonanoic acid with alcohol(s) to form a fatty acid ester. EP ’893 teaches the same esterification chemistry forming fatty acid esters including nonanoate-containing esters . The recitation “biofuel” is an intended use and does not structurally distinguish the claimed method or product. Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
Cloud point / result-effective variable. Applicant argues cloud point is not disclosed and cannot be optimized. The rejection does not rely on express disclosure of cloud point. EP ’893 teaches fatty acid esters with extremely low-temperature crystallization behavior (pour point −50 °C to −62 °C) . A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to measure and optimize cloud point, a standard ASTM low-temperature property, for such esters as part of routine characterization of crystallization behavior. No evidence of criticality or unexpected results has been provided for the claimed cloud-point range. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Non-analogous art. Applicant argues EP ’893 is directed to dielectric fluids and is non-analogous. However, both EP ’893 and the claimed invention concern fatty acid ester compositions exhibiting low-temperature operability (crystallization behavior). Therefore, EP ’893 is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed and constitutes analogous art. This argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771