DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 6/16/26. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Echigo et al. (US 2024/0259880) in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0207878).
Regarding claim 1, Echigo teaches a communication method, comprising:
receiving first information, wherein the first information indicates a layer quantity of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see “The UE may be notified of the SRI, the TRI, the TPMI, and the like by using downlink control information (DCI)” [par 41] and “The TRI and the TPMI may be specified by precoding information and number of layers field ("Precoding information and number of layers" field) of the DCI” [par 43] which suggests the UE receives a DCI which includes “a layer quantity of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”) and wherein the layer quantity of the PUSCH is not less than 2 (see “layer 1” and “layer 2” [Fig. 9, 10A, 10B; par 153]);
determining a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table based on the layer quantity of the PUSCH (see “The UE may determine an MCS table to refer, based on the number of layers of a PUSCH to transmit” [par 189] and “…a plurality of MCS tables indicating MCSs of respective separate layers may be referred [par 188]); and
sending the PUSCH based on the first MCS table (see “In the second embodiment, the UE may apply a different MCS for each layer and transmit a PUSCH” [par 152]).
Echigo does not explicitly teach receiving an indication of a maximum modulation order; wherein determining the first MCS table comprises selecting the first MCS table from a plurality of MCS tables based on the maximum modulation order. In an analogous prior art reference, Chen teaches receiving an indication of a maximum modulation order (see “In some cases, the UE may receive an explicit indication as to the maximum modulation order and/or the selected modulation scheme from the transmitting wireless device” [par 99]; wherein determining the first MCS table comprises selecting the first MCS table from a plurality of MCS tables (MCS tables) based on the maximum modulation order (see “In some aspects, eNB 610 and/or UE 650 may determine one or more modulation schemes (e.g., MCS) to use for transmission/reception of data channel( s) based on at least three MCS tables, where each MCS table is associated with a different maximum modulation order. In one example, UE 650 can determine a first modulation scheme from one of the MCS tables associated with a first maximum modulation order (e.g., 64 QAM, 256 QAM, or 1024 QAM) to use for monitoring for data channel(s) transmitted by the eNB 610 during a first subset of subframes, and determine a second modulation scheme from another one of the MCS tables associated with a second maximum modulation order to use for monitoring for data channel(s) transmitted by the eNB 610 during a second subset of subframes” [par 71]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Echigo to allow receiving an indication of a maximum modulation order; wherein determining the first MCS table comprises selecting the first MCS table from a plurality of MCS tables based on the maximum modulation order, as taught by Chen, in order to allow the UE and/or BS to determine a modulation order for the transmission of a control channel(s) at or below a determined maximum modulation order.
Regarding claim 2, Echigo teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first MCS table comprises:
an MCS whose modulation order is 6 and whose target coding rate x 1024 is 455; or
an MCS whose modulation order is 6 and whose target coding rate x 1024 is 477 (see “Modulation Order” and “Target code Rate R x [1024]” for layer 0 and layer 1 in Figure 12 which may be specified with different target coding rates as known in the art).
Regarding claim 3, Echigo teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a maximum modulation order in the first MCS table is 10 and wherein the first MCS table does not comprise an MCS whose modulation order is 8 and whose target coding rate x 1024 is 948 (see “Modulation Order” and “Target code Rate R x [1024]” for layer 0 and layer 1 in Figure 12 which may be specified with different modulation orders and target coding rates as known in the art).
Regarding claim 4, Echigo teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a first MCS index and a first parameter (MCS parameter) (see “In the present example, an MCS parameter for layer 0 and an MCS parameter for layer 1 are associated with each MCS index” [par 187]);
determining a modulation order of the PUSCH based on the first parameter (see “the UE may determine a modulation order (Qmsub1) and a target code rate (Rsubi) for layer 1, based on the MCS index for layer 1 (for example, given by the first MCS field)…” [par 201]); and
determining, as a target coding rate of the PUSCH, a target coding rate corresponding to the first MCS index in the first MCS table (see “Target code Rate R x [1024]” for layer 0 and layer 1 in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 5, Echigo teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a first MCS index and a scale factor (MCS offset);
obtaining a modulation order of the PUSCH based on the scale factor or a target coding rate of the PUSCH based on the scale factor (see “the UE may determine a modulation order (Qmsub1) and a target code rate (Rsub i) for layer 1, based on the MCS index for layer 1 (for example, given by the first MCS field) and may determine a modulation order (Qmsub2) and a target code rate (R2) for layer 2, based on the MCS index for layer 2 (which may be given by the second MCS field or by the first MCS field and the MCS offset field, for example)” [par 201]); and
obtaining a modulation order corresponding to the first MCS index in the first MCS table or a target coding rate corresponding to the first MCS index in the first MCS table (see “the UE may determine a modulation order (Qmsub1) and a target code rate (Rsub i) for layer 1, based on the MCS index for layer 1 (for example, given by the first MCS field) and may determine a modulation order (Qmsub2) and a target code rate (R2) for layer 2, based on the MCS index for layer 2 (which may be given by the second MCS field or by the first MCS field and the MCS offset field, for example)” [par 201]).
Claims 6 and 16 recite subject matter similar to claim 1, but from the perspective of the network and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 7, 12, and 17 recite subject matter similar to claim 2, and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 8, 13, and 18 recite subject matter similar to claim 3, and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 9, 14, and 19 recite subject matter similar to claim 4, and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 10, 15, and 20 recite subject matter similar to claim 5, and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 11 recites subject matter similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM T HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647