DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s election with traverse of the restriction in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged. The restriction has been withdrawn. All claims are examined on the merit.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 10-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6 and 5 of U.S. application No. 18/802,693, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they can be interpreted to describe substantially identical or very similar method step(s) with essentially the same relationships. Regarding claims 10-13 of instant application, see comparison with claims 1, 3 and 6 of U.S. application number 18/802,693, respectively. Differences between the respective claims are underlined.
Instant application 18/613,996
U.S. application No. 18/802,693
Claim 10. A motor control method of controlling, by a controller using an inverter,
a six (6)-phase motor with a first type 3 phase coil and a second type 3-phase coil wound with a fewer number of turns than a number of turns of the first type 3-phase coil, the method comprising:
controlling output torques of a first partial motor and a second partial motor to be equal in a region where a required output of the 6-phase motor is less than or equal to a reference output, wherein the first partial motor includes the first type 3-phase coil and the second partial motor includes the second type 3-phase coil; and
controlling the output torques of the first partial motor and the second partial motor to be different from each other in a region where the required output of the 6-phase motor exceeds the reference output.
Claim 11. The motor control method of claim 10, wherein the reference output is set to an output corresponding to twice a maximum output of the first partial motor.
Claim 12. The motor control method of claim 11,
wherein a driving region for driving only the second partial motor is set to be higher than a driving region for driving only the first partial motor.
Claim 13. The motor control method of claim 11, further comprising:
in a rotation speed region where a rotation speed of the 6-phase motor is less than or equal to a base rotation speed of the first partial motor, controlling phase angles of the first partial motor and the second partial motor to be equal; and
in a rotation speed region where the rotation speed of the 6-phase motor exceeds the base rotation speed of the first partial motor, controlling the phase angles of the first partial motor and the second partial motor to be different from each other.
Claim 1. A motor control controlling a six-phase motor, the method comprising:
controlling a maximum current applied to a first part motor to be equal to a maximum current applied to a second part motor, wherein the first part motor includes first type three-phase coils, and the second part motor includes second type three-phase coils having a smaller number of series turns per phase than the first type three-phase coils;
equally controlling output torque of the first part motor including the first type three-phase coils and output torque of the second part motor including the second type three-phase coils in a region, in which required torque of the six-phase motor is equal to or lower than predetermined reference torque; and
differently controlling the output torque of the first part motor and the output torque of the second part motor in a region, in which the required torque of the six-phase motor is higher than the reference torque.
Claim 3. The motor control method of claim 2, further comprising:
setting the reference torque to twice maximum torque of the second part motor.
Claim 6. The motor control method of claim 1, further comprising:
setting an operation region, in which only the second pard motor is operated, to a rotational speed region higher than an operation region, which only the first part motor is operated.
Claim 4. The motor control method of claim 1, further comprising:
equally controlling a phase angle of the first part motor and a phase angle of the second part motor in a rotational speed region equal to or lower than a predetermined reference rotational speed; and
differently controlling the phase angle of the first part motor and the phase angle of the second part motor in a rotational speed region higher than the reference rotational speed.
Claim 5. The motor control method of claim 4, further comprising: setting the reference rotational speed to a base rotational speed of the first part motor
Note: some claims of instant application are not exactly limitation as U.S. application number 18/802,693. However, they are the same functions. Therefore, these limitations are obvious by system of U.S. application number 18/802,693.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou et al. (hereinafter Itou, US 2019/0016378 A1) in view of Kinjo et al. (hereinafter Kinjo, US 2020/0373801 A1).
For claim 10, Itou discloses a motor control method of controlling, by a controller using an inverter, a six (6)-phase motor with a first type 3-phase coil and a second type 3-phase coil wound with a fewer number of turns than a number of turns of the first type 3-phase coil (Figs. 1-2 of Itou disclose a motor control method of controlling, by a controller 15 using an inverter (31, 37), a six-phase motor with a first type 3-phase coil 32 and a second type 3-phase coil 38 wound with a fewer number of turns than a number of turns of the first type 3-phase coil – see Itou, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0039] and [0042]. It is noted that Itou discloses a brushless motor (first set of windings A32 and second set of winding B38) which is silent for disclosing a six-phase motor, specifically. However, Itou discloses an electric device 2 composed of a plurality of electric motor windings (A32 and B38 – see Itou, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0001], [0010] and [0042]) which obviously comprises two set of 3-phase coil (A32, B38). For supporting, Figs. 1 and 4 of Kinjo disclose a six-phase motor 10 comprising two set of 3-phase coil 33a, 33b -- see Kinjo, Figs. 1 and 4, paragraphs [0055] and [0065]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Itou’s motor to include two set of windings as teaching of Kinjo purpose of reducing torque ripple and allowing high-power applications), the method comprising:
controlling output torques of a first partial motor and a second partial motor to be equal in a region where a required output of the 6-phase motor is less than or equal to a reference output, wherein the first partial motor includes the first type 3-phase coil and the second partial motor includes the second type 3-phase coil (see Itou, Fig. 4, steps S14 and S15), paragraph [0051]); and
controlling the output torques of the first partial motor 10 15 and the second partial motor to be different from each other in a region where the required output of the 6-phase motor exceeds the reference output (see Itou, Fig. 4, step S14 and S18, paragraph [0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are allowed.
Claims 11-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
July 16, 2026