DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a Final Office Action. In response to Examiner's communication of December 12, 2025, Applicant, on March 6, 2026, amended claims 1 & 9-12, canceled claims 8, 19, & 20, and added claims 21-23. Claims 1-7, 9-18, & 21-23 are now pending in this application and have been rejected below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112, second paragraph, rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are updated and maintained below.
Applicant's amendments are not sufficient to overcome the prior art rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are updated and maintained below.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 21, and similarly claim 1, is not a method claim reciting abstract mental steps, but a system claim reciting a specific combination of tangible hardware components configured to solve a technical problem because the claims recite “a monitoring device arranged to be operatively associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset, the monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset so as to be arranged to measure electrical characteristic values ... , and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate the electrical characteristic values to the computer server periodically over time,” a "monitoring device," an "electrical sensor," and a "controller'' are all physical, tangible components, the claim requires a specific physical and functional arrangement: the sensor is "operatively associated" with a physical "cyclically operated asset" to "measure electrical characteristic values" and the controller communicates these specific measurements, the claim is directed to the tangible apparatus itself which takes specific measurements of another tangible apparatus - the cyclically operated asset, and therefore, because the is directed to a physical machine and does not recite a judicial exception, the claim is patent eligible. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Pursuant to 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, in order to determine whether a claim is directed to an abstract idea, under Step 2A, we first (1) determine whether the claims recite limitations, individually or in combination, that fall within the enumerated subject matter groupings of abstract ideas (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes), and (2) determine whether any additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and as an ordered combination, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. 84 Fed. Reg. 52, 54-55.
As noted above, under Prong 1 of Step 2A, we determine whether the claims recite limitations, individually or in combination, that fall within the enumerated subject matter groupings of abstract ideas (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes). However, the "monitoring device," an "electrical sensor," and a "controller'' referred to by Applicant regarding Prong 1 of Step 2A are not elements included in the abstract idea identified by Examiner, but rather, the features referred to by Applicant are additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed under Prong 2 of Step 2A and Step 2B.
Under Prong 1 of Step 2A, claim 1, and similarly claim 2-7, 9-18, & 21-23, recites “monitoring a plurality of electrical assets which consume electricity in which at least one of the electrical assets is a cyclically operated asset which operates according to an operating cycle comprising: … communicate the electrical characteristic values … periodically over time; … (i) store the electrical characteristic values … as electrical power values representing electrical power consumed by the electrical asset … comprises (a) a time series of the electrical power values representing the electrical power consumed by the electrical asset over time, and (b) irregular usage criteria indicative of an irregular usage of the electrical assets in which the irregular usage criteria includes at least one duty cycle criterium indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle of the cyclically operated electrical asset; (ii) determine at least one duty cycle characteristic relating to the operating cycle of the cyclically operated asset based on the electrical power values; (iii) compare the at least one duty cycle characteristic to the at least one duty cycle criterium …; and (iv) generate a notification if the at least one duty cycle criterium is met.” Claims 1-7, 9-18, & 21-23, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of monitoring and storing data regarding time series values of electrical values and irregular usage criteria for electrical assets including duty cycle criterium, determining a characteristic of an operating cycle of the assets, comparing the characteristic to the duty cycle criterium, and generating a notification if the duty cycle criterium is met.
A claim recites mental processes when the claim recites concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), wherein if the claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the claim being practically performed in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then the claim is in the mental process category. 84 Fed. Reg. 52 n.14. Here, as a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited monitoring and storing data regarding time series values of electrical values and irregular usage criteria for electrical assets including duty cycle criterium, determining a characteristic of an operating cycle of the assets, comparing the characteristic to the duty cycle criterium, and generating a notification if the duty cycle criterium is met could all be reasonably interpreted as a human making observations of data regarding time series data of electrical values and usage criteria including duty cycle criterium, a human memorizing the data in their mind and/or recording the data with pen and paper, a human observing information regarding operations of the asset to determine a characteristic of an operating cycle, a human performing an evaluation and using judgement to compare the characteristic and the duty cycle criterium, and a human outputting the results of the evaluation and judgment with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite mental processes.
Furthermore, these elements, including those referred to by Applicant are similar to collecting of measurements collected in real time from a power grid, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, which is a mental process that was held to be abstract by the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., et al., No. 2015-1778 (Fed Cir. Aug. 1, 2016).
Accordingly, since the claims recite mental processes, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
Applicant argues that claim 21, and similarly claim 1, as a whole integrates that idea into a practical application, such that the claim is not "directed to" the exception because the claim is not merely an instruction to apply an idea using generic components; it is a claim to a specific technological implementation that provides a concrete improvement, the recited "monitoring device" with its "electrical sensor" and "controller" is integral to the claimed invention, the claim is limited to monitoring a "cyclically operated asset" and uses the specific data from the physical sensor to "determine at least one duty cycle characteristic, this is a specific, technical process that cannot be performed mentally and is fundamentally tied to the physical world-measuring real electrical consumption from a real, physical machine, the physical device is not a mere data gathering front-end for an abstract calculation, the claim ties the processing steps to a specific physical measurement from a particular type of physical device, which is itself part of the claimed system, this transforms any abstract data processing into a practical, applied technology for the proactive maintenance of physical equipment, solving the technical problem of "detecting early asset degradation," and the claim integrates that idea into a practical application by tying it to the specific function of these physical components to achieve a concrete technical improvement. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Simply implementing an abstract idea with generic computer components (e.g., the recited “[a] monitoring system …, the system comprising: a computer server; a plurality of monitoring devices arranged to be associated with the electrical assets respectively, each monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the respective electrical asset so as to be arranged to measure an electrical characteristic value related to electrical consumption by the electrical asset, and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate … to the computer server,” “the computer server including a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions whereby the computer server is arranged to: (i) store … from the monitoring devices … in a database comprising a database record,” “each database record,” and “stored on the computer server”) does not make the claims directed to an improvement in computers or other technology. “[A]n improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g., a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology.” MPEP 2106.05(a). Mere automation of manual processes is not an improvement to computer technology. Id.
Moreover, as in the claims at issue in Electric Power Group, the present claims are not focused on a specific improvement in computers or any other technology, but instead on certain independently abstract ideas that simply invokes computers as tools to implement the abstract idea. Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., et al., No. 2015-1778, slip op. at 8 (Fed. Cir. Aug. 1, 2016); MPEP 2106.05(a).
Under Prong 2 of Step 2A, the only additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea include the recitations of “[a] monitoring system …, the system comprising: a computer server; a plurality of monitoring devices arranged to be associated with the electrical assets respectively, each monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the respective electrical asset so as to be arranged to measure an electrical characteristic value related to electrical consumption by the electrical asset, and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate … to the computer server,” “the computer server including a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions whereby the computer server is arranged to: (i) store … from the monitoring devices … in a database comprising a database record,” “each database record,” and “stored on the computer server” in claim 1, and similarly claim 21; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. In addition, these additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea merely generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment and/or field of use, namely the generic environment of a generic computer implementing generic and off-the-shelf sensors. Furthermore, with respect to the recited monitoring, measuring, communicating, storing, and graphically representing, while parts of these limitations are themselves abstract, when analyzed as additional elements beyond the abstract idea, these elements do not add meaningful limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they also perform data gathering operations, which is insignificant extrasolution activity.
Response to Arguments - Prior Art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bures, et al. (US 20200322703 A1), hereinafter Bures, does not teach the specific concepts central to new claim 21, and similarly claim 1, because Bures does not teach or suggest monitoring an asset based on its operating cycle or determining a duty cycle characteristic since Bures's system compares raw or processed data (e.g., voltage) directly against a generic threshold (e.g., voltage/current limits), but Bures does not teach the specific, intermediate algorithmic step of first analyzing the time-series data to determine a characteristic of the cycle itself, such as the duration of the active portion, the duration of the inactive portion, or the percentage of active time over a total cycle, as is taught in Applicant's Specification at, for example, page 16, lines 10-17, and the thresholds in Bures are not criteria specifically related to the operating cycle of a cyclically operated asset, such as an "active cycle duration threshold," an "inactive cycle duration threshold," or a "duty cycle threshold range," as described in Applicant's Specification at page 5, lines 10-21. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a characteristic of the cycle itself, such as the duration of the active portion, the duration of the inactive portion, or the percentage of active time over a total cycle” and “an ‘active cycle duration threshold,’ an ‘inactive cycle duration threshold,’ or a ‘duty cycle threshold range,’ as described in Applicant's Specification”) are not recited in claim 21 nor claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claims 21 and 1 do require any particular type or form of “duty cycle characteristic,” “operating cycle,” or “duty cycle criterium.” Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Furthermore, contrary to Applicant’s assertions, Bures does not merely disclose simply current and voltage thresholds, but also performing functions that are used to determine whether conditions of interest exist, wherein conditions of interest include whether the electrical device is on or off or a motor is failing, and wherein the functions are performed not only by comparing voltages or currents to voltage or current limits or thresholds, but also using the timestamp to determine the voltage or current values compare unfavorably to a voltage or current threshold for a duration of time of at least a threshold amount of time, at a particular time, at a timestamp, and/or within a time window. [0275]-[0276], [0441]. Here, by determining that electrical device is off or on or failing (i.e., operating cycle) based on timestamps and the amount of time (i.e., duty cycle characteristic) that the current or voltage measurements indicate the current or voltage compares unfavorably to a current or voltage threshold for a threshold amount of time, at a particular time, at a timestamp, and/or within a time window (i.e., comparing duty cycle criterium) Bures anticipates the claimed “duty cycle characteristic,” “operating cycle,” “duty cycle criterium,” and comparing the determined duty cycle characteristic to the duty cycle criterium.
More specifically, Bures discloses the argued limitations as follows:
Bures discloses “the database record associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset comprises at least one duty cycle criterium indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle of the at least one cyclically operated electrical asset” in paragraphs [0202], [0204], measurement entries of the measurement database 542 store a particular measurement value, keyed by a timestamp, wherein the measurement value can include a binary indicator, indicating of whether or not a condition of interest exists, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed, [0199], [0273], [0277], functional database 543 includes a function library with functions performed on measurement data to generate processed measurement values, and contextual database 544 includes one or more conditions of interest and measurement thresholds, [0059], functions include measurement thresholds to compare to raw and/or processed measurement data to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred.
In addition, Bures discloses “(ii) determine at least one duty cycle characteristic relating to the operating cycle of the cyclically operated asset based on the electrical power values associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset” in paragraphs [0391], [0395]-[0396], figs. 12A, 12B, the method receives a plurality of measurement data that indicates a measurement value and timestamp and adds the measurement value and timestamp to each of the plurality of entries, [0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor.
Furthermore, Bures discloses “(iii) compare the at least one duty cycle characteristic to the at least one duty cycle criterium that is indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle” in paragraphs [0391]-[0393], [0395], [0397]-[0398], figs. 12A, 12B, the method generates a custom function output by performing the custom function on the plurality of measurement entries, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 9-18, & 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1, and similarly claims 2-7, 9-18, & 21-23, recites “monitoring a plurality of electrical assets which consume electricity in which at least one of the electrical assets is a cyclically operated asset which operates according to an operating cycle comprising: … communicate the electrical characteristic values … periodically over time; … (i) store the electrical characteristic values … as electrical power values representing electrical power consumed by the electrical asset … comprises (a) a time series of the electrical power values representing the electrical power consumed by the electrical asset over time, and (b) irregular usage criteria indicative of an irregular usage of the electrical assets in which the irregular usage criteria includes at least one duty cycle criterium indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle of the cyclically operated electrical asset; (ii) determine at least one duty cycle characteristic relating to the operating cycle of the cyclically operated asset based on the electrical power values; (iii) compare the at least one duty cycle characteristic to the at least one duty cycle criterium …; and (iv) generate a notification if the at least one duty cycle criterium is met.” Claims 1-7, 9-18, & 21-23, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of monitoring and storing data regarding time series values of electrical values and irregular usage criteria for electrical assets including duty cycle criterium, determining a characteristic of an operating cycle of the assets, comparing the characteristic to the duty cycle criterium, and generating a notification if the duty cycle criterium is met.
As a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited monitoring and storing data regarding time series values of electrical values and irregular usage criteria for electrical assets including duty cycle criterium, determining a characteristic of an operating cycle of the assets, comparing the characteristic to the duty cycle criterium, and generating a notification if the duty cycle criterium is met could all be reasonably interpreted as a human making observations of data regarding time series data of electrical values and usage criteria including duty cycle criterium, a human memorizing the data in their mind and/or recording the data with pen and paper, a human observing information regarding operations of the asset to determine a characteristic of an operating cycle, a human performing an evaluation and using judgement to compare the characteristic and the duty cycle criterium, and a human outputting the results of the evaluation and judgment with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite mental processes. Further, with respect to the dependent claims, aside from the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed below under the second prong of Step 2A and 2B, the limitations of dependent claims 2-7, 9-18, 22, & 23 recite similar further abstract limitations to those discussed above that narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims because, aside from the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions the limitations of claims recite mental processes that can be practically performed mentally by observing, evaluating, and judging information mentally and/or with a pen and paper. Accordingly, since the claims recite mental processes, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of “[a] monitoring system …, the system comprising: a computer server; a plurality of monitoring devices arranged to be associated with the electrical assets respectively, each monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the respective electrical asset so as to be arranged to measure an electrical characteristic value related to electrical consumption by the electrical asset, and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate … to the computer server,” “the computer server including a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions whereby the computer server is arranged to: (i) store … from the monitoring devices … in a database comprising a database record,” “each database record,” and “stored on the computer server” in claim 1, “the electrical sensor of the monitoring devices is a current sensor” in claim 2, “for at least one selected database record” in claim 13 and 14, and similarly claims 15-17, “[a] monitoring system …, the system comprising: a computer server; a monitoring device arranged to be operatively associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset, the monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset so as to be arranged to measure electrical characteristic values related to electrical consumption by the at least one cyclically operated asset, and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate the electrical characteristic values to the computer server,” “the computer server including a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions whereby the computer server is arranged to: (i) store… from the monitoring device … in a database comprising a database record,” and “the database record” in claim 21; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. In addition, these additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea merely generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment and/or field of use, namely the generic environment of a generic computer implementing generic and off-the-shelf sensors. Furthermore, with respect to the recited monitoring, measuring, communicating, storing, and graphically representing, while parts of these limitations are themselves abstract, when analyzed as additional elements beyond the abstract idea, these elements do not add meaningful limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they also perform data gathering operations, which is insignificant extrasolution activity. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-7, 9-18, 22, & 23 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, as an order combination, are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it), and further, generally link the abstract idea to a field of use, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. In addition, with respect to the recited monitoring, measuring, communicating, storing, and graphically representing, while parts of these limitations are themselves abstract, when analyzed as additional elements beyond the abstract idea, these elements do not add meaningful limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they also perform data gathering operations, which is insignificant extrasolution activity. Furthermore, these recitations as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Applicant’s Specification at [0059]-[0060] (describing sensors of each monitoring device measure values such as current, voltage, and/or power, the controller includes a processor and programming instructions stored on a memory for execution, and the computer server includes a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions), wherein the components are described which such a high level of generality such that the Specification only supports well-understood, routine, and conventional embodiments. Additionally, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, electronic record keeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, and presenting offers, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-7, 9-18, 22, & 23 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-7, 9-18, & 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 18, & 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bures, et al. (US 20200322703 A1), hereinafter Bures.
Regarding claim 1, Bures discloses a monitoring system for monitoring a plurality of electrical assets which consume electricity in which at least one of the electrical assets is a cyclically operated asset which operates according to an operating cycle ([0441], a detection function can include comparing measurements to thresholds, e.g., if a particular proper subset of measures, which can include voltage and current, compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds, which include voltage and current thresholds, at a timestamp or within a time window), the system comprising ([0016], [0432]):
a computer server ([0016], the monitoring system 100 can a monitoring data analysis system 140, [0432], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility that includes at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail);
a plurality of monitoring devices ([0016], he monitoring system 100 can include a plurality of multi-sensor units 120) arranged to be associated with the electrical assets respectively ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail utilizing voltage and current measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of a multi-sensor unit, [0452], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility that includes equipment powered by electricity, where the equipment stops functioning due to loss of power, and loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors), each monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the respective electrical asset so as to be arranged to measure an electrical characteristic value related to electrical consumption by the electrical asset ([0019], multi-sensor units 120 can each include a set of various sensors that can generate measurement data, including a set of electrical measurements, [0146], sensor devices can include one or more electrical sensors including voltage sensors and/or current sensors that utilize current, [0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility that includes at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail utilizing voltage and current measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of a multi-sensor unit), and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate the electrical characteristic values to the computer server ([0024], [0033], the multi-sensor unit 120 includes a transceiver 220 utilized to facilitate communication between a multi-sensor unit 120 and the gateway device 130, [0019]-[0020], gateway device 130 can receive measurement data 1-N transmitted by one of a set of multi-sensor units 120, and the gateway device 130 can forward the measurement data 1-N received from the plurality of multi-sensor units 120 to the monitoring data analysis system 140) periodically over time ([0019], measurement data can be repeatedly collected over time, and can be sent to the gateway device);
the computer server including a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions whereby the computer server is arranged to ([0193], the monitoring data analysis system 140 can include a memory module 510 can store operational data 512 that, when executed by processing module 540, causes the processing module to perform operations corresponding to the functionality of the monitoring data analysis system 140 discussed herein.): (i) store the electrical characteristic values from the monitoring devices as electrical power values representing electrical power consumed by the electrical asset in a database comprising a database record associated with each monitoring device, in which each database record comprises (a) a time series of the electrical power values ([0193], [0199], monitoring data analysis system 140 includes database system 541 including a plurality of databases storing various data, including measurement database 542 that stores time-series measurement values for each sensor device of each multi-sensor unit) representing the electrical power consumed by the electrical asset over time ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor), and (b) irregular usage criteria indicative of an irregular usage of the electrical assets in which the irregular usage criteria includes at least one duty cycle criterium indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle of the cyclically operated electrical asset ([0202], [0204], measurement entries of the measurement database 542 store a particular measurement value, keyed by a timestamp, wherein the measurement value can include a binary indicator, indicating of whether or not a condition of interest exists, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed, [0199], [0273], [0277], functional database 543 includes a function library with functions performed on measurement data to generate processed measurement values, and contextual database 544 includes one or more conditions of interest and measurement thresholds, [0059], functions include measurement thresholds to compare to raw and/or processed measurement data to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred);
(ii) determine at least one duty cycle characteristic relating to the operating cycle of the cyclically operated asset based on the electrical power values ([0391], [0395]-[0396], figs. 12A, 12B, the method receives a plurality of measurement data that indicates a measurement value and timestamp and adds the measurement value and timestamp to each of the plurality of entries, [0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor);
(iii) compare the at least one duty cycle characteristic to the at least one duty cycle criterium stored on the computer server ([0391]-[0393], [0395], [0397]-[0398], figs. 12A, 12B, the method generates a custom function output by performing the custom function on the plurality of measurement entries, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed); and
(iv) generate a notification if the at least one duty cycle criterium is met ([0393], [0399], steps 1220, 1264 transmits, via the network interface, the custom function output to the client device, where the custom function output is displayed via the graphical user interface, [0446], if a detection is determined to exist, an alert can be generated for transmission to a client device, and wherein a technician or other personnel can be automatically notified and/or instructed to repair and/or inspect the motor, receive mitigation instructions, safety instructions, and/or can be instructed to collect observation data via execution of client application data 513 on their respective client device and/or via graphical user interface 190).
Regarding claim 2, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) wherein the electrical sensor of the monitoring devices is a current sensor in which the measured electrical characteristic value is representative of electrical current, and wherein the computer server is arranged to convert the measured electrical characteristic values received from the monitoring devices to the power values using prescribed voltage ratings associated with the respective electrical assets and stored on the computer server ([0146], voltage and current measurements of the same electrical source can be utilized by the processing module 240 and/or monitoring data analysis system 140 to calculate power measurements, e.g., utilizing time-series measurements of voltage and/or current to generate measurements of real power, reactive power, and/or apparent power).
Regarding claim 3, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) the irregular usage criteria is individually configurable for each electrical asset ([0392], step 1208 receives from the client device, a custom function definition for a custom function, and step 1210 adds functions corresponding to the custom function to the functions library by utilizing the custom function definition, [0059], [0276], [0279], functions can include measurement thresholds to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred, the measurement threshold data cant trigger particular control data be sent to corresponding equipment, measurement thresholds can be based on failure conditions for machines or other equipment operating at the facility [0206]-[0207], a measurement source identifier indicating a particular location within the facility where the measurement occurred is linked to a function identifier corresponding to a function performed to generate the measurement value linking to a function entry of the function database 543 corresponding to a function identifier for a function of function library 216).
Regarding claim 4, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) wherein the irregular usage criteria include the electrical asset changing status from an active use state to an inactive state ([0059], the detection functions can include measurement thresholds, where measurement data is compared to the measurement thresholds to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred, [0275], conditions of interest can correspond to equipment failing, whether equipment is turned on and/or off, [0432], in the monitoring system 100 monitoring a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail, one detection function can be a motor failure detection function utilizing voltage and current measurement data collected by a voltage and current sensors of a multi-sensor unit).
Regarding claim 5, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) wherein the irregular usage criteria include an upper threshold associated with each electrical asset such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection functions can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) if the electrical power values for one electrical asset exceeds the respective upper threshold for that electrical asset ([0274], conditions of interest can be bounded by a lower measurement threshold, and upper measurement threshold, and/or both, [0059], the detection functions can include measurement thresholds, where measurement data is compared to the measurement thresholds to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred, ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor, [0146], voltage and current measurements of the same electrical source can be utilized by the processing module 240 and/or monitoring data analysis system 140 to calculate power measurements).
Regarding claim 6, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) wherein the irregular usage criteria include a lower threshold associated with each electrical asset such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) if the electrical power values for one electrical asset falls below the respective lower threshold for that electrical asset ([0274], conditions of interest can be bounded by a lower measurement threshold, and upper measurement threshold, and/or both, [0059], the detection functions can include measurement thresholds, where measurement data is compared to the measurement thresholds to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred, ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor, [0146], voltage and current measurements of the same electrical source can be utilized by the processing module 240 and/or monitoring data analysis system 140 to calculate power measurements).
Regarding claim 7, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) wherein the irregular usage criteria include a scheduled time range associated with one of the electrical assets such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) if that electrical asset is determined to be in an active state based on the power values at a time that is outside of the scheduled time range ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off).
Regarding claim 10, Bures discloses the system according to claim 21 (as above) wherein the at least one duty cycle criterium includes an active cycle duration threshold such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) if an active portion of the operating cycle exceeds the active cycle duration threshold ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off).
Regarding claim 11, Bures discloses the system according to claim 21 (as above) wherein the at least one duty cycle criterium includes an inactive cycle duration threshold such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) if an inactive portion of the operating cycle exceeds the inactive cycle duration threshold ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off).
Regarding claim 18, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above) wherein the computer server is further arranged to: compare the electrical power values to an active state threshold in real time ([0284], detection functions can be performed by monitoring data analysis system 140 on all incoming measurement data to determine for a most recent timestamp and/or time window, e.g., to facilitate detection of conditions of interest in real-time) to determine if the electrical asset for each monitoring device is in an active state or an inactive state ([0393], [0398], ([0393], [0398]-[0399], steps 1218, 1262, perform the custom function on the measurement entries, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off); generate a report in real time comprising a dashboard view in which each electrical asset is graphically represented together with the determined active state or inactive state associated with that electrical asset ([0393], [0398]-[0399], steps 1218-1220, 1262-1264, generate a custom function output by performing the custom function on the measurement entries and transmits, via the communication interface, the custom function output to the client device, where the custom function output is displayed to the user via the graphical user interface, [0335], [0406], the custom function output includes heat map data indicating measurements across different locations with respect to the facility displayed via the graphical user interface with colors mapped to a range of values of the plurality of measurement values with the time and/or location that a particular condition of interest was detected visually indicated at a particular time interval in the respective location an animation).
Regarding claim 21, Bures discloses a monitoring system for monitoring at least one cyclically operated asset which consumes electricity and which operates according to an operating cycle ([0441], a detection function can include comparing measurements to thresholds, e.g., if a particular proper subset of measures, which can include voltage and current, compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds, which include voltage and current thresholds, at a timestamp or within a time window), the system comprising ([0016], [0432]):
a computer server ([0016], the monitoring system 100 can a monitoring data analysis system 140, [0432], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility that includes at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail);
a monitoring device ([0016], he monitoring system 100 can include a plurality of multi-sensor units 120) arranged to be operatively associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail utilizing voltage and current measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of a multi-sensor unit, [0452], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility that includes equipment powered by electricity, where the equipment stops functioning due to loss of power, and loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors), the monitoring device including (i) an electrical sensor arranged to be operatively associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset so as to be arranged to measure electrical characteristic values related to electrical consumption by the at least one cyclically operated asset ([0019], multi-sensor units 120 can each include a set of various sensors that can generate measurement data, including a set of electrical measurements, [0146], sensor devices can include one or more electrical sensors including voltage sensors and/or current sensors that utilize current, [0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility that includes at least one motor and/or other equipment that can fail utilizing voltage and current measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of a multi-sensor unit), and (ii) a controller arranged to communicate the electrical characteristic values to the computer server periodically over time ([0024], [0033], the multi-sensor unit 120 includes a transceiver 220 utilized to facilitate communication between a multi-sensor unit 120 and the gateway device 130, [0019]-[0020], gateway device 130 can receive measurement data 1-N transmitted by one of a set of multi-sensor units 120, and the gateway device 130 can forward the measurement data 1-N received from the plurality of multi-sensor units 120 to the monitoring data analysis system 140) periodically over time ([0019], measurement data can be repeatedly collected over time, and can be sent to the gateway device);
the computer server including a memory storing programming instructions thereon and a processor arranged to execute the programming instructions whereby the computer server is arranged to ([0193], the monitoring data analysis system 140 can include a memory module 510 can store operational data 512 that, when executed by processing module 540, causes the processing module to perform operations corresponding to the functionality of the monitoring data analysis system 140 discussed herein):
(i) store the electrical characteristic values from the monitoring device as electrical power values representing electrical power consumed by the at least one cyclically operated asset ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor) in a database comprising a database record associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset ([0193], [0199], monitoring data analysis system 140 includes database system 541 including a plurality of databases storing various data, including measurement database 542 that stores time-series measurement values for each sensor device of each multi-sensor unit), in which the database record associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset comprises at least one duty cycle criterium indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle of the at least one cyclically operated electrical asset ([0202], [0204], measurement entries of the measurement database 542 store a particular measurement value, keyed by a timestamp, wherein the measurement value can include a binary indicator, indicating of whether or not a condition of interest exists, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed, [0199], [0273], [0277], functional database 543 includes a function library with functions performed on measurement data to generate processed measurement values, and contextual database 544 includes one or more conditions of interest and measurement thresholds, [0059], functions include measurement thresholds to compare to raw and/or processed measurement data to determine whether or not a condition of interest occurred);
(ii) determine at least one duty cycle characteristic relating to the operating cycle of the cyclically operated asset based on the electrical power values associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset ([0391], [0395]-[0396], figs. 12A, 12B, the method receives a plurality of measurement data that indicates a measurement value and timestamp and adds the measurement value and timestamp to each of the plurality of entries, [0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor);
(iii) compare the at least one duty cycle characteristic to the at least one duty cycle criterium that is indicative of an irregularity in the operating cycle ([0391]-[0393], [0395], [0397]-[0398], figs. 12A, 12B, the method generates a custom function output by performing the custom function on the plurality of measurement entries, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed); and
(iv) generate a notification if the at least one duty cycle criterium is met ([0393], [0399], steps 1220, 1264 transmits, via the network interface, the custom function output to the client device, where the custom function output is displayed via the graphical user interface, [0446], if a detection is determined to exist, an alert can be generated for transmission to a client device, and wherein a technician or other personnel can be automatically notified and/or instructed to repair and/or inspect the motor, receive mitigation instructions, safety instructions, and/or can be instructed to collect observation data via execution of client application data 513 on their respective client device and/or via graphical user interface 190).
Regarding claim 22, Bures discloses the system according to claim 21 (as above) wherein the computer server is further arranged to determine a usage state based on the determined at least one duty cycle characteristic ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off or failing, [0441], e.g. the detection function can include voltage measurements comparted to voltage thresholds, current measurements compared to current thresholds, and if a particular proper subset of measures compare unfavorably to their respective thresholds at a timestamp or within a time window, the detection function can indicate detection of the motor failure, [0451], [0453], e.g., loss of power can be detected based on current sensors and/or voltage sensors, wherein power loss detection function can indicate that the corresponding equipment is off or not powered, wherein if the equipment is not scheduled to be turned off and/or not likely to be turned off at the corresponding time that the power loss is detected can be used to deduce that power has failed) and store the usage state in the database record associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset ([0202], [0204], measurement entries of the measurement database 542 store a particular measurement value, keyed by a timestamp, wherein the measurement value can include a binary indicator, indicating of whether or not a condition of interest exists).
Regarding claim 23, Bures discloses the system according to claim 21 (as above) wherein the database record associated with the at least one cyclically operated asset comprises a time series of the electrical power values ([0193], [0199], monitoring data analysis system 140 includes database system 541 including a plurality of databases storing various data, including measurement database 542 that stores time-series measurement values for each sensor device of each multi-sensor unit, [0204], the measurement value can include and/or be generated based on processing signal data such as frequency domain data and/or captured time-series data within a time window indicated by the timestamp) representing the electrical power consumed by the at least one cyclically operated asset over time ([0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor), and wherein the computer server is further arranged to determine said at least one duty cycle characteristic relating to the operating cycle of the cyclically operated asset ([0391], [0395]-[0396], figs. 12A, 12B, the method receives a plurality of measurement data that indicates a measurement value and timestamp and adds the measurement value and timestamp to each of the plurality of entries, [0432], [0434], the monitoring system 100 monitors a facility including at least one motor and/or other equipment utilizing measurement data collected by voltage and current sensors of the multi-sensor unit, e.g., voltage and/or current measurements can correspond to voltage and current being delivered to the motor, voltage and current of a power source being utilized to power the motor, and/or voltage and current being utilized in a circuit utilized by the motor and/or utilized to control the motor) based on said time series of the electrical power values ([0204], the measurement value can include and/or be generated based on processing signal data such as frequency domain data and/or captured time-series data within a time window indicated by the timestamp).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bures, et al. (US 20200322703 A1), hereinafter Bures, in view of Manfé (US 20240394112 A1), hereinafter Manfé.
Regarding claim 9, Bures discloses the system according to claim 21 (as above). Further, while Bures discloses wherein the at least one duty cycle criterium includes a cycle duration threshold such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) a … duration of an active portion and an inactive portion of the operating cycle exceeds the cycle duration threshold ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off, [0287], detection function and/or characterization function can be utilized to implement a counting function to count a number of times a condition occurred and/or was categorized in a particular category within a particular timeframe), Bures does not necessarily expressly disclose a combination, which however, is taught by further teachings in Manfé.
Manfé teaches a combined duration of an active portion and an inactive portion of the operating cycle exceeds the cycle duration threshold ([0054], the system determines workloads of the candidate activity periods included in the candidate windows, e.g., the system can determine an aggregated workload of the four peak activity periods 405, 421, 427, and 429 included the sliding window 415 and embodiments exclude from the aggregated workload any peak activity periods overlapping with the window 415 and not entirely included in the window 415 (i.e. the combined duration of the active peaks of usage above the usage threshold of and duration of inactive usage below the threshold, in total, exceeding the duration of the sliding window 415 are excluded from the aggregated workload)).
Bures and Manfé are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of managing usage of electrical assets. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Bures the ability for the combined active and inactive portions of the cycle exceed the cycle duration threshold, as taught by Manfé, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of a notification being generated if the combined active and inactive portions of the cycle exceed the cycle duration threshold, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bures with the aforementioned teachings of Manfé in order to produce the added benefit of increasing the accuracy of usage analysis forecasts. [0023].
Regarding claim 12, Bures discloses the system according to claim 21 (as above). Further, while Bures discloses wherein the at least one duty cycle criterium includes a duty cycle threshold range such that a notification is generated ([0318], detection can automatically generate alerts to be displayed to or otherwise communicated to users of the monitoring system 100, for example, via a graphical user interface displayed via a display device of a client device associated with the user) if an active portion of the operating cycle … of available time falls outside of the duty cycle threshold range ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off, [0287], detection function and/or characterization function can be utilized to implement a counting function to count a number of times a condition occurred and/or was categorized in a particular category within a particular timeframe), Bures does not necessarily expressly disclose the remaining elements of the following limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in Manfé.
Manfé teaches if an active portion of the operating cycle as a percentage of available time falls outside of the duty cycle threshold range ([0045], [0048], in a comparison phase 303, the system determines an anchor peak activity period by filtering out peak activity periods having durations below a time threshold based on a percentage of a predefined duration (e.g., 5% the length of the fixed length sliding window, or 1% of the total duration of the usage information), and e.g., the duration of the sliding window to be 10% of the total duration of the usage information).
Bures and Manfé are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of managing usage of electrical assets. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Bures the ability for an active portion of the operating cycle as a percentage of available time falls outside of the duty cycle threshold range, as taught by Manfé, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of a notification being generated if an active portion of the operating cycle as a percentage of available time falls outside of the duty cycle threshold range, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bures with the aforementioned teachings of Manfé in order to produce the added benefit of increasing the accuracy of usage analysis forecasts. [0023].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bures, et al. (US 20200322703 A1), hereinafter Bures, in view of DeCamp, et al. (US 20220170967 A1), hereinafter DeCamp.
Regarding claim 13, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above). Further, while Bures discloses wherein the computer server is further arranged to generate a report for at least one selected database record over a selected time range which graphically represents the electrical power values over the selected time range for said at least one selected database record in a manner which visually distinguishes the electrical power values between an active use state above an active use threshold, … and an inactive state ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off, [0393], [0398]-[0399], steps 1218-1220, 1262-1264, generate a custom function output by performing the custom function on the measurement entries and transmits, via the communication interface, the custom function output to the client device, where the custom function output is displayed to the user via the graphical user interface, [0335], [0406], the custom function output includes heat map data indicating measurements across different locations with respect to the facility displayed via the graphical user interface with colors mapped to a range of values of the plurality of measurement values with the time and/or location that a particular condition of interest was detected visually indicated at a particular time interval in the respective location an animation), Bures does not necessarily expressly disclose the remaining elements of the following limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in DeCamp.
DeCamp teaches visually distinguishes the electrical power values between an active use state above an active use threshold, an idle use state between the active use threshold and an idle threshold, and an inactive state below the idle threshold ([0150], [0157], a system for providing a status of a remote device matches the first sampled energy consumption characteristic data to a first status based on energy consumption characteristic data received from sensors by determining that the first sampled energy consumption usage data is between an upper status threshold and a lower status threshold, [0137], fig. 21, status of an identified device plugged into the power management device based on power usage can include a plurality of thresholds that identify status of the device, e.g., between a high operating threshold 2112 and a low operating threshold 2116 indicates an operating status, between a high idle threshold 2118 and a low idle threshold 2120 indicates an idle status, below the low idle threshold 2120 indicates an off state 211, above the high operating threshold 2112 indicates a malfunctioning state, [0090], fig. 17, an alternative energy consumption heat map 1700 illustrating distribution of energy consumption across the floorplan 1400 from a top plan view includes different colors or shading intensities to differentiate different energy consumption levels).
Bures and DeCamp are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of managing usage of electrical assets. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Bures the ability to visually distinguish the electrical power values between an active use state above an active use threshold, an idle use state between the active use threshold and an idle threshold, and an inactive state below the idle threshold, as taught by DeCamp, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of visually distinguishing the electrical power values between an active use state above an active use threshold, an idle use state between the active use threshold and an idle threshold, and an inactive state below the idle threshold, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bures with the aforementioned teachings of DeCamp in order to produce the added benefit of helping for the infrastructure planning and enable real-time diagnosis and collection of power consumption. [0038].
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bures, et al. (US 20200322703 A1), hereinafter Bures, in view of Casey, et al. (US 20210406425 A1), hereinafter Casey.
Regarding claim 14, Bures discloses the system according to claim 1 (as above). Further, while Bures discloses wherein the computer server is further arranged to generate a report for at least one selected database record over a selected time range comprising one or more weeks in duration, the report comprising a heat map representing the electrical power values associated with said at least one selected database record in which …, and each pixel visually represents a cumulative usage of the electrical asset associated ([0257], time-series measurements collected by the sensor device can be processed to generate aggregate to determine summary measures captured at particular times and/or over time, [0146], voltage and current measurements of the same electrical source can be utilized by the processing module 240 and/or monitoring data analysis system 140 to calculate power measurements, e.g., utilizing time-series measurements of voltage and/or current to generate measurements of real power, reactive power, and/or apparent power) with said at least one database record for a corresponding time and a corresponding day of the week for said one or more weeks ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off, [0393], [0398]-[0399], steps 1218-1220, 1262-1264, generate a custom function output by performing the custom function on the measurement entries and transmits, via the communication interface, the custom function output to the client device, where the custom function output is displayed to the user via the graphical user interface, [0333], each heat map can correspond to a particular time window in which the measurements were collected, and/or can correspond to a larger time frame, where the measurement values are averaged over multiple time windows within the larger time frame, [0335], [0406], the graphical user interface 190 can enable the user to interact with the heat map data by selecting a particular time window to be displayed, the custom function output includes heat map data indicating measurements across different locations with respect to the facility displayed via the graphical user interface with colors mapped to a range of values of the plurality of measurement values with the time and/or location that a particular condition of interest was detected visually indicated at a particular time interval in the respective location an animation), Bures does not necessarily expressly disclose that a combination of Casey.
Casey teaches a heatmap in which a first axis of the heat map represents time intervals, a second axis of the heat map represents days of the week, and each pixel visually represents a cumulative … of the electrical asset associated with said at least one database record for a corresponding time and a corresponding day of the week for said one or more weeks ([0095]-[0096], a user interface 300 includes an example graph 304 showing a number of voltage violations over a period of time including an x-axis representing progression of time measured by a first time increment, e.g., days, over a first time period, e.g., five weeks and a y-axis representing a progression of time measured by a second time increment, e.g., hours, over a second time period, e.g., a day with a number of points with a color shading of each point represents the number of violations of an electrical grid parameter during the time interval).
Bures and Casey are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of managing performance of electrical assets. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Bures the ability to include a heatmap in which a first axis of the heat map represents time intervals, a second axis of the heat map represents days of the week, and each pixel visually represents a cumulative of the electrical asset associated with said at least one database record for a corresponding time and a corresponding day of the week for said one or more weeks, as taught by Casey, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of including a heatmap in which a first axis of the heat map represents time intervals, a second axis of the heat map represents days of the week, and each pixel visually represents a cumulative of the electrical asset associated with said at least one database record for a corresponding time and a corresponding day of the week for said one or more weeks, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bures with the aforementioned teachings of Casey in order to produce the added benefit of improving safety and reliability of the electrical assets and reducing unexpected impacts. [0016].
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings of Bures and Casey teach the system according to claim 14 (as above). Further, Bures discloses wherein the heat map is representative of one database record associated with one electrical asset, and wherein the pixels of the heat map visually distinguish between (i) an active use state and (ii) an inactive state or an idle state of the electrical asset ([0275]-[0276], conditions of interest that can be detected can be defined corresponding measurement thresholds, when the measurement threshold are determined to be unmet at a particular time and/or for at least a threshold amount of time, triggers generation of an alert, wherein conditions of interest can correspond to whether equipment is turned on and/or off, [0333], each heat map can correspond to a particular time window in which the measurements were collected, and/or can correspond to a larger time frame, where the measurement values are averaged over multiple time windows within the larger time frame, [0335], [0406], the graphical user interface 190 can enable the user to interact with the heat map data by selecting a particular time window to be displayed, the custom function output includes heat map data indicating measurements across different locations with respect to the facility displayed via the graphical user interface with colors mapped to a range of values of the plurality of measurement values with the time and/or location that a particular condition of interest was detected visually indicated at a particular time interval in the respective location an animation).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings of Bures and Casey teach the system according to claim 14 (as above). Further, Bures discloses wherein the pixels of the heat map are indicative of cumulative electrical power consumption ([0257], time-series measurements collected by the sensor device can be processed to generate aggregate to determine summary measures captured at particular times and/or over time, [0146], voltage and current measurements of the same electrical source can be utilized by the processing module 240 and/or monitoring data analysis system 140 to calculate power measurements, e.g., utilizing time-series measurements of voltage and/or current to generate measurements of real power, reactive power, and/or apparent power) of said at least one database record based on the electrical power values ([0334]-[0335], [0406], the custom function output includes heat map data indicating measurements across different locations with respect to the facility displayed via the graphical user interface with colors mapped to a range of values of the plurality of measurement values with the time and/or location that a particular condition of interest was detected visually indicated at a particular time interval in the respective location an animation).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings of Bures and Casey teach the system according to claim 14 (as above). Further, Bures discloses wherein said at least one database record comprises all of the database records, and wherein the heat map is a cumulative representation of all database records associated with all electrical assets ([0334]-[0335], [0406], the custom function output includes heat map data indicating measurements across different locations with respect to the facility displayed via the graphical user interface with colors mapped to a range of values of the plurality of measurement values with the time and/or location that a particular condition of interest was detected visually indicated at a particular time interval in the respective location an animation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES GUILIANO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/CHARLES GUILIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623