DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0101474, filed on 8/03/2023.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the phrase “according to an aspect of the invention”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(b) because they are incomplete. 37 CFR 1.83(b) reads as follows:
When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
In particular, the objection relates to the lack of depiction of claims 14 and 15. Instant drawing 6 depicts the battery module connecting unit of claims 4 and 5, but there is no drawing directed to its incorporation between battery modules. As shown in instant drawings 3-5, the incorporation of the battery module connecting unit is precise, and it is unclear how the battery module connecting unit of instant drawing 6 would be incorporated.
Claim Interpretation
In claims 3, 6, and their dependents utilize the term “seated”. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret this term to refer to objects stack upon each other in any order in the vertical direction, consistent with the instant specification (page 3, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 4, the instant claim recites the limitation “the same height”. For the purposes of claim interpretation, this will be interpreted as meaning the elements are located in the same position along the vertical axis, instead of having the same thickness in the vertical dimension.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-10, 13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20220037726 A1; Henceforth, Choi) in view of Oh et al (US 20220190430 A1; Henceforth, Oh).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a battery pack in which a plurality of battery cells are mounted ([0002]). Choi teaches the inclusion of partition walls ([0076]; Figure 3, reproduced below, element 250) that has hollow regions (Figure 5). Choi teaches the partition wall and the battery cells can be attached to each other ([0079]), and the partition wall can be attached to the base of the battery pack by a bolt ([0082]) or by other means ([0081]). Figures 3 (below) depicts the structure with holes on the top surface, multiple reinforcing ribs inside the body portion, and a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape extending in the length direction of the adjacent battery cells.
Figure 3, reproduced from Choi.
Figure 5, reproduced from Choi.
Choi does not teach seating portions provided at front and rear ends of the body and protruding from at least one of both sides of the body to be seated on terminal blocks provided on front and rear surfaces of the battery modules, respectively.
Oh teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules, where the front and rear covers have fastening portions (Abstract; Figure 1, reproduced below). Figures 4 and 5 (reproduced below) depicts two fastening portions protruding in opposing directions extending past the battery module in the width directions while vertically offset from each other (see Figure 1, below, for axes). These fastening units can be bolted together to secure the secure the battery module to adjacent battery modules ([0022]). Oh teaches the front and rear covers have substantially the same configuration ([0070]) and the upper portion of one fastening unit is substantially at the same height as the lower fastening unit, such that they contact each other in the vertical direction ([0083]).
Figures 1 (left) and 4 (right), reproduced from Oh.
Figure 5, reproduced from Oh.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the fastening members of Oh to allow the partition wall to be secured to the adjacent battery walls. Oh demonstrates precedent in the art to use fastening members to secure adjacent battery modules to each other. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the fastening members of Oh onto the partition walls of Choi would predictably allowed for the partition walls to be secured to the adjacent battery modules, as it would be performing the same function as Oh previously demonstrated. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Regarding claim 2, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. Choi teaches the seating portions includes a first seating portion protruding to one side; and a second seating portion stepped from the first seating portion and protruding to the other side from the first seating portion (Figures 1, 4, and 5, above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh to allow the partition wall to be secured to the adjacent battery walls, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 3, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 2. Choi teaches the fastening units are offset (Figures 1,4 and 5, above), such that the first seating portion is seated on a lower surface of one of the terminal blocks, and the second seating portion is seated on an upper surface of the one of the terminal blocks ([0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by utilizing stepped, offset fastening members of Oh where one fastening member rests on the lower surface of an adjacent terminal block and the other rests on the upper surface of an adjacent terminal block, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. Choi teaches the seating portions have a step shape (Figures 1, 4 and 5, above) on which the terminal blocks are seated (Figures 1 and 4). The examiner notes the instant application utilizes “seated” to indicate two objects are in contact in either order in the vertical direction (page 3, lines 14-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 9, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. Choi teaches the body is made in a hollow shape, and reinforcing ribs are provided in multiple stages inside the body (Figures 1 and 5, above). Therefore, Choi teaches all the new limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi and Oh teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 9. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi and Oh teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 6. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi and Oh teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 3. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi and Oh teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 2. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi and Oh teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 1. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Claims 1, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 10232697 B2; Henceforth, Hara), in view of Oh.
Regarding claim 1, Hara teaches a battery pack wherein battery modules are juxtaposed to form arrays within the battery pack, and load transmission modules are disposed between the battery modules (Abstract; Figure 5, reproduced below). The load transmission modules are rectangular parallelopipeds extending along the side surfaces of the battery modules (Figures 5 and 6, below) and are hollow (Figures 5 and 6, below).
Figure 5, reproduced from Hara.
Figure 6, reproduced from Hara.
Hara does not teach seating portions provided at front and rear ends of the body and protruding from at least one of both sides of the body to be seated on terminal blocks provided on front and rear surfaces of the battery modules, respectively.
Oh teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules, where the front and rear covers have fastening portions (Abstract; Figure 1, reproduced below). Figures 4 and 5 (reproduced below) depicts two fastening portions protruding in opposing directions extending past the battery module in the width directions while vertically offset from each other (see Figure 1, below, for axes). These fastening units can be bolted together to secure the secure the battery module to adjacent battery modules ([0022]). Oh teaches the front and rear covers have substantially the same con figuration ([0070]) and the upper portion of one fastening unit is substantially at the same height as the lower fastening unit, such that they contact each other in the vertical direction ([0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the load transmission members of Hara by including the fastening members of Oh to allow the load transmission members to be secured to the adjacent battery walls. Oh demonstrates precedent in the art to use fastening members to secure adjacent battery modules to each other. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the fastening members of Oh onto the load transmission members of Hara would predictably allowed for the load transmission members to be secured to the adjacent battery modules, as it would be performing the same function as Oh previously demonstrated. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Regarding claim 8, Hara and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. Hara teaches load transmission members body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape extending along the side surfaces of the battery modules (Figure 6, above). Oh teaches the side surface of the seating portion has a curved surface (Figure 4, above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the load transmission members of Hara by including the curved, stepped fastening members of Oh to allow the partition wall to be secured to the adjacent battery walls, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 11, Hara teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, Abstract) comprising battery modules (battery modules, Abstract), and a battery module connecting unit (load transmission member, Abstract and page 3, column 6, lines 18-27). Hara and Oh teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 1. Oh teaches the fastening members are configures to connect adjacent battery modules ([0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the load transmission members of Hara by including the stepped, offset fastening members of Oh such that the fastening members connect adjacent battery units, for the reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Oh in view of Park et al. (US 20220311110 A1; Henceforth, Park).
Regarding claim 4, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. While Choi teaches a first seating portion that protrudes to one side, Choi nor Oh teach a second seating portion having the same height as the first seating portion and protruding to the other side from the first seating portion.
Park teaches a battery module (Abstract) wherein the front case that is symmetric with regards to the length direction of the battery module (Figure 1), and includes two terminal blocks (Figure 1, annotated below). Park teaches the insulation distance between the terminal and the cover in their battery module is set conservatively, to prevent fires of a battery module within a greater battery pack ([0038-0040]).
Figure 1, reproduced from Park, annotated by the examiner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module connecting member taught by Choi and Oh by adjusting the vertical placement of the seating members such that they are located at the same vertical position. Park teaches a battery module designed to eliminate a source of potential fires common among battery modules in a battery pack ([0038]-[0040]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the battery module for that taught by Oh would have predictably led to a reduced chance for fires, as it would be performing the function taught by Park. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. The examiner notes the use of battery modules of Park would necessitate a change in structure to the battery module connection unit taught by Choi and Oh, in order to properly connected to the battery unit. Since Oh teaches it is preferable for the fastening members to be seated on the neighboring fastening members ([0083]), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the height of the fastening units such that they were at the same vertical position and located upon the terminal blocks of the battery modules of Park, in order to perform the same function they had previously been shown to demonstrate.
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi, Oh, and Park teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 4. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi and Oh by including the fastening members located at the same vertical positions such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claim 4, above.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Oh, Park and Hara.
Regarding claim 5, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. While neither explicitly teach the seating portions are symmetrical with respect to the body, Choi, Oh and Park teach a battery module connecting unit wherein the seating portions are at the same vertical position, as outlined with claim 4, above. The examiner notes that Oh, in Figure 4 (above) teaches the front plate is symmetrical with the exception of the vertical positions of the seating portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module connection unit of Choi and Oh, such that the seating portion is symmetrical with respect to the body. As outlined in claim 4, above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the vertical positions of the seating portions such that they are at the same vertical position. The examiner notes this would have a byproduct, when using the seating portion taught by Oh as a base, of generating a symmetric structure. Symmetric spacers located between battery cells and modules are known, as evidenced by the examples of Choi and Hara. A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation that having a battery module connecting unit with seating portions are the same vertical position would have predictably resulted in a symmetrical structure with respect to the body portion of the battery module connecting unit, since the modification of the seating portion would result in a symmetrical addition being added to the symmetrical body portion.
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi, Oh, Hara and Park teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 5. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition walls of Choi and Oh by including the fastening members located at the same vertical positions such that the fastening members are seated on adjacent terminal blocks, for the reasons outlined in claims 4 and 5, above.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Oh, in view of Hara.
Regarding claim 7, Choi and Oh teach the connecting member of claim 1. While Choi teaches an upper surface of the seating portion has an insertion hole (Figure 3, above), Choi nor Oh teach an electrical component is inserted in the insertion hole.
Hara teaches a battery pack wherein battery modules are juxtaposed to form arrays within the battery pack, and load transmission modules are disposed between the battery modules (Abstract; Figure 5, above). The load transmission modules are rectangular parallelopipeds extending along the side surfaces of the battery modules (Figures 5 and 6, above) and are hollow (Figures 5 and 6, above). Hara teaches a configuration of a load transmission member (Figure 23, reproduced below) where two U-shaped load transmission units are stacked, so that there is an opening at the top, and cables are added into the internal space of the load transmission units (page 6, column 12, lines 5-16 and 36-52). Hara teaches the load transmission member is also crushed in the width direction by the impact load applied from the side of the vehicle to absorb collision energy, if the impact load is greater than the predetermined magnitude (page 5, column 9, lines 54-60). The examiner notes an electrical cable is an electrical component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module connection unit of Choi and Oh by inserting electrical components into holes in the battery module connection unit, as taught by Hara. There would have been a motivation to house electrical components within the battery module connection unit, as taught by Hara in the same field of endeavor, in order to protect the cables from impact loads applied during a vehicle collision (page 5, column 9, lines 54-60). Additionally, the examiner notes that Choi teaches the partition wall may have holes for bolts ([0082]) but can be secured by other means as well ([0081]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that electrical components can be inserted and threaded through the hollow regions of the partition walls and predictably protect them from potential impact energy, since it would be performing the same function taught by Hara.
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches a battery module assembly (a battery pack, [0002]) comprising battery modules (a plurality of battery modules, [0002]), and a battery module connecting unit (partition wall, [0076]). Choi, Oh and Hara teach the battery module connecting member according to claim 7. Choi teaches the partition wall is mounted between adjacent side surfaces of the battery modules and connects the battery modules ([0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module connection unit of Choi and Oh by inserting electrical components into holes in the battery module connection unit, as taught by Hara, for the reasons outlined in claim 7, above.
Conclusion
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752