Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tormoen (US 2008/0041173 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tormoen discloses a sensing node for sensing a parameter when dropped on the ground, the sensing node comprising:
an outer shell having a spherical internal cavity [[abstract] internal sphere is centered and held within an external sphere having an inside diameter that is incrementally larger than the outside diameter of the internal sphere; [0013] sensors with a sphere in sphere construction];
an inner frame configured to hold a sensor and to fully fit inside the spherical internal cavity [[abstract] within the internal sphere are contained a tri-axial inertial sensor, a time keeping device, a data processing device, a data recording device, and a power source]; and
a support mechanism [[fig. 1] platform #22 has sensor #20 and data processor #26 with data recording device #24] provided between the outer shell and the inner frame and configured to allow the inner frame to freely rotate relative to the outer shell and also configured to prevent the inner frame from directly touching the outer shell when dropped on the ground [[abstract] quantity of fluid fills the spatial gap between the outside surface of the inside sphere and the inside surface of the external sphere in a manner that permits omni-directional free rotational movement of the internal sphere within the external sphere].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tormoen (US 2008/0041173 A1) and Holm-Hansen (2000, Finite Elements).
Regarding claim 2, Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Holm-Hansen teaches the sensing node of Claim 1, wherein the support mechanism includes plural balls that directly contact each of the outer housing and the inner frame [[fig. 1] shows model of ball bearings between inner and outer housings; [fig. 2]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid between the inner and outer support shell as taught by Tormoen, with the ball bearings between inner and outer frame as taught by Holm-Hansen so that the rotation is quicker.
Regarding claim 3, Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Holm-Hansen teaches the sensing node of Claim 1, wherein the support mechanism consists of first to fifth balls [[fig. 1] shows first to fifth ball bearings; [fig. 2]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid between the inner and outer support shell as taught by Tormoen, with the ball bearings between inner and outer frame as taught by Holm-Hansen so that the rotation is quicker than with a fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Holm-Hansen teaches the sensing node of Claim 3, wherein the first to third balls are located in corresponding receiving cavities, symmetrically distributed along a circumference of the inner frame [[fig. 2]; [pg. 260] load on the inner surface (i.e. the groove) is caused by contact with the rolling elements].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid between the inner and outer support shell as taught by Tormoen, with the ball bearings between inner and outer frame as taught by Holm-Hansen so that the rotation is quicker than with a fluid.
Regarding claim 5, Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Holm-Hansen teaches the sensing node of Claim 4, wherein the fourth ball is located on a first half of the inner frame and the fifth ball is located on a second half of the inner frame, opposite to the fourth ball [[fig. 2] shows balls distributed around the bearing].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid between the inner and outer support shell as taught by Tormoen, with the ball bearings between inner and outer frame as taught by Holm-Hansen so that the rotation is quicker than with a fluid.
Regarding claim 7, Tormoen teaches the sensing node of Claim 6, further comprising: a battery configured to be hold by the inner frame [[abstract] internal sphere are contained … power source; power source #28 on platform #22].
Regarding claim 8, Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Holm-Hansen teaches the sensing node of Claim 4, wherein the circumference is defined by an interface between first and second mating halves of the inner frame [[fig. 2] shows a groove around the circumference of the mating rings; [pg. 260] load on the inner surface (i.e. the groove) is caused by contact with the rolling elements].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid between the inner and outer support shell as taught by Tormoen, with the ball bearings between inner and outer frame as taught by Holm-Hansen so that the rotation is quicker than with a fluid.
Regarding claim 9, Tormoen teaches the sensing node of Claim 1, further comprising: a printed circuit board holding the sensor and attached to the inner frame; and a battery attached to the inner frame and fully located within the inner frame [[0025] platform 22 may simply be a printed circuit board that is fixed to the inside surface of internal sphere 16 at a number of points sufficient to maintain the platform in a fixed relationship to sphere 16. Positioned on platform 22 are a tri-axial inertial sensor 20, a data processor 26, which incorporates a clock or timekeeping component, a data recording device 24, and a power source 28].
Regarding claim 15, Tormoen teaches the sensing node of Claim 1, further comprising: a battery; and a counterweight, wherein each of the battery and the counterweight is attached to the inner frame with no bolts or screws or glue [[0025] platform 22 may simply be a printed circuit board that is fixed to the inside surface of internal sphere 16 at a number of points sufficient to maintain the platform in a fixed relationship to sphere 16. Positioned on platform 22 are a tri-axial inertial sensor 20, a data processor 26, which incorporates a clock or timekeeping component, a data recording device 24, and a power source 28].
Regarding claim 17, Tormoen teaches the sensing node of Claim 1, wherein the sensor is a seismic sensor configured to collect seismic data [[abstract] tri-axial inertial sensor; [0028] accelerometer].
Regarding claim 18, Tormoen teaches the sensing node of Claim 1, wherein an outer surface of the inner frame is spherical [[0032] it may also be practical and cost-effective to simply destroy the external and internal spherical enclosures to directly access the stored data in the on-board data recording device].
Regarding claim 19, Tormoen teaches a sensing node for sensing a parameter when dropped on the ground, the sensing node comprising: an outer shell having a spherical internal cavity [[abstract][0013]]; an inner frame configured to hold a sensor and to fully fit inside the internal cavity [[abstract]]; and [mechanism] provided between the outer shell and the inner frame and configured to allow the inner frame to freely rotate relative to the outer shell and also configured to prevent the inner frame from directly touching the outer shell when dropped on the ground [[abstract] quantity of fluid fills the spatial gap between the outside surface of the inside sphere and the inside surface of the external sphere in a manner that permits omni-directional free rotational movement of the internal sphere within the external sphere].
Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Holm-Hansen teaches plural balls [[fig. 1] shows model of ball bearings between inner and outer housings; [fig. 2]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid between the inner and outer support shell as taught by Tormoen, with the ball bearings between inner and outer frame as taught by Holm-Hansen so that the rotation is quicker than with a fluid.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tormoen (US 2008/0041173 A1) and Broussard (US 2016/0003954 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Tormoen teaches a method for deploying a sensing node on the ground for a survey, the method comprising: dropping the sensing node on ground [[0035] if the sensor is turned on and dropped for two seconds (assuming near sea level and not reaching terminal velocity) the accelerometer would detect a −9.8 m/s2 acceleration in the vertical axis (z)], the sensing node including an outer shell having a spherical internal cavity [[abstract][0013]]; aligning an inner frame, which is configured to hold a seismic sensor and to fully fit inside the internal cavity [[abstract]], with a gravity by allowing the inner frame to freely rotate relative to the outer shell due to a support mechanism provided between the outer shell and the inner frame [[fig. 1]]; and recording seismic data with the seismic sensor, wherein the support mechanism prevents the inner frame from directly touching the outer shell when dropped on the ground [[abstract]].
Tormoen does not explicitly teach and yet Broussard teaches dropping from a delivery vehicle the sensing node on ground [[0021] seismic sensor deployment or engagement, good ground contact of the seismic sensor, recorded drops of seismic sensors of other aerial vehicles, request to record received, recording, recording success, ready to redeploy/return, returning/redeploying, properly docked, transferring seismic data, successful data transfer, and other types of telemetric data as more fully discussed herein; [0032] seismic sensor 310 may be implemented as a seismic sensor that may be stored on the aerial vehicle 300 and deployed from the aerial vehicle 300 via seismic sensor deployment 312 by employing, for example, a deployment mechanism such as a latch or any other suitable deployment mechanism, when the aerial vehicle 300 is positioned at an acquisition location. According to some embodiments, the seismic sensor 310 may be connected to the aerial vehicle 300 via a cable. The deployment mechanism may enable the seismic sensor 310 to deploy from the aerial vehicle 300 and drop, under a force due to gravity, to the ground. The seismic sensor 310 may be shaped in manner so as to embed into the ground. For example, the seismic sensor may have a point on at least one portion thereof, such as a spear or an arrowhead, or other types of configurations that would enable the seismic sensor 310 to facilitate the embedding into the ground. When the seismic sensor is embedded in the ground, it may acquire seismic data and transmit the seismic data to the aerial vehicle 310, via the cable].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to deploy the sensors as taught by Tormoen, by deploying the sensors to the ground from a vehicle as taught by Broussard because vehicles can travel quickly across long distances.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 5, wherein the first ball is located at a top of the inner frame and the second to fifth balls are located in a same horizontal plane, below an equator of the inner frame.
Regarding claim 10, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 9, further comprising: a counterweight sandwiched between first and second halves of the inner frame; and a coil attached to a neck of the counterweight, wherein the coil is electrically connected to the battery for inductive charging.
Regarding claim 11, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 10, wherein the coil is fully located within the inner frame.
Regarding claim 12, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 1, wherein the inner frame is formed of two halves, each half comprising: a circumferential edge; plural spokes attached with corresponding first ends to the circumferential edge; and a vertex area connected to corresponding second ends of the plural spokes.
Regarding claim 13, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 12, wherein the circumferential edge has receiving cavities for holding balls of the support mechanism.
Regarding claim 14, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 13, wherein the vertex area of each half of the inner frame has a receiving cavity for hosting a corresponding additional ball of the support mechanism.
Regarding claim 16, Holm-Hansen does not appear to teach the sensing node of Claim 1, wherein the outer shell is made of two half shells, each having exterior ribs.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645