DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: because it depends on itself. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because
As per claims 1, 12 and 17,
under Step 2A, Prong 1,
Claim 1
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation,
compare the first code with a collection of characterized codes;
identify a second code in the collection of characterized codes, wherein the second code has functionality similar to the first code, as drafted is a process that recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Under Step 2 A prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements,
A system, comprising:
a memory operatively coupled to the system, wherein the memory stores computer executable components; and
a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise: a characterization component is merely using a generic computer of computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106(f) therefore, it does not integrate into practical application.
receive a first code, wherein the first code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system is insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering – 2106,05(g) - therefore, it does not integrate into practical application.
Under Step 2 B
The additional elements A system, comprising:
a memory operatively coupled to the system, wherein the memory stores computer executable components; and
a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise: a characterization component is using a generic computer of computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106(f), therefore, it does not amount to significant more
receive a first code, wherein the first code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system is insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering – the courts have identified data gathering is well understood routine and conventional activity see MPEP 2106(d), therefore, it does not amount to significant more
Under Step 2A, Prong 1,
Claim 7
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation,
compare the first code with a collection of characterized codes;
identify a second code in the collection of characterized codes, wherein the second code has functionality similar to the first code, as drafted is a process that recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Under Step 2 A prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements,
A computer implemented method performed by… comprising: a device operatively coupled to a processor…; and
a characterization component is merely using a generic computer of computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106(f) therefore, it does not integrate into practical application.
receive a first code, wherein the first code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system is insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering – 2106,05(g) - therefore, it does not integrate into practical application.
Under Step 2 B
The additional elements a method performed by a device operatively coupled to a processor… comprising:
a processor that executes…a characterization component is using a generic computer of computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106(f), therefore, it does not amount to significant more.
receive a first code, wherein the first code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system is insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering – the courts have identified data gathering is well understood routine and conventional activity see MPEP 2106(d), therefore, it does not amount to significant more.
Under Step 2A, Prong 1,
Claim 17
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation,
comparing the first code with a collection of characterized codes;
identifying a second code in the collection of characterized codes, wherein the second code has functionality similar to the first code, as drafted is a process that recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Under Step 2 A prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements,
A computer program product stored on non-transitory…to perform operations comprising
a characterizing the first computer code with second computer code by assigning…computer code merely using a generic computer of computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106(f) therefore, it does not integrate into practical application.
receiving a first computer code, wherein the first computer code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system is insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering – 2106,05(g) - therefore, it does not integrate into practical application.
Under Step 2 B
The additional elements a method performed by a computer program product stored…the machine executable instruction…comprising
characterizing the first computer code with second computer code by assigning…component is using a generic computer of computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106(f), therefore, it does not amount to significant more.
receiving first computer code, wherein the first computer code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system is insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering – the courts have identified data gathering is well understood routine and conventional activity see MPEP 2106(d), therefore, it does not amount to significant more.
Claims 2-11 as drafted, recite a process that under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components, first code implemented on quantum computing…” assigned attributes…,vector component configuration…, determining the value…,identifying at least one component…, identify function…, parsing…, and receiving the code and formatting high level programming…and
claims 13-16 code implementation…, assigning attribute…, representing respective code…determining vector value and
claims 18-20 are the same as drafted is a process that under its broadest interpretation, recite that abstract idea of mental process. These limitations encompass a human carrying out this function through observation, evaluation even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall with in Mental Process grouping of abstract idea, furthermore the additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and fail to amount the abstract idea as discussed above. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharma et al USPN 11,586,966.
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 17
Sharma et al teaches
a memory operatively coupled to the system, wherein the memory stores computer executable components and a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise: a characterization component configured to (column 1, line 50, according to an embodiment, a system is provided. The system can comprise a memory that can store computer executable components. The system can also comprise a processor, operably coupled to the memory, and that can execute the computer executable components stored in the memory. The computer executable components can comprise a circuit component, operatively coupled to the processor, that can create a quantum computing program over a period of time. The computer executable components can also comprise a visualization component, operatively coupled to the processor, that can generate a quantum state visualization that can depict a characterization of the quantum computing program over the period of time. An advantage of such a system can be that the quantum state visualization can depict how the quantum computing program has changed over the period of time);
receive a first code, wherein the first code is configured to be implemented in a quantum computing system (column 5, line 65, various embodiments of the present invention can be directed to computer processing systems, computer-implemented methods, apparatus and/or computer program products that facilitate the development and/or analysis of one or more quantum computing programs. For example, one or more embodiments can regard a circuit creation environment that can enable users to add quantum gates and/or write assembly code to develop one or more quantum computing programs);
compare the first code with a collection of characterized codes (column 2, line 29, in some examples, wherein the database archive can comprise additional operational data regarding a second quantum computing program. An advantage of such a computer-implemented method can be the facilitation of a comparative analysis between previous versions of a quantum computing program stored in an archive);
identify a second code in the collection of characterized codes, wherein the second code has functionality similar to the first code (column 5, line 57, further, the one or more systems, computer-implemented methods, and/or computer program products described herein can enable a quantum computing program developer to: implement a quantum computing program on various backend devices, analyze the development history of a quantum computing program to analyze the effect of one or more modifications, and/or compare and contrast various versions of a subject quantum computing program) and reference further teaches (see claims 2, 22 and 23).
characterize the first code with the second code by assigning the characterization of the second code to the first code (column 19, line 59, at 1506, the method 1500, can comprise displaying, by the system 100 (e.g., via the operations component 116), one or more modifications to the quantum computing program, wherein the modification can be generated by the system 100 to facilitate the modifying at 1504. For example, the displaying at 1506 can comprise generating (e.g., via the operations component 116) one or more preview displays in accordance with one or more embodiments described herein. For instance, the displaying at 1506 can comprise generating one or more preview displays that delineate the one or more modifications with respect to the initial, un-modified quantum computing program).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 18
Sharma et al teaches
the first code has not been previously implemented on the quantum computing system (column 9, line 52, example, operation restrictions of a particular backend device 107 can regard, for example: restricting the user on the use of entanglement between qubits that are not connected in the configuration of the quantum device, the use of multi-qubit gates (e.g., qubit connections in hardware of the subject backend device 107 can dictate how entangled multi-qubit gates and/or subroutines can be applied, limiting a number of sequential quantum gates a user can add to the subject quantum circuit (e.g., based on a coherence time of the subject backend device 107), a combination thereof, and/or the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-9, 11, 14-15 and 9-20 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al USPN 11,586,966 in view of Mulligan et al US 2022/0188949.
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 19
Sharma et al teaches,
Quantum computing content or functionality of the second code, (column 9, line 9, which can enable a user to write assembly code to direct one or more modifications to a circuit template and/or subject quantum circuit. For instance, assembly code entered into the first panel 202 can direct the circuit component 112 to add, subtract, relocate, and/or reposition one or more circuit parameters (e.g., quantum gates, barriers, operations, and/or subroutines), but doesn’t teach explicitly the second code has an assigned attribute, the assigned attribute identifies at least one of and and wherein characterizing the first code further comprises applying the assigned attribute of the second code as a first attribute of the first code however, Mulligan et al teaches [0042] extraction component 202 can extract first data from first policy data in a first policy and second data from second policy data in a second policy, where the first data and second data correspond to a feature (e.g., a characteristic and/or an attribute) of at least one entity (e.g., a target entity and/or a target cohort). As described above, in various embodiments of the subject disclosure, such first and/or second data can include, but is not limited to, structured data, unstructured data, textual data, alphanumeric data, token data, character data, object data, graph data, rule data, table data, and/or other data]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate attributes. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine teaching into code characterization system and to automate the process of characterization in quantum computing to include code attribute for more efficiently solve complex problems in optimization and modeling.
Regarding claims 4, 15 and 20
Sharma et al teaches
a vector component configured to represent each respective code in the collection of characterized codes with a respective vector (column 12, line 62, (56) FIG. 7 illustrates a diagram of an exemplary, non-limiting sixth quantum state visualization that can be generated by the visualization component 114 in accordance with one or more embodiments described herein. Repetitive description of like elements employed in other embodiments described herein is omitted for sake of brevity. The sixth quantum state visualization can be comprised with the circuit creation environment generated by the circuit component 112. For example, the sixth quantum state visualization can be comprised within the second panel 204 of the exemplary circuit creation environment 200. In one or more embodiments, the sixth quantum state visualization can be one or more Pauli vector diagrams)
represent the first code with a first vector representation (see fig 7, column 10, line 30, example characteristics that can be depicted by the one or more quantum state visualizations can include, but are not limited to: entanglement, decoherence, errors, the location of data in a quantum state, a combination thereof, and/or the like. In various embodiments, the visualization component 114 can generate various types of quantum visualizations. Example types of quantum state visualizations can include, but are not limited to: one or more Bloch spheres, one or more matrix representations, one or more quantum spheres, one or more Hinton plots, one or more cityscape diagrams, one or more Pauli vector diagrams, a combination thereof, and/or the like);
identify the respective vector in the collection of characterized codes having a vector value most similar to the vector value of the first vector representation (column 10, line 30, characteristics that can be depicted by the one or more quantum state visualizations can include, but are not limited to: entanglement, decoherence, errors, the location of data in a quantum state, a combination thereof, and/or the like. In various embodiments, the visualization component 114 can generate various types of quantum visualizations. Example types of quantum state visualizations can include, but are not limited to: one or more Bloch spheres, one or more matrix representations, one or more quantum spheres, one or more Hinton plots, one or more cityscape diagrams, one or more Pauli vector diagrams, a combination thereof, and/or the like). Sharma et al teaches vector representation but doesn’t teach explicitly a similarity component configured to: determine similarity between the first vector representation and each respective vector in the collection of characterized codes, however Mulligan et al teaches (see figs 3-4 and [0016] FIGS. 1, 2, and 3 illustrate block diagrams of example, non-limiting systems 100, 200, and 300, respectively, that can each facilitate contextual comparison of semantics in conditions of different policies in accordance with one or more embodiments described herein. System 100, 200, and 300 can each comprise a policy comparison system 102. Policy comparison system 102 of system 100 depicted in FIG. 1 can comprise a memory 104, a processor 106, a comparison component 108, a contextualization component 110, and/or a bus 112. Policy comparison system 102 of system 200 depicted in FIG. 2 can further comprise an extraction component 202. Policy comparison system 102 of system 300 depicted in FIG. 3 can further comprise a similarity component 302]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate similarity components in quantum computing. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine teaching into code characterization system to measure of how closely related two data points are in a vector space and it quantifies how alike or different two data points are based on their respective vector representations.
Regarding claim 7
Sharma et al teaches
identify at least one component required by the first code to implement the first code on the quantum computing system (column 2, line 11, according to an embodiment, a system is provided. The system can comprise a memory that can store computer executable components. The system can also comprise a processor, operably coupled to the memory, and that can execute the computer executable components stored in the memory. The computer executable components can comprise a circuit component, operatively coupled to the processor, that can generate a circuit creation environment to facilitate development of a quantum computing program. The computer executable components can also comprise a results component, operatively coupled to the processor, that can generate a display depicting a data set characterizing an operation of the quantum computing program based on a circuit modification generated in the circuit creation environment. An advantage of such a system can be the depiction of current quantum computing program results in-line with a circuit diagram of the respective quantum computing program);
determine whether the quantum computing system includes the at least one component (column 8, line 26, the circuit component 112 can generate a circuit creation environment, which can be presented to a user of the system 100 via the one or more input devices 106 and/or can facilitate development of one or more quantum computing programs. The circuit component 112 can receive one or more commands from a user of the system 100 that can direct a configuration of a subject quantum computing program within the circuit creation environment. For example, the circuit component 112 can facilitate development of a quantum computing program by enabling a user to direct the placement, relocation, addition, and/or subtraction of various parameters of a quantum circuit. For instance, the circuit component 112 can generate a circuit creation environment in which a user can manipulate the configuration of various quantum gates (e.g., qubit gates, unitary gates, a combination thereof, and/or the like), barriers, operations, and/or subroutines within a subject quantum circuit);
in response to a determination that the quantum computing system does not include the at least one component, recommend incorporation of the at least one component into the quantum computing system (column 10, line 6, referring again to FIG. 1, the visualization component 114 can generate one or more quantum state visualizations that can characterize a quantum computing program over a period of time. During the course of development, a quantum computing program can be subject to one or more modifications (e.g., implemented and/or facilitated by the circuit component 112). With each modification, one or more characteristics of the quantum computing program can be altered. The visualization component 114 can generate one or more quantum state visualizations to depict the one or more characteristics of the quantum computing program at various points in time during the development process. For example, the visualization component 114 can generate one or more quantum state visualizations in response to a modification to the subject quantum computing program being developed (e.g., in response to a modification to a circuit template and/or a subject quantum circuit). Additionally, and/or alternatively, the visualization component 114 can generate the one or more quantum state visualizations at defined time intervals throughout development of the quantum computing program. Further, the visualization component 114 can generate the one or more quantum state visualizations at defined stages of development of the quantum computing program). The feature of providing and implementing component in quantum computing… would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8
Sharma et al teaches
identify a function to be performed by the first code when implemented on the quantum computing system (column 16, line 62, The results received by the results component 118 can describe, for example, how a quantum computing program functioned when implemented (e.g., by the operations component 116) on a backend device 107. The results can comprise data regarding, for example: execution statistics (e.g., the date and/or time of a run operation, the date and/or time of a returned result, and/or a runtime), statistics regarding a subject backend device 107 (e.g., the kind of backend device 107, the number of iterations performed, qubit connectivity, qubit errors, coherence times, quantum state visualizations for the subject quantum circuit, a representation of the subject quantum circuit (e.g., a circuit diagram of the quantum circuit and/or assembly language code of the quantum circuit), a combination thereof, and/or the like);
determining whether the quantum computing system can perform the function in a more efficient manner than the implementation presented in the first code (column 31, line 7, As it is employed in the subject specification, the term “processor” can refer to substantially any computing processing unit or device including, but not limited to, single-core processors; single-processors with software multithread execution capability; multi-core processors; multi-core processors with software multithread execution capability; multi-core processors with hardware multithread technology; parallel platforms; and parallel platforms with distributed shared memory. Additionally, a processor can refer to an integrated circuit, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a programmable logic controller (PLC), a complex programmable logic device (CPLD), a discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described herein. Further, processors can exploit nano-scale architectures such as, but not limited to, molecular and quantum-dot based transistors, switches and gates, in order to optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment);
in response to a determination that a more efficient manner to achieve the function performed by the quantum computing system, amending the first code to recite the more efficient manner to achieve the function (column 10, line 6, referring again to FIG. 1, the visualization component 114 can generate one or more quantum state visualizations that can characterize a quantum computing program over a period of time. During the course of development, a quantum computing program can be subject to one or more modifications (e.g., implemented and/or facilitated by the circuit component 112). With each modification, one or more characteristics of the quantum computing program can be altered. The visualization component 114 can generate one or more quantum state visualizations to depict the one or more characteristics of the quantum computing program at various points in time during the development process. For example, the visualization component 114 can generate one or more quantum state visualizations in response to a modification to the subject quantum computing program being developed (e.g., in response to a modification to a circuit template and/or a subject quantum circuit). Additionally, and/or alternatively, the visualization component 114 can generate the one or more quantum state visualizations at defined time intervals throughout development of the quantum computing program. Further, the visualization component 114 can generate the one or more quantum state visualizations at defined stages of development of the quantum computing program). The feature of providing function work efficiently… would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9
Sharma et al teaches
parse the first code to identify a portion of code within the first code (column 5, line 47, compile and/or run quantum computing programs on multiple backend devices; view current operational characteristics of a quantum computing program as the circuit is being developed, and/or store previous versions and/or results of a quantum computing program to an archive. Advantageously, the centralized circuit creation environment can generate one or more visualizations to characterize how one or more features of a quantum computing program can change over time (e.g., can change over the course of development of the quantum computing program). Further, the one or more systems, computer-implemented methods, and/or computer program products described herein can enable a quantum computing program developer to: implement a quantum computing program on various backend devices, analyze the development history of a quantum computing program to analyze the effect of one or more modifications, and/or compare and contrast various versions of a subject quantum computing program);
extract the portion of code; compare the portion of code with the collection of characterized codes (column 18, line 33, the archive component 120 can store one or more quantum computing programs in the one or more experiment archives 128, whereupon a user of the system 100 can utilize one or more archive displays generated by the archive component 120 to view stored quantum circuits and associated data (e.g., data sets of results returned for stored quantum circuits). Additionally, the one or more archive displays can enable a user to instruct the archive component 120 to retrieve past quantum computing programs for editing and/or review (e.g., in a circuit creation environment generated by the circuit component 112);
identify a third code in the collection of characterized codes, wherein the third code has functionality similar to the portion of code (column 11, line 52, The visualization component 114 can generate multiple types of quantum state visualizations to characterize the same quantum computing program. Further, a user of the system 100 can select (e.g., via the one or more input devices 106) a desired type of quantum state visualization to be depicted (e.g., within a circuit creation environment created by the circuit component 112). Further, a user can control (e.g., via the one or more input devices 106) the circuit creation environment (e.g., the second panel 204 of the exemplary circuit creation environment 200) to change the type of quantum state visualization depicted);
characterize the portion of code with the third code by ascribing the characterization of the third code to the portion of code (column 16, line 10, moreover, the operations component 116 can debug a quantum circuit before running and/or compiling the quantum computing program on a backend device 107. For example, the operations component 116 can generate one or more debug displays, which can depict the subject quantum circuit and/or one or more quantum state visualizations (e.g., generated by the visualization component 114) characterizing various portions of the quantum circuit. For example, the one or more debug displays generated by the operations component 116 can comprise one or more quantum state visualization generated by the visualization component 114, which can depict how one or more debug operations performed by the operations component 116 can affect the quantum circuit). The feature of providing parsing…would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11
Sharma et al teaches
the first format is a high-level programming language and the second format is a low-level programming language (column 24, line 50, computer readable program instructions for carrying out operations of the present invention may be assembler instructions, instruction-set-architecture (ISA) instructions, machine instructions, machine dependent instructions, microcode, firmware instructions, state-setting data, configuration data for integrated circuitry, or either source code or object code written in any combination of one or more programming languages, including an object oriented programming language such as Smalltalk, C++, or the like, and procedural programming languages, such as the “C” programming language or similar programming languages). The feature of providing programming language… would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art
US 11599450 B2 Geller et al Debugging Quantum Programs
US 8463799 B2 Davis et al System And Method For Consolidating Search Engine Results
US 12165004 B2 Pichler et al teaches Quantum Computing For Combinatorial Optimization Problems Using Programmable Atom Arrays
Conclusion
/ANIL KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191