DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, last line, the phase “a optical total length” should be “an optical total length”; and
Claim 20, last two lines, the phase “a optical total length” should be “an optical total length”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh US 2008/0130143.
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses an optical lens, from an object side to an imaging plane along an optical axis, in at least figs.1-3 and 13-15, sequentially comprising: a first group (LG1), a second group (LG2), and protective glass (a cover glass, para.54 and 77);
the first group has a positive focal power (see figs.1 and 13), and the first group sequentially comprises, from the object side to the imaging plane along the optical axis, a first substrate (L12) and a first lens (L13) bonded together; an object side surface or image side surface of the first substrate is coated with a stop (AS)(see figs.1 and 13);
the second group has a negative focal power (see figs.1 and 13), and the second group sequentially comprises, from the object side to an image side along the optical axis, a second lens (L21), a second substrate (L22), and a third lens (L23) bonded together (see figs.1 and 13);
wherein a working object distance of the optical lens is from 5 mm to infinity (see para.82 and table 1 and fig.1, working object distance =object height H/(2xtan(30°))=0.866H, so that working object distance is great than TTL=2.78mm);
the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: TTL/θ=5.3094 mm/rad, where TTL represents a distance from an object side surface of the first group to the imaging plane on the optical axis, and θ represents a maximum half field angle of the optical lens (para.82).
Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.6 mm/rad<TTL/θ<1 mm/rad. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.6 mm/rad<TTL/θ<1 mm/rad through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.6 mm/rad<TTL/θ<1 mm/rad in the optical lens of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens and increasing field of view of the optical lens to improve the optical performance of the optical lens.
Regarding claim 2, Oh discloses the first group further comprises a fourth lens (L11) bonded to the object side surface of the first substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Oh discloses bonding method includes nanoimprint method or etching method, a number of groups with a focal power in the optical lens is two (see figs.1 and 13. Also, the claim recitation of “bonding method includes nanoimprint method or etching method” is considered product by process claim limitation which does not differentiate the claimed structure from the prior art (MPEP 2113)).
Regarding claim 4, Oh discloses an image side surface of the first lens is convex (see figs.1 and 13), and an image side surface of the third lens is concave in a vicinity of the optical axis (see figs.1 and 13).
Regarding claim 5, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: f/F#=0.71786mm (para.82), wherein f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens, and F# represents an aperture value of the optical lens. Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.06 mm<f/F#<0.1 mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.06 mm<f/F#<0.1 mm through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.06 mm<f/F#<0.1 mm in the optical lens of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens and achieving high resolution imaging of small objects.
Regarding claim 6, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: −1<fQ1/fQ2<−0.05 (-0.6, para.82), where fQ1 represents an effective focal length of the first group, and fQ2 represents an effective focal length of the second group.
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.2<fQ1/f<2 (1.458, para.82), where fQ1 represents an effective focal length of the first group, and f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens.
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: fQ2/f<−0.1 (-2.4, para.82), where fQ2 represents an effective focal length of the second group, and f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens.
Regarding claim 9, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 1<D/H<1.3, (see fig.1, D/H=1.104) where D represents a maximum effective diameter of the first and second substrates, and H represents a full image height of the optical lens.
Regarding claim 10, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.3 mm<CTQ1<0.6 mm (0.5698 mm, see table 1), CTQ2= 0.75 mm (see table 1), wherein CTQ1 represents a center thickness of the first group on the optical axis, and CTQ2 represents a center thickness of the second group on the optical axis.
Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.1 mm<CTQ2<0.3 mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.1 mm<CTQ2<0.3 mm through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.1 mm<CTQ2<0.3 mm in the optical lens of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens and achieving high resolution imaging of small objects.
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.8<TTL/D<1, where D represents a maximum effective diameter of the first and second substrates (see fig.1, TTL/D=0.9786).
Regarding claim 12, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: H/FOV=0.0387 mm/° (para.82 discloses H=2.32 mm, FOV=60°), wherein H represents a full image height of the optical lens, and FOV represents a maximum field of view angle of the optical lens.
Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.006 mm/°<H/FOV<0.009 mm/°. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.006 mm/°<H/FOV<0.009 mm/° through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.006 mm/°<H/FOV<0.009 mm/° in the optical lens of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens, increasing field of view of the optical lens, and achieving high resolution imaging of small objects.
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: CT12=0.6690mm, CT1/CT2=0.0698/0.13=0.54 (see table 1), wherein CT12 represents an air gap between the first lens and the second lens on the optical axis, CT1 represents a center thickness of the first lens, and CT2 represents a center thickness of the second lens.
Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.01 mm<CT12<0.1 mm and 2<CT1/CT2<10 However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.01 mm<CT12<0.1 mm and 2<CT1/CT2<10 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.01 mm<CT12<0.1 mm and 2<CT1/CT2<10 in the optical lens of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens and achieving high resolution imaging of small objects.
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses a maximum field of view angle FOV of the optical lens is 60°, and an optical total length TTL of the optical lens is 2.78 mm.
Oh does not explicitly disclose FOV is ≥115°, and TTL is ≤1 mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to FOV is ≥115°, and TTL is ≤1 mm through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have FOV is ≥115°, and TTL is ≤1 mm in the optical lens of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens, increasing field of view of the optical lens, and achieving high resolution imaging of small objects.
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses a camera module (para.3), in at least figs.1-3 and 13-15, comprising an optical lens (see figs.1 and 13 and para.54 and 77) and an imaging element (image sensor, para.53), wherein the imaging element is configured to convert an optical image formed by the optical lens into an electrical signal (see figs.1 and 13 and para.53),
the optical lens, from an object side to an imaging plane along an optical axis, in at least figs.1-3 and 13-15, sequentially comprising: a first group (LG1), a second group (LG2), and protective glass (a cover glass, para.54 and 77);
the first group has a positive focal power (see figs.1 and 13), and the first group sequentially comprises, from the object side to the imaging plane along the optical axis, a first substrate (L12) and a first lens (L13) bonded together; an object side surface or image side surface of the first substrate is coated with a stop (AS)(see figs.1 and 13);
the second group has a negative focal power (see figs.1 and 13), and the second group sequentially comprises, from the object side to an image side along the optical axis, a second lens (L21), a second substrate (L22), and a third lens (L23) bonded together (see figs.1 and 13);
wherein a working object distance of the optical lens is from 5 mm to infinity (see para.82 and table 1 and fig.1, working object distance =object height H/(2xtan(30°))=0.866H, so that working object distance is great than TTL=2.78mm);
the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: TTL/θ=5.3094 mm/rad, where TTL represents a distance from an object side surface of the first group to the imaging plane on the optical axis, and θ represents a maximum half field angle of the optical lens (para.82).
Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.6 mm/rad<TTL/θ<1 mm/rad. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.6 mm/rad<TTL/θ<1 mm/rad through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.6 mm/rad<TTL/θ<1 mm/rad in the camera module of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens and increasing field of view of the optical lens to improve the optical performance of the optical lens.
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses the first group further comprises a fourth lens (L11) bonded to the object side surface of the first substrate.
Regarding claim 17, Oh discloses bonding method includes nanoimprint method or etching method, a number of groups with a focal power in the optical lens is two (see figs.1 and 13. Also, the claim recitation of “bonding method includes nanoimprint method or etching method” is considered product by process claim limitation which does not differentiate the claimed structure from the prior art (MPEP 2113)).
Regarding claim 18, Oh discloses an image side surface of the first lens is convex (see figs.1 and 13), and an image side surface of the third lens is concave in a vicinity of the optical axis (see figs.1 and 13).
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: f/F#=0.71786mm (para.82), wherein f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens, and F# represents an aperture value of the optical lens. Oh does not explicitly disclose 0.06 mm<f/F#<0.1 mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.06 mm<f/F#<0.1 mm through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.06 mm<f/F#<0.1 mm in the camera module of Oh for the purpose of reducing the size of the optical lens and achieving high resolution imaging of small objects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: −1<fQ1/fQ2<−0.05, where fQ1 represents an effective focal length of the first group, and fQ2 represents an effective focal length of the second group, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.2<fQ1/f<2, where fQ1 represents an effective focal length of the first group, and f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: fQ2/f<−0.1, where fQ2 represents an effective focal length of the second group, and f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 1<D/H<1.3, where D represents a maximum effective diameter of the first and second substrates, and H represents a full image height of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.3 mm<CTQ1<0.6 mm, 0.1 mm<CTQ2<0.3 mm, wherein CTQ1 represents a center thickness of the first group on the optical axis, and CTQ2 represents a center thickness of the second group on the optical axis, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.8<TTL/D<1, where D represents a maximum effective diameter of the first and second substrates, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.006 mm/°<H/FOV<0.009 mm/°, wherein H represents a full image height of the optical lens, and FOV represents a maximum field of view angle of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.01 mm<CT12<0.1 mm, 2<CT1/CT2<10, wherein CT12 represents an air gap between the first lens and the second lens on the optical axis, CT1 represents a center thickness of the first lens, and CT2 represents a center thickness of the second lens, wherein a maximum field of view angle FOV of the optical lens is ≥115°, and an optical total length TTL of the optical lens is ≤1 mm”, along with other claim limitations.
Oh US 2008/0130143, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest “the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: −1<fQ1/fQ2<−0.05, where fQ1 represents an effective focal length of the first group, and fQ2 represents an effective focal length of the second group, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.2<fQ1/f<2, where fQ1 represents an effective focal length of the first group, and f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: fQ2/f<−0.1, where fQ2 represents an effective focal length of the second group, and f represents an effective focal length of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 1<D/H<1.3, where D represents a maximum effective diameter of the first and second substrates, and H represents a full image height of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.3 mm<CTQ1<0.6 mm, 0.1 mm<CTQ2<0.3 mm, wherein CTQ1 represents a center thickness of the first group on the optical axis, and CTQ2 represents a center thickness of the second group on the optical axis, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.8<TTL/D<1, where D represents a maximum effective diameter of the first and second substrates, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.006 mm/°<H/FOV<0.009 mm/°, wherein H represents a full image height of the optical lens, and FOV represents a maximum field of view angle of the optical lens, wherein the optical lens satisfies a conditional expression: 0.01 mm<CT12<0.1 mm, 2<CT1/CT2<10, wherein CT12 represents an air gap between the first lens and the second lens on the optical axis, CT1 represents a center thickness of the first lens, and CT2 represents a center thickness of the second lens, wherein a maximum field of view angle FOV of the optical lens is ≥115°, and an optical total length TTL of the optical lens is ≤1 mm”, along with other claim limitations.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871