DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) Regarding claim 4:
Line 2 recites “a new PO”, the term has been introduced in claim 1, line 16, the examiner suggests changing to “the new PO”.
(2) Regarding claim 11:
Line 3 recites “a new PO”, the term has been introduced in claim 8, line 16, the examiner suggests changing to “the new PO”.
(3) Regarding claim 16:
Line 1 recites “wherein processor is configured to”; since “processor” is mentioned in claim 15, line 4, the examiner suggests changing to “wherein the processor is configured to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0322269 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Chen discloses a method for performing paging enhancement, the method comprising:
detecting, with a mobile device having multiple universal subscriber identity modules (USIMs) including a first USIM subscribed with a first cellular communications network and a second USIM subscribed with a second cellular telecommunications network (the multi-SIM UE registers to the Network A and the Network B, para. 0055), a paging collision by comparing a first paging occasion (PO) for the first USIM with a second PO for the second USIM (when the (multi-SIM) UE determines that a paging collision has happened (or detects a paging collision), the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger a UE ID reassignment procedure, para. 055), wherein the first PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the first USIM and the second PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the second USIM (The paging occasions in the 5GS (with 5GC) are determined or calculated based on a UE ID (e.g., a temporary identifier (5G-S-TMSI), etc.) that may be reassigned over time. The formula and related parameters for calculating the PF and the POs in 5GS may be predefined (e.g., as defined in the 3GPP TS 38.304). For example, the PF and PO for the paging may be determined by the following formula: [0047] SFN for the PF is determined by equation in paragraph 0047-0048; where UE ID may be: UE ID: 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024 (in the 5GS), para. 0046-0051; It should be noted that the SG-S-TMSI may be derived from the SG-GUTI, para. 0055);
selecting, in response to detecting the paging collision, one of the first USIM and the second USIM for which to request a new temporary user equipment identity, wherein the one of the first USIM and the second USIM is selected according to a network preference rule (when the UE determines or detects that a paging collision has happened, the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure with the selected network among the Network A and the Network B based on at least one of the UE implementations, pre-defined rules, configurations, policies from operators, NW commands, network priority, randomly, UE NAS determination, UE AS determination, and supporting the UE ID reassignment procedure of a network, para. 0055);
requesting the new temporary user equipment identity from one of the first cellular telecommunications networks and the second cellular telecommunications network that the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM is subscribed with (when the UE selects a network related to the 5GS (or 5GC) to initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure (e.g., a registration procedure, a UE configuration update procedure, a PDU session establishment procedure, a PDU session modification procedure, or a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure), the UE (e.g., the NAS layer of the UE, the AS layer of the UE) may calculate or determine a new UE ID (e.g., a new 5G-S-TMSI) as assistance information for the 5GS (or 5GC, or AMF) to reassign the UE ID, para. 0056);
continuing communications with the corresponding one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network using a new PO defined by the new temporary user equipment identity for the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM (the new UE ID received from the 5GS (or 5GC) may be used by the UE to replace the existing UE ID for the corresponding/selected network stored in the UE. That is, the received UE ID may be used for PF/PO calculation and for monitoring paging record(s) in paging message(s), para. 0059; the examiner interprets the process of continues of PF/PO calculation and for monitoring paging record in paging messages as the step of continuing communications with the corresponding one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network using a new PO defined by the new temporary user equipment identity for the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM).
(2) Regarding claim 8:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program configured to cause a processor of a mobile device (The software implementation may comprise computer-executable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium, such as memory or other types of storage devices, para. 0020), which has multiple universal subscriber identity module (USIMs) for communicating with at least one cellular telecommunications network, to:
detect a paging collision by comparing a first paging occasion (PO) for a first USIM of the mobile device subscribed with a first cellular communications network with a second PO for a second USIM of the mobile device subscribed with a second cellular telecommunications network (the multi-SIM UE registers to the Network A and the Network B, para. 0055), wherein the first PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the first USIM and the second PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the second USIM (when the (multi-SIM) UE determines that a paging collision has happened (or detects a paging collision), the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger a UE ID reassignment procedure, para. 055), wherein the first PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the first USIM and the second PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the second USIM (The paging occasions in the 5GS (with 5GC) are determined or calculated based on a UE ID (e.g., a temporary identifier (5G-S-TMSI), etc.) that may be reassigned over time. The formula and related parameters for calculating the PF and the POs in 5GS may be predefined (e.g., as defined in the 3GPP TS 38.304). For example, the PF and PO for the paging may be determined by the following formula: [0047] SFN for the PF is determined by equation in paragraph 0047-0048; where UE ID may be: UE ID: 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024 (in the 5GS), para. 0046-0051; It should be noted that the SG-S-TMSI may be derived from the SG-GUTI, para. 0055);
select, in response to detecting the paging collision, one of the first USIM and the second USIM for which to request a new temporary user equipment identity, wherein the one of the first USIM and the second USIM is selected according to a network preference rule (when the UE determines or detects that a paging collision has happened, the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure with the selected network among the Network A and the Network B based on at least one of the UE implementations, pre-defined rules, configurations, policies from operators, NW commands, network priority, randomly, UE NAS determination, UE AS determination, and supporting the UE ID reassignment procedure of a network, para. 0055);
request the new temporary user equipment identity from one of the first cellular telecommunications networks and the second cellular telecommunications network that the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM is subscribed with (when the UE selects a network related to the 5GS (or 5GC) to initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure (e.g., a registration procedure, a UE configuration update procedure, a PDU session establishment procedure, a PDU session modification procedure, or a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure), the UE (e.g., the NAS layer of the UE, the AS layer of the UE) may calculate or determine a new UE ID (e.g., a new 5G-S-TMSI) as assistance information for the 5GS (or 5GC, or AMF) to reassign the UE ID, para. 0056); and
continue communications with the corresponding one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network using a new PO defined by the new temporary user equipment identity for the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM (the new UE ID received from the 5GS (or 5GC) may be used by the UE to replace the existing UE ID for the corresponding/selected network stored in the UE. That is, the received UE ID may be used for PF/PO calculation and for monitoring paging record(s) in paging message(s), para. 0059; the examiner interprets the process of continues of PF/PO calculation and for monitoring paging record in paging messages as the step of continuing communications with the corresponding one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network using a new PO defined by the new temporary user equipment identity for the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM).
(3) Regarding claim 15:
Chen discloses a system for performing paging enhancement , the system comprising:
a mobile device having a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) subscribed with a first cellular communications network, a second USIM subscribed with a second cellular communications network (the multi-SIM UE registers to the Network A and the Network B, para. 0055), a processor (processor 326, para. 0244), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program (computer readable media may include computer storage media and communication media, communication media may typically embody computer readable instructions, and program module, para. 0230-0242), wherein the computer program configures the processor to:
detect a paging collision by comparing a first paging occasion (PO) for the first USIM with a second PO for the second USIM (when the (multi-SIM) UE determines that a paging collision has happened (or detects a paging collision), the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger a UE ID reassignment procedure, para. 055), wherein the first PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the first USIM and the second PO is defined by a temporary user equipment identity assigned to the second USIM (The paging occasions in the 5GS (with 5GC) are determined or calculated based on a UE ID (e.g., a temporary identifier (5G-S-TMSI), etc.) that may be reassigned over time. The formula and related parameters for calculating the PF and the POs in 5GS may be predefined (e.g., as defined in the 3GPP TS 38.304). For example, the PF and PO for the paging may be determined by the following formula: [0047] SFN for the PF is determined by equation in paragraph 0047-0048; where UE ID may be: UE ID: 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024 (in the 5GS), para. 0046-0051; It should be noted that the SG-S-TMSI may be derived from the SG-GUTI, para. 0055),
select, in response to detecting the paging collision, one of the first USIM and the second USIM for which to request a new temporary user equipment identity, wherein the one of the first USIM and the second USIM is selected according to a network preference rule (when the UE determines or detects that a paging collision has happened, the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure with the selected network among the Network A and the Network B based on at least one of the UE implementations, pre-defined rules, configurations, policies from operators, NW commands, network priority, randomly, UE NAS determination, UE AS determination, and supporting the UE ID reassignment procedure of a network, para. 0055),
request a new temporary user equipment identity from one of the first cellular telecommunications networks and the second cellular telecommunications network that the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM is subscribed with (when the UE selects a network related to the 5GS (or 5GC) to initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure (e.g., a registration procedure, a UE configuration update procedure, a PDU session establishment procedure, a PDU session modification procedure, or a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure), the UE (e.g., the NAS layer of the UE, the AS layer of the UE) may calculate or determine a new UE ID (e.g., a new 5G-S-TMSI) as assistance information for the 5GS (or 5GC, or AMF) to reassign the UE ID, para. 0056), and
continue communications with the corresponding one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network using a new paging occasion defined by the new temporary user equipment identity for the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM (the new UE ID received from the 5GS (or 5GC) may be used by the UE to replace the existing UE ID for the corresponding/selected network stored in the UE. That is, the received UE ID may be used for PF/PO calculation and for monitoring paging record(s) in paging message(s), para. 0059; the examiner interprets the process of continues of PF/PO calculation and for monitoring paging record in paging messages as the step of continuing communications with the corresponding one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network using a new PO defined by the new temporary user equipment identity for the selected one of the first USIM and the second USIM).
(4) Regarding claims 2, 9, 16:
Chen discloses all subject matter of claims 1, 8, and 15, and further discloses verifying that the new temporary user equipment identity does not cause a new paging collision with a PO of another USIM of the mobile device (In some implementations, if the paging collision is resolved, the UE may abort the initiated/triggered/ongoing UE ID reassignment procedure (e.g., a registration procedure, para. 0085; the examiner suggests collision is resolved as verifying the new temporary user equipment identity does not cause a new paging collision with a PO of another USIM of the mobile device).
(5) Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18:
Chen discloses all subject matter of claims 1, 8, 15, and further discloses the network preference rules specifies one of the first USIM and the second USIM is a primary USIM for which to request the new temporary user equipment identity for (when the multi-SIM UE registers to the Network A and the Network B, the UE may initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure with one of the networks (e.g., the Network A or the Network B). In some implementations, when the UE determines or detects that a paging collision has happened, the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger the UE ID reassignment procedure with the selected network among the Network A and the Network B based on at least one of the UE implementations, pre-defined rules, para. 0055).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0322269 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (US 2024/0089918 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11:
Chen discloses all subject matter of claims 2 and 9, and further discloses the UE may (re)start the timer T1 after the UE ID reassignment procedure is successfully completed, para. 0066; if the paging collision is resolved, the UE may abort the initiated/triggered/ongoing UE ID reassignment procedure, para. 0085, 0125; but fails to explicitly disclose the verifying step includes repeating the step of detecting a paging collision based on a new PO determined from the new temporary user equipment identity.
However, Shrivastava discloses in figure 7, step S710 of determine whether maximum number of attempts of sending signaling for page collision with response is reached and a timer for paging collision avoidance is expired (para. 0180-0181). Therefore, it is repeatedly testing if the paging collision is resolved after the selected SIM is performing paging collision.
It is desirable to have the verifying step includes repeating the step of detecting a paging collision based on a new PO determined from the new temporary user equipment identity because it confirm the paging collision situation is resolved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Shrivastava in the method of Chen for the benefit of avoiding paging collision.
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0322269 A1).
(1) Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19:
Chen discloses all subject matter of claims 1, 8, and 15, and further discloses the mobile device is a 5G mobile device having a single transmit antenna and a single receive antenna (device as shown in figure 3 has only one antenna, para. 0237), wherein each temporary user equipment identity comprises a 5G global unique temporary user equipment identity (5G GUTI) (new 5G-GUTI, para. 0055), and wherein at least one of the first cellular telecommunications network and the second cellular telecommunications network is a 5G network (para. 0055).
Chen fails to disclose the 5G network is a cloud-native fifth-generation (5G) standalone (SA) open-radio access network (O-RAN).
However, the examiner interprets the claimed cloud-native fifth-generation (5G) standalone (SA) open-radio access network (O-RAN) is one of type of 5G network and is well known in the art (as evidence by Beckwith et al. (US 2024/0022948 A1), para. 0063), therefore the 5G network of Chen covers the claimed cloud-native fifth-generation (5G) standalone (SA) open-radio access network (O-RAN), thus satisfied the claimed limitation.
(2) Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20:
Chen discloses all subject matter of claims 6, 13, and 19, and further discloses the network preference rule prioritizes requesting the new 5G GUTI for one of the first USIM and the second USIM that is subscribed with the 5G SA O-RAN (when the (multi-SIM) UE determines that a paging collision has happened (or detects a paging collision), the (multi-SIM) UE may initiate/trigger a UE ID reassignment procedure (e.g., to request a new UE ID for a new 5G-GUTI, a new 5G-S-TMSI, or a new IMSI). It should be noted that the 5G-S-TMSI may be derived from the 5G-GUTI, para. 0055).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ly et al. (US 2022/0240213 A1) discloses apparatus, system, method, and computer-readable medium for cellular system enhancement for the support of multi-SIM user equipment.
Basu (WO/2022/009177 A1) discloses paging management for multiple universal subscriber identity modules.
Shrivastava et al. (US 2024/0089918 A1) discloses paging collision avoidance by UE comprising plurality of RAT networks and SIMs cellular network.
Vayilapelli et al. (US 2018/0199303 A1) discloses network management of subscriber for IoT devices.
Vadapalli et al. (US 11,595,940 B1) discloses paging collision avoidance in a multi-subscriber identity module (MSIM) user equipment, and associated devices, systems, and methods.
Gupta et al. (US 2023/0096752 A1) discloses paging timing collision control.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 3/7/2026