DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 3/22/24. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 7, 14, 17, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art of record fails to disclose change a location at which the icon is displayed, and display, on the icon, the partial area of the first execution screen corresponding to the location at which the icon is displayed while the display location of the icon is changed, in combination with other limitations recited within the claimed context. The claims present a combination of limitations that differ from the cited art, and there is no reasonable combination of references that would teach it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-11, 13, 15-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (2015/0185980) in view of Kim (2015/0128068.)
Claim 1, 11, 19: An discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display (Fig. 1A: 110, screen); memory storing one or more computer programs (Fig. 8: 820, Memory); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the display and the memory (Fig. 8: 810, Processor),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectivelly, cause the electronic device to:
display a first execution screen of a first application on the display (Fig. 1A: video; Fig. 2A: App1; par. 44-50, displays a first running application),
identify whether the first application is required to be displayed as an icon in response to a request for displaying an execution screen of a second application (Fig. 1A: 114; par. 46, if a pop-up play button 114 displayed on the screen 110 is selected, the video being played is continuously displayed in a pop-up area 132; par. 58-59, based on criteria / settings),
based on that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, display an icon, which displays a partial area (Fig. 1C: the pop-window shows only a portion of the area of the original video) of the first execution screen as at least a part thereof, on a second execution screen of the second application while displaying the second execution screen on the display (par. 44-46, Fig. 1C: selection of the pop-up play button 114 results in the video being played back in a pop-up area 132; par. 47-53, Fig. 2C: the first application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 232; par. 54-63, 3B: the first application / video playback application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 322; par. 64-66, Fig. 4A, 4B: a tap input results in the first application being displayed in a pop-up window,)
based on that the first application is not required to be displayed as the icon, display the second execution screen of the second application on the display (par. 44-46, Fig. 1B: selection of the SEE button results in the video playback being stopped and displaying a messaging application instead; par. 47-53, Fig. 2D: the first application is displayed in a split-window manner in area 242; par. 54-63, 3D: the first application / internet application is displayed in a split- window manner in area 342; par. 64-66, Fig. 4C, 4D: a drag input results in the first application being displayed in a split-window manner.) The pop-up window in D1 is taken to correspond to an icon. Displaying an application in a split-window manner, side-by-side with a second application, is considered as not being displayed as an icon.)
However, An does not explicitly disclose:
based on that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, identify a first location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen,
identify a first area of the first execution screen corresponding to the first location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen, the first area being configured to be displayed as the partial area of the first execution screen, and
display the icon, which displays the first area, as the partial area, of the first execution screen, at the first location on the second execution screen.
Kim discloses a similar device for displaying several user interfaces simultaneously, including:
based on that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, identify a first location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen,
identify a first area of the first execution screen corresponding to the first location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen, the first area being configured to be displayed as the partial area of the first execution screen, and
display the icon, which displays the first area, as the partial area, of the first execution screen, at the first location on the second execution screen (Fig. 12A, shows 1200 application which is then overlaid by a second application (Fig. 12B: 256) and as a result, the first application is displayed as a rectangular “icon” with the location and the area of the icon corresponding to that of the first application.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of An with Kim so as to allow the user to continue perceiving any changes in the first application that are and in areas that are relevant to the user.
Claim 3, 13: An and Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on a user input for changing, on the second execution screen, a display location of the icon, identify a second location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen, identify a second area of the first execution screen corresponding to the second location, and display the icon which displays the second area, as the partial area, of the first execution screen at the second location on the second execution screen (An Fig. 6A; par. 76, The size of the displayed pop-up window can be adjusted according to a user input. For example, when a drag input is provided in an outward direction of the window from the boundary area of the pop-up window, the boundary of the pop-up window can extend on the basis of a drag length in a corresponding direction.)
Claim 5, 15: An and Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display the icon which displays a third area of the first execution screen at a third location on the second execution screen, and based on an icon display mode of the first application, in response to a user input for changing a display location of the icon to a fourth location different from the third location, display the icon which displays the third area of the first execution screen at the fourth location on the second execution screen (An Fig. 6A: 612, par. 75-76, size of the displayed pop-up window can be adjusted according to a user input.)
Claim 6, 16: An and Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display the icon which displays a fourth area of the first execution screen at a fifth location (An Fig. 6A: top right corner) of the second execution screen, and based on an icon display mode of the first application, in response to a touch drag input for a location at which the icon is displayed change an area of the first execution screen displayed as the partial area on the icon according to a direction of a touch drag input (An Fig. 6A: 612, par. 75-76, size of the displayed pop-up window can be adjusted according to a user input) while continuously displaying the icon at the fifth location (An Fig. 6A: top right corner).
Claim 8, 18: An and Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to
display a first object for changing a size of the icon (An Fig. 6B: 626), a second object for changing a size of the partial area of the first execution screen displayed on the icon, and a third object for changing an icon display mode of the first application (An Fig. 1A: 114; par. 46, if a pop-up play button 114 displayed on the screen 110 is selected, the video being played is continuously displayed in a pop-up area 132.)
Claim 9, 18: An and Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
based on information stored in connection with the first application, identify: a display location of the icon on the second execution screen, a size of the icon, a size of the partial area of the first execution screen displayed on the icon, and an icon display mode of the first application (An par. 44-46, Fig. 1C: selection of the pop-up play button 114 results in the video being played back in a pop-up area 132; par. 47-53, Fig. 2C: the first application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 232; par. 54-63, 3B: the first application / video playback application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 322; par. 64-66, Fig. 4A, 4B: a tap input results in the first application being displayed in a pop-up window.)
Claim 10, 18: An and Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to identify that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, based on that the first application is a game application (An par. 51, On the basis of a device setting, user setting, a property of a running application, or other factors, an area where the first application is displayed and an area where the second application is displayed can be exchanged with each other.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Gilra (7,956,869) See-through applications.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
6/17/26