DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 3/22/24. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 14, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art of record fails to disclose change a location at which the icon is displayed, and display, on the icon, the partial area of the first execution screen corresponding to the location at which the icon is displayed while the display location of the icon is changed, in combination with other limitations recited within the claimed context. The claims present a combination of limitations that differ from the cited art, and there is no reasonable combination of references that would teach it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An (2015/0185980.)
Claim 1, 11, 19: An discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display (Fig. 1A: 110, screen); memory storing one or more computer programs (Fig. 8: 820, Memory); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the display and the memory (Fig. 8: 810, Processor),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to:
display a first execution screen of a first application on the display (Fig. 1A: video; Fig. 2A: App1; par. 44-50, displays a first running application),
identify whether the first application is required to be displayed as an icon in response to a request for displaying an execution screen of a second application (Fig. 1A: 114; par. 46, if a pop-up play button 114 displayed on the screen 110 is selected, the video being played is continuously displayed in a pop-up area 132; par. 58-59, based on criteria / settings),
based on that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, display an icon for displaying a partial area (Fig. 1C: the pop-window shows only a portion of the area of the original video) of the first execution screen on a second execution screen while displaying the second execution screen of the second application on the display (par. 44-46, Fig. 1C: selection of the pop-up play button 114 results in the video being played back in a pop-up area 132; par. 47-53, Fig. 2C: the first application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 232; par. 54-63, 3B: the first application / video playback application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 322; par. 64-66, Fig. 4A, 4B: a tap input results in the first application being displayed in a pop-up window) and
based on that the first application is not required to be displayed as the icon, display the second execution screen of the second application on the display (par. 44-46, Fig. 1B: selection of the SEE button results in the video playback being stopped and displaying a messaging application instead; par. 47-53, Fig. 2D: the first application is displayed in a split-window manner in area 242; par. 54-63, 3D: the first application / internet application is displayed in a split- window manner in area 342; par. 64-66, Fig. 4C, 4D: a drag input results in the first application being displayed in a split-window manner.) The pop-up window in D1 is taken to correspond to an icon. Displaying an application in a split-window manner, side-by-side with a second application, is considered as not being displayed as an icon.)
Claim 5, 15: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to:
display the icon for displaying a third area of the first execution screen at a third location on the second execution screen, and based on an icon display mode of the first application, display the icon for displaying the third area of the first execution screen at a fourth location in response to a user input of changing a display location of the icon to the fourth location different from the third location (Fig. 6A: 612, par. 75-76, size of the displayed pop-up window can be adjusted according to a user input.)
Claim 6, 16: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to:
display the icon for displaying a fourth area of the first execution screen at a fifth location (Fig. 6A: top right corner) of the second execution screen, and based on an icon display mode of the first application, change the partial area of the first execution screen displayed on the icon according to a direction of a touch drag input (Fig. 6A: 612, par. 75-76, size of the displayed pop-up window can be adjusted according to a user input) while continuously displaying the icon at the fifth location (Fig. 6A: top right corner) in response to the touch drag input for the icon.
Claim 7, 17: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to:
identify a screen change in each area of the first execution screen, and based on the screen change, display a fifth area of the first execution screen on the icon (Fig. 1A: 114; par. 46, if a pop-up play button 114 displayed on the screen 110 is selected, the video being played is continuously displayed in a pop-up area 132.)
Claim 8, 18: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to
display a first object for changing a size of the icon (Fig. 6B: 626), a second object for changing a size of the partial area of the first execution screen displayed on the icon, and a third object for changing an icon display mode of the first application (Fig. 1A: 114; par. 46, if a pop-up play button 114 displayed on the screen 110 is selected, the video being played is continuously displayed in a pop-up area 132.)
Claim 9, 18: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to
identify a display location of the icon, a size of the icon, a size of the partial area of the first execution screen displayed on the icon, and an icon display mode of the first application, based on information stored in connection with the first application (par. 44-46, Fig. 1C: selection of the pop-up play button 114 results in the video being played back in a pop-up area 132; par. 47-53, Fig. 2C: the first application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 232; par. 54-63, 3B: the first application / video playback application is displayed in a pop-up window in area 322; par. 64-66, Fig. 4A, 4B: a tap input results in the first application being displayed in a pop-up window.)
Claim 10, 18: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to
identify that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, based on that the first application is a game application (par. 51, On the basis of a device setting, user setting, a property of a running application, or other factors, an area where the first application is displayed and an area where the second application is displayed can be exchanged with each other.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Mankovskii (2016/0266878.)
Claim 2, 12: An discloses the electronic device of claim 1. However, An does not explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: based on that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, identify a first location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen, and based on a first area of the first execution screen corresponding to the first location, display the icon for displaying the first area of the first execution screen at the first location.
Mankovskii discloses a similar method for picture in picture displaying, including blocking out portions of underlying content, further including: wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: based on that the first application is required to be displayed as the icon, identify a first location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen, and based on a first area of the first execution screen corresponding to the first location, display the icon for displaying the first area of the first execution screen at the first location (par. 28, users can add squares, triangles, rectangles, circles, etc. in different portions of the display in order to make those portions transparent, with the remainder of the display being opaque.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of An with Mankovskii so as to provide a user with means to occluding portions of the UI that’s unnecessary, while keeping certain portions still visible.
Claim 3, 13: An and Mankovskii disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: based on a user input of changing a display location of the icon, identify a second location at which the icon will be displayed on the second execution screen, and based on a second area of the first execution screen corresponding to the second location, display the icon for displaying the second area of the first execution screen at the second location (Mankovskii par. 28, The user can use e-ink control software 170 to choose the position and size of various shapes of transparency.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Gilra (7,956,869) See-through applications.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
12/10/25