DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 13 was amended, claim 16-20 was canceled. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1-12 were withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “oppositely disposed” in claim 13 renders the claim indefinite. This term is used with respect to faces of flaps, it is unclear the exact limitation being imposedFurther, there is no one clear interpretation of the term “oppositely disposed” in the case of the present invention. Also, let it be known that adjacent can be broadly read as “not distant: nearby” (Merriam-Webster). This is not limited to features requiring contact or directly folded on one another. Although not used incorrectly, this term could be read broadly. It would appear that the applicant is using this statement broadly from the statement “wherein both of said first retention flap and said second retention flap are folded to be disposed adjacent to said back face of said third retention flap. Neither flap (84, 86) come into contact with the back face (108) of the third retention flap. This definition Claims 14-15 directly or indirectly depend from claim 13 and are also rejected.
The term “wherein, in said rebound position, said third retention flap is disposed between said first retention flap and said second retention flap so as to block folding of said first retention flap and said second retention flap toward said base” in claim 13 renders the claim indefinite. The structural limitation being stated is that the third retention flap is between the first and second retention flap, it is unclear how this structure performs the stated function of blocking folding of the first and second flaps towards the base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Friar (US 5350108 A).
With respect to claim 13, Friar discloses a carton comprising: a first panel (29) having an elongated slot (31) extending therethrough, said elongated slot having a first end oppositely disposed from a second end, said elongated slot defining a length extending between said first end and said second end; a locking panel assembly comprising a locking tab (97) having a linear length greater than said length of said elongated slot, said locking tab comprising: a base (99) comprising a front face (99, face visible in figure 7), a front edge and an opposing back edge with a first side edge and a second side edge extending therebetween; a first retention flap projecting (left 103) from said first side edge of said base and being foldable relative to said base; a second retention flap (right 103) projecting from said second side edge of said base and being foldable relative to said base; a third retention flap (100) projecting from said front edge of said base and being foldable relative to said base (99); said locking tab disposable through said slot (31) after configuration from a relaxed position into a folded position, said folded position comprising each of said first retention flap, said second retention flap, and said third retention flap being folded relative to said base (fig 7b-7c); wherein said third retention flap (100) is folded to be disposed adjacent to said front face (99, face seen in figure 7) of said base, said third retention flap comprising a backface (100, face seen in figure 7) oppositely disposed in relation to said front face of said base, and wherein both of said first retention flap and said second retention flap (103s) are folded to be disposed adjacent to said back face of said third retention flap (face 100 in figure 7); and said locking tab further configured (the tab is capable of rebounding) to automatically rebound from said folded position to a rebound position after said locking tab is disposed through said slot, said rebound position comprising each of said first retention flap, said second retention flap, and said third retention flap rebounding at least partially toward said relaxed position (col 8 lines 45-60 ), wherein, in said rebound position, said third retention flap is disposed between said first retention flap and said second retention flap (width wise, it appears that 100 extends between 103) so as to block folding of said first retention flap and said second retention flap toward said base.
With respect to claim 15, Friar discloses the carton of claim 13, wherein said relaxed position comprises each of said first retention flap, said second retention flap, and said third retention flap being disposed in a common plane with said base. (unfolded position of blank)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friar (US 5350108 A) in view of Morey (US 1108464 A).
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 13, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein said rebound position comprises each of said first retention flap, said second retention flap, and said third retention flap projecting in orthogonal relation relative to said base. Friar does not directly disclose how much the retention flaps unfold. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely locking tabs, Morey taught of locking tabs that unfold to angles perpendicular to its base/insertion reference. In both inventions, unfolding allows for retention of the locking tab, a specific angle of 90 degrees is well within the scope of both inventions to perform the intended function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of locking tabs before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a 90 degree unfolding as taught by Morey in the retention flaps of Friar since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Friar teaches of unfolding retention flaps and adding a specific angle (like 90 degrees) as taught by Morey would maintain the same functionality of the Friar, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With . Essentially, with the new features, applicant has introduced “faces”, however, the faces of Friars meet the claimed limitations.
Also as written, “wherein, in said rebound position, said third retention flap is disposed between said first retention flap and said second retention flap so as to block folding of said first retention flap and said second retention flap toward said base” can be interpreted differently than the applicant wishes. For example, the structural limitation being stated is that the third retention flap is between the first and second retention flap, it is unclear how this structure performs the stated function of blocking folding of the first and second flaps towards the base. Friar has third retention flap that’s width is between the furthest points of the first and second retention flap. The claimed relationship does not state that the third retention flap is located between the first/second retention flaps and the base. Further, the rebound position is
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 1745770 A, US 2388288 A, US 2690286 A, US 3462066 A, US 3510047 A, US 3826420 A, US 3869079 A, US 4015767 A, US 4046311 A, US 4196842 A, US 4304353 A, US 4401258 A, US 5217159 A, US 5419486 A, US 5642854 A, US 6223980 B1, US 20020036230 A1, US 6364200 B1, US 20050173291 A1, US 20070170234 A1, US 20090057387 A1, US 20130087607 A1, US 20140305944 A1, US 20150251797 A1, US 9663265 B1, US 20170158372 A1, US 20170334614 A1, US 20190344927 A1, and US 20200172317 A1.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735