DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of 18 March 2026 required the new reference, Kim, as shown below. Note, Kim teaches both a segmented and laminated rotor core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama et al. (“Sugiyama”; US 2025/0317037), in view of Kim et al. (“Kim”; US 2020/0169133).
Regarding claim 1: Sugiyama discloses a motor structure (Fig. 1) comprising:
a rotor core (11, not including 11a and 11b);
a plurality of permanent magnets (14) inserted into the rotor core; and
a first retainer (11a) having a plurality of insertion portions into which end portions of the plurality of permanent magnets are respectively inserted to support the plurality of permanent magnets in a radial direction of the rotor core (shown in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 2 below, paragraph 0042).
Sugiyama does not explicitly disclose a plurality of core segments circumferentially arranged to form a ring shape, wherein each core segment of the plurality of core segments is a monolithic body having a uniform cross-section along an axial direction, a plurality of permanent magnets inserted into the rotor core segments.
However, Kim discloses a plurality of core segments (123) circumferentially arranged to form a ring shape (Fig. 3), wherein each core segment of the plurality of core segments is a monolithic body having a uniform cross-section along an axial direction (shown in Fig. 3, there is a detailed individual segment), and
a plurality of permanent magnets inserted into the rotor core segments (at 123e).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rotor core of Sugiyama to have the segments of Kim in order to concentrate the force of the permanent magnets (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 2: Sugiyama discloses each permanent magnet of the plurality of permanent magnets has a first protruding end portion protruding from one end of the rotor core, and wherein the first retainer is installed to restrain and support the first protruding end portion of the permanent magnet (as shown with the arrows in the annotated Fig. 2 above, the magnet protrudes into 11a).
Regarding claim 3: Sugiyama discloses each permanent magnet of the plurality of permanent magnets has a second protruding end portion protruding from an opposite end of the rotor core (bottom arrow in annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein a second retainer (11b) is provided at the opposite end of the rotor core, and wherein the first and second protruding end portions protrude in the axial direction (shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4: Sugiyama discloses the first retainer includes a disk-shaped disk portion (it is a disk, Fig. 1) having insertion portions (13).
Regarding claim 5: Sugiyama discloses the insertion portions of the disk portion are provided as insertion holes penetrating the disk portion (shown in Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 7: Sugiyama discloses the plurality of permanent magnets (each 14, Fig. 1) are disposed circumferentially surrounding the axis of the rotor core (Fig. 1), and wherein, in the disk portion of the retainer, the insertion portions are provided at positions such that centrifugal forces of the plurality of permanent magnets provided in the rotor core cancel each other out (as the retainer 11a holds the magnets radially).
Regarding claim 8: Sugiyama disclose a motor structure comprising:
a rotor core (11, not include 11a and 11b) rotatably inserted into the stator (in that the rotor is an interior rotor, 11d mate with a shaft);
a plurality of permanent magnets (14) inserted parallel to a rotation axis of the rotor core and protruding from one end of the rotor core (see above annotated Fig. 2); and
a retainer (11a) configured to support the permanent magnets in a radial direction, and having a plurality of insertion portions into which protruding end portions of the permanent magnets (bottom arrow in annotated Fig. 2 above) are inserted to secure the one end of the rotor core (shown in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 2 above, paragraph 0042).
Sugiyama does not explicitly disclose a stator plurality of core segments circumferentially arranged to form a ring shape, wherein each core segment of the plurality of core segments is a monolithic body having a uniform cross-section along an axial direction, a plurality of permanent magnets inserted into the rotor core segments.
However, Kim discloses a stator (110),
a plurality of core segments (123) circumferentially arranged to form a ring shape (Fig. 3), wherein each core segment of the plurality of core segments is a monolithic body having a uniform cross-section along an axial direction (shown in Fig. 3, there is a detailed individual segment), and
a plurality of permanent magnets inserted into the rotor core segments (at 123e).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify include the stator to effectively generate current and to modify the rotor core of Sugiyama to have the segments of Kim in order to concentrate the force of the permanent magnets (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 9: Sugiyama discloses the retainer restrains the permanent magnets from moving in a radial direction with respect to the rotor core (as 11a surrounds the magnets).
Regarding claim 10: Sugiyama discloses the permanent magnets (14) are disposed along a circumferential direction of the rotor core (Fig. 1), and wherein the retainer is provided in a disk shape such that protruding end portions of the permanent magnets are inserted at the one end of the rotor core (see above annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11: Sugiyama discloses the permanent magnets are inserted so as to protrude from the one end and an opposite end of the rotor core, and wherein another retainer (11b) is installed at the opposite end of the rotor core (see above annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12: Sugiyama discloses the retainer is provided with a plurality of insertion holes (13), and wherein the protruding end portions of the permanent magnets are respectively inserted into the plurality of insertion holes (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14: Sugiyama discloses wherein, in the retainer, the protruding end portions of the permanent magnets are inserted are into insertion portions provided at positions symmetrical to each other about the rotation axis of the rotor core to cancel out centrifugal forces of the permanent magnets provided in the rotor core (the magnets is distributed around the circumference of the rotor core, each cancelling on another out).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834