DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al (Socratic Models, 2022) in view of Chen et al (VideoLLM, May 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng teaches a method for forming versatile action models for video understanding, comprising:
(Zeng, “Socratic Models (SMs): a modular framework in which multiple pretrained models may be composed zero-shot i.e., via multimodal-informed prompting, to exchange information with each other and capture new multimodal capabilities, without requiring finetuning. With minimal engineering, SMs are not only competitive with state-of-the-art zero-shot image captioning and video-to-text retrieval, but also enable new applications such as (i) answering free-form questions about egocentric video, (ii) engaging in multimodal assistive dialogue with people (e.g., for cooking recipes) by interfacing with external APIs and databases (e.g., web search), and (iii) robot perception and planning”, [abstract]; a method ("framework") for video understanding that is versatile (“answering free-form questions about egocentric video”, “engaging in multimodal assistive dialogue with people (e.g., for cooking recipes)”, “robot perception and planning", etc.)
gathering data from a video,
(Zeng, “activity = f_LM (f_VLM (f_LM (f_ALM (f_LM (f_VLM (video)))))”, sec. 3, p3; “visual-language models (VLMs) ... large language models (LMs)”, [abstract], “ALM (speech-to-text)”, sec. 4.3, p6)
wherein the date comprises textual video representations and other task specific language inputs; and
(Zeng, in the above expression, “(i) the VLM detects visual entities, (ii) the LM suggests sounds that may be heard, (iii) the ALM chooses the most likely sound, (iv) the LM suggests possible activities, (v) the VLM ranks the most likely activity, (vi) the LM generates a summary of the Socratic interaction”, sec. 3, p3; “input event log”, sec. 5.1, p7; “(ii) the LM suggests sounds that may be heard” or “input event log” => “other task specific language inputs”)
using a pre-trained large language model (LLM) next
(Zeng, “(iii) Forecasting of future events can be formulated as language-based world-state completion. Our system prompts the LM to complete the rest of an input event log. Timestamps of the predictions can be preemptively specified depending on the application needs. The completion results (example below on the right) are generative, and are more broad than binary event classification”, sec. 5.1, p7; using a pre-trained LLM ("LM" like GPT-3, see Sec 4) for "forecasting of future events" (action anticipation) based on the textual video data ("input event log"). The "completion" of the log by the LM is inherently next prediction)
Zeng does not expressly disclose but Chen teaches:
... next token prediction for action anticipation ...;
(Chen, “We use two linear layers to predict the category of each token s_v^I and its next token s_v^(i+1). Thanks to the causal structure of decoder-only LLM, we do not need to calculate the context of the entire sequence ... We only make s_v^0 cross-attend to the historical context to calculate new states c^0”, sec 4.3, “Online Reasoning”, p6; “Future Prediction. Given a sequence of seen tokens m = ... as the working memory, model need predict the next N_f tokens or events ...”, sec. 4.3, “Future Prediction”, p6; predicting the "next token" using the "causal structure of decoder-only LLM" for "Future Prediction" (action anticipation))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the system or method of Zeng because both use pre-trained, decoder-only LLMs to predict future video events. While Zeng teaches high-level "forecasting" via text completion, Chen explicitly optimizes this as "next token prediction" using the LLM’s causal structure. A skilled artisan would incorporate Chen’s token-based method into Zeng to standardize the action anticipation step, ensuring the LLM predicts future actions efficiently as the next tokens in the sequence. The combination of Zeng and Chen also teaches other enhanced capabilities.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 1,
wherein using a pre-trained LLM next token prediction for action anticipation based on the data from the video comprises unifying video dynamic modeling tasks,
wherein the video dynamic modeling tasks comprises comprehending historical content and future prediction.
(Chen, see comments on claim 15)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein gathering data from a video comprises converting visual inputs from the video into discrete action labels and free-form descriptions.
(Zeng, Chen, see comments on claim 15)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 3, wherein converting visual inputs into discrete action label comprises condensing the video into sequences of discrete action labels through application of action recognition models that operate in a predefined action space.
(Zeng, Chen, see comments on claim 15)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 3, wherein converting visual inputs from the video into free-form descriptions comprises:
processing sampling frames to produce frame level captions; and
concatenating the frame level captions to form a comprehensive video-level captions.
(Zeng, see comments on claim 15)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 1, comprising generating a corresponding text token by inputting the textual video representations and other task specific language inputs into a frozen word embedding layer.
(Zeng, see comments on claim 1; “A key component in SMs is multi-model multimodal prompting, in which information from a non-language domain is substituted into a language prompt, which can be used by an LM for reasoning. One way to multimodal prompt is to variable-substitute language-described entities from other modalities into a prompt”, “activity = f_LM (f_VLM (f_LM (f_ALM (f_LM (f_VLM (video)))))”, sec. 3, p3; regarding “a frozen word embedding layer”, it is well defined in the art that a frozen word embedding layer means using pre-trained word vectors that are kept static (not updated) during the training of a neural network; the standard LLMs used in Zeng/Chen often have frozen embeddings to reduce computational cost)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 5, comprising incorporating a learnable linear projection layer to align visual features with a language space.
(Chen, “We use one linear projector ϕ to learn translation from the visual to language semantics to attain translated semantics s_v = ... where d is the hidden dimension of the used LLM”, sec. 4.2, p5; using a learnable linear projector to map visual features to the language dimension)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 1, comprising compressing input sequences above a desired length and extracting elements from the generated textual video representations to determine downstream video understanding tasks.
(Zeng, “extract a set of “key moments” throughout the video (e.g., via importance sampling, or video/audio search based on the input query, ...) ... recursively summarize ... them into a language-based record of events, which we term a language-based world-state history”, sec. 5.1, p7; summarizing/compressing video data into a concise history for downstream tasks like Q&A)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 1, comprising:
providing a token selector, wherein the token selector takes in a sequence of textual video tokens; and
selecting a single token from the sequence of textual video tokens for downstream video understanding.
(Chen, “We use two linear layers to predict the category of each token s_v^I and its next token s_v^(i+1). Thanks to the causal structure of decoder-only LLM, we do not need to calculate the context of the entire sequence ... We only make s_v^0 cross-attend to the historical context to calculate new states c^0”, sec 4.3, “Online Reasoning”, p6; “implement action anticipation tasks to predict the action category that occurs after a certain time gap”, sec. 2.1, p3; a particular video anticipation token may be selected for t = t0+gap, which is a mechanism that takes a sequence of tokens and selects a "single token" (the next token/category) for the understanding task)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 12, comprising:
selecting a condensed token sequence;
dividing the condensed token sequence into a plurality of uniform segments, each uniform segment containing a unique textual video token forming the sequence of textual video tokens; and
feeding the sequence of textual video tokens into the token selector.
(Chen, “adopt a temporal-wise unitization method to process unit-wise visual (or audio and other modality) information for utilizing LLMs to understand video streams comprehensively ... all frames are divided into N_v = ... space-time visual unit (=> “uniform segments) ... outputs a sequence of space-time visual units x_v = ...”, sec. 4.1, p4-5; “pool each visual unit of x_v to the temporal token (=> “unique token per segment”)”, sec. 4.2, p5; dividing the sequence into uniform segments (units) and converting them into tokens fed into the model)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 13, comprising providing manual intervention to generate intervened tokens to fix incorrect downstream video understanding.
(Zeng, “Our example application here helps the user search for a recipe, then guides them through it step by step. The system allows the user to navigate recipe steps with casual dialogue, provides ingredient replacements or advice (using LM priors), and searches for visual references (in the form of images or videos) on user request. This is a case study in (i) prompting a dialogue LM ... to produce key phrase tokens”, sec. 5.2, p8; casual dialogue between a user and the system involves token generation)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches a method for forming versatile action models for video understanding, the method implemented using a computer system including a processor communicatively coupled to a memory device, the method comprising:
(Zeng, see comments on claim 1)
gathering data from a video by converting visual inputs from the video into discrete action labels and free-form descriptions by condensing the video into sequences of discrete action labels through application of action recognition models that operate in a predefined action space, and
(Zeng, Chen, see comments on claim 1; Zeng, “VLM is used to zero-shot detect different place categories ... object categories ... image type ({photo, cartoon, sketch, painting}) and the number of people {are no people, is one person, are two people, are three people, are several people, are many people}”, sec. 4.1, p4; {...} => discrete labels; converting inputs to discrete labels; “SMs can be prompted to perform various perceptual tasks on egocentric video: (i) summarizing content, (ii) answering free-form reasoning questions, (iii) and forecasting”, sec. 5.1, p7; Chen, “Timestamp-level tasks aim to predict closed-set properties at each time step or filter suitable time steps based on textual conditions... implement online action detection or action segmentation tasks to predict the category of each time step in a video stream ... implement action anticipation tasks to predict the action category that occurs after a certain time gap”, sec. 2.1, p3; converting video inputs into sequences of closed-set properties and action categories at each time step)
processing sampling frames to produce frame level captions, which are concatenated to form a comprehensive video-level caption; and
(Zeng, “we first extract a set of “key moments” throughout the video (e.g., via importance sampling, or video/audio search based on the input query, discussed in Appendix). We then caption the key frames indexed by these moments ... and recursively summarize ... them into a language-based record of events, which we term a language-based world-state history”, sec. 5.1, p7; processing sampled frames to create frame captions and concatenating/summarizing them into a video-level history)
using a pre-trained large language model (LLM) next token prediction for action anticipation based on the data from the video by unifying video dynamic modeling tasks,
(Zeng, Chen, see comments on claim 1; Chen, “VideoLLM incorporates a carefully designed Modality Encoder and Semantic Translator, which convert inputs from various modalities into a unified token sequence ... VideoLLM yields an effective unified framework for different kinds of video understanding tasks”, [abstract]; a unified framework using multi-modal predictions)
wherein the video dynamic modeling tasks comprises comprehending historical content and future prediction.
(Chen, “Online Reasoning... We only make s_v^0 cross-attend to the historical context to calculate new states c^0”, sec 4.3, p6; predicting future states based on the historic events)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zeng and Chen teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the method of Claim 15, comprising:
selecting a condensed token sequence;
dividing the condensed token sequence into a plurality of uniform segments, each uniform segment containing a unique textual video token forming the sequence of textual video tokens; and
feeding the sequence of textual video tokens into a token selector; and
(Chen, see comments on claim 13)
selecting a single video token from the sequence of textual video tokens for downstream video understanding.
(Chen, see comments on claim 12)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed to a method for forming versatile action models for video understanding that involves gathering data from a video by converting visual inputs into both discrete action labels (via action recognition models in a predefined space) and free-form descriptions (by captioning and concatenating sampled frames). The claim specifically requires generating a corresponding text token by inputting these labels and descriptions into a frozen word embedding layer, and uniquely specifies that this same frozen word embedding layer samples a predetermined number of frames from the video and generates visual features. These visual features are then inputted into a projection layer to produce vision tokens, which are concatenated and fed into a pre-trained LLM for next token prediction to unify historical comprehension and future prediction tasks.
Prior art Zeng (Socratic Models, 2022) is directed to "Socratic Models," a framework that composes pre-trained models (like VLMs and LLMs) via language prompts to perform video understanding tasks without fine-tuning. Zeng teaches converting video into a "language-based world-state history" (free-form descriptions) by captioning key frames and using an LLM to "forecast future events" (action anticipation) based on this text log. It uses standard pre-trained models where the word embedding layer processes text, while a separate visual model (VLM) handles video frame sampling and feature generation.
Prior art Chen (VideoLLM, 2023) is directed to "VideoLLM," a unified framework for video sequence understanding that leverages the causal reasoning of decoder-only LLMs. Chen teaches converting video into a sequence of tokens using a "Modality Encoder" (visual encoder) and a "Semantic Translator" (projection layer) to map visual features to the language space, alongside a text tokenizer for language inputs. It explicitly uses the LLM for "next token prediction" to perform tasks like "Online Action Detection" (discrete labels) and "Future Prediction" (action anticipation).
However, either Zeng alone or in combination with Chen fails to teach all limitations of claim 19.
Claim 20 depends on claim 19 and therefore is allowable.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening Claim(s).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim(s) 7-8 and 16 recite(s) limitation(s) related to a frozen word embedding layer which samples video frames and generates visual features for projection into tokens, and which generates both text tokens from descriptions and visual features from sampled frames. There are no explicit teachings to the above limitation(s) found in the prior art cited in this office action and from the prior art search.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 depend on claims 8 and 16, respectively.
Conclusion
/JIANXUN YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662 1/18/2026