DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of invention I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on October 02, 2026 is acknowledged. Since the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election is treated as an election without traverse. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard(s) as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. Claim 1 recites “coalescing inorganic particles at an air-liquid interface of a vessel in order to form the inorganic membrane”, which is reasonably interpreted as a prior step before making an inorganic membrane at the end of the process, and does not recite subsequent step(s) for eventually leading fabricating an inorganic membrane. The omitted step(s) are intermediate step(s) between “coalescing inorganic particles at an air-liquid interface of a vessel” and “fabricating an inorganic membrane” at the end of the claimed method.
Claim 1 recites “the inorganic nanoparticles” in line 3 which lacks an antecedent basis. It is also unclear what is the relationship between “inorganic particles” recited in line 1 and “the inorganic nanoparticles” recited in line 3.
Claims 2-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S. §112 by virtue of its dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elder et al. (Formation of mesostructured thin films at the air–liquid interface, Chem. Soc. Rev., 2013, 42, 3765—3776, hereinafter referred as “Elder”).
In regard to claims 1 and 10, Elder discloses a method of fabricating films of inorganic oxides at the air–solution interface (page 3765, Abstract), wherein the method comprises (pages 3766-3767, Section: Silica films grown at the air–solution interface; Fig. 1) coalescing inorganic particles (silica precursor) with surfactant template in an appropriate container thereby forming silica films (claim 10).
Elder does not explicitly disclose inner walls of the vessel is configured to repel the inorganic nanoparticles.
However, Elder discloses the use of an appropriate container (page 3766, left column, 3rd paragraph from the top), and further discloses a use of polypropylene (PP) bottle in an embodiment shown in Fig. 7. In addition, Elder is silent regarding the reaction at the surface of the walls of the vessel for conducting the fabrication of films of inorganic oxides.
Since there is no interaction (e.g., chemical reaction(s) and/or adsorption) between inorganic particles (silica precursor) and the walls of the vessel in Elder’s embodiments, one skilled in the art would have reasonably expected that the rection “the inner walls of the vessel is configured to repel the inorganic nanoparticles” is prima facie obvious over the teachings of Elder.
In regard to claim 2, Elder discloses the formation of combined structure of micelles and silica oligomers (page 3766, Fig. 1) which meets the recited “inorganic clusters”. Elder is silent regarding whether the coalescing the inorganic particles via Brownian motion to form inorganic clusters, or coalescing the inorganic clusters via capillary attraction (Cheerios effect) to form the inorganic membrane. However, Elder discloses the same feed (i.e., inorganic particles) and air–liquid interface membrane formation as that recited in claim 1 and described in the instant specification. Therefore, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect the process to inherently function the same as the process recited in claim 1. Specifically, it is asserted that the coalescing the inorganic particles via Brownian motion to form inorganic clusters, or coalescing the inorganic clusters via capillary attraction (Cheerios effect) to form the inorganic membrane. See MPEP 2112.02.
In regard to claim 3, Elder is silent regarding the recited inorganic particles size of about 2 nm to about 1000 nm, or the inorganic clusters size of about 0.5 μm to about 100 μm. However, the claimed inorganic particles size or inorganic clusters size would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize inorganic particles activity and utility taking into consideration the operational parameters of the fabricating films of inorganic oxides (formation time, temperature, pressure, throughput), the geometry of the inorganic particles bodies, the physical and chemical make-up of the precursor materials as well as the nature of the inorganic oxides film end-products.
In regard to claim 4, since Elder discloses the same process of fabricating an inorganic membrane as that recited in claim 1, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect that the process as taught by Elder to function the same as the method recited in claim 1. Specifically, it is asserted that one would reasonably expect the process of Elder would have conducted in the inner wall that is configured to have a surface energy of less than about 36 dynes/cm. See MPEP 2112.01 and 2112.02.
In regard to claim 5, Elder discloses the use of an appropriate container (page 3766, left column, 3rd paragraph from the top), and further discloses a use of polypropylene (PP) bottle in an embodiment shown in Fig. 7. This renders the recitation of claim 5 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 9, Elder discloses the silica films are produced through reaction between tetraethoxysilane (TEOS) or tetramethoxysilane (TMOS) as the silica source and a cationic surfactant such as an alkyltrimethylammonium bromide (CnTAB) or chloride (CnTAC) used as the template in acidic solutions (pages 3766-3767, Section: Silica films grown at the air–solution interface; Fig. 1) which is encompassed by a redox reaction (i.e., a chemical reaction in which electrons are transferred between two substances) as recited.
In regard to claim 11, Elder discloses an embodiment of TiO2 films which renders the recitation of claim 11 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 12, Elder discloses an embodiment of TiO2-ZrO2 films which dierects a mixing of a first inorganic precursor containing TiO2 and a second inorganic precursor containing ZrO2, thereby renders the recitation of claim 12 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 13, Elder is silent regarding the step of agitation (pages 3766-3767, Section: Silica films grown at the air–solution interface; Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 14, since Elder discloses the same process of fabricating an inorganic membrane as that recited in claim 1, it is asserted, absent evidence to the contrary, that one would reasonably expect that the process as taught by Elder to function the same as the method recited in claim 1. Specifically, it is asserted that one would reasonably expect the process of Elder would have conducted in the inorganic membrane is formable in less than about 30 min.. See MPEP 2112.01 and 2112.02.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, such as incorporating dependent claim 6, or claim 7, or claim 8 into an independent claim 1 as exemplified below.
Allowable Subject Matters
Claims 6-8 in the instant application are allowed if previously presented objections and rejections to claims 6-8 are resolved.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: A thorough search for pertinent prior art did not locate any prior art that discloses or suggests the invention recited in claims 6-8. The concept of a method of fabricating an inorganic membrane, comprising coalescing inorganic particles at an air-liquid interface of a vessel in order to form the inorganic membrane, wherein inner walls of the vessel is configured to repel the inorganic nanoparticles,
wherein the inner wall comprises poly(vinyl acetate), polyacrylamide (PAAm), polyacrylic acid (PAA), poly(N-isopropylacrylamide) (PNIPAAm), polyethylene glycol (PEG), or a derivative thereof (claim 6), or
wherein the inner wall comprises poly(vinyl alcohol-covinyl acetate) characterised by a degree of hydrolysis of about 70% to about 90% (claim 7), or
the inner wall comprises poly(vinyl acetate) or a derivative thereof, it is characterised by a molecular weight of about 1400 g/mol to about 2000 g/mol (claim 8), is considered novel.
The closest prior art to Elder et al. (Formation of mesostructured thin films at the air–liquid interface, Chem. Soc. Rev., 2013, 42, 3765 - 3776) discloses a method of fabricating films of inorganic oxides at the air–solution interface (page 3765, Abstract), wherein the method comprises (pages 3766-3767, Section: Silica films grown at the air–solution interface; Fig. 1) coalescing inorganic particles (silica precursor) with surfactant template in an appropriate container thereby forming silica films.
Other pertinent prior art to Block (US 4,980,062) discloses a method of forming a microporous inorganic membrane on a porous support comprising: (a) mixing a sol comprised of inorganic colloidal particles dispersed in a liquid medium with an organic polymeric film forming material dissolved in a suitable solvent, the liquid medium of said sol, the organic polymeric film-forming material and the solvent being selected such that: (i) the liquid medium of said sol and the solvent are miscible; (ii) the organic polymeric film-forming material is soluble in said solvent; and (iii) the organic polymeric film-forming material is insoluble in the liquid medium of said sol; (b) applying to a porous support the mixture from step (a) and allowing the mixture to form a phase-separated coating; (c) drying the phase-separated coated support to remove the solvent and liquid medium of the sol; and (d) heating the dried coated support at a temperature sufficient to burn off the organic polymeric film forming material but below the sintering temperature, thereby leaving a microporous inorganic membrane.
Other pertinent prior art to Fekety et al. (US 2009/0000475 A1) discloses a method for making an inorganic membrane structure, the method comprising: providing an inorganic porous support comprising a first end, a second end, and a plurality of inner channels having surfaces defined by porous walls and extending through the support from the first end to the second end; applying one or more porous intermediate layers comprising inorganic particles to the inner channel surfaces of the inorganic porous support; applying a zeolite seed layer to the one or more porous intermediate layers; and hydrothermally growing a zeolite intergrown layer from the zeolite seed layer.
Other pertinent prior art to Ji et al. (US 11,990,643 B2) discloses method of manufacturing a separator, comprising: (i) coating a dispersion liquid comprising one or more inorganic particles and one or more one-dimensional inorganic materials on one surface or both surfaces of a polyolefin-based porous substrate; and (ii) drying the coated porous substrate to form an inorganic composite layer, wherein the dimensions of the one or more inorganic particles and the one or more one-dimensional inorganic materials are different, wherein the one or more one-dimensional inorganic materials comprise inorganic nanowire(s) and/or inorganic nanofiber(s), wherein the one or more one-dimensional inorganic materials have a diameter of 1 to 100 nm, a length of 0.01 to 100 μm, and a length/diameter ratio (L/D) of 100 to 20,000, wherein a specific surface area of the one or more one-dimensional inorganic material is 50 to 4,000 m2/g, wherein the one or more inorganic particles are bound to each other, and/or the inorganic composite layer is anchored and adhered to the porous substrate, by the one or more one-dimensional inorganic materials, and the inorganic composite layer does not include a polymer-based organic binder.
The combination of cited prior arts, alone or in a combination, does not provide any guidance which would lead one to conduct a method of fabricating an inorganic membrane, comprising coalescing inorganic particles at an air-liquid interface of a vessel in order to form the inorganic membrane, wherein inner walls of the vessel is configured to repel the inorganic nanoparticles,
wherein the inner wall comprises poly(vinyl acetate), polyacrylamide (PAAm), polyacrylic acid (PAA), poly(N-isopropylacrylamide) (PNIPAAm), polyethylene glycol (PEG), or a derivative thereof (claim 6), or
wherein the inner wall comprises poly(vinyl alcohol-covinyl acetate) characterized by a degree of hydrolysis of about 70% to about 90% (claim 7), or
the inner wall comprises poly(vinyl acetate) or a derivative thereof, it is characterized by a molecular weight of about 1400 g/mol to about 2000 g/mol (claim 8), as recited in claimed invention.
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772