DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group B, Figs. 6-12, Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
PLEASE NOTE: Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (the claim recites suspension straps, which are only found in non-elected Group A), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hambleton in US Patent 4782616.
Regarding Claim 1, Hambleton teaches a portable, one-person free-standing blind comprising a leg assembly (12) for supporting the blind upon the ground, a lower portion (13) rotatably mounted to the leg assembly, a foldable seat (14/53/54/55 – the component of the seat and foldable relative to each other) mounted above the lower portion, an upper portion (33), struts (30/34) extendable from the foldable seat to the upper portion, and a camouflage shroud (11) for concealing a user seated on the seat, the blind being convertible between a disassembled, compact configuration (Fig. 9) and an assembled, extended configuration (Fig. 1), and wherein the blind is roughly cylindrical (see Fig. 3) and sized to accommodate a single user, and wherein the blind is configured and adapted to be rotated by user seated on the seat.
Regarding Claim 3, Hambleton teaches that the camouflage shroud includes a window portion (59) having a non-polygon shape.
Regarding Claim 4, Hambleton teaches that the roughly cylindrical shape is slightly tapered, with the blind being broader at the bottom than at the top (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Hambleton teaches a carrying strap (26) for carrying the portable blind in its disassembled, compact configuration.
Regarding Claim 6, Hambleton teaches a fabric cover (61) for covering and containing substantially all of the portable blind in its disassembled, compact configuration.
Regarding Claim 8, Hambleton teaches a weighted (by 35/36/37) lower skirt (44).
Regarding Claim 10, Hambleton teaches (see Fig. 9) that the blind is adapted and configured to be convertible into a backpack.
Regarding Claim 11, Hambleton teaches at least one carrying strap (26) for carrying the portable blind in a disassembled, compact configuration.
Regarding Claim 12, Hambleton teaches a fabric cover (61) for covering and containing substantially all of the portable blind in its disassembled, compact configuration.
Regarding Claim 15, Hambleton teaches that the blind can be rotated by the user 360 degrees or more while a user of the blind is seated upon the seat (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16, Hambleton teaches that the bottom of the blind is open to the ground (see Figs. 1 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hambleton as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Zemov in US Patent 7427101. Hambleton fails to teach the use of multiple legs or a folding fabric seat. Zernov teaches a portable blind including a chair with a folding leg assembly wherein the leg assembly comprises a folding leg assembly with at least 3 legs (32) and wherein the seat (36) comprises a flexible, foldable fabric seat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hambleton by using a folding fabric seat with multiple legs as taught by Zernov in order to provide a more comfortable and compact folding seat.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hambleton, as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Webb in US Patent 2992503. Hambleton is silent on the appearance of the outer surface of the blind. Webb teaches a portable blind that is adapted and configured to roughly have the appearance of a trunk of a tree (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hambleton by using a blind with the appearance of a tree as taught by Web in order to better conceal the user from game.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hambleton as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Robinson in US Patent 4825578. Hambleton is silent on the use of pockets. Robinson teaches a portable blind including a blind (14) and comprising internal storage pockets (23) positioned on the inside of the blind. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blind of Hambleton by adding pockets as taught by Robinson in order to allow the user to store items when in the blind.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Csajaghy et al., Kates, Zietz, Small, Wood et al, Johnson, and Radig teach chair-style blinds.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636